Clifford Domingo demonstrates the use of bow and arrow.

Story and photos by Joanna Dhanraj.

Wowetta in the North Rupununi is one of the five satellite villages of Annai and is home to approximately 400 people of 78 households predominantly of the Macushi and Wapishiana tribes.

After 15 hours of travelling from the city (if you could call 16 people rammed into a 12-seater minibus travelling) through some of the worst road conditions, I arrived at Annai Central.

The following day, I headed across to the Annai Police Station, where I was told I could seek some assistance in borrowing a bicycle as transportation was a rarity. An hour later, the policeman who had gone “right down so” returned with said bicycle and I decided to find out about Wowetta. According to him, the village was not “right down so” but a good distance away. Wowetta turned out to be situated five miles away from Annai Central.

Almost two hours later, I rode into Wowetta sweaty, red dust coating my face and hands, with an empty water bottle to begin my quest.

Wowetta was first called Awaida, a Macushi word meaning ‘soft people’. The first set of people to have lived there, sometime in the 1800s was totally wiped out by an unknown illness. According to Senior Councillor Marcus Moses, he was told by his late father that they died after a period of vomiting and diarrhoea.

Moses said the current village began sometime around the 1930s with 12 households in the forest. He lived there and remembers having to walk out to school. Sometime in the 1990s, he said, the village moved back to the savannahs.

Moses’s family, the Domingos and the Edwardses are the three families who remain from among those who made the move from the forest to the savannahs.

The Toshao resides in Annai Central and visits the five satellite villages from time to time. In his absence each satellite village has a senior councillor who takes on leadership duties. Moses said this involves finding jobs for his people, giving advice and keeping the peace; the last being not so challenging except for having to deal with people who are politically inclined thus leading to segregation.

Wowetta is an Amerindian settlement which means only indigenous people can live there. If someone from one of the nine tribes wishes to live there, he or she has to speak with the Toshao. But should he or she be non-Amerindian, permission must be sought from the Toshao and his council, who would consider the person’s background and whether he or she would be a threat to the village. After that, the person must gain acceptance of the people living in the village.

Another way of becoming a villager is through marriage. However, once accepted, the person can move right in without having to purchase or lease a plot of land. “We don’t buy land in this place; Amerindians don’t buy land. This is an open space [designated] for Amerindians,” Moses said.

The people of Wowetta farm, hunt and catch fish, very few have kitchen gardens. Their diet consists mainly of what they hunt or grow – like wild meat, fish, cassava, sweet potato and plantain.

Moses added that of the children living there, 20 attend Wowetta Nursery School, 90 are at Wowetta Primary and 40 travel to Bina Hill in Kwatamang where they attend either Annai Secondary or the Bina Hill Institute.

The village has eight teachers who teach at its two schools and a few health workers who work at the Wowetta Health Post. Persons also visit the Annai Health Centre or Lethem Hospital. Mothers usually have their babies at Lethem Hospital or they would travel to the Boa Vista Hospital in Brazil.

Life, Moses said, has changed drastically from when he was a little boy. “When I was young, like 15/16, this road, all these vehicles that passing here, I didn’t see that. We moved about on foot or horseback. People used to walk to Lethem, like five/six days before they reach…. Long ago we had more fertile land and the creeks had more fishes. Then they didn’t have shops like now either. Now some people buy fish and other meat from the shops.”

The young men, he said, are logging in the forests or working in the gold mines, other businesses in Lethem or on ranches in Brazil. Some, too, have begun contemplating getting loans and opening their own businesses. This, he said, was good and he finds it refreshing to see the young men of his village open to new challenges. Moses’s three-year term will be up come next year May and he is hoping that one of the young men rises to the challenge of becoming the next senior councillor instead of leaving the position to the older men. He believes the youngsters are capable and will take Wowetta to another level where technology will be intact.

Last year from January to May the village suffered a drought. Its people obtain water from hand-dug wells and whenever there is none they head to a 79 ft Brazilian-drilled well in the village. Before that well was drilled, as of last year, persons journeyed through the savannahs on foot to one of the surrounding mountains where there is a spring some three hundred metres up.

Plans are ongoing, Moses said, to have pipes running from the spring to the bottom of the mountain. However they are waiting for officials to check out the site, which was scheduled to be done already. He remains hopeful that they arrive before yearend. He said that just the day before our interview he had met officials for talks on having Guyana Water Inc run pipelines from the drilled well to public buildings.

Forty-seven-year-old Macushi Velma Domingo was born and raised in Wowetta and has never visited Georgetown. She has been to Brazil once, but sticks to visiting her farm, church or Lethem.

She spoke of how they obtain water. “We have a hand-dug well and during the dry season, my husband has to dig it deeper. He went down with a rope and a shovel and he alone dig it and me, the poor old lady, fetching the mud in a bucket, pulling it up by a rope so I does tired. Only me alone does help me husband. I does only use the well water. I never use the rain water; I does scorn it because sometimes them birds and bats on the roof. Only well is the better.”

There is no electricity, she said, so persons use lamps or generators. She pointed out two little lamps she has that are powered by small solar panels which her daughter received at school.

The mountains, she said, are alive with howler monkeys and home to the jaguars which sometimes stealthily creep down at night and make off with villagers’ dogs. According to Domingo, she has spotted a few when she’s at her farm in the forest, but they usually run away scared.

Whenever Domingo and her husband go hunting, they take their dogs, which, she boasted, are experts in catching agouti, labba, deer, turtle and powis. With these meats, she makes tuma pot, which is eaten with farine.

Domingo is one of 45 members (of the Women’s Group) of the Cassava Factory. However, only ten of the members she can give account for working at the factory. At present, she said, they are awaiting the opening of their new Cassava Factory, after the previous one was pulled down. The factory will be up and running once equipment arrives from Brazil and will benefit persons in the village and outside who want to sell their cassava which will be processed into cassava bread, cassareep and farine and sold in the village, in Lethem, Georgetown and other areas as well as Brazil.

Domingo’s husband, Clifford, arrived from the farm and offered to take me on his motorcycle to the Cassareep Factory almost at the end of the village.

Once there, I found the Xavier family seated outside their home, one lot away from the factory. The family is Wapishiana. Eighty-one-year-old Christian Xavier, the patriarch, is originally from Sawarie, a village in the South Rupununi.

When he was 63 years old, he journeyed to Wowetta to help his son on his farm, and stayed. He still farms today, leaving every morning at six o’clock and returning at lunch before heading out again at two then coming back at 4.30 pm. The farm is situated a mile and a half away and he considers himself lucky to be living so close.

“I like living in Wowetta for farming,” his wife, Margaret said.

She sat nearby taking pieces of cotton from a cardboard box and picking off bits of dried seeds. From this, she said, she will hand-spin the cotton then weave hammocks.

The Xavier grandchildren, save for one, attend schools in the village. One boy attends Bina Hill Institute, he cycles 45 minutes each way five days a week.

Margaret also had a jaguar story. One of her daughters who lives nearby was awakened by sounds last year and got up to see a jaguar dash through an open window of her house. They believe the animal was after their dog, which was inside with them.

This ended the day’s quest and after being taken back to spot by Clifford Domingo, I mounted my borrowed bike and began the long ride back to Annai.

All of these homes should have rooftop solar. Two Panels, 300 watts per plus inverter, wire  and battery should be around 500. That is forty thousand for the whole village. It has not happened in 23 years of the PPP and has not happened yet in 2 years of the APNU

Nonsense, why are you trying to contaminate the culture of these folks with modern conveniences when they are happy living a life steeped in tradition for 1000's of years. 

Dude go take a bath and wash the dirt off your backsides. Your color is masking the filth. Should you still be sitting on that shit pile of India's caste system as your ancestors have for 6000 years?

These villages are supposed to be protected from outside influence and are a microcosm of Amerindian life. Those wishing to leave village life and enter mainstream civilization move to the larger cities where they can pursue those interests.  Meanwhile jackasses like yourself, white pretending to be buck, should not be dictating to the indigenous people how to live their lives. 

You are simply an ass. It is a pity you do your good college a disservice by acting out in public.

Brilliant Man, it perplexes my old head how you are applying your tertiary learning. Which society is static for "1000's of years"?

We live in a dynamic world, characterized by change and advancement. Wowetta folks are entitled to enjoy the benefits of technology as you and me. It's immoral and abnormal to keep them stuck in the long past as if they are museum exhibits.

You are simply an ass. It is a pity you do your good college a disservice by acting out in public.

You simply cannot accept that you made a mistake and admit your error.  In you buffoonery, you forgot the purpose of these villages and why they are isolated and restricted to only native Amerindians. The intent is to preserve the culture, not to morph them into 9 to 5 ers. 

Brilliant Man, it perplexes my old head how you are applying your tertiary learning. Which society is static for "1000's of years"?

We live in a dynamic world, characterized by change and advancement. Wowetta folks are entitled to enjoy the benefits of technology as you and me. It's immoral and abnormal to keep them stuck in the long past as if they are museum exhibits.

Apparently you don't understand the premise of these villages, to preserve Amerindian culture, that is why they have restrictions on outsiders. They take pride in self sufficiency, the old ways of hunting and gathering. Outsiders like yourself and the white pretending to buck(d2) will ignorantly decide these folks are made "better" with the trappings of "civilization", cell phone, computer and internet. 

Christian and Margaret Xavier surrounded by a daughter and their grandchildren

Margaret Xavier cotton in different stages before woven into hammocks.

Marcus Moses

Signs are also written in Portuguese since Brazilians often traverse the area.

Velma Domingo

Velma Domingo grandson Stefon with his caddy old punch.

Welcome to Wowetta is engraved in to rock.It stands as a landmark in the village.

This 4 yr old is making her way home from the shop with two two-litre soft drinks which she fetches with ease.

ba$eman posted:

One of the advantages of using solar cells is one doesn't need all that wiring. Seems like a plus to me.

Per watt costs are high given the costs of the panels.

Indeed. But over time, it should pay for itself. That is if it is properly preserved. Guyanese have a record of being very destructive though.

Apparently you don't understand the premise of these villages, to preserve Amerindian culture, that is why they have restrictions on outsiders. They take pride in self sufficiency, the old ways of hunting and gathering. Outsiders like yourself and the white pretending to buck(d2) will ignorantly decide these folks are made "better" with the trappings of "civilization", cell phone, computer and internet. 

Suffice to say I have some Amerindian friends and they hark after the so-called 'trappings of "civilization"' like everyone else. I'm determined not to walk with you through the Prashad-Keffer Cul-de-sac, you know what I mean? You have endless time for arguing, not I.

Preserving amerindian culture is no different from preserving Indian culture. It is not divorced from modernity. They live communally on lands restricted to the tribe so they only bring in kin no less than any other reservation clans do in the US.

They already use cell phones, have vehicles and even sporadic electricity and internet from Brazil. Why do you think they should disavow electrification? They never said they want to remain in the 18 century like the Amish and even they are changing slowly also.

As I said before, If I am white you are not black.

Why these people? Why not all the homes in Linden, Buxton, Wismar and the rest of the PNC stronghold? You are rich(as you claim), why not make your peoples' lives better? YOU TALK THE TALK, NOW SHOW THAT YOU MEAN IT.

Bai Skelly, why yuh getting personally hostile to D2. Me notice yuh attacking Mr T's person too. Zoom in on de topic nuh. Your current method is counterproductive.

Talk is what we do here. Also, Buxton etc have electricity and access to the trapings of modernity that these people do not. Basic electricity is  a right in our modern world where education is being located in the electronic realm and access to it depends on access to electricity. In advocating for them I contribute to airing their issues and making it topical. I do not ask that your endless prattle about indian is to be concurrent with something you contribute personally. Also, I do what I do and that is not your concern.

Stupidy Bill the 2nd...Why are they wearing modern clothing and not grass? Why are they heading out to modern schools? Why did the child go to a shop to purchase two soft drinks? Is this because they wish to live in the past?

Bai Skelly, why yuh getting personally hostile to D2. Me notice yuh attacking Mr T's person too. Zoom in on de topic nuh. Your current method is counterproductive.

Gilly, I know D2 is a strong supporter of his people and I admire him for that. He sees nothing wrong with the PNC. So, if his PNC cannot provide for his people and he is capable of doing so, I think he should contribute to them. I have given to my coolies in Skeldon when I was working. I just do not toot my horn here. This T dude is blaming the PPP for the world's problems. Every time he responds, he sees the PPP negative footprint in something there. Anyway, the weather is getting warmer, and the outdoor is calling. No need to worry.

How do you know I see nothing wrong with the PNC. I write against  them every day on hundreds of issues. That you are not party to that is not a concern. What you need to do is not make categorical statements.

You do not know a damn about me. YOu follow Dugbe and spew your nonsense about me  working in a dollar store. you further insist I am on welfare and that you know some "coolie" man stole my wife. These and much more make you irrelevant and petty if not plainly stupid in my world. You will never know what I do.

How do you know I see nothing wrong with the PNC. I write against  them every day on hundreds of issues. That you are not party to that is not a concern. What you need to do is not make categorical statements.

You do not know a damn about me. YOu follow Dugbe and spew your nonsense about me  working in a dollar store. you further insist I am on welfare and that you know some "coolie" man stole my wife. These and much more make you irrelevant and petty if not plainly stupid in my world. You will never know what I do.

This gives me great pleasure to rile you up elevating your blood pressure first thing in the morning. It makes my day to see to get you going like a little kid. I am not to be blamed for you being thinned skin. Dude, there is a disclaimer on the GNI page that says: " A note of warning, the Political forum is not for the faint of heart".

My response to you is courtesy. You  matter to me less than last week's weather.