Dem hucksta, hustler and pusher surrond Bharrat and dem abuse dem privilege and give dem mattie contract while dem kill out dem coolie peopkle livlihood. Den Bharrat gat de audicity foh defend Raj Singh in richmond hill...shameful...dem blackman want de slightest open foh marginalize dem coolies and dem dis huckster, pusha and hustler give dem. 

=============

Home  Features  The Roar of Ravi Dev  Out of the logies

Out of the logies

One of the unfortunate circumstances of our polarised, identity-based politics is a contested history filtered through the lenses of the separate and often conflicting narratives of our two major ethnic groups.
Take the letter by Mr. EB John, captioned, “It is impossible to omit the critical role sugar industry played in economic and social growth of Indo-Guyanese communities” (SN 4-11-19). Now, in and of itself, that statement is true; but the seemingly inevitable comparison with the African Guyanese sugar workers in his letter does raise some contentious issues.
As Mr. John points out, the Sugar Industry Labour Welfare Fund (SILWF) was established after WWII (1947, to be exact), by applying a levy on exported sugar, to be used for rehousing sugar workers. But he did not note that, simultaneously, the system of “cut and drop” was changed to “cut and load”, which extracted more from workers’ wages than the levy, and which precipitated the Enmore protest and massacre.
This SILWF initiative was a direct result of the Moyne Commission’s investigation of labour unrest in the Caribbean in the 1930s due to the deprivations in the sugar plantations occasioned by Depression-era plunging wages. The Commission was in fact taking evidence in British Guiana in 1939 when five sugar workers were shot and killed at Leonora Estate.
The Commission’s Report, which recommended far reaching political and social innovations, was not circulated, and was not implemented until after the war.
Mr John claims that “Extra Nuclear Housing Areas (ENHA) were exclusively constructed to accommodate INDIAN sugar workers and their families, supplemented by community centres and girls’ clubs.” But this was just not so. The ENHA were directed to accommodate ALL sugar workers and their families WHO WERE STILL LIVING IN BARRACKS OR LOGIES, because their living conditions had shocked the members of the Commission.
Latrines, for instance, were constructed over drainage canals, which could contaminate irrigation canals from where the drinking water was sourced. And the community centres and girls’ clubs were open to ALL who resided in the surrounding villages.
By 1947, however, most African Guyanese sugar workers had left the barracks/logies, and this circumstance ensured the ENHA ended up with mostly Indian Guyanese sugar workers.
But African Guyanese sugar workers were the overwhelming majority of the skilled and better paid factory workers. They rented or owned homes generally adjoining the public road, where they settled/bought after Emancipation. At Plantation Uitvlugt, for example, one section between the Public Road and Bruda Dam housed a number of African Guyanese families on what was called “children property”. South of Bruda, mostly African Guyanese houses stretched south to form the “Casbah” section. There was one large “Barrack” on the Estate Rd housing a number of African and Indian Guyanese families, and they were all housed in new “cottages” built from the SILWF funds.
Several “cottages”, dubbed “Bajan Quarters”, adjoined logies next to the sugar factory (“Letter A”), and housed a number of families from the 1929 WI brought to work on the sugar plantations from the smaller WI Islands between 1920 and 1928. The African “Bajans” were granted SILWF loans to build houses in the Casbah section. One vacant section of Casbah (behind the Scots School) was allocated as house lots to other African Guyanese families, as well as the two older sections which were regularized; and SILWF loans for building houses were extended.
Residents of ‘Letter A’ logies were allocated house lots in the cleared land between the Public Road and the Atlantic Ocean – dubbed “Ocean View” – and built houses with the SILWF loans.
Other logies were relocated to ENHA lots created in Zeeburg, De Willem, Meten- meer-Zorg, Zeelugt, and eventually Tuschen.
But what Mr John failed to mention was that, following the Moyne Report, the Government, in 1946, launched a “Central Authority” to provide housing for the “working class”, which was superseded by the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CHPA) in 1948.
Financing was provided from the British Guiana Building Society Ltd (est 1929 and incorporated in 1940 as the New Building Society). In 1954, the Housing Dept was created, and a vigorous house-building programme commenced, with G$15 million being spent between 1954 and 1959 to produce some 3,500 houses for persons outside the sugar belt.
We shall not extend the analysis to the 30,180 houses the PNC built during 1970-1980; plus the “housing schemes”; and arranging for the nationalised Bauxite Industry to mirror the SILWF arrangement “to reward its supporters and suborn its opponents”, as mentioned by Carl Greenidge in his book.

It is impossible to omit the critical role sugar industry played in economic and social growth of Indo-Guyanese communities.

Blacks were given the same opportunity. Can't blame the coolies as Cribby mantra goes.

Skelly, ask Ian Smith how many Indians got Houses at Melanie Damishana, Roxanne Burnham Gardens, Guyhoc Gardens and other Kabaka housing schemes. Ask him how many PNC Ministers who took out large Loans from GNCB to build/buy got their records destroyed and therefore did not repay the loans. 

Nehru, Why you ask dem bais hard hard kwestian? Dem only ah see dem mattie nasty underwear; dem nah see dem skanky wan.

Hey hey hey...doh is fact bai. Dat is why dat pot sold Mr TK does seh dat if Irffan and Bharrat dem dey not run de place like dem is hustler and hucksters dem would gat nuff nuff data to show dat dem house lot was more balance dan dem PNC one what Mr Ravi Dave talk bout. But dem was busy cover up dem own abuse dat dem didnt see de backlash...hey hey hey. Compare Diamond or Eccles and see how much non Indos get house dere compare to dem Kabaca/Hammie Green housing area. Ayoo know why dem justify all dat? Because dem gat wan FLAW view of histry and ayoo does beat ayoo chess how Indian rich...hey hey hey. 

Because dem gat wan FLAW view of histry and ayoo does beat ayoo chess how Indian rich...hey hey hey. 

Is abee buddy Cribby duz seah dat abee rich caas we gat roti and rum shap. He seah we keeping all de money fuh weself by nat giving management jabs in dem roti and rum shaps tuh black folks.  

I was very disappointed to hear that Dev was at Waddle funeral to give a speech. Although I like Bonita Harris alot. She is a hero in my mind. A fight between Roar and the Jagdeo led PPP is self defeating for both sides.

Looks like this John may have been in a good old boys club with Hoyte, Bishop and Insanally. I am surprised that the Rank was not in the club also.

Who is the Rank?

A good old boy.

Na mek cribby fool you. He is like Burnham. Dem does talk and do nothing. 

People like cribby does build a toilet only when they have the urge to use it.

Me grand fada was never wrong about the PNC. Everything that he said about the PNC  was true till this day. He also said that they love to fete. Look at UG, they can’t even afford toilet paper but they have $ 400,000 to fete, sport and wine down.

Look at de airport, the amount that the PNC spent on renovations should have given Guyana a grand Airport. Dem is a bunch of dunces and thieves !

Now tell me if me grand fada was wrong bout de PNC ?

Talk na, talk. Me leff the PNC one love racism for another day.

Look at de airport, the amount that the PNC spent on renovations should have given Guyana a grand Airport. Dem is a bunch of dunces and thieves !

Now tell me if me grand fada was wrong bout de PNC ?

It's the PPP who signed the contract and spent the money. The PNC was left with a mess to clear up. But the Chinese are busy paying off both the PPP and PNC. Dem Chinamen want our oil, and Jagdeo promised them it is theirs once he gets his people in government.

Your grand father was obviously not an intelligent man. He was also wrong about the PPP. That's twice a failure.

What alternative facts? Who was in government and signed plus approved the plans of the airport? That includes paying the Chinese for sand that was not theirs in the 1st place. The story gets compounded when the PNC then didn't force the Chinese to swallow the cost of delivering what was signed for. Instead the approved an amended plan with less facilities so that the Chinese wouldn't have to deliver on what was promised. In turn we all know that  the PNC then accepted a pay off in order to settle the case. But the whole contract stinks from here to eternity. Both parties accepted big bribes from the Chinese in exchange for a third world airport facility.

As for the grandpa: Guyana is what it is today because of the low quality stock shipped from India to Guyana. It has taken generations to produce a couple of intelligent ones. Grandpa era would still be in the low IQ era, who were valued for their work ethics, not their intelligence. Only after white and black men created a new gene pool within the Indian DNA did IQ improve. 

Last edited by Mr.T

if the agreement required the Chinese to deliver two ducks and wan chicken and deh oney deliver de chicken, den nat oney yuh doan pay dem fuh de ducks but yuh doan pay dem fuh de chicken eitha. Instead, de PNC paid de Chinese in full as if dem got de ducks and de chicken. Dah proves de PNC is hapless. 

I predict that Pattysun will be going to jail in 2020. Mark my words. Dat banna is the biggest thief in Guyana. 

You sound like dah other stupid rass Trump with that jail talk when is he an' probably you who should be heading there.

I was very disappointed to hear that Dev was at Waddle funeral to give a speech. Although I like Bonita Harris alot. She is a hero in my mind. A fight between Roar and the Jagdeo led PPP is self defeating for both sides.

took english 101 from a bonita  harris from gy ( the reason I took the clsss from her) nice, well rounded intellectual if it is the same person.

Bonita Harris is the best. Opposites do attract because up to now I can't figure out how she could fall for that Waddle. Welcome back to Stormborn. I hope you didn't get starve out of Venezuela.

Because dem gat wan FLAW view of histry and ayoo does beat ayoo chess how Indian rich...hey hey hey. 

Is abee buddy Cribby duz seah dat abee rich caas we gat roti and rum shap. He seah we keeping all de money fuh weself by nat giving management jabs in dem roti and rum shaps tuh black folks.  

Ksaz I know that you haven't been to GY for a long time but better believe this. Muneshwer isn't running a roti shop.  And neither are several others.

Nehru, Why you ask dem bais hard hard kwestian? Dem only ah see dem mattie nasty underwear; dem nah see dem skanky wan.

the notion that you and Nehru anoint yourself as GNI intellectuals is hilarious.

You mean after most of the $$ was spent in the PPP era and there was NOTHING to show for it?

Jagdeo and his guys must be laughing at how stupid you all are.  "Dem PPP supportah prapa chupid. We done teef out de money, didn't give dem none, and dem still slaving behin' we.  Dumb asses don't know dat we and dem PNC bais gat it covered.  At least dem PNC supportahs know and tell Harmon what dey tink of him, but we get a bunch a dumb Dalits chupid as grass!"

Look at this liar. Bai, the more you open your mouth, the more stupid you look.

Dat banna pattysun going to jail. Hope he is not your buddy.

Look at this liar. Bai, the more you open your mouth, the more stupid you look.

Dat banna pattysun going to jail. Hope he is not your buddy.

And Jaggy and Irfaan and others will join him there.

Do you seriously think that the PPP didn't steal in their time.  Yes they did and yes some of the PNC got crumbs because they feared growing old and hungry.  So when some urged "lock dem up" those PNC folks said "leff dem alone".