Amral posted:

Not a chance. As some of us fade away from this world the forum will go. We the older folks are what keeps it going. 

Our kids and their kids have modern social media. The grandchildren may not even care to know much about Guyana

You have a point there. I am doing my best to see that my son knows where his roots are. He's only three now but as he gets older, I am going to introduce him to different things. I have been accumulating a lot of Guyanese paraphernalia. Books, stamps, coins, old maps, postcards etc. Things I can sit down and tell a story about.    

Cobra posted:

I held a secret from GNI members since I came on here. I didn't want to scare them. Since Riff raff came up with this topic, I may want to expose this top secret. 

You're Prince..PJ....Gay....

Tell that to the site administrators about my identity that you sworn by. The same thing I told every other clown to do. When you get your answer, only then you need to let me know. Putagee getting stupidity these day.

RiffRaff posted:

Dont tek Yuh Rass pass me, I will be here swaring dem Binnie see if i can get some.

70 year old Lenora..hehehe

I'm same age as you. I hope Amral sees how his Admin. is treating posters. Your FB pic is someone who should be a regular at the gym. I'm busy and won't be spending much time here. So long.

I will be 55 next month. I feel sad now that there are less years ahead of me than behind me. As a young man ( in my teens) I use to say I have many many years ahead of me. I now fear that time is running away too fast for me to catch up. There are many things that I wish to do but have not been able to do.

As I was telling my children the other day, I said my generation is fortunate to have experience life not only in Guyana, but at a time when there were not any modern things for us to enjoy.

My children will never be able to express what life was like without television, running around barefoot, flying kites by the seawall, milking a cow, chasing after chickens, ducks and many many other things.

They just laughed.

So for you guys, this is our last link with our fellow Guyanese, some of us may have grown up in the same village, attended the same school etc, Enjoy it folks. Time is not on ourside.

Amral
Last edited by Amral

Amral don't worry about what you haven't done...think of the things you have done and you will find peace within yourself.

Speaking of link to Guyanese. Last Friday afternoon I stopped into a Tim Hortons with my buddy and his young daughter. They were at the counter getting our order while I secured a couple small tables along with four chairs. I hung my coat on the back of a chair and went to the counter to help with bringing back the grub when I saw a woman and her daughter getting all comfy at our table. Eh eh..I walked up to my seat when she asked if it was mine..I told her yes..she asked how many of us to which I answered,three. 

She started to get her stuff together to move but I stopped her and invited them both to stay while I grabbed an empty chair from a table where two guys sat as the chair was not being used. They thanked me and as we started on our grub she mentioned that the young girl with us had her favourite muffin. I told her I didn"t care much for those but do like West Indian style xmas cake to which she agreed it was better. I asked if she was from the west Indies and she said Guyana. We had a lenghty conversation and found out we both went to StMarys..she years later than I.

Long story short...she is married to one of my school chums younger brother..last name Sheilds. He now resides in the US. She took my number and maybe one day I might hear from him.

Amral don't worry about what you haven't done...think of the things you have done and you will find peace within yourself.

Speaking of link to Guyanese. Last Friday afternoon I stopped into a Tim Hortons with my buddy and his young daughter. They were at the counter getting our order while I secured a couple small tables along with four chairs. I hung my coat on the back of a chair and went to the counter to help with bringing back the grub when I saw a woman and her daughter getting all comfy at our table. Eh eh..I walked up to my seat when she asked if it was mine..I told her yes..she asked how many of us to which I answered,three. 

She started to get her stuff together to move but I stopped her and invited them both to stay while I grabbed an empty chair from a table where two guys sat as the chair was not being used. They thanked me and as we started on our grub she mentioned that the young girl with us had her favourite muffin. I told her I didn"t care much for those but do like West Indian style xmas cake to which she agreed it was better. I asked if she was from the west Indies and she said Guyana. We had a lenghty conversation and found out we both went to StMarys..she years later than I.

Long story short...she is married to one of my school chums younger brother..last name Sheilds. He now resides in the US. She took my number and maybe one day I might hear from him.

you give the women your number and hoping you get lucky and you making excuse  

If I were in Toronto, you wouldn't give up a seat or let me sit and eat at your table. Would you? Anyway, God bless you for your kindness, but the devil will never missed you. 

Yep I certainly would invite you..if I din know was u...hehe jus kidding banna.

See what that warrior said..tha man wutliss no rass. Oi warrior nahhh what i do is write my number in the womens washroom...for a good time call Cain...416..967..1111.

This is fkin crazy, cain. I called and the fkin people answered "Pizza Pizza here."

Amral posted:

I will be 55 next month. I feel sad now that there are less years ahead of me than behind me. As a young man ( in my teens) I use to say I have many many years ahead of me. I now fear that time is running away too fast for me to catch up. There are many things that I wish to do but have not been able to do.

As I was telling my children the other day, I said my generation is fortunate to have experience life not only in Guyana, but at a time when there were not any modern things for us to enjoy.

My children will never be able to express what life was like without television, running around barefoot, flying kites by the seawall, milking a cow, chasing after chickens, ducks and many many other things.

They just laughed.

So for you guys, this is our last link with our fellow Guyanese, some of us may have grown up in the same village, attended the same school etc, Enjoy it folks. Time is not on ourside.

Dude, flying kite/ milking cows was because we had to settle for the mundane rather than for example, a visit to Disneyland or a hike in a national park. I milked some 20 cows daily before going to school and it was no wonderful enterprise. Some were mean with wicked personalities and the mosquitoes were ever present.

Our kids are not us. They are different. They have a reality to explore we would not dream of. The little things that excited us and made us curious are passÃĐ to them. We were excited about books and lived in them. These kids live on their computers and smart phones.

I literally had to sit my kid down at 16 and put my foot down to emphasize that he must learn to write cursive and well. That was almost a whole summer of him being grumpy and unhappy but it is something I think was necessary. Out time is come and gone. If we did well we passed on the seminal things; to be honest. to do your best, to never give up and to be true to ones self in all things.

Cobra posted:

Age is like climbing a mountain. When you reach 50 is when you reach to the top. Coming down from where you started is time to expire from this world. It's never a good feeling. They say time and tide waits for no man. 

Shut your behind. At fifty eight I am not ready to go any where soon. I actually said I was going to run 3 miles today but kept on going and did five. It was a chest heaving, leg aching, back straining 5 but I did it just to feel I am a live.

I do the same thing biking. As I ride up a ridge I look to the top and forget everything else and go for it. It is in getting there that is the glory...you get the adrenaline rush in the run down. If you do XC mountain biking you know that the rundown is the dangerous part and not the climbing up! I am not going out easily.

It is highly unlikely that our children or grandchildren will post at GNI.

I never shared my political experiences in Guyana with my children. The issue of race was also never brought up. The only thing that they know about Guyana is that it is very hot and it has lots of mosquitoes.  

My children do not even speak one word of broken english.

Unless GNI transforms into something else, it will die a slow death by the time I turn 70 which is 20 years from now. That's why it is important that we keep the political slugfest going.

Amral posted:

Not a chance. As some of us fade away from this world the forum will go. We the older folks are what keeps it going. 

Our kids and their kids have modern social media. The grandchildren may not even care to know much about Guyana

Based on the comments made the posters here are in their 50s through to their 70s and have been living in the USA for decades.

Not even middle aged Guyanese who recently arrived post, and virtually no one living inn Guyana (I refer to those who never left) post either.

It is highly unlikely that our children or grandchildren will post at GNI.

I never shared my political experiences in Guyana with my children. The issue of race was also never brought up. The only thing that they know about Guyana is that it is very hot and it has lots of mosquitoes.  

My children do not even speak one word of broken english.

Unless GNI transforms into something else, it will die a slow death by the time I turn 70 which is 20 years from now. That's why it is important that we keep the political slugfest going.

Patently false. Your children will speak the local vernacular which would be english at the core but with a substructure from the community. Every group maintains two languages; a formal one for the market place and an informal one local to the community  that is the lingua franca of for general communications. Perfect english is the forma language and only exists in academic prose or news reading etc. No one edits local jargon since the rules are loose. One can edit english since its rules are defined.

Cobra posted:

I recommended one neemakaram since I joined the site and that's it. Riffraff, you're absolutely wrong about the new generation. I tend to agree with Amral. You are NOT the last best thing since sliced bread. The site will continue long after you and Nehru are gone. 

Amral said the site will go...not go on