THE World Bank has projected a 5% growth in Guyana’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) for this year, the third highest in Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC).
The Washington-based bank in its Global Economic Prospects released yesterday, said Haiti will see the highest growth of 8.1% followed by Panama with 6.1%.
Haiti's growth however, is based on aid inflows from developing countries.
The bank also forecast a 5.6 % growth rate for Guyana in 2013.
The bank lowered its growth forecasts for high-income and low-income countries, saying it expected the world economy to expand an aggregate 2.5 percent in 2012, down from about 2.7 percent in 2011.
In its previous estimate, in June, it forecast growth of 3.6 percent in 2012.
The bank also warned of the continued threat of a global financial shock “similar in magnitude to the Lehman crisis,” because of the possibility that a major European economy could be shut out of the global debt markets. In that case, the bank estimated the damage to the world’s economic growth would rival the recession of 2008 and 2009.
“The largest economy in the world is weakening,” Justin Yifu Lin, the bank’s chief economist, said, referring to the European Union. “The message for developing countries is to start preparing now.”
The report was issued as forecasters warned of slower growth in the United States.
Estimates of the nation’s annual pace of growth reached as high as 4 % in the final months of 2011. But economists contend the strength came in part from temporary measures, including wholesalers restocking their inventories and consumers saving less and spending more over the holidays.
Economists say they expect many headwinds in early 2012: rising oil prices as the United States and European countries confront Iran; the risk of a tax cut for American wage earners expiring; a strong dollar rendering American exports less competitive; and continued repercussions from the sovereign debt crisis in Europe.
In the report, the biannual Global Economic Prospects, the bank predicted that high-income countries, including the United States, France, Japan and Germany, would grow 1.4 percent in 2012.
It forecast a mild contraction of 0.3 percent in the 17 countries that use the euro. Developing countries will grow 5.4 percent, down from a forecast of 6.2 percent in June, the bank said.
Mr. Burns said those trends created a “dangerous dynamic,” with the slowdown in emerging economies sapping growth from advanced economies, and the downturn in advanced economies worsening prospects for emerging markets. “The events are feeding off of one another,” he said.
A worst case in Europe could lead to significant hardship for emerging economies, the report said. Commodity prices could fall as much as 24 %, hurting government revenue in export-dependent nations. Global trade volumes could fall by more than 7 %. Countries in Central Asia and Eastern Europe would be hit hardest, the bank said.
But even if catastrophe does not occur, growth looks weaker, the bank said. For instance, the World Bank estimates world trade will expand only 4.7 % in 2012, down from 12.4 % in 2010.
Last summer, the World Bank noted significant “contagion from Europe to developing countries,” Mr. Burns said. Risk-averse investors slashed financing to emerging markets, with gross capital flows falling to $170 billion in the second half of 2011 from about $309 billion in the same period in 2010. In addition, borrowing costs began to rise in developing countries.
The bank said developing economies should prepare for declining investment from abroad, less-robust exports, and reduced remittances. Governments should rigorously stress test their financial institutions, plan major infrastructure projects to help support demand and ensure the viability of their social safety nets, the report said.
Mr. Lin said advanced economies should consider more immediate fiscal stimulus to support growth, locally and globally. “They need to carry out structural reforms in the long-term,” he said. “But in the short term, they need an intervention to provide a short-term boost to demand.”
He warned that emerging markets have less room for fiscal and monetary stimulus than they did in 2008 and 2009, even though they have more capacity than many developed countries. Many high-income countries, including the United States, are already struggling with heavy debt loads, limiting the possibility of fiscal stimulus. And central banks have already over-extended their balance sheets and pushed interest rates close to zero, limiting monetary stimulus, Mr. Burns said in an interview.
The International Monetary Fund, the World Bank’s sister organization, echoed its warnings about the dangers slowing trade and uncertainty about Europe pose to emerging markets.
In a speech Monday, David Lipton, the fund’s first deputy managing director, said there was reason for optimism, given the lessons learned in the 2008 crisis. But, he warned: “Europe could be swept into a downward spiral of collapsing confidence, stagnant growth and fewer jobs. And in today’s interconnected global economy, no country and no region would be immune from that catastrophe.”
The fund is expected to update its World Economic Outlook on Jan. 24. It said it would cut its growth forecast from predictions it issued last September.
World Bank officials emphasized the importance of confidence, given uncertainty about Europe and worries about slowing growth. Mr. Burns said investor sentiment “could have an enormous impact cumulatively.
The bank says Barbados, Cuba, Grenada, and Suriname are not forecast, owing to data limitations.

Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Dem boys don't like to hear good news about Guyana. Bad news about Guyana is good news for them.

ah wonder waa iz the prediction fu the great usa
Dem boys don't like to hear good news about Guyana. Bad news about Guyana is good news for them.

dem iz just a bunch of low life haters...Guyana moving ahead
Originally posted by SuperMike:

dem iz just a bunch of low life haters...Guyana moving ahead

Abie a mek progress like waan waan dutty build dam. Mi gat ah feelin' dem a wach we an' ah wait foa tek we down fuss chance. Dem waant mo action. Abie coolie muss wach we back.
When Haiti, with its finances, infrastructure, and politics in dire straight, can have a predicted growth bigger than Guyana, we have nothing to be proud of.
Furthermore: a growth of 8.1% on our declared GDP is nothing to be proud about. The increased growth in terms of hard currency works out at less than $100 for every man/woman/child over the whole year. That's about 30 cents a day. Nothing to be beating your chest for.

We do, but when the good news is only due to high gold prices, and not the developmemt of new industries really whats there to boast about?
Originally posted by Mr.T:
When Haiti, with its finances, infrastructure, and politics in dire straight, can have a predicted growth bigger than Guyana, we have nothing to be proud of.
Furthermore: a growth of 8.1% on our declared GDP is nothing to be proud about. The increased growth in terms of hard currency works out at less than $100 for every man/woman/child over the whole year. That's about 30 cents a day. Nothing to be beating your chest for.

Ah true deh, country laka Guyana muss get 8%+ fo reduce poverty. Problim in Guyana, we ga too much people depending pon Govt, but if we na gi dem Govt wuk, dem seh, "every way is war...war".
why can these 2 racist say congrats to our dear land

5% nah bad since abut gatt nuff wid dem hand out. Alyuh na sarrys foa abie coolies donk hay man. We nah only gett we abie foa cyarry.
Mike, Mike: come closer to your computer screen for a second so that you can see things a lot better in focus.
You see bro: we so far behind when compared to the rest of South America that even countries with no direct access to the sea, or countries with far less fertile agricultural land along their coastline have a better standard of living than us. Why you think that is? I'll tell you why. Because them thieving PPP and PNC government officials and their friends have stolen most of it. As an example: out of all the money raised by the PPP over the last 20 years in taxes, what percentage has been used to reduce taxes or living costs for the majority of Guyanese? None! So is what the money has been used for?
Mike, Mike: come closer to your computer screen for a second so that you can see things a lot better in focus.

Oi Mikey, jus because I'm a nice man I must let you know that you really doan need to stick your face on the screen, is joke the man jokin'
You see bro: we so far behind when compared to the rest of South America that even countries with no direct access to the sea, or countries with far less fertile agricultural land along their coastline have a better standard of living than us. Why you think that is? I'll tell you why. Because them thieving PPP and PNC government officials and their friends have stolen most of it. As an example: out of all the money raised by the PPP over the last 20 years in taxes, what percentage has been used to reduce taxes or living costs for the majority of Guyanese? None! So is what the money has been used for?

Aren’t you happy for one second that Guyana is projecting a 5% growth???
?

He also needs to understand a mathematical reality.

If Guyana has an economy of $1,000 and grows by 5% than next year its $1,050.

If Barbados has an economy of %4,000, even if it shrinks its still ahead of the game.
Originally posted by cain:

Oi Mikey, jus because I'm a nice man I must let you know that you really doan need to stick your face on the screen, is joke the man jokin'

wadd up cainster wavey
Originally posted by caribj:
?

If Barbados has an economy of %4,000, even if it shrinks its still ahead of the game.

hey yu racist pig...Aren’t you happy for one second that Guyana is projecting a 5% growth?.

wadd up cainster wavey

I deh here readin an laffin, you see even though we does fite, I still look out for you up deh, hehe

wadd up cainster wavey

I deh here readin an laffin, you see even though we does fite, I still look out for you up deh, hehe

me noo bro Big Grin

I wouldn't categorize someone as being racist for looking at economic growth figures critically. I've always said that the important growth number is how a country raises its labor force, diversify its economy, advances its technology, etc. If Guyana's predicted 5.1% growth (and I think the topic says "predicted") is based largely on the rise in price of one commodity, and not much else changes, then it's not racist to say it's a positive thing, but let's not beat our chest and say everything is hunk-dory.

you have to stop using the word racist like it's going out of style. It's like how people say sh!t and fu*k as loose terms. Your vocabulary has a ceiling?
?

hey yu racist pig...Aren’t you happy for one second that Guyana is projecting a 5% growth?.

I am happy with this projected growth. But growth comes with pain. 60% of the nation is below the poverty line. How does this growth translate into an improvement in the quality of life for the masses?
Originally posted by Mitwah:
?

I am happy with this projected growth. But growth comes with pain. 60% of the nation is below the poverty line. How does this growth translate into an improvement in the quality of life for the masses?

ask Obama if he can shine some light on this since millions starving and without wuk and have no health care rite here in the great usa
my brother you never see pradoville 1 and 2 ,you ever see some of them minister house,the housing minister is only working for 3 yrs you ever see his house.that is where the tax payers money went
Originally posted by Kari:

I wouldn't categorize someone as being racist for looking at economic growth figures critically. I've always said that the important growth number is how a country raises its labor force, diversify its economy, advances its technology, etc. If Guyana's predicted 5.1% growth (and I think the topic says "predicted") is based largely on the rise in price of one commodity, and not much else changes, then it's not racist to say it's a positive thing, but let's not beat our chest and say everything is hunk-dory.

you have to stop using the word racist like it's going out of style. It's like how people say sh!t and fu*k as loose terms. Your vocabulary has a ceiling?
now if the DEA step up they operation in guyana they goes the grow rate.
Originally posted by warrior:
my brother you never see pradoville 1 and 2 ,you ever see some of them minister house,the housing minister is only working for 3 yrs you ever see his house.that is where the tax payers money went

stop the nonsense...are you happy that theh world bank predicted this about Guyana?? this is all i am asking you PPP haters

the standard of living guyana have,a grow rate that the world predicted will still left the guyanese in proverty.
A couple of fallacies here on things in the US.
Firstly, while there are millions of families living below the poverty line according to income and number in the family, the States and the Federal government do have programs in place to alleviate the effects of such poverty. Also do not under estimate the effect of charity in keeping people from famine.

The second fallacy is about Obama and where we are in the USA. If you recognize that the millions of jobs lost started MANY YEARS ago and is a natural consequence of the labor force being enlarged by hundreds of Asians entering into the labor supply then you won't be asking Obama how these people get there. You have to ask what is he doing about reshaping America to cope with this reality. What is he doing to help attract non-tradable jobs for the millions? One approach says have government fill the demand void created when millions lost their homes and equity in the financial meltdown BEFORE Obama took office. It in this regard, Obama has saved the auto industry and over a million and a half ancillary jobs and is reshaping education to meet the needs of non-tradable jobs. If he were to act like a Prime Minister and not be restrained by divided governance (see his foreign policy accomplishments where Congress does not get in his way) you will see what he can do to rev the US economic engine.

So the rhetorical question really does not accomplish much and especially not in the context of the question of Guyana's growth. Save your breath, will you. Let the grown-up adults write on such matters and be quiet and learn.
Originally posted by Mitwah:
?

ask Obama if he can shine some light on this since millions starving and without wuk and have no health care rite here in the great usa

Bhai, next time yuh guh rum shop, watch how dem seperate dem big bakkles frum dem small ones. In the USA and in Canada here we have safety nets for the jobless and the poor. In Guyana we have Baakus and Old Haigues. Your answer is out of context. Please don't move to Canada. Big Grin You can visit. Big Grin BTW, what's happening with the collapsed Supenaam Stelling that the PPP built?

We do, but when the good news is only due to high gold prices, and not the developmemt of new industries really whats there to boast about?

HATER AS USUAL
My earlier post was meant to address S/Mike

SM, a couple of fallacies here on things in the US.

Firstly, while there are millions of families living below the poverty line according to income and number in the family, the States and the Federal government do have programs in place to alleviate the effects of such poverty. Also do not under estimate the effect of charity in keeping people from famine.

The second fallacy is about Obama and where we are in the USA. If you recognize that the millions of jobs lost started MANY YEARS ago and is a natural consequence of the labor force being enlarged by hundreds of Asians entering into the labor supply then you won't be asking Obama how these people get there. You have to ask what is he doing about reshaping America to cope with this reality. What is he doing to help attract non-tradable jobs for the millions? One approach says have government fill the demand void created when millions lost their homes and equity in the financial meltdown BEFORE Obama took office. It in this regard, Obama has saved the auto industry and over a million and a half ancillary jobs and is reshaping education to meet the needs of non-tradable jobs. If he were to act like a Prime Minister and not be restrained by divided governance (see his foreign policy accomplishments where Congress does not get in his way) you will see what he can do to rev the US economic engine.

So the rhetorical question really does not accomplish much and especially not in the context of the question of Guyana's growth. Save your breath, will you? Let the grown-up adults write on such matters and be quiet and learn.
THE World Bank has projected a 5% growth in Guyana’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) for this year---- The bank also forecast a 5.6 % growth rate for Guyana in 2013.

Under the gross mismanagement of the PNC in the 70s and 80s Guyana was reduced to a HIGHLY INDEBTED POOR COUNTRY(HIPC) by the 1990s.

Today, under the leadership of the PPP---Guyana's economy is striving.

The world bank projects GDP growth of 5.1% in 2012 and 5.6% in 2013.

HERE IS THE BEAUTY AND POWER OF COMPOUNDING:

If Guyana's GDP were to continue growing at an average of 5.5% a year---it would double in 13 years.

LONG LIVE GUYANA---MAY THE PPP ALWAYS RUN GUYANA.

Originally posted by Rev Al:
THE World Bank has projected a 5% growth in Guyana’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) for this year---- The bank also forecast a 5.6 % growth rate for Guyana in 2013.

Under the gross mismanagement of the PNC in the 70s and 80s Guyana was reduced to a HIGHLY INDEBTED POOR COUNTRY(HIPC) by the 1990s.

Today, under the leadership of the PPP---Guyana's economy is striving.

The world bank projects GDP growth of 5.1% in 2012 and 5.6% in 2013.

HERE IS THE BEAUTY AND POWER OF COMPOUNDING:

If Guyana's GDP were to continue growing at an average of 5.5% a year---it would double in 13 years.

LONG LIVE GUYANA---MAY THE PPP ALWAYS RUN GUYANA.

Your number speaks louder than words and not like some PNC supporters who quote voodoo numbers. A positive sign for Guyana.
As I pointed out before, a U$0.30 per year growth for each man, woman or child is not something to celebrate.
But hold on: I am heavily mistaken. From the graph it turns out to be U$0.20 growth per year for every man, woman , or child.
What can you buy with an extra 20 cents every year?
Originally posted by Kari:
My earlier post was meant to address S/Mike

SM, a couple of fallacies here on things in the US.

So the rhetorical question really does not accomplish much and especially not in the context of the question of Guyana's growth. Save your breath, will you? Let the grown-up adults write on such matters and be quiet and learn.

WOW...like you plan to run for some office or waa??? try telling this bull crap to the millions who cannot afford to put food on their table, try tell this long fancy story to those millions who flocking shelters for food...Which States and which Federal government has what programs in place to alleviate the effects of poverty, why so many millions starving here, what are these states waiting for. Go tell this bull crap to my neighbor who lost his job, no health care, will soon lose his house, cannot afford to send his kids to collage whiles Obama bailing out GM and all the big banks, not forgetting spending billions on slaughtering innocent people in other parts of the world. Yall full ah ka ka, have a great week end.

Why the heck do you concern yourself about Guyana? Traitors should go to Haiti and hide their heads in the sands..
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:

Why the heck do you concern yourself about Guyana? Traitors should go to Haiti and hide their heads in the sands..
rama ppp is only ruling guyana they donot own it.unless the ppp tell you something we donot know about
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:

rama ppp is only ruling guyana they donot own it.unless the ppp tell you something we donot know about

If they are winning all the free and fair elections in Guyana, they technically owns it.

Next election, the AFC will be history when the People sees that the AFC is an arm of the PNC. They will be history when Indo_guyaneses see that the AFC vote against the best interest of the Indians in Guyana.