First was the Chinese driven out, next Barama, now the Brazilians. Is there a parallel universe where the PNC are living where they see all things bright and wonderful but Investor see economic free fall? They will blame this in the crackdown on drugs. 

Brazilian company calls it quits — after swimming pool brouhaha on Thursday

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
City Hall employees on Thursday pooled their strength to remove the swimming pools from the City Council’s reserve in front of at least two lots at Ixora Avenue, Bel Air Park, Georgetown

FOLLOWING Thursday’s brouhaha at Sheriff Street, the Brazilian-owned Amazonia Swimming Pool Company is leaving Guyana.The company noted on Friday, that the move follows the removal of four swimming pools by the Georgetown Mayor and City Council on Thursday. The pools were valued at $14M the company said.
King told the Guyana Chronicle on Thursday that the placing of the pools by a businessman at the location not only presents a bad picture of the city, but is illegal and is a haven for the breeding of mosquitoes.
The town clerk said efforts were made repeatedly by the City Council to speak with the businessman, but all proved futile.
According to Company Director Ibrahim Mustapha, the entity will sell the remaining pools and return to Brazil. The company described the action by the city authorities as deceitful and fraudulent.
The company’s director noted that it has invested heavily in Guyana.
“We would sell one or two pools every six months; however, the pools have great potential. Many persons have indicated their interest, but the economy is dead,” Mustapha said.
He said he kept the business opened, hoping that things would get better as he sees Guyana has great potential in the future.
Mustapha said that the company lowered the cost of the pools by half, which means their profit margin is small.
“To have suffered a loss of this capacity, we will be placed in tremendous debts,” Mustapha said.
The company refuted reports from City Hall that it failed to contact the M&CC on the matter.
The town clerk expressed the belief that the company could undertake illegal activities because the City Council is not well equipped.

“Where we don’t have the equipment, we will cut these things up, and move them in manageable sizes. We can’t continue like this!” King said.
He maintained that such activities cannot occur in other cities of the world.

Were the swimming pools made in Guyana?

I guess mosquito breeding grounds are OK with you!

This is how it becomes ok to drive out investors. First you start with the small excuse and then it becomes a crescendo. They are providing stimulus to the economy in the installation and maintenance process.  I believe the pools are also made in Guyana but am not 100% certain. 

The issue is not about mosquito but rather the highlighted, where the PNC have soured the economy and people stop spending, throw in the harassment and the investors will flee. 

This is how it becomes ok to drive out investors.

Did you answer the question about the swimming pools being made in Guyana? If he is merely importing them then how is he an investor? He will only be a retailer.

The fact that he sells only a few pools monthly will suggest that he is a retailer.  Guyana has no shortage of retailers.

This is how it becomes ok to drive out investors.

Did you answer the question about the swimming pools being made in Guyana? If he is merely importing them then how is he an investor? He will only be a retailer.

The fact that he sells only a few pools monthly will suggest that he is a retailer.  Guyana has no shortage of retailers.

Yes, in fact mixing resin and pouring fiberglass to harden over a mesh base is not cutting edge technology and does not provide massive amounts of jobs.  The installation and maintenance is much more value added, as excavators operators and other skilled persons have to be involved in the installation process while the maintenance is an ongoing job. 

Lil lil dutty build dam, how many small businesses like this are you and the PNC driving out? Let them give you some talking points and come back when your paycheck comes in. 

Yes, in fact mixing resin and pouring fiberglass to harden over a mesh base is not cutting edge technology and does not provide massive amounts of jobs.  The installation and maintenance is much more value added, as excavators operators and other skilled persons have to be involved in the installation process while the maintenance is an ongoing job. 

Lil lil dutty build dam, how many small businesses like this are you and the PNC driving out? Let them give you some talking points and come back when your paycheck comes in. 

I will suggest to you that no manufacturer is going to survive if he is only selling 4 of his products monthly, which is what he was doing before City Council acted.

It is clear that this is a retailer, most likely importing products from Brazil. In which case who cares if he leaves.

I will suggest to you that no manufacturer is going to survive if he is only selling 4 of his products monthly, which is what he was doing before City Council acted.

It is clear that this is a retailer, most likely importing products from Brazil. In which case who cares if he leaves.

This is how you drive out investors, Chinese, Barama and not the Brazilians; "who cares if he leaves". PNC que que logic.  When does it stop?

Caribbeanj is right in a sense.  Guyana does not need retail. Because of the small population it needs very good small scale manufacturing.  That is how Beharry ,Ricks/ Sari and others developed. The retail should be for the local people. These countries like India, China and Brazil are engaged in primitive capitalism. They are all hiding their manufacturing secrets so as to protect their markets.