Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by ball:

CHIMTA

Must have tool by the fireside,used for seke roti.

Yes, used to hold and turn Seke-Roti.

Its a long pliers-type tool made from one piece of metal, bent on itself in the middle.  Also used to turn the fire and place small pieces of burning wood further in the fireplace.

Pa was a welder and made many of these instruments. I used to help him shape the small iron rods with a jig on the vise, to make gates and frame over grave sites, place on Sundays wid a bottle of rum afterwards.

But me still na see no jumbie till dis day.

Description for CHAPPAL ? 

Last edited by Tola
Originally Posted by Tola:
Originally Posted by ball:

CHIMTA

Must have tool by the fireside,used for seke roti.

Yes, used to hold and turn Seke-Roti.

Its a long pliers-type tool made from one piece of metal, bent on itself in the middle.  Also used to turn the fire and place small pieces of burning wood further in the fireplace.

Pa was a welder and made many of these instruments. I used to help him shape the small iron rods with a jig on the vise, to make gates and frame over grave sites, place on Sundays wid a bottle of rum afterwards.

But me still na see no jumbie till dis day.

Description for CHAPPAL ? 

in that case i guess u never see skeltonman 

Rass dis 50 year brain tease is causing me trouble.

Also called pointer broom, to sweep battom house. 

Wait a minute wha you talking bout coconut branch

broom,ah duh yuh call pimpla broom.

Yea, its coconut branch broom.

Some people call it PIMPLA broom, because the broken pointed ends could injure hands. But it was more commonly called POINTA broom. 

we dus make small kite with pointa broom.

Me used to get into trouble 'borrowing' flour to make paste for broom kite.

One time me big sista hit me on the shoulda wid a belna, while making roti, as I was 'borrowing' a handful of  flour. 

If we had toilet paper then, I am sure we would have used it to make kite.

Was it 'gamma-cherry' that grew in bunches, we later used to paste kite.

They say if you eat too many, you stomach gun paste tight.

Dem bai used to a maker big brown paper kite and try to tie a kid on its tail, before its airborne.