Women excluded from 2015 Budget in a big way

“We count, we matter” – PPP/C MP Dr Persaud says

By Devina Samaroo

The Government benches fell silent when People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Member of Parliament (MP), Dr Vindhya Persaud chastised the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) Administration for its exclusion of women from Budget 2015 and generally for its limitations on women in all aspects of governance.

PPP/C MP, Dr Vindhya Persaud

Dr Persaud, known for her advocacy for human rights and women’s rights, vehemently criticised the new Government for not including any programmes or initiatives in its Budget for the development of women.

She made reference to the scrapping of the Women of Worth (WoW) project which was established under the PPP/C Administration, a public-private partnership which provided single-parent women with the resources to start or expand their own businesses. Dr Persaud demanded that the Government explain what would now happen to these women.

“Where is the alternative? Tell me, I want to know,” she stated. Dr Persaud highlighted that in the entire budget, the word “women” was only mentioned three times, noting that this was completely disrespectful to the women of Guyana.

“We have been ignored. A fleeting mention of one of the most vulnerable and weakest group in this country … not a woman-centric initiative is mentioned in that budget … Women’s developmental programmes have been blatantly neglected … No announcements of short-term empowered initiatives, no benefits for single mothers,” she stated, noting that one should not have to finely scrutinise a national budget to locate allocations for this large and vulnerable groups.

She also chided the Government for the lack of women representation on the State Boards across the country.

“Three of 22 State Boards are chaired by women. Are you saying that there are no brilliant, capable, competent women in the country, Mr Speaker? I am affronted, I am affronted for all the women who you are telling that to,” she declared.

In contrast, she highlighted that the previous Government made significant strides in establishing programmes designed to propel women. “The Guyana Women’s Leadership Institute, having been very much involved in that institute, I admire the rate at which women are churned out more than one time a year, equipped in various areas so that they can be financially empowered,” she stated.

Persaud also highlighted that the Government implemented no substantial programme or initiative that can benefit the elderly people, noting that the meagre increase in the Old Age Pension was insignificant given the fact that it eliminated the water and electricity subsidies for this vulnerable group. As it relates to youths, she pointed out that Government also did not put enough effort into developing programmes that will aid in the enhancement of this group.

She noted that after all the talk of unemployment, Government was engaging in “wanton witch-hunting” which resulted in more unemployment, snatching bread from the mouth of families all across the country, resulting in more poverty.

The parliamentarian also touched on the topic of crime, expressing great concern over the fact that Guyanese cannot even feel safe in their own homes anymore.

“I am tired of the meaningless excuses…We are now looking over our shoulders when we open our doors to enter our homes because we know not what lurks there…persons have become deluged by paranoia…people have to swallow constant loss and move on every time they lose their small or large earnings,” she said.

Moreover, Persaud proposed that the Government establish a fund to assist families who were affected by violent crimes, particularly in a situation where the breadwinner of the family was killed during such incidents.

"She also chided the Government for the lack of women representation on the State Boards across the country.

“Three of 22 State Boards are chaired by women. Are you saying that there are no brilliant, capable, competent women in the country, Mr Speaker? I am affronted, I am affronted for all the women who you are telling that to,” she declared."

the criticism is valid

however, anybody know how many state boards in the previous administration were chaired by women?

the good doctor choose not to say

"She also chided the Government for the lack of women representation on the State Boards across the country.

“Three of 22 State Boards are chaired by women. Are you saying that there are no brilliant, capable, competent women in the country, Mr Speaker? I am affronted, I am affronted for all the women who you are telling that to,” she declared."

the criticism is valid

however, anybody know how many state boards in the previous administration were chaired by women?

Thought alyuh was "change".  The only change thus far your PNC brought has been doom, gloom and despair.

the criticism is valid

Thought alyuh was "change".  The only change thus far your PNC brought has been doom, gloom and despair.

i see a glimmering of an 'answer' to my question hay

am i right, messenger bhai?

the criticism is valid

I am also curious as to why this woman didn't release the numbers of females who headed PPP state boards.  Apparently their record isn't any better.

I also hope that APNU/AFC isn't shutting down every single PPP initiative, just because it isn't theirs.  While the PPP were a corrupt, inept and racist den of thieves, not every thing that they did was bad.

Again bad messaging by APNU/AFC.  Single mothers form a large part of their constituency, and the coalition gov't risks alienation of their supporters if they aren't careful.  After all which groups have a disproportionate  female headed households in Guyana?  The African and the mixed.

If the women's initiative was ineffective APNU/AFC should have announced an immediate replacement.

".  The only change thus far your PNC brought has been doom, gloom and despair.

Yes it is understand that there is doom, gloom, and despair among the Indo KKK, as they can no longer scream "ahbe pan tap, black man time done".  They can no longer boast that "collie gun run Guyana FOREVER".

As to the ordinary Indians, I suspect those in rice and sugar are relieved that APNU isn't abandoning them in the same manner that the PPP abandoned the bauxite workers.

Yes it is understand that there is doom, gloom, and despair among the Indo KKK, as they can no longer scream "ahbe pan tap, black man time done".  They can no longer boast that "collie gun run Guyana FOREVER".

As to the ordinary Indians, I suspect those in rice and sugar are relieved that APNU isn't abandoning them in the same manner that the PPP abandoned the bauxite workers.

Nah bai, the Indo, Portugese, Chinee and other Guyanese nationalist watch alyuh dance and prance.

PNC cannot abandon shyte, their existance is dependent on these people.  Oil not coming for a loooong loooong time.  You following x-Guyana events, I'm sure.

suh why u stressing and lying on GNI all these years?

Tell me nuh!

?? . . .

this mussbe anadda wan of your brain seize-up episodes where yuh mouth lef running without upstairs support

uh huh

Nah bai, the Indo, Portugese, Chinee and other Guyanese nationalist watch alyuh dance and prance.

The 3 Portuguese and 2 GUYANESE of Chinese ancestry were accepted as honorary Indo KKK. 

As a Guyanese I grew up hearing the same racist nonsense from Portuguese people about blacks as I heard from Indians.  In fact it was this racist behavior that enabled Burnham to convince black people that the "Potagee" had to go.

So I am not impressed by your Indo/Portugese/Chinese KKK.

Now having said that, APNU/AFC are clumsy, lack focus, and seem incapable of generating innovative ideas (why the shock given that most of them probably don't even know how to use a laptop, given their advanced age, and their mentality that this is for their secretaries to do).  So their messaging is extremely pathetic. 

Your Indo/Portuguese/Chinese KKK must be overjoyed with glee, as by the LGE the PNC base will be quite upset with them, and will stay away from the polls.

Those who care about APNU/AFC are telling them to fix themselves. Fanatics like redux accept what ever the coalition gov't line is, and will follow them to evolving into an inept regime, if they don't make immediate changes.

an inability to control the tribal tugs all of us must overcome is a near-fatal weakness of yours

away from GNI, i do more than most of y'all big mouths on a daily basis to improve and try hold together this unique, worthy thing we have in Guyana, for the good of Guyana . . . mitigating the damage people like you inflict by giving your score-settling instincts the lead while convincing yourselves that you are doing god's work - providing "tough love"

smh

an inability to control the tribal tugs all of us must overcome is a near-fatal weakness of yours

away from GNI, i do more than most of y'all big mouths on a daily basis to try hold together this unique, worthy thing we have in Guyana, for the good of Guyana . . . mitigating the damage people like you inflict by giving your score-settling instincts the lead while convincing yourselves that you are doing god's work - providing "tough love"

smh

I know.  Defending APNU in their growing ineptitude is just the recipe for it to succeed.

away from GNI, i do more than most of y'all big mouths on a daily basis to try hold together this unique, worthy thing we have in Guyana, for the good of Guyana . . . mitigating the damage people like you inflict by giving your score-settling instincts the lead while convincing yourselves that you are doing god's work - providing "tough love"

smh

I know.  Defending APNU in their growing ineptitude is just the recipe for it to succeed.

now i'm a defender of "APNU" . . . uh huh

the 'insight' of another night creature caught in the spotlight

Clearly, as they are the dominant factor in the coalition, so will get the credit for what works, and the blame for what doesn't.

We do hear lots from Harmon.  Except when it comes to crime, and then they hang poor inept Ramjattan out to dry.

Clearly, as they are the dominant factor in the coalition, so will get the credit for what works, and the blame for what doesn't.

We do hear lots from Harmon.  Except when it comes to crime, and then they hang poor inept Ramjattan out to dry.

you make absolutely no sense

why am i not surprised

you make absolutely no sense

why am i not surprised

When LGE is held and the PPP does better than you expect in G/T don't start blaming all the APNU "supporters" who stayed home.

APNU/AFC messaging is horrible, and as a result the PPP is winning the propaganda game.  APNU/AFC come across as lacking focus, and not having clear goals.  Jagdeo and the oligarchs are setting a fine trap and APNU will fall right in. 

Face it, the AFC is merely riding on an APNU bus, so will end up where ever APNU takes them.