Meet the woman who stood up to the racist Mississauga clinic ranter

Sharon Samalia encourages people in similar circumstances to “be that someone instead of waiting for someone else.”

https://youtu.be/q0EtNFtW8UQ

The person who interrupted a racist rant by a woman demanding to see a “white doctor” at a Mississauga clinic says she hopes her actions serve as an example to others.

“Your child clearly has more issues with you being his mother than him needing to see a doctor,” Sharon Samalia says to the woman in the confrontation captured on video. “You are extremely rude and racist.”

Samalia said bystanders who find themselves in these situations need to “be that someone instead of waiting for someone else” to speak up.

Samalia was working at the Rapid Access to Medical Specialists clinic Sunday when she heard the woman yelling that she wanted to see a doctor who “speaks English.”

“She used the word ‘paki,’” Samalia said. “My mouth dropped, I was literally so shocked.”

The confrontation was caught on video by Hitesh Bhardwaj, who was also in the waiting room. It shows a white woman insisting that she needs a “white doctor” who was “born here” to see her child.

Sharon Samalia told a woman in a Mississauga clinic that she was "rude and racist" after hearing her demanding a "white doctor."  (Hitesh Bhardwaj / Youtube)

Others in the waiting room appear unsettled by the woman’s rant, Samalia said she “did not hear anyone say anything directly to her that could actually have gotten her to stop.”

Samalia said she understands the discomfort people have with speaking up. “I think a lot of it comes from being afraid, mostly for people of ethnic backgrounds.”

She was not.

“I was filled with way too many other emotions — I was disgusted and filled with so much anger.”

In the video, an employee can be heard telling the woman that a white doctor is “only available after four.”

Samalia said “playing along to (the woman’s) specifications just promotes her own thought process and encourages others (to have) the same mentality as her.”

“It is very different (than) an individual who is an immigrant â€Ķ asking for someone who can speak their language. She asked for someone of a specific colour. It’s important to recognize those differences. I’ve seen so many of those kinds of comments on the video and it’s ridiculous to me. For her to say that she needs someone who is Canadian, as if (a person of colour) can’t be Canadian? As if Canadian equals white.”

Police confirmed that they responded to a “disturbance” at the clinic just after 12:30 p.m., and that the situation was resolved by finding a doctor for the woman’s child.

No charges were laid.

• mceclip0
RiffRaff posted:

I have visited Toronto quite a few times...I did manage to visit Canada (Montreal & Quebec City) a couple times

Canada so different from Toronto

Hellllooooooo Raymond. 

Toronto, Montreal, Quebec City, Edmonton, Regina, Vancouver, St. John's, Tuktoyaktuk, etc., are all parts/locations of Canada.

I too impatient to cover the whole Canada....next time I do a fly over Toronto so i can actually see Canada

Most if not all who live in GTA know that Mississauga and Bramton has a high population of Indians. I wonder how the heck she makes out with shopping and moving around out there if she is so against people of that race. Perhaps she should move to a white neighbourhood....somewhere 4hrs North of the city.

How do you know she have a problem with Indians? She never referred to race. She simply asked for a white doctor.

The woman has a right to ask for any color of doctor she wants. She pays the piper so she can call the tune. If she is not happy with that clinic, then she should look for a different one and request a white doctor when making an appointment or when she checks in.

She pays the piper so she can call the tune.

In Canada we have Universal Health Care, it's Free. She pays nothing, maybe she is on Welfare living off  the Paki Tax payers.

Speak for yourself Prashad. I salute all doctors regardless of their race, religion or nationality,

Correct Ksazma.

You two fools know fully well if East Indians had to choose between an American trained doctor and an Indian national trained in India. Then 2 out of 3 times they will select the American trained doctor. So don't act like you don't know so as to fool people.

Speak for yourself Prashad. I salute all doctors regardless of their race, religion or nationality,

Correct Ksazma.

You two fools know fully well if East Indians had to choose between an American trained doctor and an Indian national trained in India. Then 2 out of 3 times they will select the American trained doctor. So don't act like you don't know so as to fool people.

Some of these Indian doctors are damn rude, especially the turban wearing ones. Somehow, they are not suppose to discriminate due to their religion but they do. A buddy of mine had one of them, he had enough of the doctor one day and wasn't going to take any more crap from him. Told he azz off.

Most if not all who live in GTA know that Mississauga and Bramton has a high population of Indians. I wonder how the heck she makes out with shopping and moving around out there if she is so against people of that race. Perhaps she should move to a white neighbourhood....somewhere 4hrs North of the city.

How do you know she have a problem with Indians? She never referred to race. She simply asked for a white doctor.

I think she used the word paki

It is a renewal of the seventies racism when Englishmen brought the word to canadian vocabulary. The first time I was called a paki, I couldn't figure out wah the hell the English co-worker was talking about. And I training him on the job.

Correct Ksazma.

Perhaps, you are living in a world available only to yourself.

Correct Ksazma

Perhaps, you are living in a world available only to yourself.

How many of us interview a doctor before having him or her treat you. If you are sick you want the first available  doctor to attend to you.

The woman has a right to ask for any color of doctor she wants. She pays the piper so she can call the tune. If she is not happy with that clinic, then she should look for a different one and request a white doctor when making an appointment or when she checks in.

She pays the piper so she can call the tune.

In Canada we have Universal Health Care, it's Free. She pays nothing, maybe she is on Welfare living off  the Paki Tax payers.

Nothing is free. The woman pays her taxes..health care is not free.

I think she used the word paki

It is a renewal of the seventies racism when Englishmen brought the word to canadian vocabulary. The first time I was called a paki, I couldn't figure out wah the hell the English co-worker was talking about. And I training him on the job.

I heard this with my own ears in a Georgetown mini bus in the 1980s.

.A Guyanese East Indian woman said "I can't rent my flat to an Indian national they going to curry stink it up and bruck it up"                                                                                                              Last year I heard an Englishman said when he moved to Canada in 1976 his Canadian realtor told him not to buy a house from Canadian India indians because they probably stink the place up with curry and it probably need lots of repairs.

Same bloody stereotype thing.