Excerpts from USA Today earlier this year (February)

Until 1978, the LDS church banned men of African descent from its priesthood, a position open to nearly all Mormon males and the gateway to sacramental and leadership roles. The church had also barred black men and women from temple ceremonies that promised access in the afterlife to the highest heaven.

As he explored joining the church in 1988, Perkins said he asked Mormons near his Los Angeles home about the racial doctrines. They gently explained that blacks were the cursed descendants of Cain, the biblical murderer, he recalls.

"Let's say you have this powerful witness of God telling you that this church is truly of him," said the 48-year-old salesman and video producer. "And then the people in that church lovingly tell you that you are cursed. How do you reconcile those two things?"

Perkins says Mormon leaders couldn't offer an answer.

The LDS church has neither formally apologized for the priesthood ban nor publicly repudiated many of the theories used to justify it for more than 125 years.

Perkins and other black Mormons say the church's silence not only irks many African-Americans, it could also become a loud distraction for the nation's most prominent Mormon: Mitt Romney, the front-runner for the GOP presidential nomination.

"Right now is a great opportunity for the church to say, 'Let's clear the air once and for all,'" said Darron Smith, co-editor of the book "Black and Mormon" and a sociologist at Wichita State University in Kansas.

"But they won't do it. And that's going to put reasonable doubt in people's minds about Romney and the church."

Questions about Mormonism's racial history also arose during Romney's first White House run.

In a 2007 Meet the Press interview, Tim Russert noted that Romney was 31 when the priesthood ban was lifted in 1978. "Didn't you think, 'What am I doing part of an organization that is viewed by many as a racist organization?'" Russert asked.

"I'm very proud of my faith, and it's the faith of my fathers," Romney answered. "And I'm not going to distance myself from my faith in any way."

But Romney also said that he had been "anxious to see a change in my church" and recalled weeping when he heard that the ban had been lifted.

"Even at this day it's emotional, and so it's very deep and fundamental in my life and my most core beliefs that all people are children of God," Romney said.

Pressed by Russert, Romney refused to say his church was wrong to restrict blacks from full participation.

Romney's forebears were among the original Mormon converts in the 1830s, and Romney himself was a bishop in the church before he entered politics in 1994.

"For men like Romney, lifelong church members whose people were pioneers in the faith, to criticize church authority would be akin to heresy," said Smith.

Romney's father, George Romney, also faced criticism over the priesthood ban when he ran for president in 1968. He answered by extolling his civil rights record as governor of Michigan.

George Romney, like his son, refused to publicly criticize his church.

"The issue hurt him and it hurt the image of Mormon church," said Newell Bringhurst, a historian and co-author of The Mormon Quest for the Presidency.

It may mar Mitt Romney's campaign too, Bringhurst said. "He'll face more and more scrutiny on the Mormon-black issue, even though the church has abandoned the policy."

Smith was more blunt.

"The church has never done its due diligence, and guess what? Mitt Romney is taking hell for it."

"We just got that one wrong"

Purdy said LDS leaders began seeking divine guidance about the black ban in the 1970s. In 1978, he said, "a revelation to the church's prophet extended the blessings of the priesthood to all worthy members."

If you can walk this thin line to safe guard Obama and hope to destroy Romney, you can sell your own brother for little or nothing.

"Didn't you think, 'What am I doing part of an organization that is viewed by many as a racist organization?'" Russert asked.

"I'm very proud of my faith, and it's the faith of my fathers," Romney answered. "And I'm not going to distance myself from my faith in any way."

Pressed by Russert, Romney refused to say his church was wrong to restrict blacks from full participation.

I guess the above does not concern you. A man's character is irrelevant in seeking the highest office in the land, right?

If you can walk this thin line to safe guard Obama and hope to destroy Romney, you can sell your own brother for little or nothing.

"Didn't you think, 'What am I doing part of an organization that is viewed by many as a racist organization?'" Russert asked.

I guess the above does not concern you. A man's character is irrelevant in seeking the highest office in the land, right?

"Shall I tell you the law of God in regard to the African race? If the white man who belongs to the chosen seed mixes his blood with the seed of Cain ( Black people), the penalty, under the law of God, is death on the spot. This will always be so." (Brigham Young, Journal of Discourses, vol. 10, p. 110).

All white mormons subscribe to this tenet. Now there are about 1/4 million black mormons in the USA but only maybe  200,000 are practicing and more are defecting to other branches of christianity. In Africa , Brazil and other parts of the world, Black Mormons have accepted then are from the seed of Canaan and this includes all arab and african muslims so mixing of the dark seed with the "Chosen" white seed is fobidden .Now dont get me wrong Brigham cursed whites for being racist towards Blacks so, one really has to delve into the post bible scripts to see how racism was perped . In india we see racism is rampant , protected by hinduism which is an abonimation of Sanatan Dharma but then again what about iranians and turks who view arabs as lower people because they believe they gave birth to the euro race . The more people get into religion the more they become fvcked up in the head .

I believe that Romney has a real chance of winning as the people who elected Obama ran at the first sign of hardship. The elected him but took away his power by installing a republican congress. Now that is not exactly a bad thing as Obama was on a spending binge and had to be stopped else the US would be following Spain into bankruptcy with huge deficits.  Romney will win and may catch the beginning of a recovery and claim the credit. 

bannas more americans scared now after that jackass GWB , of leaders who are religious puppets . I believe Obama will be re-elected although I feel he screwed up big time in many areas . BTW , Canada real estate about to implode so if this happens before elections which I think it will , coupled with Greece , Spain , Italy and Portugal leaving the EEC you can bet the voter turnout wil be the largest in US history .

In that case, Afros in Guyana should be very concerned about a faithful and proud Hindu serving in an exec position in the PPP, right?  Same as non-catholics having to deal with the Kennedys?

The man has a right to be proud is he feels so, does not make him a threat or danger to people of different beliefs.  I would have concerns over a guy like Santorum in that sense.

This is hog-wash kari, stop sounding so desperate.  Hope that the next few months something snaps upwards, or Obama is in that pasture.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

America took a chance on a muslim born Kenyan, Hussein, in 2008 and elected him president. He turned out to be a disaster. The mormon is clearly more suitable to lead America. Who cares about the mormon history ? Mormon Romney is a genuine leader and will lead America out of its current doldrums.

Rev, yuh rass wutliss bai.

America took a chance on a muslim born Kenyan, Hussein, in 2008 and elected him president. He turned out to be a disaster. The mormon is clearly more suitable to lead America. Who cares about the mormon history ? Mormon Romney is a genuine leader and will lead America out of its current doldrum.

This is as bigoted as any can get. It is anti muslim race baiting of the kind the right wing sells and it is a shame you can hide behind an alias ( or can you?) and post this crap.Only a particular kind of dip shit thinks that selling this anti muslim anti black piffle combined with the lie the president is African born is political or american.

Amral has an obligation to censure this per his rules for posting . It is offensive and clearly racist and anti muslim.  It is not allowed on any other site except the racist ones. It should not be here.

This is one of the rules for posting

1) Do not post any messages that are obscene, vulgar, sexually-orientated, racist, hateful, threatening, or that otherwise violate any laws. Please use good judgement when choosing user names, avatars, or images to post, inappropriate content will be removed without notice.

The President is clearly not Muslim or Kenyan born. While his name is Hussein it's use in right wing media is not intended as respect but  as an underhanded racist and contemptuously inflammatory  anti muslim slant. When picked up  by low lives who like you it is just as inflammatory.

Originally Posted by God:
Originally Posted by Prashad:

Joseph Smith the founder of the Mormons believed in separate but equal.

If he believed in equality so much, why then was he opposed to inter racial marriages?

What does marriage have to do with someone being racist or non-racists.  I know many Indians who want Indian spouses for their kids, and many Afros who prefer Afro, and many whites who prefer white, and they are not racists.

What is it with some of you who operate on the premise that the most personal decisions of a person means they are racist or not.  This can only come from someone who is not comfortable with themselves, not sure who they are.

If he believed in equality so much, why then was he opposed to inter racial marriages?

What does marriage have to do with someone being racist or non-racists.  I know many Indians who want Indian spouses for their kids, and many Afros who prefer Afro, and many whites who prefer white, and they are not racists.

What is it with some of you who operate on the premise that the most personal decisions of a person means they are racist or not.  This can only come from someone who is not comfortable with themselves, not sure who they are.

This was not a personal choice for his immediate family. The man believed that blacks should not mingle with whites period. Is that a champion of equality which Prashad is trying to bestow unto Smith?

Are you stale drunk from last night? Have I questioned anyone's personal choice of who they or their children should marry?

I am sure as hell very comfortable with and very sure of who I am. 

This was not a personal choice for his immediate family. The man believed that blacks should not mingle with whites period. Is that a champion of equality which Prashad is trying to bestow unto Smith? 

People who cringe when they see a black man holding a white woman's hand walking down the street are nothing more than racist.

Are you stale drunk from last night? Have I questioned anyone's personal choice of who they or their children should marry?

You made one single sentence and half referred to "inter-racial marriage" as a test of one belief i equality.

And it goes against the belief in equality.

Who you choose to marry and racial equality are two different things.  You definitely have a chip on your shoulders and uncomfortable in your skin.

Are you this stupid? Have I questioned anyone's belief in who they or their family should marry? Here you are introducing another angle which I never once stated and then try to paint me as uncomfortable in my skin. 

Get a life dude.

If you restrict the black man from marrying whoever he pleases, that is not equality clown. Smith's belief was that blacks should be restricted from marrying whites. That is not equality dummy.

Are you this stupid? Have I questioned anyone's belief in who they or their family should marry? Here you are introducing another angle which I never once stated and then try to paint me as uncomfortable in my skin. 

Get a life dude.

If you restrict the black man from marrying whoever he pleases, that is not equality clown. Smith's policy was to restrict blacks from marrying whites in his church. That is not equality dummy.

Here you go again with your assinine comment.  BTW, Smith is long dead and not the head anymore, what does this have to do with Romney as president of the US anyway.  This discussion was about Romney for president, not Smith.  The Mormons, like many other religions, have practices they no longer follow, so what's the issue with some old and defunct doctrine.  They also once embraced polygamy, but Romney seems like a one-woman family man.  Now what's the issue with his faith and him as president.

Listen guy, Obama has to deliver, no amount of race-baiting and distractions will cloud the real issue here.

Get a life dude.

If you restrict the black man from marrying whoever he pleases, that is not equality clown. Smith's policy was to restrict blacks from marrying whites in his church. That is not equality dummy.

Here you go again with your assinine comment.  BTW, Smith is long dead and not the head anymore, what does this have to do with Romney as president of the US anyway.  This discussion was about Romney for president, not Smith.  The Mormons, like many other religions, have practices they no longer follow, so what's the issue with some old and defunct doctrine.  They also once embraced polygamy, but Romney seems like a one-woman family man.  Now what's the issue with his faith and him as president.

Listen guy, Obama has to deliver, no amount of race-baiting and distractions will cloud the real issue here.

Who is really being an ass here? Anyone can read our exchanges on this topic and firmly conclude that it is you.

Listen fool, I did not introduce Smith into this topic. I was merely correcting some clown who thinks that Smith was a champion of equality. 

Please drink some coffee and sober up.

I write about one candidate's religion's historic bias to show character context when he specifically turned down Tim russert's suggestion to distance himself from that church. Now this is not an opinion, it's restating what happened.

The other guy chooses to submit photo-shopped photos that wreak of bigotry. Such is the level of his deficit in civil discourse.

I write about one candidate's religion's historic bias to show character context when he specifically turned down Tim russert's suggestion to distance himself from that church. Now this is not an opinion, it's restating what happened.

The other guy chooses to submit photo-shopped photos that wreak of bigotry. Such is the level of his deficit in civil discourse.

karimullah:

You brought up Romney's mormonism---fire was returned with interest.

America took a chance on a muslim born Kenyan, Hussein, in 2008 and elected him president. He turned out to be a disaster. The mormon is clearly more suitable to lead America. Who cares about the mormon history ? Mormon Romney is a genuine leader and will lead America out of its current doldrums.

karimullah:

Rev, you need correcting here. This article was posted to show context - context of character. Anyone can lash out against any religion, but Mormonism is not the point about posting the article. IT is about showing a part of the character of a man who wants the country to elect him President. He REFUSED Tim Russert's suggestion that he distance himself from the Mormon church's historic bias against Blacks and especially its explanation of Cain.

It's not that you do not know that. You are just vile, and think that saying "fire was returned with interest." will explain your evil posting. I want you to address the issue of Romney's character in this instance. In fact I will give you an out. Do not comment on Romney on this. But instead, say you Rev do not like a Church being biased against Blacks and especially because of the Cain explanation. How 'bout that?

======

Rev, you need correcting here. This article was posted to show context - context of character.

karimullah:

Your motive in posting that article may be honorable and sincere---but I am sure you are aware of that phrase above---PERCEPTION IS REALITY.

Republicans will perceive your motive to be sinister---they'll believe(maybe wrongfully) that you are taking a cheap shot at their guy Mitt Romney---and so they'll return fire.

PERCEPTION IS REALITY KARIMULLAH!

And right now your boy Hussein is perceived as a failure---the American people no longer believe him, and come November he will be voted out of office.

Let us break it down.  Blacks arent voting for Romney and non blacks dont care the slightest about past historical illtreatment of blacks.  They certainly arent going to vote Obama because they are upset about how the Mormon's treated blacks 30 years ago when a scant 10 years before that most Christian churches were no different.

So past bigotry by the Mormon's (no worse than past bigotry by the Evangelivcal and white Baptist churches) will not adversely impact Romney.

What will adversely impact Romney is the day when Obama stops trying to fool himself that his problems are because the GOP dont like him.  Its not their job to like him.  Its their job to make him appear weak, indecisive and unable to implement concrete solutions to this country's problems. Because its their job to ensure his defeat. Whining that the USA will be great if only the GOP would pass his bill is nonsensical. 

Obama spent mpst of his time on a flawed health care bill, then wanted to shift to alternative energy.  He always considered a focus on the economy to be a bore and so when the GOP, as anticipated, blocked his measures, rather then developing a plan B he creies and whines.  Obama controlled all branches of govt, except teh Supremes for TWO years and did nothing with it. 

Obama, Harry Reid and Nancy Pelosi need to collectively hang their heads in shsme at this sqandered opportunity.  The GOP was almost dead in 2008.  Why four years later are they so straong and the Dms in such disarray?  DFont want to hear that in 2008/10 the GOP threatened to fillibuster.  They should have been allowed to fillibuster with no bathroom breaks allowed.  Surely those ageing gents from Alabama etc would have had to end their rant at some point, or publicly humiliate themselves with publicly voiding themselves.  Instead of being Sec of State Hillary should have replaced Reid l;eading the Senate, rgardless of seniority rules.

Sad to say that come Feb 2013 Obama will begin his new career as a professor at Oxford University and Romney will commence the final GOP strategy of destroying the USA as he buckles to the desires of the rich ultraconservative oligarchs who wish this country to return to what it wa sin the 19th century (minus chattel slavery).

karimullah:

. He REFUSED Tim Russert's suggestion that he distance himself from the Mormon church's historic bias against Blacks and especially its explanation of Cain.

?

Do you demand that Bill Clinton renounce his ties to his Southern Baptist (or what ever his roots are) as they were in the vanguard of attempts to thwart the end of Jim Crow?  No you dont.   What of many Democrats whose daddies were segregationists when George Bush can say his daddy (HW Bush) was not, and indeed was punished for this.

The focus ought to be on the economy and on educating Americans as to how Ryan's budget will adversely affect them. Wasting time on such side show activities, which will not win votes for Obama, but will defelct discussions to nonsense, will be welcomed by the GOP as they seek to fool Americans that their plans for Social Security, Medicare, Defense, and Foreign policy will help them.

Obama needs to look at his 2008 campaign, regain that inspiring sense of optimism and stop behaviong like a spoiled entitled rich boy, angry becausde he cant get what he wants.  Right now he is looking like a whining bytch and that is not why he was elected.

How many Americans remember what Obama's vision is, why its better than Rush Limbaugh's (Romney will buckle to him so who cares wjhat Romney thinks)?  Shouldnt that not be the focus. Instead of daily telling us why Obama thinks that he is so weak that is powerless unless his ENEMIES help him?

If by September we are where we are today President Romney wil be making his accetance speach in Jan 2013 and Professor Obama will be leading class room discussions at Oxford.

Let us break it down.  Blacks arent voting for Romney and non blacks dont care the slightest about past historical illtreatment of blacks.  They certainly arent going to vote Obama because they are upset about how the Mormon's treated blacks 30 years ago when a scant 10 years before that most Christian churches were no different.

So past bigotry by the Mormon's (no worse than past bigotry by the Evangelivcal and white Baptist churches) will not adversely impact Romney.

REV: Well said Carib, well said.

========================================

What will adversely impact Romney is the day when Obama stops trying to fool himself that his problems are because the GOP dont like him.  Its not their job to like him.  Its their job to make him appear weak, indecisive and unable to implement concrete solutions to this country's problems. Because its their job to ensure his defeat. Whining that the USA will be great if only the GOP would pass his bill is nonsensical. 

REV: Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

===================================

Obama spent most of his time on a flawed health care bill, then wanted to shift to alternative energy.  He always considered a focus on the economy to be a bore and so when the GOP, as anticipated, blocked his measures, rather then developing a plan B he creies and whines.  Obama controlled all branches of govt, except teh Supremes for TWO years and did nothing with it. 

=================================

Sad to say that come Feb 2013 Obama will begin his new career as a professor at Oxford University and Romney will commence the final GOP strategy of destroying the USA as he buckles to the desires of the rich ultraconservative oligarchs who wish this country to return to what it wa sin the 19th century (minus chattel slavery).

REV: I wholeheartedly agree with you regarding Obama's new career in Feb 2013---but you are dead wrong regarding Romney and the GOP destroying America.

Anway, excellent post Carib!

========================================

REV: Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

===================================

Obama spent most of his time on a flawed health care bill, then wanted to shift to alternative energy.  He always considered a focus on the economy to be a bore and so when the GOP, as anticipated, blocked his measures, rather then developing a plan B he creies and whines.  Obama controlled all branches of govt, except teh Supremes for TWO years and did nothing with it. 

=================================

REV: I wholeheartedly agree with you regarding Obama's new career in Feb 2013---but you are dead wrong regarding Romney and the GOP destroying America.

Anway, excellent post Carib!

Lucky yuh open your eyes before Caribj sent you crashing into a lantern post.  EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT.

Will Mormons' racial history be a problem for Mitt Romney?

Perhaps to some extent as in the past.

The key factors will depend on how he addresses, in much clearer manner, the issues facing the nation.

Romney will get 8-10% of Black votes at best, so his church's past regarding Blacks will have no impact on the overall outcome.

Will Mormons' racial history be a problem for Mitt Romney?

Perhaps to some extent as in the past.

The key factors will depend on how he addresses, in much clearer manner, the issues facing the nation.

Romney will get 8-10% of Black votes at best, so his church's past regarding Blacks will have no impact on the overall outcome.

Correct Baseman.

The more Romney talks in abstract and general terms, his campaign will become mundane.