I'm starting this thread because I don't want to burden Chief's "soul searching" thread. In that thread Django posted a Wikipedia entry on the PPP. I have no problem with that particular entry. Wikipedia is a good resource and I not only consult it often but donate small amounts of money for its upkeep every year.

I discovered that Wikipedia is not accurate always. Take its entry on JANET JAGAN, for example: "Jagan later left Guyana for MaracaiboVenezuela for treatment. She later went to BelemBrazil for additional treatment. Janet Jagan died of an abdominal aneurysm on March 28, 2009, in Belem.[20][21] Her body was cremated on March 31, 2009 in Brazil."

FACT: Janet Jagan died in Georgetown Public Hospital and was cremated at Babu Jaan cemetery in BERBICE.

Gill,

Wikipedia is not always correct,their research are some times poor.

Great you acknowledge the PPP's ideology as stated is correct.

No problem. It was the colonial British government that first used the term "communist" to describe the PPP in 1953. Thereafter the Americans and the business class in Guyana followed suit. I know for a fact that at our party group meetings we always differentiated the terms "communism" and "socialism". 

Gill,

No problem. It was the colonial British government that first used the term "communist" to describe the PPP in 1953. Thereafter the Americans and the business class in Guyana followed suit. I know for a fact that at our party group meetings we always differentiated the terms "communism" and "socialism". 

You know you are wasting time trying to discuss such topic with the uneducated???

Hey Django, look wha Wikipedia seh hey: "Django is a 1966 Spaghetti Western directed by Sergio Corbucci starring Franco Nero as Django; a dismissed Union soldier who fought in the American Civil War. The film is set four years after the end of the Civil War in 1869. After arriving in a bleak, mud-drenched town in the American Southwest and dragging a coffin behind him, Django gets caught up in a violent race warbetween a gang of Mexican bandits, led by General Hugo, and a clan of racist militants under the command of the sadistic Major Jackson. Armed with a deadly Mitrailleuse volley gun, Django proceeds to play both sides against each other in the pursuit of money and, ultimately, revenge against Jackson; the Major having murdered his wife years before."

Bai Django, yuh already mek history. Why yuh wasting time behind Brigadier Granger? 

Hey Django, look wha Wikipedia seh hey: "Django is a 1966 Spaghetti Western directed by Sergio Corbucci starring Franco Nero as Django; a dismissed Union soldier who fought in the American Civil War. The film is set four years after the end of the Civil War in 1869. After arriving in a bleak, mud-drenched town in the American Southwest and dragging a coffin behind him, Django gets caught up in a violent race warbetween a gang of Mexican bandits, led by General Hugo, and a clan of racist militants under the command of the sadistic Major Jackson. Armed with a deadly Mitrailleuse volley gun, Django proceeds to play both sides against each other in the pursuit of money and, ultimately, revenge against Jackson; the Major having murdered his wife years before."

Bai Django, yuh already mek history. Why yuh wasting time behind Brigadier Granger? 

LOL.  This is priceless.

Django proceeds to play both sides against each other in the pursuit of money

THAT PART I BELIEVE, FICTION TURNS REALITY.and he has the gall to say he don't tek bribe/pay.

Django proceeds to play both sides against each other in the pursuit of money

THAT PART I BELIEVE, FICTION TURNS REALITY.and he has the gall to say he don't tek bribe/pay.

IF some one say the have Brooklyn Bridge to sell,you will believe.

I can give you my name,prove that i sponge off bribery/pay.

I am an honest man bhai,in my business if a customer not satisfied,full refund is given.

Gill,

Added to the above, I'll say this: During the Cold War the PPP had fraternal relations with communist parties, socialist parties and other leftist groups worldwide. In 1950, at its formation, the PPP stated its aims as fighting for political independence and establishing a society based on scientific socialism. 

Prior to 1950, Forbes Burnham was a British Communist Party activist while he was studying law in London. Jagan was head of the Political Affairs Committee in Guyana and, during a visit to Britain around 1948 he announced his plan to form a party. It was the British Communist Party that submitted Burnham's name to Jagan with a recommendation. Back in Guyana, Jagan reserved a high place for the "communist" Burnham in the newly formed PPP.

Please read BURNHAM: The London Years and you'll see Burnham being described as a Marxist even before Jagan.