in Business, News August 1, 2016 1 Comment

Guyana is much closer to establishing a Public Procurement Commission  14 years after the constitution was amended to provide for that oversight body.

When the National Assembly meets on Thursday, August 4, 2016, parliamentarians will adopt the  report of the Public Accounts Committee and  signify to the President that the quintet has been recommended in keeping with the Guyana Constitution.

After considering 12 names, a sub-committee of the Public Accounts Committee under the chairmanship of Irfaan Ali recommended five persons  as  “the suitable candidates to be appointed to the Public Procurement Commission.”

They are Engineer and Attorney-at-Law, Emily Dodson; wife of former People’s National Congress Reform leader, Carol Corbin; Economist, Sukrishnalall Pasha who worked at the Bank of Guyana and the University of Guyana; Principal of the Critchlow Labour College, Ivor English and former  People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) government minister and Industrial Relations expert, Dr. Nanda K. Gopaul.

The Constitution states that the Public Procurement Commission shall consist of five members who shall have expertise and experience in procurement, legal, financial and administrative matters.

Among those not making it to be Public Procurement Commission members are  Attorney-at-Law and Chartered Accountant, Christopher Ram and former Auditor General, Anand Goolsarran both of whom had been in the forefront of calls for the establishment of the body.

Others also shortlisted but did not get the final nod are Balwant Persaud, Devan Khemraj, Brindley  Horatio Robeson Benn, Cecil Jerrard, Jacques and Lance Carberry.

The establishment of the Public Procurement Commission will bring to an end Cabinet’s role in the award of multi-million dollar contracts. There will also no longer be the need for the Bid Protest Committee and there will be a limit to the responsibilities of the National Procurement and Tender Administration Board.

The delay in establishing the Procurement Commission had been held partly because the PPPC had still insisted that Cabinet should have had a role to play in the spending of millions of dollars in public funds.

This is an excellent opportunity for the PNC thiefman to fil their pockets as Indo businessmen like BK will be lining up with bags of money to influence their decisions. Good going Jackass Granger. 

Like someone reading GNI.

Only last week I inquired  about the formation of this board.

A step in the right direction.

As Bibi rightly pointed out that the allegations against the former PPP Minister should have disqualified  him to this board.

Chief, how about Corbin's wife ? Corbin is a PNC crook.

The PNC and PPP both have names which should not be on the list.

More of the same. Guyanese got an exchange.

Let us call a spade a spade.

At times it does look like an exchange.

How you doing Yugi. When you come to visit your Sister in LI kindly check me out.

At times it does look like an exchange.

How you doing Yugi. When you come to visit your Sister in LI kindly check me out.

Chief, I will be in NYC this coming Saturday just for an hour to visit my 93 years old grandmother.

My sister is a Big Hillary supporter. She told me off when she heard that I support Trump. I guess I have to tone down my support for Trump.

I then head back to Upstate NY. 

Might visit another time.

Bro,

I am very sorry. Next trip, I will literally be in NYC for just one hour and then head back to Upstate NY. 

I will opt for Ginger Tea and Bake but no salt fish since I am vegetarian.

I will take you up on your offer next time I visit NYC.

Public Procurement Commission --- an advancement over past shady practices. Let progress continue.

To procure or not to procure   computah bruk down at the airport and the PNC'ites are procuring away.  allyuh brains cease up or you have none.

alena06 posted:

Public Procurement Commission --- an advancement over past shady practices. Let progress continue.

To procure or not to procure   computah bruk down at the airport and the PNC'ites are procuring away.  allyuh brains cease up or you have none.

Who installed the system with no back up.

The PPP!

alena06 posted:

The PPP!

And the PNC'ites didn't even think a disaster recovery plan should be in place and tested once a year, they have been in power more than a year, lol.  How critical is this compared to the forensic audits? 

Nonsense, appointing a set of thiefman on the PPC is not the answer. It is just another opportunity for more bribe to pass. 

alena06 posted:

The PPP!

The backup equipment has some metal and they followed the magnetic PNC chores.