funny thing is . . . i don't see Afro-Guyanese making a fetish of this monstrous terror event . . . blaming the Indo-Guyanese 'race' (in perpeutity) for this atrocity

what i see is Linden people struggling to find ways to CONTEXTUALIZE and mourn when they commemorate every year

whither the Indo gang on GNI with their biblical curses, LIES, blackman loathing, StormFront-mimimg race vomit whenever the Wismar I and Wismar II pogroms opportunistically bubble to the surface umpteen times a year

redux posted:

funny thing is . . . i don't see Afro-Guyanese making a fetish of this monstrous terror event . . . blaming the Indo-Guyanese 'race' (in perpeutity) for this atrocity

what i see is Linden people struggling to find ways to CONTEXTUALIZE and mourn when they commemorate every year

whither the Indo gang on GNI with their biblical curses, LIES, blackman loathing, StormFront-mimimg race vomit whenever the Wismar I and Wismar II pogroms opportunistically bubble to the surface umpteen times a year

Yes this is the thing.  The dominant response among thinking blacks is that we aren't immune for engaging in racism, and clearly we aren't the only victims of it.

The dominant response from Indians, both the racists, and the moderate is to refuse to discuss any notion of Indian racism, and accuse as racists any who insist on this conversation. D2/danyael/stormborn gave the moderates an opportunity to discuss this topic, and

What I find amusing are the screams of socalled moderate GNI Indos that "blackman bad, Indo good, so black man must apologize". 

They then get bent out of shape, and then scream that its racist, or ignorant to suggest that if blacks must apologize, so must Indians, and therefore the apologies cancel each other out.

And then we have the brown KKK, who will have us believe that Indians didn't engage in the patterns of killings and revenge killings, as did the blacks. 

BOTH the YSM, and the PYO (and I believe the motorcycle gangs of the UF) were horrendous in their specific and well thought out violence.  Sorry baseman, seignet, chief, Bibi, cobra, yuji, and others, that is NOT a racist statement. It is the TRUTH.

Now we can all carry grievances of what the other race did, and refuse to acknowledge that our own was equally dastardly, but then to ask the other side to be the "Mandela, Gandhi, MLK" isn't going to happen.

It was, perpetrated by the sponsors of what was going on, the PNC/UF and CIA.  The question was hardly if it was or was not, but who did it.  You people are too barefaced and shamless to see you were being used by the CIA.  You attacked Indians without thinking.  this was also what was happpening in the 2000's but you were reined in!!

ba$eman posted:

It was, perpetrated by the sponsors of what was going on, the PNC/UF and CIA.

If Sun Chapman is not the fault of the PPP then Wismar isn't the fault of the PNC.

You can be that stupid if you wish to be. By the time the Wismar/Sun Chapman incident occurred the British had already decided that the election scheduled for late 1964, was going to be Proportional Representation, instead of the constituency based "winner take all".

The PPP objected to that as they feared that this was done to ensure that a post election PNC/UF coalition would ensure the PPP would lose power.

So you are a jackass to claim that Sun Chapman was a CIA plot.  Had the event occurred in 1963, when the focus was on creating instability to force early elections, there might have been merit.

But by the time these incidents occurred the CIA, PNC, and UF had already succeeded in changing the format of the election.  The last thing that these entities wanted was continued instability, which might have forced the cancelation of the elections.

IT WAS JAGAN WHO WANTED THE ELECTIONS TO BE CANCELED, AND BEGAN A VICIOUS PATTERN OF INSTABILITY TO DO THIS.  THE RESULT WAS ATTACKS AND REVENGE ATTACKS, WITH BOTH SIDES INVOLVED IN THIS, AND BOTH SIDES BEING GUILTY!

Cease being a dishonest fraud, and accept that the PPP played a very strong role in the violence of 1964, which was the most bloodthirsty year of the 62-64 period of instability!

ba$eman posted:

You people are too barefaced and shameless to see you were being used by the CIA . . .

baseman, i see alyuh abandoned the decades old nonsense about blackman carrying coals to Newcastle

de 'brilliant' desperate latest is that the CIA blow up dem poor blackman

how not untypical of the hunkered down Stalin-era soldier types in Robb Street

uh huh

en passant, u do see the sublime incoherence in your use of the 2 adjectives i bolded  . . . in context

rite?

smfh

redux posted:
 . .

baseman, i see alyuh abandoned the decades old nonsense about blackman carrying coals to Newcastle

smfh

The irony is that explosive were readily available in McK and any one caught could have had a legitimate reason to explain this.

Some one in G/T with explosives, would have been immediately arrested with the full book throne at them.

I am old enough to remember that we were under virtual military rule and British soldiers could enter any house that they wished, if they had reason to suspect involvement in violence, or illegal position of weapons.  Yes, it was so obvious that even as a 6 y/o I noticed this.

ba$eman posted:

If Sun Chapman is not the fault of the PPP then Wismar isn't the fault of the PNC.

You can be that stupid if you wish to be. By the time the Wismar/Sun Chapman incident occurred the British had already decided that the election scheduled for late 1964, was going to be Proportional Representation, instead of the constituency based "winner take all".

The PPP objected to that as they feared that this was done to ensure that a post election PNC/UF coalition would ensure the PPP would lose power.

So you are a jackass to claim that Sun Chapman was a CIA plot.  Had the event occurred in 1963, when the focus was on creating instability to force early elections, there might have been merit.

But by the time these incidents occurred the CIA, PNC, and UF had already succeeded in changing the format of the election.  The last thing that these entities wanted was continued instability, which might have forced the cancelation of the elections.

IT WAS JAGAN WHO WANTED THE ELECTIONS TO BE CANCELED, AND BEGAN A VICIOUS PATTERN OF INSTABILITY TO DO THIS.  THE RESULT WAS ATTACKS AND REVENGE ATTACKS, WITH BOTH SIDES INVOLVED IN THIS, AND BOTH SIDES BEING GUILTY!

Cease being a dishonest fraud, and accept that the PPP played a very strong role in the violence of 1964, which was the most bloodthirsty year of the 62-64 period of instability!

Tell them Carib,they blurt only what they are told.

Funny Fellas.

redux posted:
 . .

smfh

The irony is that explosive were readily available in McK and any one caught could have had a legitimate reason to explain this.

Some one in G/T with explosives, would have been immediately arrested with the full book throne at them.

I am old enough to remember that we were under virtual military rule and British soldiers could enter any house that they wished, if they had reason to suspect involvement in violence, or illegal position of weapons.  Yes, it was so obvious that even as a 6 y/o I noticed this.

Wondering how old was the Funny Fellas they keep repeating what they were told.

ba$eman posted:

Funny Fellas.

Why are you piggybacking on Carib.  He is entitled to his opinion.  Now you tell us yours and what you know about Sun Chapman.

ba$eman posted:

Funny Fellas.

Why are you piggybacking on Carib.  He is entitled to his opinion.  Now you tell us yours and what you know about Sun Chapman.

Carib is on target,last night after watching the Flag Raising,shortly after I was putting the pieces together and wanted to post it,didn't want to dampen the spirit of today.

Most of these guys are older then me.  Ironical some might well be old time PYO who THEMSELVES were engaged in the atrocities.

as redux said, Afro Guyanese aren't interested in prosecuting this era, so they can rest assured that no one is looking to see which one of them fire bombed black women and kids out of their homes, and then attacked them with cutlasses.

An important day in Guyanese history, and you fools find time to spill nonsense, even President Granger would vex with you.

Oh yes, I must remain silent and allow the lies peddled that Sun Chapman and Wismar weren't inter related cases.

Granger wouldn't want to be told that only the PNC was guilty.  The hands of the PPP are equally bloody.

An important day in Guyanese history, and you fools find time to spill nonsense, even President Granger would vex with you.

Oh yes, I must remain silent and allow the lies peddled that Sun Chapman and Wismar weren't inter related cases.

Granger wouldn't want to be told that only the PNC was guilty.  The hands of the PPP are equally bloody.

DO YOU REALLY CARE,OR SEEKING ATTENTION.

Ok Wismar is due to the CIA.  No involvement of the PNC.

Satisfied?

Most of these guys are older then me.  Ironical some might well be old time PYO who THEMSELVES were engaged in the atrocities.

as redux said, Afro Guyanese aren't interested in prosecuting this era, so they can rest assured that no one is looking to see which one of them fire bombed black women and kids out of their homes, and then attacked them with cutlasses.

I am couple years older than you,during that era we were kids but can remember seeing the British Soldiers,they visited our residence,i mentioned in another post.

Afroes have put that era behind them,there is only one reason Indians keep repeating the events ,political purposes.

RiffRaff posted:

jeez...yuh folks need to move on...stop living in the past

Do you think that it is right for one side to peddle an inaccurate view of the past, and the other not to respond?

That era clearly defines Guyanese perspective about each other, and so inaccurate portrayals shouldn't be tolerated. Silence means one agrees with this analysis.

Every time some one raises Wismar, I will respond with Sun Chapman.

It was already explained to you knuckleheads that it was a ploy by the pnc to elicit racial tensions.

Another funny fella repeating what he was told.

Do you know, as President, Granger went to Linden and laid a wreath remembering the deceased from the Sun Chapman. If he can remember Black lives. Why shouldn't Indian lives mattered to those who wish to remember them. There is no monument for them, anywhere.

The same thing with Apaan Jhaat. They never heard it from the lips of CBJ but they claimed that some relative told them about it. 

How you are going to deal with that one?

Do you know, as President, Granger went to Linden and laid a wreath remembering the deceased from the Sun Chapman. If he can remember Black lives. Why shouldn't Indian lives mattered to those who wish to remember them. There is no monument for them, anywhere . . .

whose fault is that?

instead of doing evil in cyberspace, start something

it may yet save your nasty bigot soul

Son Chapman victims remembered

Sunday was set aside as a day of mourning and commemoration for Lindeners and those who lost family and friends in the tragic explosion at the launch Son Chapman at Hurudaia some 50 years ago.

Over 40 persons were killed at Hurudaia, approximately 80 kilometres up the Demerara River, when an explosion wrecked the launch. Persons gather at the location every year to pay tribute to those killed while onboard the vessel, which was owned by then Linden businessman Norman Chapman.

Some 63 persons, mainly hucksters, were onboard the vessel. On Sunday morning, approximately 80 persons gathered at the location at Hurudaia and reflected deeply and meaningfully on those who lost their lives in the tragedy.

This was followed by a memorial symposium in the evening, which was held at the Egbert Benjamin Centre, Linden. Among those who paid tribute were A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) Leader David Granger, Region 10 Chairman Sharma Solomon, Regional Councillor Charles Sampson, families and friends of those who perished.

In addressing the gathering at the Egbert Benjamin Centre, Solomon said the incident is one of the most significant tragedies in Guyana’s history.

“But let us not forget, there are so many others that would like to tell their story also, and those individuals must be given an opportunity, and it is there I would like to say that our recognition of this event must be buried. Our thoughts and our commitment towards their lives and the lives that they would have lived and the suffering that they would have endured, the families and this community that would have suffered tremendously 50 years on,” he said.

Solomon added that the Region 10 Democratic Council (RDC) would have moved to have the sort of commemoration that would move the observance of the Son Chapman tragedy closer to Linden.

Committed

The Regional Chairman said this would have prompted the administration to seek to set aside $500,000 in its budget annually, to give recognition to the commemorative event. He noted, however, that the RDC was unsuccessful since it was so far not given the opportunity to do so by Government.

“I can say to you, however, that it would not stop the Council from recognising how important this event is, and to ensure that we continue to ask for it to be recognised financially and through the institutions that represent the people of Region 10,”he noted.

He thanked local institutions such as churches within the community and political organisations, which he noted have been committed in recognising the sufferings of those who perished onboard the Son Chapman.

“So there you have two institutions, the RDC promoting to have resources so that we can continuously have the sort of support to have this event commemorated and here; it is that we have the church resolving to ensure that they have the commitment to the survivors of those who perished.”

Solomon said the RDC has also engaged the Chapman family and has moved to adopt the tragedy as a regional commemorative event, adding that the administration will ensure that young people do not forget this important part of the community’s history.

“â€Ķ we can never forget, 50 years ago, where this community stood and how we had to work to overcome challenges after the 6th of July when that incident occurred.”

He added: “I believe as a community, we must resolve to do much betterâ€Ķ to ensure that this act which was perpetuated 50 years ago, (that) it is not only recognised as a commemorative celebration, but it is also given the sort of support and guidance.”

In addition, Solomon reflected on the three lives lost during the July 2012 protests in Linden where Shemroy Bouyea, Ron Sommerset and Allan Lewis were shot dead while protesting a proposed electricity tariff increase in the town.

“Though we have committed ourselves to ensure that never again will our people so senselessly lose their livesâ€Ķ but how do we ensure that that is so?” the Regional Chairman quened.

He said the RDC has asked for a Commission of Inquiry into the tragedy in order for the truth to be brought to the forefront and differences be reconciled.

Granger encouraged those present to look forward to the future and not to be consumed by hatred.

Look to future

“I encourage you to look to the future so that our children could grow up with a vision of something different to that which we had on July 6, 1964. I pray to God to rid our nation of the hatred, crime and violence and to unite our people just as our Partnership for National Unity is seeking to do. We’ve not come here to perpetuate the atrocities; we’ve not come here to perpetuate hatred,” he noted.

He added that persons must be dedicated to ensuring that atrocities such as those that occurred in the 1960s do not occur.

“This must not become a hollow meaningless event; it must not become a ritual or an occasion for the renewal of old hatreds,” Granger said.

RDC Councillor Charles Sampson in his reflections noted that the act was “one of the most serious acts of terrorism in the Caribbean”.

In his tribute and reflections, Steven Carryl and his brothers, whose mother Carmen Carryl was killed when the tragedy struck, remembered the life of his mother in tears. His mother was reportedly pregnant at the time of her death. The mother of seven was reportedly only identified by the wedding ring she had on.

The vessel was approximately 22 kilometres (14 miles) from Mackenzie when it exploded with persons, including children who were among those killed. Nine persons who died onboard were reportedly buried without being positively identified. Chapman had reportedly received several threats by persons who threatened to blow up the popular vessel in those days.