Originally Posted by Mars:

To me, it's like CHief of Staff in the US

Secretary of State in the U.S.

Granger = President = President in the U.S.

Nagamootoo = Prime Minister = Vice President in the U.S.

Harmon = Minister of State = Secretary of State in the U.S.

Just so we're clear. The job of Secretary of State is far more powerful and desirable than Vice President.

But VP is next in line

HEHE Ray, nice try,  WATA BOY MOSES.  A PUPPET ON A STRING!!!!!

WHo made Shaaitaan an expert...so far, he has been wrong on almost everything he has said

You mean I expected the PPP to win and was wrong about that?

Did you miss the election results? In an election result like that you cannot really label anyone as being wrong per se. That's not how political analysis works. It's not really about picking winners in close races even.

The Secretary of State works harder. It doesn't make him more powerful than the Vice President. If the President dies, the Vice President becomes President, not the Secretary of State.

But VP is next in line

Nagamootoo will have to resign the Presidency if he accidentally accedes to it. The PNC will not allow him to keep such a lottery win.

HEHE Ray, nice try,  WATA BOY MOSES.  A PUPPET ON A STRING!!!!!

WHo made Shaaitaan an expert...so far, he has been wrong on almost everything he has said

You mean I expected the PPP to win and was wrong about that?

Did you miss the election results? In an election result like that you cannot really label anyone as being wrong per se. That's not how political analysis works. It's not really about picking winners in close races even.

Anyway, I will not debate on this...

I still think this is more of a buffer...

Moe like Chief of Staff in the US

But VP is next in line

Nagamootoo will have to resign the Presidency if he accidentally accedes to it. The PNC will not allow him to keep such a lottery win.

That's just your view...I don't think so

But VP is next in line

That's just your view...I don't think so

The PNC is a lot more mature than the PPP when it comes to things like this.

Look a short while ago many felt the PNC would never give the AFC 6 cabinet seats and 12 MP seats.

This just goes to show you that Granger and his inner team are thinking outside of the box, they are pushing the walls on traditional thinking within the PNC and evolving at a very fast rate.

This is causing major disruption of the PPP, something they still cannot come to grips with.

Fuss thing came up No confidence motion, granger was against then he swung to it.

Second thing came up coalition - Many in the PNC were against this just like the AFC. The PNC did whatever it took to make this coalition happen they took serious hits from folks within the party but they made it happen.

Result win for PNC win for PNC again.

WHy should Nagas be the errand boy ... let Harmon do that wuk!

Harmon is just buffer between 2 strong men .... especially if and when they disagree

Reality is shaping up on the role and superiority of Joseph Harmon relative to Moses Nagamootoo.

Perhaps, perhaps not.

Harmon is just buffer between 2 strong men .... especially if and when they disagree

Reality is shaping up on the role and superiority of Joseph Harmon relative to Moses Nagamootoo.

You have been wrong on a number of things

Irregardless,

Why is Joseph Harmon now a "Minister of State" and not a regular Minister Without Portfolio?

Why is the OP now a full fledged "Ministry of the Presidency"?

There are now two people in the new Cabinet who are above ordinary Ministers in rank alone, the Prime Minister and the "Minister of State"

Take the ranks and add to them the substantive Ministries and you have a Prime Minister who is Minister of Rice and Sugar and a Minister of State who is atop the Ministry of the Presidency. OP has always been the line ministry for line ministries. Roger Luncheon as HPS and a couple other titles was more powerful than any Cabinet Minister. Now it's official.

Issue -- Roles of Joseph Harmon and Moses Nagamootoo.

this too you are wrong on

Irregardless,

Why is Joseph Harmon now a "Minister of State" and not a regular Minister Without Portfolio?

There are now two people in the new Cabinet who are above ordinary Ministers in rank alone, the Prime Minister and the "Minister of State"

Take the ranks and add to them the substantive Ministries and you have a Prime Minister who is Minister of Rice and Sugar and a Minister of State who is atop the Ministry of the Presidency. OP has always been the line ministry for line ministries. Roger Luncheon as HPS and a couple other titles was more powerful than any Cabinet Minister. Now it's official.

Minister of State is a well established role in other commonwealth countries.

Do some more research rather than posting nonsense. Read up on it you will be better for it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minister_of_State

Minister of State is a title borne by politicians or officials in certain countries governed under a parliamentary system. In some countries a "Minister of State" is a junior minister, who is assigned to assist a specific cabinet minister. In other countries a "Minister of State" is a holder of a more senior position, such as a cabinet minister or even a head of government.

High government ranks[edit]

In several national traditions, the title "Minister of State" is reserved for government members of Cabinet rank, often a formal distinction within it, or even its chief.

• In Australia s. 64 of the Commonwealth Constitution empowers the Governor-General, as the Queen's representative, to appoint Ministers of State 'to administer such departments of State of the Commonwealth as the Governor-General in Council may establish'. Junior Ministers may not be responsible for an entire department, but may serve under a senior Minister who is so responsible, with the junior Minister administering a particular area of policy. For example the Minister for Sport is responsible for sport within the Department of Health and Ageing, which is in turn administered by the Minister for Health and Ageing.
  • In Brazil, Minister of State (PortugueseMinistro de Estado) is the title borne by all members of the Federal Cabinet.
  • In Kenya, a Minister of State generically refers to a more senior Minister by virtue of the revenue power, or security implications of their Ministry. For instance, powerful Ministries housed under the Office of the President, Office of the Vice-President and Office of the Prime Minister are titled as "Ministries of State for". Actual examples include Ministry of State for Internal Security and Provincial Administration; Ministry of State for Immigration; and Ministry of State for Public Service.
  • France: Under the Fifth Republic, Minister of State (Ministre d'État in French) is an honorific title bestowed during his nomination on a Minister. Ministres d'État, in the protocol, rank after the Prime Minister and before the other Ministers but enjoy no other specific prerogatives. Initially, the title of Ministres d'État didn't explicitly include a portfolio (a practice common under previous regimes), although in time both the title and a specific portfolio have since normally been conferred together. As under previous regimes, a series of Ministres d'État in the same cabinet may also reflect a balance between the different political trends in the ruling party (or within the ruling coalition). A Ministre d'État is not to be confused with a Secretary of State (SecrÃĐtaire d'État), a Junior minister assisting a Minister and who may only attend cabinet meeting if the topic discussed touches his responsibilities. Former Ministres d'État include former French President Nicolas Sarkozy.
  • In Japan, Minister of State is the title borne by all members of the Japanese Cabinet.
  • In Luxembourg, Minister of State (FrenchMinistre d'ÉtatGermanStaatsminister) is an additional title borne by the Prime Minister. Unlike the title 'Prime Minister' (FrenchPremier ministreGermanPremierminister), which was instituted only in 1989, that of 'Minister of State' has been held by the head of government since 1848.
  • Monaco: The Minister of State of Monaco is the principality's Head of government, subordinate to the Prince of Monaco and responsible for enforcing its laws.
  • In Portugal, Minister of State (Ministro de Estado) is a member of the Council of Ministers who holds a more distinct position within the cabinet, roughly equivalent to Deputy Prime Minister.
  • In Scandinavian states, the equivalent title Statsminister is used for the head of government (i.e. the prime minister), and compound titles of which -minister is a part may be used for major Portfolio Ministers.
  • Spain: When Leopoldo Calvo Sotelo was Prime Minister of Spain (1981–1982), Ministers of State were created who held a more distinct position within the Government. However, this initiative did not last since his successors did not follow this path.

Minor government ranks[edit]

In various nations, especially in former members of the British Empire, "Minister of State" is a junior ministerial rank, often subordinated to a cabinet member.

Irregardless,

Do some more research rather than posting nonsense. Read up on it you will be better for it.

My Dearest Antiman,

It is precisely because I am familiar with the Commonwealth usage of Minister of State to denote senior super Ministers that I draw it to the Board's attention.

The appointment of a Minister of State atop a Ministry of the Presidency diminishes Nagamootoo.

If you AFC mudheads are too schupid to see that then ya'll are gonna deserve the neutering.

The campaign is over. The time for hugs is at an end. The AFC must man up and be an assertive part in Government that vigorously defends the principles of the Accord. Unless of course you idiots have no problem with having two Prime Ministers, one more equal than the other.

this too you are wrong on

Reality is gradually taking shape on how things will progress with Granger having full and tight control of the issues.

Irregardless,

My Dearest Antiman,

It is precisely because I am familiar with the Commonwealth usage of Minister of State to denote senior super Ministers that I draw it to the Board's attention.

The appointment of a Minister of State atop a Ministry of the Presidency diminishes Nagamootoo.

If you AFC mudheads are too schupid to see that then ya'll are gonna deserve the neutering.

The campaign is over. The time for hugs is at an end. The AFC must man up and be an assertive part in Government that vigorously defends the principles of the Accord. Unless of course you idiots have no problem with having two Prime Ministers, one more equal than the other.

Not that they are the Bible but Wikipedia disagrees with you. They give several examples where Minister of State is mostly a junior minister in Commonwealth Countries.

In various nations, especially in former members of the British Empire, "Minister of State" is a junior ministerial rank, often subordinated to a cabinet member.

Irregardless,

My Dearest Antiman,

Not that they are the Bible but Wikipedia disagrees with you. They give several examples where Minister of State is mostly a junior minister in Commonwealth Countries.

I'm aware of that junior/senior split according to jurisdiction.

I'm proffering the senior Minister of State argument as it is combined with what is basically the Ministry of Ministries. I suppose they couldn't call it that so they opted for the lessor though not inconsequential Ministry of the Presidency.

Let me be clear. This is not criticism. This is just my take on what's going on and what's driving this act. I personally do not see anything wrong with what Granger and company are doing. I would have done the same. Any sensible person or party would. I was just putting the AFC crowd here on notice that the PNC is still bringing its A-game to the table and they need to step up their game. The Jagan Playbook is a poor one when dealing with the PNC Playbook.

All in all, this is exactly what I expected. An uber competent politically savvy PNC and an AFC that will spend their time at the rum shap.

The VP is there in case the president dies.  The VP has to die before any one else has a shot.

Any way you are comparing two very different systems.

Nagamootoo has been given much power to shape the structure of gov't.  Obviously APNU has to ensure that their interests are protected.  Obvioulsy if there is any potential for conflict it would be better of it is resolved before Granger has to openly intervene.

And let us get this straight.  Kari and all the other Moses cultists will give birth to an elephant, but Moses didn't provide any where near the margin of votes which he originally thought that he would.  Yes he brought in a sliver of votes, which can be credited for victory.  But this is on top of the massive turn out of the APNU base, yes all of those people who are waving GREEN flags now.

Moses deserves 40% on the basis that his involvement allows Guyana to begin to develop this new experiment in multi ethnic rule, which is hoped will break the custom of race based voting.  It is NOT based on the Moses vote as I suspect that he accounted for maybe 5% of the coalition votes.

The VP is there in case the president dies.  The VP has to die before any one else has a shot.

Any way you are comparing two very different systems.

Nagamootoo has been given much power to shape the structure of gov't.  Obviously APNU has to ensure that their interests are protected.  Obvioulsy if there is any potential for conflict it would be better of it is resolved before Granger has to openly intervene.

And let us get this straight.  Kari and all the other Moses cultists will give birth to an elephant, but Moses didn't provide any where near the margin of votes which he originally thought that he would.  Yes he brought in a sliver of votes, which can be credited for victory.  But this is on top of the massive turn out of the APNU base, yes all of those people who are waving GREEN flags now.

Moses deserves 40% on the basis that his involvement allows Guyana to begin to develop this new experiment in multi ethnic rule, which is hoped will break the custom of race based voting.  It is NOT based on the Moses vote as I suspect that he accounted for maybe 5% of the coalition votes.

Have you ever traded stock...the value is in the margin.  This is why Granger gave him 40% stock, because he was interested in the "margin".

5%...and you won by1%?

Caribj, you mek mi haan fall bai.  1% margin = 100%victory and power.

O.  Yes he brought in a sliver of votes, which can be credited for victory

Have you ever traded stock...the value is in the margin.  This is why Granger gave him 40% stock, because he was interested in the "margin".

5%...and you won by1%?

And did I not say exactly.

In fact this comment is aimed at BOTH the Moses cultists who will exaggerate the votes brought in, and negate the fact that 95% of Indians went back to the PPP, AND to some APNU supporters who are beginning to grumble that Moses got too much, given that he only contributed a sliver of the vote.

It is that sliver which gives Guyana a chance to begin the very experiment that you fear.  Because what you fear most is Guyana run by a multi ethnic government.  Then your plans for the creation of New Indesh will collapse.

O.  Yes he brought in a sliver of votes, which can be credited for victory

5%...and you won by1%?

And did I not say exactly.

In fact this comment is aimed at BOTH the Moses cultists who will exaggerate the votes brought in, and negate the fact that 95% of Indians went back to the PPP, AND to some APNU supporters who are beginning to grumble that Moses got too much, given that he only contributed a sliver of the vote.

It is that sliver which gives Guyana a chance to begin the very experiment that you fear.  Because what you fear most is Guyana run by a multi ethnic government.  Then your plans for the creation of New Indesh will collapse.

It's a mute point however, just to say, PNC never exceeded 41%.  Turnout on both sides was a historical high.  On can [reasonably] deduce that the AFC brought more then 5%.  Suffice to say, it's mute, if they brought 1%, they were the king maker.  It was a "leverage buy-out", so to speak.