Originally Posted by ksazma:

The Botanical Gardens has been renamed Forbes Burnham Botanical Gardens

Because I though you were referring to Pradeep Kumar as Rafiq Khan when Pradeep Kumar was actually Arsalam Mohamed.  

Pradeep sister was working in the record bar at Mohameds,

me thinks she was known as Noor Jahan,was their father

Sonny Mohamed??

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by ksazma:

The Botanical Gardens has been renamed Forbes Burnham Botanical Gardens

Because I though you were referring to Pradeep Kumar as Rafiq Khan when Pradeep Kumar was actually Arsalam Mohamed.  

Pradeep sister was working in the record bar at Mohameds,

me thinks she was known as Noor Jahan,was their father

Sonny Mohamed??

Sonny Mohamed was Pradeep's father. I did not remember Noor Jehan as being his sister but I don't know everything.

Django how long did you work at Mohammed's for? They were on Robb St correct?

Yep..i work there from 1976 to 1985.          

I remember you mention something about that, you probably know my bro. will msg u.

When I used to buy vinyl records and diamond-tipped needles at Mohamed's in the 1970s, a tallish Portuguese guy used to assist me. Real customer service.

I remember you mention something about that, you probably know my bro. will msg u.

When I used to buy vinyl records and diamond-tipped needles at Mohamed's in the 1970s, a tallish Portuguese guy used to assist me. Real customer service.

Gill..that along time bro,i am trying to recall the old work

mates,damn i can't remember some of the names.

Tek some fish oil. Good for your memory. I take one Omega-3 capsule daily. Keeps my 64-year brain sharp.

Ah guh gat to try dat,my memory is sharp with other

things,recalling names is my problem,may be i don't sink

it in me brain.

Gil,

I still spin vinyl records. Those diamond tip Vinyl Needles are still the best.

No sound is better better than the sound of vinyl on grade A equipment.

Vinyl records are still riding that big comeback wave, sales up 38% in a year

Slow and steady and surface noise wins the race.

On Thursday, Nielsen Music released its 2015 US mid-year report, finding that overall music consumption had increased by 14 percent in the first half of the year. What's driving that boom? Well, certainly a growth in streaming—on-demand streaming increased year-over-year by 92.4 percent, with more than 135 billion songs streamed, and overall sales of digital streaming increased by 23 percent.

FURTHER READING

But what may be more fascinating is the continued resurgence of the old licorice pizza—that is, vinyl LPs. Nielsen reports that vinyl LP sales are up 38 percent year-to-date. “Vinyl sales now comprise nearly 9 percent of physical album sales,” Nielsen stated.

Who's leading the charge on all that vinyl? None other than the music industry's favorite singer-songwriter Taylor Swift with her album 1989, which sold 33,500 LPs. Swift recently flexed her professional muscle when she wrote an open letter to Apple, criticizing the company for failing to pay artists during the free three-month trial of Apple Music. Apple quickly kowtowed to the pop star and reversed its position.

Following behind Swift on the vinyl chart is Sufjan Stevens' Carrie & Lowell, The Arctic Monkeys' AM(released in 2013), Alabama Shakes' Sound & Color, and in fifth place, none other than Miles Davis' Kind of Blue, which sold 23,200 copies in 2015.

Also interesting is that Nielsen found that digital album sales were flat compared to last year, and digital track sales were down 10.4 percent. Unsurprisingly, CD sales were down 10 percent.

When Nielsen reported in 2010 that 2.5 million vinyl records were sold in 2009, Ars noted that was more than any other year since the media-tracking business started keeping score in 1991. Fast forward five years and that number has more than doubled, as Nielsen counted 5.6 million vinyl records sold. The trend shows little sign of abating—last year, the US' largest vinyl plant reported that it was adding 16 vinyl presses to its lineup of 30, and just this year Ars reported on a company called Qratesthat lets artists solicit crowdfunding to do small-batch vinyl pressing.

My son has approx, 1000 vinyl and a couple turntables that guy has been into vinyl especially since moving to Calgary. I've got about a hundred or so and I'm giving him my Beatles collection, some with posters still,hardly played. Never liked the Beatles really.

I still collect vinyl,LP's and 45's over 2000. I go to the Thrift Shops in Canada, US or anywhere I travel and buy vinyls cheap. Do you remember the Parrot Label made in England, well I have several collections.I have a different set to play my vinyls and another for CD's, CD's are digital enhanced, vinyls are clearer . How about Matt's record bar.

Originally Posted by kp:

What I also liked about Mohamed's Record Bar was the live radio shows that Matthew Allen presented. A crowd of us would stand outside the store and hear the programme while looking through the showcase at Little Mo and his staff spinning the discs. Lovely days.

Do remember DJ Pancho Carew??

I worked with Pancho at Broadcasting House on High Street obliquely opposite Gaumont.

Originally Posted by kp:

What I also liked about Mohamed's Record Bar was the live radio shows that Matthew Allen presented. A crowd of us would stand outside the store and hear the programme while looking through the showcase at Little Mo and his staff spinning the discs. Lovely days.

I worked with Pancho at Broadcasting House on High Street obliquely opposite Gaumont.

Pancho Carew was the MC when Babla Kanchan visited Guyana in the Late 80's at the Albion Sports Complex with 20,000 in attendance.

It was magical.

Originally Posted by kp:

Gil,

What is this place Gaumont that you Guys keep talking about ? Enlighten us Berbicians.

Originally Posted by kp:

Gil,

What is this place Gaumont that you Guys keep talking about ? Enlighten us Berbicians.

You might like it, lotsa women...hehe

You guys notice the thread heading has been changed, hehehe Chief gonna blow a fuse now rass.

Originally Posted by kp:

Gil,

nehru use to drink cheap white rum and water there 

can it help nehru but he do not have a brain

Originally Posted by kp:

Gil,

Since em bais beating around the bush so much, i gonna tell yuh...it's a cheap whore house in GT  

Originally Posted by kp:

Gil,

Gaumont was registered as a Guest House but was really a brothel and beer garden. Dem country bai used to call um Garmont. In the late 60s through the 90s it attracted lots of patrons.

Before Gaumont, the previous building was burnt down. That building had housed a record bar on the ground floor. In the 1950s my grandfather used to buy Indian 78 rpm vinyl records there. The record label was "His Master's Voice" with a picture of a dog listening to a turntable speaker.

So gilly...Ruby ring a bell to u? how about Nayo? or Syeed?  u know he died, right?

I use to love listenin' to Pancho...1 p.m every afternoon..."Best By Request"     and i think he use to do "Quiz Catch" too...ohhhh those days 

Originally Posted by Marcy.:

So gilly...Ruby ring a bell to u? how about Nayo? or Syeed?  u know he died, right?

I use to love listenin' to Pancho...1 p.m every afternoon..."Best By Request"     and i think he use to do "Quiz Catch" too...ohhhh those days 

Pancho Carew was the Bomb. Dem Binnies used to want squeeze yuh tight when he spin records

So gilly...Ruby ring a bell to u? how about Nayo? or Syeed?  u know he died, right? [If you're talking about Mohamed's staff, I didn't work there. Just a customer.]

Originally Posted by kp:

Gil,

Since em bais beating around the bush so much, i gonna tell yuh...it's a cheap whore house in GT  

We told him in code.

So gilly...Ruby ring a bell to u? how about Nayo? or Syeed?  u know he died, right? [If you're talking about Mohamed's staff, I didn't work there. Just a customer.]

oh sorry....my bad.  that was for DJango.

awww Mr. Big C. de man ent even know de place, u gonna mek he read between the lines. there was another one at the corner of RObb st and Ave of Rep. and a record bar downstairs too...i can't remember the names

Sangam

Sangam

Sangam was on Regent Street.

I think she is referring to Sports and Games, above Matts Record Bar.