Originally Posted by Marcy.:

What I also liked about Mohamed's Record Bar was the live radio shows that Matthew Allen presented. A crowd of us would stand outside the store and hear the programme while looking through the showcase at Little Mo and his staff spinning the discs. Lovely days.

So gilly...Ruby ring a bell to u? how about Nayo? or Syeed?  u know he died, right? [If you're talking about Mohamed's staff, I didn't work there. Just a customer.]

I use to love listenin' to Pancho...1 p.m every afternoon..."Best By Request"     and i think he use to do "Quiz Catch" too...ohhhh those days 

oh sorry....my bad.  that was for DJango.

awww Mr. Big C. de man ent even know de place, u gonna mek he read between the lines. there was another one at the corner of RObb st and Ave of Rep. and a record bar downstairs too...i can't remember the names

Sangam

Sangam was on Regent Street.

I think she is referring to Sports and Games, above Matts Record Bar.

YUh right Bhai, so many Whore Houses it is hard to keep UP.

What I also liked about Mohamed's Record Bar was the live radio shows that Matthew Allen presented. A crowd of us would stand outside the store and hear the programme while looking through the showcase at Little Mo and his staff spinning the discs. Lovely days.

So gilly...Ruby ring a bell to u? how about Nayo? or Syeed?  u know he died, right? [If you're talking about Mohamed's staff, I didn't work there. Just a customer.]

I use to love listenin' to Pancho...1 p.m every afternoon..."Best By Request"     and i think he use to do "Quiz Catch" too...ohhhh those days 

awww Mr. Big C. de man ent even know de place, u gonna mek he read between the lines. there was another one at the corner of RObb st and Ave of Rep. and a record bar downstairs too...i can't remember the names

Sangam

so many Whore Houses it is hard to IT keep UP.

Sangam

There was no Viagra those days.

lol...i hear they importing em girls from brazil now...Baroombar

Yes, lighter color, better curves and Coke Bottle shapes. Yuh finally getting yuh money worth.

lol...i hear they importing em girls from brazil now...Baroombar

Yes, lighter color, better curves and Coke Bottle shapes. Yuh finally getting yuh money worth.

oh. so wha em girls accepting? US or cdn? or they just turn around, bend over and u swipe???    

Marcy..most of little mo and family in CN,i know all the kids

Sha..nz is my FB friend i heard when Sa..ed past away,he

was a great guy we hang out at some bars in GT.

Originally Posted by Django:

i see.  those are from the first wifey. Do you know the second set well?

Saeed was cool indeed...so was Nayo

I have a lil story to tell u after 

i see.  those are from the first wifey. Do you know the second set well?

Saeed was cool indeed...so was Nayo

I have a lil story to tell u after 

I know them when they were younger,they are in CN.

I quit working there in 1985.

ok. Yea, i know they are in CN now. yea 1985 de eldest woulda be like 13/14 yrs old. THey all enjoy de ole man's money and now they dont even pay attention to him. I think little Mo in GT on a lil vacay now. They all over 40 now and still live with em mudda

If only we can stick to the music, well who remember Sambach Parker Record bar, that was run by Baptise, I think her first name was Jean. You would listen to the record first in a booth before you purchase. But many guys would go in , not for the music but to look up the lady, she dressed very classy.OH, she knows her Music.

Originally Posted by kp:

If only we can stick to the music, well who remember Sambach Parker Record bar, that was run by Baptise, I think her first name was Jean. You would listen to the record first in a booth before you purchase. But many guys would go in , not for the music but to look up the lady, she dressed very classy.OH, she knows her Music.

There was a Record Bar at EC Car Park by the Cane Juice Stand.

Originally Posted by kp:

That was Docs.  Couple of friends owned it, few times Sammy Baksh and Sash Persaud would hang out there.

was it Alfonso Record bar on Middle n Camp st area too?

i heard Mohamed branch off from Alfonso..

DID SOMEBODY SAY CANE JUICE?????   HMMMMM    that sound soooo nice right about now....or snow cone with condense milk....yummmyyyy!!

oh de good ole EC car park!     

was it Alfonso Record bar on Middle n Camp st area too?

i heard Mohamed branch off from Alfonso..

DID SOMEBODY SAY CANE JUICE?????   HMMMMM    that sound soooo nice right about now....or snow cone with condense milk....yummmyyyy!!

oh de good ole EC car park!     

I know ah Gal who love to use condensed milk as a topper.

I think i getting meh story mix up  Yes, MATT record bar was there, some putagee boys had a vulcanizin shop next door. maybe it was a bar/rum shop upstairs...Chokit? (Sp)

CHO-KIT-LING.

In the 1970s there was a fairly good-looking Indo woman sitting at a table facing the doorway. Anyone passing by on Robb Street could see her.She was like a fixture at Cho-Kit-Ling.

She would be a granny now, if alive.

Originally Posted by kp:

Matt Baptiste had managed Sandbach Parker Record Bar. She resigned and opened her own record bar at Robb St & Ave of the Republic. Nextdoor to her bar, right at the corner, was a boutique run by Sherry Yassin. In the late 1980s Spotlight Record Bar replaced the boutique and competed with Matt's Record Bar which her son Aubrey was managing. Matt's daughter Sandra Baptiste was a first-class journalist in the 1970s-1980s.

Originally Posted by kp:

That was Docs.  Couple of friends owned it, few times Sammy Baksh and Sash Persaud would hang out there.

Satch Persaud was his name. He was a handsome and light-skin guy. He had recorded a song titled "My Love Was Not Retailed." Later, he travelled to Brazil to perform in nightclubs.

Originally Posted by kp:

Satch Persaud was his name. He was a handsome and light-skin guy. He had recorded a song titled "My Love Was Not Retailed." Later, he travelled to Brazil to perform in nightclubs.

Yes, he returned to Guyana few years ago and ran a small business in GT.  Life and the economy under the PPP brought these people back to Guyana as it became more attractive than where they ran off to under the despotic destructive PNC.

ok. Yea, i know they are in CN now. yea 1985 de eldest woulda be like 13/14 yrs old. THey all enjoy de ole man's money and now they dont even pay attention to him. I think little Mo in GT on a lil vacay now. They all over 40 now and still live with em mudda

Little Mo was a good guy,he was very good to me,Saeed

passing hurt him a lot,send me a PM.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

The Botanical Gardens has been renamed Forbes Burnham Botanical Gardens

Because I though you were referring to Pradeep Kumar as Rafiq Khan when Pradeep Kumar was actually Arsalam Mohamed.  

Pradeep sister was working in the record bar at Mohameds,

me thinks she was known as Noor Jahan,was their father

Sonny Mohamed??

Yes. They lived next house to us in Alexander Village on Cross Street. I believe. Sunny Mohamed died, but Pradeep is here in NY. The rest resides in Canada.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:
Django, is it  ulric jackson you're talking about?

Can't remember his last name,he was a counter salesman

wore glasses,we does take a lil tups lunch time,he liked

high wine.

Liquid Lunches Ruled!! 

That was regular by Pepsi store at America St,

good days in the homeland.

high wine.

Liquid Lunches Ruled!! 

They were good days in the homeland.

True, until the PNC destroyed it all!

high wine.

Liquid Lunches Ruled!! 

That was PNC days bhai.

high wine.

Liquid Lunches Ruled!! 

but but but but, wait . . . i am confused

isn't all this nostalgia about PNC "apartheid" days?

high wine.

Liquid Lunches Ruled!! 

That was PNC days bhai.

I know, but all that time the blood was ebbing, running on empty till the shit h1t the fan!

high wine.

Liquid Lunches Ruled!! 

That was PNC days bhai.

I know, but all that time the blood was ebbing, running on empty till the shit h1t the fan!

but but but but . . . those were "apartheid" days, no?