For the record our family have no connection what so ever with Portugal. I do not know one portugese song. Garlic poke not even real putagee food, that was brought over by those moving into Guyana.

All I know, I am Guyanese of Portuguese decent....or should I say British Guianese, being born under the British flag.

Where you get this nonsense" British Guianese" from? You WERE a British citizen of Portuguese ancestry then. Now, who knows what you are.

I am Da Cain and don't you forget it.

My family is at 5th generation starting from my Great Grandparents [Indentured Immigrants from India to British Guyana],we are not Indians we are Indo-Guyanese we embrace Guyana the land of our birth[our navel string juk there],the notion of embracing the land of my great grand parents are nonsense,well at least in my family.

Like you took lesson from Moses who said he is Guyanese by not Indian? Granger took DNA test to found out his roots. Should Granger denied his African roots?

Has Granger ever said that he was an African, not a Guyanese?

You all scream that some think that Indians cannot be Guyanese, and then you seem offended when an Indian says that he in fact is a Guyanese, and not Indian. 

Was Nagamootoo born in India?  NO!  Does he have Indian citizenship, or the rights to obtain this? NO! So why is he Indian?

Kari posted:

Last night I was in Trenton, NJ at an Atif Aslam/Sonu Nigam concert. Juxtaposed among many first generation Indian-Americans and mostly immigrant Indians and Pakistanis and Bangladeshis, while I was at one with the music I obviously felt somewhat different from the rest. And I was in India early this year and understood that gap even more.

There 

VMahabir, your post confirms that you are the one who's confused

Kari,

There is no confusion here. India has a significant meaning for Indians (those who see India as a place of origin). I will admit it probably has more to do with Hindus than Muslims or Christians. 

When Django makes a statement about him being a 5th generation Guyanese and India has nothing to offer him, he does not understand his history, nor does he want to accept the fact that India has something to do with his legacy.

You yourself identify a number of cultural traits that Indians share with India. Notice your words  " Likewise the regular Indo-Guyanese does not know much about India other than his or her received vestiges of cuisine, culture, dance  and religion - all of which were changed somewhat over the years in the separation of an ocean." Whatever little exists in Indian culture today is still a link with India...though a weak one.

You are correct about Africans that they have lost much of their cultural connection with Africa. However, unlike Indians, Africans are conscious about the fact that Africa played a major role in their development and are not as willing to condemn India as Moses or Django. ?     

The mere fact that the term "African" is used in fact shows how wrong you are.  "Africa" is a European construct and in fact it is even believed that the term was derived by Arabs.  Africans themselves don't see themselves as such until they leave that continent and even then I don't see Nigerians and Senegalese embracing themselves as fellow Africans.

So the fact that some blacks identify with this "Africa" shows in fact how unconnected they are from the reality. 

And in fact if you ask most Afro Caribbean people what they are, they will use either their national identity, or an ethnic one of being "Caribbean/West Indian".  If you ask race they will say "black".  Only if you ask their ancestry will they say "African".

In fact most Caribbean blacks have scant interest in Africa, and are certainly not shocked as Kari was to discover that centuries later they aren't true Africans.  I can go to a Nigerian show, and in fact this summer I went to several African shows.  It will not even dawn on me that I should feel at one with the Africans there.

All that will happen is that I will recognize, acknowledge and be proud of the vestiges of African cultures, which exist within me as a Caribbean man.  And the Nigerians there will react similarly, recognizing aspects of African culture that they see among Caribbean people, but in no way thinking that we shouldn't even see each other as one people.  Yorubas and Igbos don't see this, so why would a Nigerian and a Jamaican?

Re: The topic of this thread. I recall the 1950s, about a decade after the 1947 split of India and the birth of Pakistan. The postman used to deliver a newspaper to our Muslim neighbours in the street. That paper was PAKISTAN NEWS or NEWS FROM PAKISTAN. One of the two names. Playing with my Muslim friends in their yards, they let me read the paper. I remember the name Ayube Khan, the President of Pakistan at that time. Every issue of the paper carried his name and photos. Looking back, I suppose the paper was widely circulated among the Muslim community in Guyana. So, even though Muslim indentured servants from India arrived in Guyana, after 1947 their offspring identified more with Pakistan than with India. And while the Guyanese Hindus generally idolized Mahatma Gandhi, their Muslim counterparts looked upon Muhammad Ali Jinnah. All of that happened, of course, before the Libyans and Saudis started influencing Islamic conduct in Guyana. 

There 

VMahabir, your post confirms that you are the one who's confused

Kari,

There is no confusion here. India has a significant meaning for Indians (those who see India as a place of origin). I will admit it probably has more to do with Hindus than Muslims or Christians. 

When Django makes a statement about him being a 5th generation Guyanese and India has nothing to offer him, he does not understand his history, nor does he want to accept the fact that India has something to do with his legacy.

You yourself identify a number of cultural traits that Indians share with India. Notice your words  " Likewise the regular Indo-Guyanese does not know much about India other than his or her received vestiges of cuisine, culture, dance  and religion - all of which were changed somewhat over the years in the separation of an ocean." Whatever little exists in Indian culture today is still a link with India...though a weak one.

You are correct about Africans that they have lost much of their cultural connection with Africa. However, unlike Indians, Africans are conscious about the fact that Africa played a major role in their development and are not as willing to condemn India as Moses or Django. ?     

The mere fact that the term "African" is used in fact shows how wrong you are.  "Africa" is a European construct and in fact it is even believed that the term was derived by Arabs.  Africans themselves don't see themselves as such until they leave that continent and even then I don't see Nigerians and Senegalese embracing themselves as fellow Africans.

So the fact that some blacks identify with this "Africa" shows in fact how unconnected they are from the reality. 

And in fact if you ask most Afro Caribbean people what they are, they will use either their national identity, or an ethnic one of being "Caribbean/West Indian".  If you ask race they will say "black".  Only if you ask their ancestry will they say "African".

In fact most Caribbean blacks have scant interest in Africa, and are certainly not shocked as Kari was to discover that centuries later they aren't true Africans.  I can go to a Nigerian show, and in fact this summer I went to several African shows.  It will not even dawn on me that I should feel at one with the Africans there.

All that will happen is that I will recognize, acknowledge and be proud of the vestiges of African cultures, which exist within me as a Caribbean man.  And the Nigerians there will react similarly, recognizing aspects of African culture that they see among Caribbean people, but in no way thinking that we shouldn't even see each other as one people.  Yorubas and Igbos don't see this, so why would a Nigerian and a Jamaican?

Tribes are more important to the people of the African continent. They temporary over come their heritage at election time imposed upon them during colonial rule. Perhaps, soon that colonial imposition will removed from their society as they congregate more on tribalism. Only Christianity unites them. And many consider the faith of brotherly love.  

. Only Christianity unites them. And many consider the faith of brotherly love.  

There are more Muslims in West Africa than there are Christians and in fact violence exists between these two groups, so I don't know about this unity.

Yorubas and Igbos are mainly Christian, and yet distrust each other, at least as much as do blacks in Indians in Guyana do.

HEHEHE SHIT HEAD claiming AfroGuyanese dont have allegiance to Africa. So why his dadee bunham gave millions to Free Mandela, why they cried for years for mandela, why they choose African colors for Guyana Flag, why they cried to end Apartheid, does this SHIT HEAD know what Bob Marley did and thought of Africa!! 

Almost every country and their head of state contributed to Free Mandela.

It is sad that you used this anology.

Re: The topic of this thread. I recall the 1950s, about a decade after the 1947 split of India and the birth of Pakistan. The postman used to deliver a newspaper to our Muslim neighbours in the street. That paper was PAKISTAN NEWS or NEWS FROM PAKISTAN. One of the two names. Playing with my Muslim friends in their yards, they let me read the paper. I remember the name Ayube Khan, the President of Pakistan at that time. Every issue of the paper carried his name and photos. Looking back, I suppose the paper was widely circulated among the Muslim community in Guyana. So, even though Muslim indentured servants from India arrived in Guyana, after 1947 their offspring identified more with Pakistan than with India. And while the Guyanese Hindus generally idolized Mahatma Gandhi, their Muslim counterparts looked upon Muhammad Ali Jinnah. All of that happened, of course, before the Libyans and Saudis started influencing Islamic conduct in Guyana. 

Welcome back Brother Gil.

This is a point worth noting, and thanks CARIBNY for making it.

The term "Indian" in India means different things to different ethnicities in India - from Gujuratis to Sikhs to Bengalis to Karnataka to Madrasis and Tamils. Likewise, people of West Africa would think more in terms of Yoruba or Akan or Hausa than "African".

Gotta take exception to this though - shocked as Kari was to discover that centuries later they aren't true Africans. I should know different than you think CARIBNY - I worked for a Ghanian boss and mentor for 18 years in the IT business.

I  was at a Ziggy Marley concert at the Amphitheater in Coney Island early in the summer with Maxi Priest and Steel Pulse (whose Handsworth Revolution inspired us Caribbean and African students in the UK as much as Peter Tosh's Get up Stand up) and while I felt at one with this music and culture I also felt a little different from the bulk of the crowd. So there CribMan......

Kari posted:
- I worked for a GhanAian boss and mentor for 18 years in the IT business.

Not sure about you feeling different from a black crowd.  Don't know where you are going with that.  Did I suggest that you were black, or should identify with being black?

What I do know is that you will react to that environment, not like some one of African descent, but your reaction will also be different from some one from India.  Much as I would say a black from Guyana, Trinidad, and maybe Suriname, will react to Indo Caribbean culture when compared to a Barbadian, or an Antiguan.  We know about channa.  We know what Diwali is.  We don't think that Hindu temples are mosques are exotically alien.

Like it or not peoples of African and Indian descent have had to rub shoulders in Guyana and Trinidad, and we have had impact on each other.

I do know that if your Ghanaian boss had Caribbean, or worse yet black American employees, they would share nothing other than a common racial identity.  Doubt any one will be shocked that there wasn't some great identification beyond that.

In fact what is more common when Caribbean and African blacks interact is shock about what we actually have in common.  We tend to think that our African influences are confined to music and dance, when in fact it goes beyond that.

So the reaction is the opposite of that revelation that you seem to have recently undergone.  What is now happening is that we are rediscovering each other, and moving away from the "sugar cane cutter slave" or the "Tarzan" stereotypes. 

But a Caribbean black will always be rooted in the Caribbean and will find a Caribbean black who roots himself as a "continental African" as being weird. We really aren't interested in learning African languages, or all of the things that we would have to be to become "authentic."  Emancipation Day (in Trinidad and Guyana, interestingly enough this day is not really celebrated in a big way elsewhere in the Caribbean) we "dress up African" and the next day we forget all about it.

East Indian Guyanese are our own nation. We are not India Indians.

We are not West Indians either.

Did your ship sink in the Indian or Atlantic Ocean en route to the Caribbean?  If not then you are a Caribbean person.

Dummy, Guyana is not in the Caribbean. Not because a ship crossed the Caribbean with my forefathers, they are West Indians. So because my plane crossed Trinidad, I am a Trinidadian? You would prefer to see all the coolies branded as Nigroes. Nigroes came from AFRICA. East Indians came from INDIA. Two different continents(I am not saying India is a continent).

Guyana is a culturally Caribbean nation.  As is Suriname and as is French Guyane.

If you don't like that then TOUGH.  Guyanese are so "Caribbean" that most people, including other Caribbean people, are hard put to claim that we are unique. 

Even Guyanese Indians are clearly Caribbean by culture, whether they chose to admit this or not.

And if you wish to define yourself purely by your past then you are African, because that is the origin of Homo Sapiens.  Now go and throw yourself in a dumpster as you contemplate that.

Looks like some Indo-Guyanese have an identity crisis,wondering how the Trinis and Surinamese thinks two other countries with a sizable  population whose ancestors are also from India.

I asked my American business partner whose ancestors are British and Irish if their is any longing for a connection to those countries his answer was none,both of us are 3rd generation from Immigrants.

Yuh Merikan padna ah wan NEEMAKHARAM and IGNAR. Nothing personal. Generally, business people are alien to cultural and historical antecedents. Dem rass only ah tink how fast to full up dem moneybag. Nothing else matters.

Guyana is not in the Caribbean. 

Skelly, you're standing on one tiny toe here. Yuh gon fall BRADDAPS pon you face. Am I to understand that you did not study Geography or West Indian History at Skeldon Line Path Secondary School? Truly, I wish Warria was here today. He wouddah straiten yuh up well an prappa.

. Only Christianity unites them. And many consider the faith of brotherly love.  

There are more Muslims in West Africa than there are Christians and in fact violence exists between these two groups, so I don't know about this unity.

Yorubas and Igbos are mainly Christian, and yet distrust each other, at least as much as do blacks in Indians in Guyana do.

Nigerians of the three tribes seems to get along well at the church I attend. Some are converted muslims from the Hauser tribe. I would want to believe they have a common bond in the words of The Lord.

Skelly, you're standing on one tiny toe here. Yuh gon fall BRADDAPS pon you face. Am I to understand that you did not study Geography or West Indian History at Skeldon Line Path Secondary School? Truly, I wish Warria was here today. He wouddah straiten yuh up well an prappa.

Come on. How can Guyana be Caribbean?

Nigerians of the three tribes seems to get along well at the church I attend.

They don't when they leave, or if they do then your church is unusual.

Nigeria has way more than 3 "tribes" though. 

The bickering between the 2 largest in the south (Yorubas and Igbos) on their forums is like that between Indians and blacks on this one. As is the case with Amerindians Hausas are ignored and not visible in this bickering.  They leave that to the southerners while they dominate the north, just as the Amerindians do the interior.

Geographically Guyana is NOT in the Caribbean. Traditionally Guyana was absorbed with the Caribbean Community and we can debate why.

For the Dunce, the same way Guyana is NOT part of India but heritage, Customs, Tradition and Religion link the people to some extent.

Note. those without Culture, Tradition and Customs are welcome in our Democratic World.

Come on. How can Guyana be Caribbean?

Who do Guyanese have more in common with. Trinidadians or Paraguayans.  How many Guyanese even know or care about most of South America.  Trinidad and Barbados are most closely in their sights. 

Even Brazil, which we are the most culturally close to, isn't really something that most Guyanese have a deep concern.  A quick trip to Bon Fin, maybe Boa Vista, and that is all we know.  We don't know Portuguese, nor do we have a desire to learn it.

Guyana is a Caribbean country located in South America, as are Suriname and French Guyana. Trinidad is a South American island, located off the mouth of the Orinoco River, which is also Caribbean (they don't have a Caribbean coast).

You see Gilly, geographically Guyana is not in the West Indies. I passed GCE Geography. It was only because the British controlled the education system in Guyana and the Caribbean, we were forced to think we are Caribbean. Why did the British only wanted us to study a few of the British Islands. Why not Martinique or Cuba? I do not and never will consider myself a West Indian. I am a Guyanese of East Indian ancestry. Warria could not tell you the difference between Geography and History.

HAHAHA  SHIT HEAD just exposed himself.

Trinidad in South America, laad Ah Mercy

Trinidad and Tobago lie on the continental shelf of South America, and are thus geologically considered to lie entirely in South America

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trinidad_and_Tobago

Wha um say here

Let them stay in the West Indies chain of islands. Maybe if Venezuela knew this, they would invade them and claim their oil.

Geographically Guyana is NOT in the Caribbean. Traditionally Guyana was absorbed with the Caribbean Community and we can debate why.

For the Dunce, the same way Guyana is NOT part of India but heritage, Customs, Tradition and Religion link the people to some extent.

Note. those without Culture, Tradition and Customs are welcome in our Democratic World.

It's a Caribbean country in many senses (though it's northern boundary is the Atlantic and not the Caribbean Sea. Venezuela and Colombia are considerd Caribbean countries and also South American countries.

Kari posted:

It's a Caribbean country in many senses (though it's northern boundary is the Atlantic and not the Caribbean Sea. Venezuela and Colombia are considerd Caribbean countries and also South American countries.

Dis lesson getting interestinger. Lemme move it a notch higher. Geologically speaking, South America and AFRICA shared the same land mass millions of years ago. That is, before de crack open and widen to form de Atlantic Ocean. 

Exercise for Nehru: Get a World Atlas. Cut out South America and put it on Africa's left side. It fits like a jigsaw puzzle. 

Kari posted:

Dis lesson getting interestinger. Lemme move it a notch higher. Geologically speaking, South America and AFRICA shared the same land mass millions of years ago. That is, before de crack open and widen to form de Atlantic Ocean. 

Exercise for Nehru: Get a World Atlas. Cut out South America and put it on Africa's left side. It fits like a jigsaw puzzle. 

In dat case you are correct.

And yes I did that already. It fitted perfectly.

Just to add to Gilly's post, I remembered most of the Muslim books back in the days were from Pakistan. That was before the Libyan and Saudi era.

Back in Guyana, my hard copy of the Holy Qur'an was printed in Lahore, Pakistan. English translation by Maulana Muhammad Ali. It was a gift from Alim Shah, father of Ryhaan. In turn, I gifted it to my Muslim neighbor the night before I flew out of Guyana 20 years ago.

Excellent!! Nehru is the brightest star in our Geography class. Attention Skeldon_Boy: Move forward from the back bench and sit next to Nehru.

Back bench is good. No one notices you. That split withe South America and Africa, I knew that since I was in primary school. Why you think they are looking for oil in Guyana?

Bhai,Suriname,Venezuela,Trinidad and Brazil all of Guyana neighbors got oil,a little must be in Guyana,that country was held back.

Here is a lil read

http://blogs.iadb.org/caribbea...ce-in-the-caribbean/

Suriname is the third largest crude oil producer in the Caribbean after Trinidad & Tobago and Cuba, with a daily production above 16,000  barrels of oil per day (bbls/day). Domestic production of crude oil nearly reaches the domestic consumption, thus contributing to the country’s high level of primary energy self-sufficiency. In addition, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) estimates the Suriname-Guyana basin undiscovered resources at 13 billion barrels of oil, and 32 trillion cubic feet of gas. However, the high potential of the country still remains virtually unexplored.

The Suriname-Guyana Basin is a sedimentary basin encompassing the coastal area of French Guiana, Suriname, Guyana and the eastern part of Venezuela (Antillean Arch). Most of the Basin lies offshore. The USGS assessed undiscovered conventional oil and gas resources within 31 geologic provinces along Central & South America and the Caribbean.  It revealed that the Suriname-Guyana Basin is the third province in terms of oil resources, after the Santos and Campos Basins in Brazil, respectively.