Source KN:

The area on the seawall near Pere Street, Kitty, has changed a lot since November 1979, when they found two battered bodies in the bushes that grow along the foreshore. Those bushes are now gone; just debris and crushed seashells remain. A lot of other things, too, have changed.
The residents who would have gone to gape at the bodies are either dead, have migrated, or their memories have been dulled by the three decades that have passed since then,
But here I was, back on the seawall, retracing the steps that the victims and their killer took 32 years ago.

The case had all the ingredients for sensation: A sensual belly-dancer, a sprinkling of political intrigue, and a killer who has never been caught.
Type the name ‘Dolly Baksh’ into Google, and you will see that there are some who claim to know how she met her end and who orchestrated her death and that of her friend, Tejpaul Singh ( he want the man of business who set up all the dance meets and handled the cash).

For the younger generation, and for those who can’t remember, her name was Dolly Amana Baksh. It is said that she began showing her talent for dancing at the age of five. She made her first stage appearance at the age of eight and at the age of 12 was one of the performers in Carifesta ’72, which was held in Guyana.
By the time she reached her teens, Dolly, now a slim, fair-skinned beauty, had become a major attraction at fairs and stage shows, where she performed classical Indian dances. However, it was her sensual belly-dancing that mesmerised the crowds.
Some of her admirers reportedly described her as ‘Dolly who dances like she has no bones.’
Her dancing helped Dolly to land a part in the locally-made film Operation Makonaima. She also became a member of the People’s Culture Corps, which often performed at national events.
At the same time, her brother, Sammy Baksh, was also making a name for himself as a singer.
By 1979, according to a report in the Chronicle, Dolly had passed nine subjects at the GCE ‘O’ Level Exams, and also gained two ‘A’ Level passes. Dreaming of a career in medicine, she had successfully applied for entry into the University of Guyana.
On Saturday, September 15, 1979, 19-year-old Dolly, along with members of the Culture Corps band, performed at a cultural event at the Prime Minister’s Residence, in honour of the President of Guinea, Ahmed Seko Toure, who was in Guyana on a three-day visit. It was to be her last dance.
Two days later, on Monday, September 17, 1979, Dolly reportedly left the family’s Campbell Avenue home just past midday, after informing her mother that she was going to borrow a few books. Dolly apparently had a rendezvous with a male friend; 23-year-old Tejpaul Singh, a mechanical engineering student at the Government Technical Institute (GTI).
According to reports, the six-foot tall GTI student left his mother’s Industry, East Coast Demerara home early Monday morning for classes. The two friends were later seen walking casually along the seawall near Bel Air. Around four o’clock that afternoon, the police and ambulance service received almost simultaneous calls that two injured persons were lying on the Kitty foreshore.
When the ambulance service staffers arrived, they found a young woman of East Indian ancestry in a semi-conscious condition lying in a clump of bushes. Nearby lay a young man who was also of East Indian ancestry. The medics established that he was already dead.
Both victims were fully clothed, but someone had struck them with terrible force on their heads.
The murder weapon appeared to be a heavy length of greenheart wood, which was found near the dead man.
It was soon established that the victims were Dolly Baksh and Tejpaul Singh.
The badly injured dancer was rushed to the Georgetown Hospital but died shortly after. Autopsies would reveal that both victims had suffered fractured skulls.
Detectives, led by Crime Chief Cecil ‘Skip’ Roberts, focused their attention on trying to solve the double-murder. They immediately ruled out murder as a motive. Rape also did not appear to be a motive. But they had a suspect in mind: The seawall stalker.

SEAWALL STALKER
Back then, police were investigating a spate of brutal, unsolved attacks on lovers on the seawall. Prior to the double murder, a young rank from the Guyana People’s Militia (GPM) had been killed under similar circumstances. Around the same time, a young woman was beaten and left unconscious in the same area where the GPM rank had been slain. Luckily, passersby spotted the woman lying on the foreshore and saved her from being drowned by the incoming tide.
Crime Chief Cecil Roberts believed that Dolly Baksh and Tejpaul Singh hand been bludgeoned by the same apparently deranged man who seemed to be waging a vendetta against couples who ventured on the seawall.
According to the sleuth, it was “quite clear” that other lovers had suffered similar attacks but had not reported to the police.
The Crime Chief also felt that some of the victims might even have come face to face with the killer and would possibly be able to identify him.
In an appeal to the public, he explained that this information from other victims was vital for police to identify the person or persons behind the double-murder. Meanwhile, detectives cautioned other lovers to stay away from such lonely spots.
The day after the double-murder, police announced that they had made an arrest. It is unclear who he was or why he was held. However, the man was eventually released. From newspaper clippings I sifted through, nothing more was heard about the ‘seawall stalker.’
I found out that if ever there was a ‘cold case’, it was this one. Crime Chief Cecil Roberts has migrated, Julian Mendes, the reporter who covered the story for the Chronicle, is dead, and so are some of the detectives who had investigated the murders.
I checked the internet, and found out that persons on one website suggested that Dolly and her friend were done in by persons linked to a political group.
One contributor erroneously stated that the victims were slain at the Ogle foreshore. The contributor also mistakenly said that they were ‘decapitated’ (remember they were clubbed to death) on the same day of Dolly’s last performance.
I spoke to a few people who were around at the time of the killings and discovered that this is the version of events that they had heard back then and still believe.
But another person who knew Dolly Baksh well suggested that her death might have been orchestrated by persons from a political opposition group. He too, provided no evidence to link these individuals to the killings.
A relative of Dolly’s friend, Tejpaul Singh, also dismissed the theory that a madman had killed the two friends. However, he feels that an individual close to Dolly had a hand in her death. According to the relative, this individual went into hiding for several days after her death.
So, were Dolly Baksh and Tejpaul Singh slain by persons with political affiliations? Or were they innocent victims of a deranged, psychotic killer? But just who was the ‘seawall stalker’, and why did the attacks suddenly stop? Who was the suspect that police had held, and why was he arrested?
At the end of it all, after my visits to the archives, my trip to Kitty, and my surfing of the internet, I had come full circle.
Like ‘Skip’ Roberts back then, I would never know the identity of the person who killed Tejpaul Singh, and his friend, Dolly Baksh, the girl who used to dance as if she had no bones.

The PNC has Demons, many of whom are still around.

why don't u start a thread screaming that i am one?

it seems the thing that alyuh do so well . . .

You are an anti man, no need to.

yuh learning to tek yuh licks with equanimity . . . i seeeee

kishanB, aren't you supposed to be leading Granger's "soldiers" in street protests somewhere?

What an enlightened response to a tragic story! Sammy can be seen at singing at some lounges in Queens. We once had him at the Guyana Day celebrations at York College.

Redux, you need help, man. Hopefully you won't succumb to urges of a profile like yours to slashed wrists. Serious!

TODAY this crab daag talks about MORAL revival and SITS of the highest decision making body in APNU and the PNC.

YET that krully AZZ Kapidilla wants me look at the APNU in a good light.

GO suck a P{NC bone, you selfish and opportunitist BITCH!

Wah happen Harish...like Rosie dump yuh? Heh Heh Heh...

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

TODAY this crab daag talks about MORAL revival and SITS of the highest decision making body in APNU and the PNC.

YET that krully AZZ Kapidilla wants me look at the APNU in a good light.

GO suck a P{NC bone, you selfish and opportunitist BITCH!

Wah happen Harish...like Rosie dump yuh? Heh Heh Heh...

Harish....de man has been busted.

kishanB, aren't you supposed to be leading Granger's "soldiers" in street protests somewhere?

What an enlightened response to a tragic story! Sammy can be seen at singing at some lounges in Queens. We once had him at the Guyana Day celebrations at York College.

Redux, you need help, man. Hopefully you won't succumb to urges of a profile like yours to slashed wrists. Serious!

this is a political forum

the intent of his post is therefore not a benign focus on a "tragic story" . . . it is replete with wild gossip and [not-so-subtle RACIAL] politics

what's not "enlightened" about my response?

g'wan suh with your unctuous nonsense . . . hypocrite

the intent of his post is therefore not a benign focus on a "tragic story" . . . it is replete with wild gossip and [not-so-subtle RACIAL] politics

Eh eh Redux using a dictionary today.  Do not bust yuh head thinking!

Gossip?

Joker, it is gossip also that Jagdeo-hoe is worth US$100 million on a President salary of $1.5 million a month and a pension of $1.5 million a month.

IDIOT.

Hammie will die with his eye open just like BUNHUM.  CARBIN will die with his eye open for what he did to Hanoman daughter.

ALL of them PNC crab daag who wanted fair skin patacake will die with their eye open.

Their sin - NEVER will they ever win an elections in Guyana.

For one who considers himself a prodigy with sarcasm, how come you miss the above? The man addresses something that Krishna posted. I even made a comment there.

And how come your keen eyes missed the "Demon" response above? It is clearly in response to the untenable conclusion of Krishna that a "soldier" killed dolly with a piece of driftwood.

The evidence is that she was killed with an object picked up on the scene. Do you think a planned hit would have the hitman coming unprepared? No one knows who murdered her.

Gossip?

Joker, it is gossip also that Jagdeo-hoe is worth US$100 million on a President salary of $1.5 million a month and a pension of $1.5 million a month.

IDIOT.

Hammie will die with his eye open just like BUNHUM.  CARBIN will die with his eye open for what he did to Hanoman daughter.

ALL of them PNC crab daag who wanted fair skin patacake will die with their eye open.

Their sin - NEVER will they ever win an elections in Guyana.

Lets make a list of the People Hammie killed. I thought Corbin made a move on Rudy Luck's kid! Anyways, you are on that playground where bigots play with co-opting  the classic construct of the light skinned lure to the sexually driven black male we see in historical racist cartoons and popular myth.

ALL of them PNC crab daag who wanted fair skin patacake will die with their eye open . . .

u do realize that this is YOUR problem and nobody else's

i saw you coming a mile away bai. . . get help

LOL.

Look who offering free advice - MR BITTER and INSANE himself.

LOL.

Goebelism is alive when it come to Redux and his alter ego Kapidilla.

ALL of them PNC crab daag who wanted fair skin patacake will die with their eye open . . .

your psychosexual race primitivism marks u as unfit for civilized political discourse . . . only ridicule

but, i saw you coming a mile away bai. . . get help

your psychosexual race primitivism marks u as unfit for civilized political discourse . . . only ridicule

Look who talking!  Mr Insanity inself - Mr Redux.

talk to me den nah . . . isn't wuh i say true?

Heh Heh Heh...Redux fish up de man KB dey.

I attended Dolly Baksh's funeral. I knew her on a "Hi" and "Hello" basis. Her brother Sammy and I were better acquainted.

Whoever murdered Dolly and her companion remains a mystery.

Honestly, I don't subscribe to the theory/speculation that Hamilton Green was involved.

Gilly you a wan old timer and been arond de block many times. Tell dat jackass KB.

I attended Dolly Baksh's funeral. I knew her on a "Hi" and "Hello" basis. Her brother Sammy and I were better acquainted.

Honestly, I don't subscribe to the theory/speculation that Hamilton Green was involved.

And I agree with you 100%. The racist PPP are the ones who were pushing that line about Dolly being killed by a black PNC member..  The PPP did not like Dolly because she used to perform at all the Government spncered functions.

I knew Dolly on a Hi basis as well for her mother's sister used to live in Corriverton.

She was a great dancer and a very quiet individual who was very very closely attached to her mother.

May her soul rest in peace.

And I agree with you 100%. The racist PPP are the ones who were pushing that line about Dolly being killed by a black PNC member.. The PPP did not like Dolly because she used to perform at all the Government spncered functions.

I knew Dolly on a Hi basis as well for her mother's sister used to live in Corriverton.

She was a great dancer and a very quiet individual who was very very closely attached to her mother.

Chief, truth be told, in the 1970s the PPP and PYO were not happy to see Indo-Guyanese perform in public for the PNC regime.

I recall that the Merrytones Orchestra became popular by performing on radio and at PPP-sponsored fairs, concerts, and even congresses. The Persaud brothers and their sister Saywattie who made up the band were welcome at Freedom House anytime. Then, suddenly around 1973-74 Merrytones appeared on a PNC platform. From that moment the Persauds were blacklisted at Freedom House.

The PPP started hiring De Originals band to replace the Merrytones in 1974. That same year, as a PYO Central Committee member I was asked to accompany De Originals to a scheduled fund-raising event at Little Biaboo, Mahaica River. We traveled in a VW van owned by Rachpaul's Drug Store on Robb Street. Unfortunately, we arrived very late at Little Biaboo, by which time most of the people had gone home.

Anyway, while the PPP was unhappy with the Merrytones and Dolly Baksh I can say confidently that the Party never planned to harm or kill Dolly. In one of the reports Kishan republished here, some people say an opposition party was involved in Ms Baksh's murder. Not the PPP of the 1970s.

Gilly,

You are a honest and decent human being, keep it up. You were with the PYO nad you knew how they ioperate. I wish other posters such as Nehru, Yugi,Kishan and Skeldonman can take a page out of your book.

In as much as I doubt the PPP involvement in Dolly's murder , I know for a fact that the PPP just like the PNC do have blood on their hands.

Dolly was a smart girl she used to read a novel a day sometimes the same novel over and over just to be reading as you may know novels were in short supply and there were a few exchange club for books novels and magazines at the market in Kitty called the book stand yopu would find here there everyday exchanging novels for another one,  a fee is associated with that from 5 cents to 15 cents you could go to the book stand and rent a comic book for 3 cents stand ther and read it then turn it back in. That was what it was like at that time.    

ball

Gili,

Another Indian artiste that the PPP  targeted was the late Mannie Haniff.

That's correct, chief. Mannie Haniff used to perform at PPP fund-raising events too. When he appeared on PNC stage he became persona non grata at Freedom House.

Same thing happened to the Mighty Enchanter and his wife Farida.

It must be pointed out that singers, band members and comedians earned a pittance at those PPP events and one would have expected Freedom House to show them some understanding and empathy when they were hired by the PNC regime. After all, they were not politicians. If they had depended solely on PPP engagements for their income they couldn't survive as performing artistes.

Gili,

That's correct, chief. Mannie Haniff used to perform at PPP fund-raising events too. When he appeared on PNC stage he became persona non grata at Freedom House.

So petty. 

And I agree with you 100%. The racist PPP are the ones who were pushing that line about Dolly being killed by a black PNC member..  The PPP did not like Dolly because she used to perform at all the Government spncered functions.

I remember as a kid Dolly stayed at our home for a few nights in Corriverton. She was invited to dance at the Line Path School sports day. 

Sunil

Gili,

It must be pointed out that singers, band members and comedians earned a pittance at those PPP events and one would have expected Freedom House to show them some understanding and empathy when they were hired by the PNC regime. After all, they were not politicians. If they had depended solely on PPP engagements for their income they couldn't survive as performing artistes.

That drunken Nehru has no shame. He is well aware of all of this dirtiness of the PPP and all because of some free piss from the PPP he turnoing a blind eye.