The crime wave of 2000s…We did not hire Roger Khan- ex-PM Hinds

Former PM, Sam Hinds

Jailed drug kingpin, Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan, was never recruited by the former People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) administration to take out criminal elements.
During an interview last week, former Prime Minister, Samuel Hinds, was questioned on the then administration’s stance on extra-judicial killings, the presence of spy equipment and whether the PPP/C government, under then President Bharrat Jagdeo, had silently or otherwise given support to Khan and a so-called death squad that took out criminal elements.
He did make it clear that the timing was not right under the PPP/C reign for an inquiry into the killings, because of the raw wounds that were festering.
Last week, the Coalition Government announced former judge, Donald Trotman, as the Commissioner into the inquiry of the 2008 Lindo Creek killing and burning of the bodies of eight miners.
The inquiry would be one of several to determine the events of the 2000 crime wave, the David Granger government says.
However, Hinds in a letter to the editor last week made it clear that any inquiry into the events of 2000s where close to 400 persons, including criminals and business persons were killed, would have to go back to the 1997 elections.
The ex-PM served from 1992 to 1997, when he became President for a few months with the death of then leader, Dr. Cheddi Jagan. After that, Hinds remained Prime Minister through a number of elections that PPP/C won, until the 2015 elections.
Hinds’s willingness to talk about that dark period would be a shift from the silence of those days.
There have been repeated claims that Khan had close ties to the Guyana government of the day. In 2006, the police issued an arrest warrant for him, and Khan in newspaper ads claimed that he was fighting criminals on behalf of the administration.
On June 15, 2006, Khan was arrested in Paramaribo with three of his bodyguards in a sting operation that Surinamese police said netted more than 200 kilograms of cocaine – the biggest cocaine haul in Suriname of that year.
Instead of being deported to Guyana, then Minister of Justice of Suriname, Chan Santokhi, ordered that Khan be flown to Trinidad.
This decision, according to reports, received protests from then President, Dési Bouterse’s party, which then formed the biggest opposition party in the parliament of Suriname.

Jailed: Self-confessed head of the ‘Phantom Squad, Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan

Upon the arrival at the airport of Trinidad, Khan was handed over to immigration authorities who then turned him over to US officials. Hours after he was expelled from Suriname, Khan was arraigned at the Brooklyn Federal Court in New York City on June 30, 2006 on a charge of “conspiring to import cocaine” and was ordered to be detained at the Metropolitan Detention Centre in Brooklyn.
In October 2009, Khan was sentenced in a courtroom in Brooklyn, New York to 40 years imprisonment for trafficking large amounts of cocaine in the United States of America, witness tampering and illegal firearm possession.
According to Hinds, other than what is in the press, he is not aware of any ‘spy equipment’ being approved by his government.
Of course, there were security briefings and some were on a need-to-know basis.
“I would say that I know nothing of it, except what is in the public…”
Hinds pointed to an interview by former President Bharrat Jagdeo who would have admitted that the then administration appeared be “walking in parallel directions” with Khan and his ‘Phantom Squad’.
“But we have not recruited him.”
There were reports and even documents surfacing that allegedly indicate that former Health Minister, Dr. Leslie Ramsammy, appeared to the be the Government conduit with Khan. The ‘spy equipment’ purchase, which was supposed to be a government-to-government transaction, had allegedly had Dr Ramsammy’s name on it, as acting on behalf of the Government of Guyana.
Then sensitive equipment, which had capabilities of monitoring cell phone calls, was later seized from Khan during a road block.Insisting that he prefer to stay away from specifics, the ex-PM said that there are things that were reported that could lead to certain conclusions.
Some person even said that Ramsammy’s closeness to the US military would have allowed him to know his way around. That would also be the same for Khan, who appeared to have had links to the US military.
Did the PPP/C government give silent approval to Khan and his squad?
According to Hinds, it would be “hard to fight those arguments”.
He insisted that the situation was not one of “our own making”.
“We (need to) go back…we (need to) read back on the situation leading up to the 1997 elections and what started to occur afterwards.”

This Labba seh not PPP party hire de drug dealer to tek down PNC masterminds. But the PPP know what was happenin and let de thing run over in death and extra judicial killing. Bai dem business people had to hit back de army/mastermind/some PNC conspiracy

Suh who import the spy equipment ?.

Dat is why de PNC hate de business people. Dem try foh over tax dem and now de ecanamy tank and get wuss. 

Bhai, them business people are importers,suh they have to be taxed nah suh.

De PPP govt, not de PPP. 

Funny tarass.

That's like saying here is an apple,but it's not an apple.

De PPP govt, not de PPP. 

Funny tarass.

That's like saying here is an apple,but it's not an apple.

Nah. More like Republican President as opposed to Republican Party.

Dat is why de PNC hate de business people. Dem try foh over tax dem and now de ecanamy tank and get wuss. 

But I thought you were advising Grangah!!

Don't think they need Labba.

Jordon the FM is the big che-bat,suh he trying a thing or two with the ecanamy.Don't forget he was working fuh the past government.

Thank God for that Spy Equipment that help terminate the Pests, Garbage, Animals of Guyana!!!

"Our reporter earlier last week sought out comments from the Guyanese diaspora, and of those who agreed to say something in the Liberty Avenue, Queens area (NY), the sentiment was that Khan had “saved” Guyana. One man told her that had it not been for Khan the country would have “gone down the drain”; that the US should not have “kidnapped” him and instead he should have been left to continue the “good things he started.”

https://anniepaul.net/2010/07/...-is-khan-roger-khan/

Was it you that gave the answer above ?.

YES!!!

Well the answer,contributing to throw "East Indians of Guyana" under the bus.

Check the demographics of Guyana,you will grasp why my statement.

You won't rest until they throw them out of their own country.

YES!!!

Ass Kissers, Batty Washers, Traitors and Spies are the reason Indians are in PERIL. Namakaram Crabdaag are a DIME a DOZEN with a small Group of Indians!!!

Uncle Bob said " Who the Cap Fit let them wear it"!!!

But I thought you were advising Grangah!!

Bai...since when labba rat cyan advise President? 

YES!!!

Ass Kissers, Batty Washers, Traitors and Spies are the reason Indians are in PERIL. Namakaram Crabdaag are a DIME a DOZEN with a small Group of Indians!!!

Uncle Bob said " Who the Cap Fit let them wear it"!!!

Bai...like that likka mess up yuh brain. Dem people gat equal right foh run de kuntry and screw am up just like yuh bai. That is de only way to get peace. When dem realise that dem cyant run things alone dem go marry and mek up like 1953. 

If it was not for R. Khan then Guyanese koolie would have died out like the American bison. Every Guyana East Indian must always remember this.

Thanks to the Indo business owners who spend to protect Guyanese and bring stability to the country. 

Djanjo, you are indirectly confirming  support for the looting , raping , beating , burning of Indians and their properties .

Djanjo do you know the famous criminal Andrew Douglas claim in his video the escape from Camp street is to fight for  “ Blacks” suffering . And Desmond Hoyte went to his funeral which was drape with the Guyana flag . 

Djanjo, do you have evidence to dispute the PM statement . 

I will echo Gilly comments to you “ you know too much and should testify at Granger COI “

Find out about the evidence given at Khan's trial in Brooklyn N.Y.

What cuck and bull story the ex PM saying about US Military connection.The more he opens his mouth,he is sinking the Party.

If it was not for R. Khan then Guyanese koolie would have died out like the American bison. Every Guyana East Indian must always remember this.

Thanks to the Indo business owners who spend to protect Guyanese and bring stability to the country. 

Hiring Drug Lords are not Legal

Djanjo, you are indirectly confirming  support for the looting , raping , beating , burning of Indians and their properties .

You got it wrong,there are legal ways to curtail criminal activities.

Djanjo do you know the famous criminalAndrew Douglas claim in his video the escape from Camp street is to fight for  “ Blacks” suffering . And Desmond Hoyte went to his funeral which was drape with the Guyana flag .

Blackie Coffin was draped.

DJANJO I SAW ANDREW DOUGLAS COFFIN WITH GUYANA FLAG .

The Army was standing on the side of Buxton Rd provide what they call security as his coffin was parading from church of god  rd .

every vehicle was stop by Buxtonion and they demand payment from drivers . 

Wish in those days I could have taken pictures ... but you were scare for your life .

Had lots of Buxtonion friends , they stand next to your vehicle as a guard passing you . 

I am relating my experience dude what I live  and experience . 

Your views are from the internet not first hand . 

Blackie coffin was drap also and was escorted to Blankenbury ... around your neighbourhood .

when Blackie was hold up in the fortress at providence with the shoot out ...CN Sharma  was broadcasting the event live , putting  the black clothes officers at risk . 

We were at an auto dealer call Mark Chandra viewing the scene as it unfold.  

“Information for you “ 

I will echo Gilly comments to you “ you know too much and should testify at Granger COI “

What cuck and bull story the ex PM saying about US Military connection.The more he opens his mouth,he is sinking the Party.

Oi, let me tell you something about Sam Hinds.  He is one of the most decent and honest politicians to come out of Guyana.  Put that in you pipe and smoke um.

Blackie coffin was drap also and was escorted to Blankenbury ... around your neighbourhood .

when Blackie was hold up in the fortress at providence with the shoot out ...CN Sharma  was broadcasting the event live , putting  the black clothes officers at risk . 

“Information for you “ 

Bhai,

Me thinks his brother [they are from Vergenoegen] was work study student in the late 70's,at the company i worked for,also there were two other students from Buxton.

“Information for you “ 

Bhai,

Me thinks his brother [they are from Vergenoegen] was work study student in the late 70's,at the company i worked for,also there were two other students from Buxton.

I had long suspected that there was a connection.

Oi, let me tell you something about Sam Hinds.  He is one of the most decent and honest politicians to come out of Guyana.  Put that in you pipe and smoke um.

What more can one expect from the PPP-ites.

“Information for you “ 

Bhai,

I had long suspected that there was a connection.

He..he.suspected.

Django is wan popular fella in the homeland.

he was a politician 

That’s true!!  When we started the center, BJ, ms piggy and the club threatened us.   However, Hinds, Baksh and others were very supportive and applauded the work.  They attended to opening!

There are good people in the PPP!  That’s for sure!