Who among us will champion Indian rights as Dr Hinds champions Afro Guyanese rights?

Dear Editor,

Mr Ralph Ramkarran’s Conversation Tree is most generous to Emancipation festivities by its entire column of African historical tribute. Damus, Petimusque, Vicissim which means “we give and take in return” was British Guiana’s motto before it became independent in 1966. What is tangibly expected in return for reciprocal generosity now that we aspire to “One People, One Nation, One Destiny”? Should Guyanese be grateful, indeed rejoice, when they are put in a “sawnay” (mix up) political mix? Good taste, relevance, context and appropriateness cannot be sacrificed at will for political expediency, ego satisfaction or fashion. One wonders regardless of the contemplation which nurtures such aberrations, what could indeed be motivating today’s corralling cowboys’ lassos. Please, can anyone spare us any change?

Even good intentions can cause people to become fed-up. One criticism levelled against both Jagans was that they slavishly applied Soviet Union style socialism to Guyana without regard to American dominant geopolitics, religion and race. If their intentions were noble, their misapplications did them no favours. The aftermath of slavery, emancipation and race continues to anchor us without let up. Repeatedly it becomes another occasion for revelry and race disunity. Will the faithful continue to follow where they are led? Most people would prefer to decide what is good or better for themselves in a democracy.

What matters is not who leads but where are we going. So who among the pack will champion Indian rights like Dr David Hinds never fails to champion African rights? On the observance of the 177th anniversary of the formal abolition of slavery, Dr Hinds’ letter in the Kaieteur News on August 1, asserts that “The African Guyanese community is in a worse state than it was in 1838″ and claims Africans have been “Stripped of their organisations, knowledge of, and pride in their history and of their economic base, (and most significantly, their) “community is in a worse state than it was in 1838″! Dr Hinds actually believes that after 177 years of emancipation, Afro Guyanese have made no progress whatsoever and now are worse off since 1838 when slavery was abolished. Conceivably, the 1964-1992 Afro Guyanese dominated People’s National Congress (PNC) Government achieved nothing for Afro Guyanese. Yet, Dr Hinds demands priority of “equality” for the African condition to be achieved by another Afro Guyanese PNC-led coalition all over again like no other Guyanese matters.

Without missing a stride, Dr Hinds bravely tells Afro Guyanese: “We urge that as we celebrate we should not ignore the uncomfortable truth about the state of the African Guyanese community.” Dr Hinds can be commended for his fearless courage to publicly proclaim that “African Guyanese must also participate in the restoration of their equal standing in Guyana. We again urge African Guyanese (to) begin to plan as a collective to lift itself”, he stated. Words follow actions and on August 9, the collective is intent “to raise anew the quest for ethnic equality (sic) in Guyana”. The question is, who will “equality” be obtained from and who among us will champion the Indian right to survival in Guyana as boldly as Dr Hinds?

With regards to armed forces, is Mr Ramkarran being very kind, up in Conversation Tree? If he is being more accommodating for a potential trade-off, he should be encouraged. After publicly championing the US policy of equal rights for gays in Guyana, maybe he will soon be demanding that Guyana’s armed forces and civil service becomes racially and ethnically balanced since they are all funded by Guyanese taxpayers. Mr Ramkarran’s earnest active endorsement, like so many others, is long overdue. Hopefully he is not like Caesar who believes “what touches us most will be last served.”

There is no ambiguity as from whom Dr Hinds makes demands on behalf of Afro Guyanese. To insist that “Cuffy 250 calls for a determined commitment, in word and deed, by Government to make good on those promises; a commitment that must go beyond festivities” puts pressure on the Afro dominated PNC-led coalition Government to fix their problems as a priority. Sugar and rice will not to be treated as nice as porkknockers seeking gold. Has Dr Hinds made his agenda any clearer? Given that relationships of today are not as redeeming as long ago, what matters is how the entire body politic is impacted to ensure it does not collapse while the competing groups manoeuvre.

As much as Mr Ramkarran should be commended for being kind to his fellow Guyanese, he hopefully hasn’t forgotten his political and cultural origins. Dr Walter Rodney was Guyana’s best paragon of virtue who celebrated his ethnic heritage, Pan Africanist links and was a diehard class subsuming race socialist which impacted his worldwide appeal. Emancipation was also enhanced by similar grand examples like the Afro American civil rights leader William Edward Burghardt Du Bois who was a well-known champion of the rights of subjugated peoples around the world. His intense interests in the anti-colonial struggles of oppressed Indians were fraternal and historic in its novelty. Mr Dubois didn’t sacrifice Afro American security interests despite his multiracial relationships. He was even close friends with an Indian leader of significant international struggles, Mr Lala Lajpat Rai who was a reformist Hindu and devout Arya Samaj militant leader.

Isn’t Mr Ramkarran also from Arya Samaj origins or has he abandoned it? The Arya Samajist leader had himself shown keen concern about the Afro American peoples’ plight during his US exile just like Mr Ramkarran’s entire extended family exemplifies. In November 1928, Rai was beaten to death by British colonial Police while leading a boycott demonstration against colonial rule in Lahore. Despite an Indian legislative committee inquiry in February 1929, it was ineffective.

In a letter to The Editor of “The People” published in Lahore, Mr Dubois wrote: My dear sir, It was my good fortune to know Lala Lajpat Rai while he was in exile in the United States during the great war. He was at my home and in my office and we were members of the same club. I especially admired his restraint and sweet temper. When a man of his sort can be called a revolutionist and beaten to death by a great civilised (British) Government, then revolution becomes a duty to all right thinking men. As a matter of fact, the people of India, like the American Negroes, are demanding today, things, not in the least revolutionary, but things which every civilised white man had so long taken for granted, that he wishes to refuse to believe that there are people who are denied these rights. I hope that the memory of Lala Lajpat Rai will be kept green in India and out of the blood of his martyrdom, very soon, a free coloured nation will soon arise”.

In Guyana, Indians and African share the same geographical space. Are Mr Dubois and Mr Rai’s hopes for their respective peoples more difficult to find accommodation here? While some may be proud of their interpersonal mixing what should matter more is what’s best for the well-being, security and survival of the huge mass of uneducated who cannot eloquently voice themselves. Dr Hinds will persist in his discourse on the basis of race, to which he is most welcome in a democracy. But he should realise that is not entitled to automatically lock out anyone from the same democratic and equals rights to pursue their own path to survival.

Sincerely,

Sultan Mohamed

This is the kind of crappy reasoning one gets from people who are trained to obfuscate or people who only do qualitative analyses. Who will put some data on this? Who will compare the numbers since 1964?

Originally Posted by asj:

Really thought the Nagamootoo and Ramjhattan were fixed in that area: But now is seems that they cannot even fight for themselves.

Good observation.  kakamootoo #2 and Rumjattan #3  are looking out for themselves.  Big fat salaries will muzzled them completed.

Originally Posted by TK:

This is the kind of crappy reasoning one gets from people who are trained to obfuscate or people who only do qualitative analyses. Who will put some data on this? Who will compare the numbers since 1964?

I am unsure the quantative data is available for a definitive statement.

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:
Originally Posted by TK:

That's what you think.

Originally Posted by Zed:
Originally Posted by TK:

You just have to know where to look.

the same ole same ole dressed up 'Emancipation' drag from Sultan Mohamed

dese bais can't seem to get enough of David Hinds . . . if the man didn't exist, not sure who they would have found with 'nationalist' views they could distort to such ignoble purpose

yaaaawwwn

dese bais can't seem to get enough of David Hinds . . . if the man didn't exist, not sure who they would have found with 'nationalist' views they could distort to such ignoble purpose

yaaaawwwn

You foolish. You miss the point...the author is not criticizing Hinds for his points about the African concerns.

Whether the data is there or not, or even if its difficult to put together, we have to acknowledge that we have a racial problem. If Kissoon can put together a research paper, as he claims to show Jagdeo is racist, then we certainly can start with whatever biased data he has, and add to that.

Its not a bad idea to take the bull by the horn and have political parties  work out some kind of arrangement to avoid the perception that one group is being sidelined. So, Sultan has a point. David Hinds is bold enough to state the African concerns, others should be bold to state the Indian and Amerindian concerns. The Amerindians have their spokesperson. Who represents the Indian views...certainly not the PPP, which has claimed that it is a non-racial working class party.  

Last edited by VishMahabir
Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

yaaaawwwn

You foolish. You miss the point...the author is not criticizing Hinds for his points about the African concerns.

Whether the data is there or not, or even if its difficult to put together, we have to acknowledge that we have a racial problem. If Kissoon can put together a research paper, as he claims to show Jagdeo is racist, then we certainly can start with whatever biased data he has, and add to that.

Its not a bad idea to take the bull by the horn and have political parties  work out some kind of arrangement to avoid the perception that one group is being sidelined. So, Sultan has a point. David Hinds is bold enough to state the African concerns, others should be bold to state the Indian and Amerindian concerns. The Amerindians have their spokesperson. Who represents the Indian views...certainly not the PPP, which has claimed that it is a non-racial working class party.  

i guess the IAC crowd doan exist and didn't exist these past 15 years . . . Ravi Dev dem doan exist either . . . Guyana Times and the Chronicle (until recently) doan exist/never existed either

further, there is no shortage of sources on the web articulating the Guyana "Indian condition" [GNI itself is a resource!] . . . a shitload of books written on the subject can be accessed with the click of a mouse

indeed, Black folk have no real equivalent on this scale to compare . . . the ball started rolling during the Burnham dictatorship

y'all antiman getting stale with the fantasy bleating and mortification whining

g'wan dahside with yuh slimy, anti-knowledge, disinformation campaign

yaaaawwwn

Such utter nonsense.  There is a whole [plethora of Indian rights advocates in Guyana.  So much so that they have successfully distorted Guyanese history to push the notion of the "baad black man. goody Indian". 

The early 60s was a civil war between Africans and Indians where both attacked, and both suffered.  But according to the Indian rights advocates it was about savage blacks killing innocent Indians.

While the PNC under Burnham did pursue a racially exclusive agenda aimed at patronage for its supporters (rendering them dependent and unable to develop their own independent means of survival) and exclusive governance by an African elite. 

The PPP did similar.  they pursued an agenda of apan jhat in the 60s, and sought to squeeze out the African. After 1992 they behaved exactly the same as the PNC.  Only difference being that an Indo elite attained fulldomination, and the limited their patronage to the Indo business elite.

Give David Hinds his jackat.  He was very vocal about the damage that the PNC was doing to the African psyche.  He was also very vocal about their racist exclusion of Indians.  For this the African dictatorship tortured him, abd almost killed him, and drove him into exile.

David Hinds saw the PPP behave in exactly the same racist way as the PNC under Burnham, and he became vocal.  For this he is a racist, even though the whole thrust of Cuffy 250 is for Afro Guyanese to develop agency in their lives and work to resolve the problems that this community faces.  And he manages to do this without demonizing ordinary Indians.

But thanks to the many who speak to the rights of Indians, we have this very distorted narrative, which plays to the worse stereotypes of Africans. And then when blacks are David Hinds, Eric Phillips, and Nigel Hughes speak to the issue of Afro Guyanese, they are demonised as racists.

yaaaawwwn

Such utter nonsense.  There is a whole [plethora of Indian rights advocates in Guyana.  So much so that they have successfully distorted Guyanese history to push the notion of the "baad black man. goody Indian". 

The early 60s was a civil war between Africans and Indians where both attacked, and both suffered.  But according to the Indian rights advocates it was about savage blacks killing innocent Indians.

While the PNC under Burnham did pursue a racially exclusive agenda aimed at patronage for its supporters (rendering them dependent and unable to develop their own independent means of survival) and exclusive governance by an African elite. 

The PPP did similar.  they pursued an agenda of apan jhat in the 60s, and sought to squeeze out the African. After 1992 they behaved exactly the same as the PNC.  Only difference being that an Indo elite attained fulldomination, and the limited their patronage to the Indo business elite.

Give David Hinds his jackat.  He was very vocal about the damage that the PNC was doing to the African psyche.  He was also very vocal about their racist exclusion of Indians.  For this the African dictatorship tortured him, abd almost killed him, and drove him into exile.

David Hinds saw the PPP behave in exactly the same racist way as the PNC under Burnham, and he became vocal.  For this he is a racist, even though the whole thrust of Cuffy 250 is for Afro Guyanese to develop agency in their lives and work to resolve the problems that this community faces.  And he manages to do this without demonizing ordinary Indians.

But thanks to the many who speak to the rights of Indians, we have this very distorted narrative, which plays to the worse stereotypes of Africans. And then when blacks are David Hinds, Eric Phillips, and Nigel Hughes speak to the issue of Afro Guyanese, they are demonised as racists.

Burnham practiced 'Apan Jhaat' from 1964 to 1985.   Granger started it again in 2015.  Blacks always practiced apan Jhaat all over the world in every country.

yaaaawwwn

Here you go with your racist foolishness again. I dont consider Hinds, ACDA, Kwayana, etc racist, you knucklehead. The question being posed here is who speaks for Indian rights? Certainly not the PPP. And of course, when the Indians speak out, he is readily branded as a racist by the likes of you. Thats my point. And dont tell me Moses and Ramjattan are the protectors of Indians.

. . . I dont consider Hinds, ACDA, Kwayana, etc racist, you knucklehead. The question being posed here is who speaks for Indian rights? Certainly not the PPP. And of course, when the Indians speak out, he is readily branded as a racist by the likes of you. Thats my point. And dont tell me Moses and Ramjattan are the protectors of Indians.

90% of Indians on this board consider David Hinds a "racist" . . . they can't properly explain why, but they do

what's your stupid point again?

yaaaawwwn

Burnham practiced 'Apan Jhaat' from 1964 to 1985.   Granger started it again in 2015.  Blacks always practiced apan Jhaat all over the world in every country.

Some body need to start apan jhaat on your collie rass

. . . I dont consider Hinds, ACDA, Kwayana, etc racist, you knucklehead. The question being posed here is who speaks for Indian rights? Certainly not the PPP. And of course, when the Indians speak out, he is readily branded as a racist by the likes of you. Thats my point. And dont tell me Moses and Ramjattan are the protectors of Indians.

90% of Indians on this board consider David Hinds a "racist" . . . they can't properly explain why, but they do

Lookie here Forrest Gump...you got part of what I said correct. I dont consider Hinds a racist, or anyone who supports the upliftment of their people. The question raised in the letter is "who speaks for Indians"? Did you read it or are you too busy defending your racist positions? In addition, David Hinds should also recognize that Indians have rights too (I suspect he does), but to avoid further antagonisms, both parties or both sides advocating for their people  must have meaningful discussions and come up with solutions to the problem. 

And dont frigging tell me the coalition has addressed the race problem.

Lookie here Forrest Gump...you got part of what I said correct. I dont consider Hinds a racist, or anyone who supports the upliftment of their people. The question raised in the letter is "who speaks for Indians"? Did you read it or are you too busy defending your racist positions? In addition, David Hinds should also recognize that Indians have rights too (I suspect he does), but to avoid further antagonisms, both parties or both sides advocating for their people  must have meaningful discussions and come up with solutions to the problem. 

And dont frigging tell me the coalition has addressed the race problem.

what exactly are my "racist" positions? . . . enlighten abee nah, u cornered, confused antiman

Here you go with your racist foolishness again. I dont consider Hinds, ACDA, Kwayana, etc racist, you knucklehead. The question being posed here is who speaks for Indian rights? Certainly not the PPP. And of course, when the Indians speak out, he is readily branded as a racist by the likes of you. Thats my point. And dont tell me Moses and Ramjattan are the protectors of Indians.

1.  David Hinds, Eric Phillips and others have been intimidated, threatened and called racist by the PPP and others.  Did you condemn those acts?  Not on GNI.

2.  There are many Indian rights activists. Ryhaan Shah, Ravi Dev, the Guyana Times, the PPP.  Please.  Now if those entities aren't doing a proper job then you ought to call them out on this, but to claim that "no one speaks for the Indian" is pure crap. 

The whole PPP election campaign was about "Indian Rights," and damning Moses Nagamootoo because he CORRECTLY put his nationality as a Guyanese ahead of his ethnicity as an Indian.  Moses is a NATIONAL leader, and not an ethnic leader.  Its a pity that Jagdeo wasn't the same!

And why are Indian "rights activitsts" branded racists.  Because their ENTIRE rant is built on the DEMONIZATION of Africans, by projecting a highly racist and INACCURATE account of Guyanese history.  Agenda being to peddle the African as a violent, savage and unproductive brute whose only goal in life is to harass "poor innocent" Indians.  Well if this is the thrust we will call them racist.

How many of these Indian rights activists did what Hinds, Rodney, Andaiye and others and that is to condemn the racism of the PNC against Indians, even though they as Africans might have benefitted from this racism? 

Who are the Indian rights activists who spoke out against PPP racism towards Africans.  The Indians who do so are called self hating Indians, and are told that they "aren't Indian enough".  Research the history of Rupert Roopnarine and you will see evidence of this.

So spare me your tears while Jalil goes on a racist binge and you say NOTHING!  This is after basemen, rev, yuji, conscience and cobra engaged in the same activity!

Originally Posted by Observer:

David Hinds used to post on GNI.  I wonder if he still does.  

Most likely one of the many blacks who tired of the endless stigmatization of blacks which occurs here and left.  Lucky a few of us remained, which prevented GNI from truly descending into a full scale Indo supremacist site, where it was heading.

1.  David Hinds, Eric Phillips and others have been intimidated, threatened and called racist by the PPP and others.  Did you condemn those acts?  Not on GNI.

2.  There are many Indian rights activists. Ryhaan Shah, Ravi Dev, the Guyana Times, the PPP.  Please.  Now if those entities aren't doing a proper job then you ought to call them out on this, but to claim that "no one speaks for the Indian" is pure crap. 

The whole PPP election campaign was about "Indian Rights," and damning Moses Nagamootoo because he CORRECTLY put his nationality as a Guyanese ahead of his ethnicity as an Indian.  Moses is a NATIONAL leader, and not an ethnic leader.  Its a pity that Jagdeo wasn't the same!

And why are Indian "rights activitsts" branded racists.  Because their ENTIRE rant is built on the DEMONIZATION of Africans, by projecting a highly racist and INACCURATE account of Guyanese history.  Agenda being to peddle the African as a violent, savage and unproductive brute whose only goal in life is to harass "poor innocent" Indians.  Well if this is the thrust we will call them racist.

How many of these Indian rights activists did what Hinds, Rodney, Andaiye and others and that is to condemn the racism of the PNC against Indians, even though they as Africans might have benefitted from this racism? 

Who are the Indian rights activists who spoke out against PPP racism towards Africans.  The Indians who do so are called self hating Indians, and are told that they "aren't Indian enough".  Research the history of Rupert Roopnarine and you will see evidence of this.

So spare me your tears while Jalil goes on a racist binge and you say NOTHING!  This is after basemen, rev, yuji, conscience and cobra engaged in the same activity!

...add Ramharack to your list. The same Ramharack this Vish Mahabir fella proposed to lead the PPP. And now he hay crying about indians not being represented.

., David Hinds should also recognize that Indians have rights too ..

Not only does David Hinds know that Indians have rights too but he has spoken out on this.  He damned the Burnham regime as a racist anti Indian dictatorship and was tortured, almost killed, and forced into exile.

When certain thuggish elements moved into Buxton and wanted to advocate for violence against Indians he was vocal against it.  In fact he Andaiye, Kwayana and others were loud in telling Afro Guyanese not to fall into that trap.

Now tell me which Indian rights advocate, who remains an Indian rights advocate, has shown similar concern.  Roopnarine was an Indian rights advocate, but as he adapted a more cross ethnic identity me was :not Indian enough". So this Indo Guyanese now is better regarded among Afro Guyanese.

what exactly are my "racist" positions? . . . enlighten abee nah, u cornered, confused antiman

The fact that you call the PPP racist, and don't buy into the "Indo Holocaust" screams as you see that PPP blacks as well as Indians have been dismissed, or sent on extended vacation.

And the remaining 10% remain silent on this topic, even as they damn as racist, any non Indian who spoke out against the racism which was a feature of life under the PPP.

You are a dangerous racist. You born like that and you will die as a racist.

What was his nic?

Read between the lines nuh, is everything I have to explain?  

What was his nic?

Read between the lines nuh, is everything I have to explain?  

Hint nuh like his writing style.