White House blocks several news organizations, including the New York Times and CNN, from briefing

The move comes shortly after U.S. president Donald Trump repeated a startling attack on the U.S. news media, calling it the “enemy of the people” at a speech on Friday.

White House Press Secretary Sean Spicer's held an off-camera briefing in his office on Friday, excluding several mainstream news organizations from attending.  (Manuel Balce Ceneta / THE ASSOCIATED PRESS)  

WASHINGTON—Journalists from at least three U.S. news organizations were prohibited from attending a briefing by U.S. President Donald Trump’s press secretary on Friday, a highly unusual breach of relations between the White House and its press corps.

Reporters from The New York Times, CNN and Politico were not allowed to enter the West Wing office of the press secretary, Sean M. Spicer, for the scheduled briefing. Aides to Mr. Spicer allowed in reporters from only a hand-picked group of news organizations that, the White House said, had been previously confirmed to attend.

Organizations allowed in included Breitbart News, the One America News Network and The Washington Times, all with conservative leanings. Journalists from ABC, CBS, The Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg, and Fox News also attended.

Reporters from Time magazine and The Associated Press, who were set to be allowed in to the briefing, chose not to attend in protest of the White House’s actions.

“Nothing like this has ever happened at the White House in our long history of covering multiple administrations of different parties,” Dean Baquet, the executive editor of The Times, said in a statement. “We strongly protest the exclusion of The New York Times and the other news organizations. Free media access to a transparent government is obviously of crucial national interest.”

The White House Correspondents’ Association, which represents the press corps, quickly rebuked the White House’s actions.

“The W.H.C.A. board is protesting strongly against how today’s gaggle is being handled by the White House,” the association president, Jeff Mason, said in a statement. “We encourage the organizations that were allowed in to share the material with others in the press corps who were not. The board will be discussing this further with White House staff.”

The move comes shortly after U.S. president Donald Trump repeated a startling attack on the U.S. news media, calling it the “enemy of the people” at a Friday speech at the Conservative Political Action Conference.

• mceclip0

Trump takes aim at media's use of anonymous sources

Donald Trump used his first presidential appearance before the nation's largest gathering of conservative activists on Friday to sharply escalate his criticisms of the media and take direct aim at the use of anonymous sources. (The Associated Press)

White House blocks several news organizations, including the New York Times and CNN, from briefing

“Nothing like this has ever happened at the White House in our long history of covering multiple administrations of different parties,” Dean Baquet, the executive editor of The Times, said in a statement. “We strongly protest the exclusion of The New York Times and the other news organizations. Free media access to a transparent government is obviously of crucial national interest.”

The White House Correspondents’ Association, which represents the press corps, quickly rebuked the White House’s actions.

Perhaps Donald Trump wants the media and others to abide with and live in his fantasy world rather than in the actual and vibrant settings.

Attack the media, call them the enemy and opposition. This is indirect censorship, Take away the news then Trump tweets the news. Don't you see, 1. Build a wall/Jail  2. Kill the Media  3.Ban non whites entering America.  4.Create a special National Guard to round-up undesirables. migrants non whites.  5.Trump surround himself with Military men and Steve Bannon. This is all the making of a DICTATOR, it is his way or the Highway. He has his people behind the scene interfering  with the INTEL, want them to find a reason to ban the seven countries. Also , wants FBI to put statement saying that Trump had no contact with Russia, that is Treason.

There is no excuse for such rubbish behavior. Time to take to the streets!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You mean like four people standing in the street while one mouth ah itch am fuh drink beer instead?