Some four years after the Law Reform Commission Act was passed in the National Assembly, the entity is yet to be fully established and according to former Attorney General Anil Nandlall, millions of dollars continue to be wasted to pay staff and rental for a building.

Former AG Anil Nandlall

Nandlall pointed out that since 2016, approximately $113.3 million have been allocated to fund this Commission and as of January 2020, not a single Commissioner was appointed to this Commission.
“To date… it remains a white elephant. It has done not a single work,” he contended in a statement on his Facebook page on Friday.
The Law Reform Commission Act, which was piloted by Legal Affairs Minister Basil Williams, was enacted in January 2016. The Law Reform Commission (LRC) is a statutory body which shall consist of three to seven members including a Chairperson, who is appointed by the President, following consultation with the Minister of Legal Affairs.

Legal Affairs Minister Basil Williams

According to the law, the Commission is mandated to review, simplify, modify and systematically develop the law.
Nandlall reminded that during the 2018 National Budget Debate, based on a question he asked, AG Williams disclosed that the Commission is staffed with 10 persons. These persons, according to the former AG, are being paid the salaries for doing nothing.
He said the Legal Officer gets $700,000; two Office Assistants earn $100,000 each; two Legal Clerks get $150,000 each; three Typists earn $130,000 each; a Driver $120,0000 and a Cleaner $75,000.
This amounts to a total of $1,785,000 in salaries per month.
He went on to explain that if these persons were hired by 2016, then based on those figures, the total salaries that would have been paid from June 2016 to December 2019 (43 months) would amount to $76,755,000.

The building on Robb Street rented for the LRC

Nandlall noted that this is added to the cost for the rental of a building, located at Lot 59 Robb Street, Bourda, Georgetown, to house the Law Reform Commission. That property is being rented for $850,000 per month. For the 43 months, rental costs would amount to some $36,550,000.
This means that a total of $113,305,000 has been ex pended to date on the non-performing Commission.
“So, Basil Williams has wasted $113,305,000 on this single initiative, which has not produce a single piece of law reform in five years. The wastage continues…,” Nandlall contended.
While the law says the appointment of the members is vital to the function of the LRC, there were talks in April 2019 that three candidates were shortlisted to be appointed as Commissioners.
AG Williams had explained that these Commissioners will have to be appointed by President David Granger, who at the time was in Cuba.
“We hope to activate them. They’ve shortlisted three persons. When the President returns, it is actually for the names that were identified by the panel… so when the President [returns] the only thing left is to appoint these Commissioners.”
Pressed for the names of the candidates, Williams only said that they are experienced individuals in drafting laws.
According to the LRC Act, the Commission will have the duty to “keep under review all the law applicable to Guyana with a view to its systematic development and reform, including in particular the modification of any branch of the law, the elimination of anomalies, and the repeal of obsolete and unnecessary enactments.”
It is also mandated by the law to receive and consider suggestions for the reform of the law. These suggestions, according to the Act, can be made on the invitation of the Commission and can come from Judges, public officials, lawyers and the general public.
The Commission also has to “prepare and submit to the Minister specific programmes for the examination of different branches of the law with a view to reform including recommendations as to whether such examination should be carried out by the Commission or some other body.”
In order to fulfil its functions, it is allowed to set up law reform committees that would examine particular aspects of the law to make their recommendations. These committees, according to Section 8 (2) of the Act, do not have to be restricted to legal professionals.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/whit...MtvpoVCjP0VSWRwgOmS0

Weh de money gone? Can they account for the work and money or Dunce Basil and Glue Hands Harmon have it in their overseas accounts?

Read the article and you will see where the money went.  Would be good if Williams and Harmon sue you for defamation.  

Totaram posted:

Weh de money gone? Can they account for the work and money or Dunce Basil and Glue Hands Harmon have it in their overseas accounts?

Read the article and you will see where the money went.  Would be good if Williams and Harmon sue you for defamation.  

I read the article.  I don’t see where the money went.

Totaram posted:

Well read it again.  Nandlall provided a breakdown on salaries etc.  It is one thing to say the commission hasn't been active and a completely different thing to talk about fraud and overseas accounts. 

Below is the PNC resume in a nutshell. Hapless as hapless can be.

"Nandlall pointed out that since 2016, approximately $113.3 million have been allocated to fund this Commission and as of January 2020, not a single Commissioner was appointed to this Commission.
“To date… it remains a white elephant. It has done not a single work,” he contended in a statement on his Facebook page on Friday."

"Nandlall pointed out that since 2016, approximately $113.3 million have been allocated to fund this Commission and as of January 2020, not a single Commissioner was appointed to this Commission.
“To date… it remains a white elephant. It has done not a single work,” he contended in a statement on his Facebook page on Friday."

You don't understand simple English.  BTW, is the Skeldon factory a white elephant?  

Totaram posted:

Well read it again.  Nandlall provided a breakdown on salaries etc.  It is one thing to say the commission hasn't been active and a completely different thing to talk about fraud and overseas accounts. 

“To date… it remains a white elephant. It has done not a single work”

Do we have names and proof of payment to go with what DunceMan said?

Totaram posted:

Who the F..K cares?

Totaram posted:

You don't understand simple English.  BTW, is the Skeldon factory a white elephant?  

No! It's a dead elephant? Do you want to buy the ivory from it?

Totaram posted:

Simple English was designed precisely for folks like you gyal. It helps to keep you up to speed.

HEHEHE 113 Million but no work done nd a few IDIOTS are happy of such great investment

Some idiots don't understand the difference between waste and fraud.  They are arguing that there was fraud when they mean waste.  Skeldon was waste; Prodoville was fraud. 

Totaram posted:

HEHEHE 113 Million but no work done nd a few IDIOTS are happy of such great investment

Some idiots don't understand the difference between waste and fraud.  They are arguing that there was fraud when they mean waste.  Skeldon was waste; Prodoville was fraud. 

So you want the ivory from the dead elephant? PNC is a bunch of frauds who are just waste wasting the taxpayers' money.

Totaram posted:

Who the F..K cares?

Come out from behind a keyboard and you will find out who cares.  

Totaram posted:

Who the F..K cares?

Damn Bro!! Like you want yo exhibit your PNC indoctrination of violence and bully? I am going to tell you again STFU and go Fly Uncle Charlie Kite Off the seawall. Again, Who the F..K cares. You are just a friggin bully who likes to threaten people...a characteristic you inherited from living in the trees. Guerilla(gorilla) warfare.
If I slap your ass, you will surely end up in the hospital. The last man I slapped he got deaf and mute.

Totaram posted:

Who the F..K cares?

Damn Bro!! Like you want yo exhibit your PNC indoctrination of violence and bully? I am going to tell you again STFU and go Fly Uncle Charlie Kite Off the seawall. Again, Who the F..K cares. You are just a friggin bully who likes to threaten people...a characteristic you inherited from living in the trees. Guerilla(gorilla) warfare.
If I slap your ass, you will surely end up in the hospital. The last man I slapped he got deaf and mute.

And she still dey wid you? 

Totaram posted:

Who the F..K cares?

And she still dey wid you

Dude: What the F'k you are talking about? Dementia this early? Maybe bipolar? There are meds that can help you.

Totaram posted:

You are splitting hairs and to what end? There is a different legally as to will conversion of resources ( among other things ie lying or misinforming as to what happened) to ones end and slothfulness with resources.

However, if the waste is to structure graft opportunities( which seems to be the case here) then it theft. It may not result in criminal indictment but it is theft just the same no less than Jagdeo's white elephant at Skeldon. It is typifies corrupt regimes.

Pradoville may represent conversion of physical property to the benefit of a select few but that is exactly what happened here. Some select individuals are benefiting from the expense of the state while they warm benches. 

You are of a habit to cling barnacle like to technical definitions and insist what is stated ( and often clearly so) is not the case because it did not precisely fit the definition. However, a dog is a dog however differently dogs may wag their tails or whether we call them terriers of hounds.  Intentionally pocketing monies is  theft no lest than theft by subterfuge as via a non functioning commission.

Totaram posted:

Do you know what a Law Reform Commission does? 

There are no archetypal definition of Law reform commission. This one is defined and stated in the above OP. You are again building a soapbox on soapsuds. It is not going to give you any increment of lift above the audience.

Totaram posted:

You are splitting hairs and to what end? There is a different legally as to will conversion of resources ( among other things ie lying or misinforming as to what happened) to ones end and slothfulness with resources.

However, if the waste is to structure graft opportunities( which seems to be the case here) then it theft. It may not result in criminal indictment but it is theft just the same no less than Jagdeo's white elephant at Skeldon. It is typifies corrupt regimes.

Pradoville may represent conversion of physical property to the benefit of a select few but that is exactly what happened here. Some select individuals are benefiting from the expense of the state while they warm benches. 

You are of a habit to cling barnacle like to technical definitions and insist what is stated ( and often clearly so) is not the case because it did not precisely fit the definition. However, a dog is a dog however differently dogs may wag their tails or whether we call them terriers of hounds.  Intentionally pocketing monies is  theft no lest than theft by subterfuge as via a non functioning commission.

Waste and fraud are not the same. Skeldon was arguably seen as good strategy for the sugar industry but it went wrong.  Pradoville was clearly fraud.  The Law Reform Commission is a good idea and is neither a"white elephant" nor fraud.  It takes time to get bodies like a Law Reform Commission off the ground. I know the chairman of the law reform commission of a Commonwealth country and I know what the commission has done and continues to do.  The very nature of what they do means that it will take time. 

Totaram posted:

Do you know what a Law Reform Commission does? 

There are no archetypal definition of Law reform commission. This one is defined and stated in the above OP. You are again building a soapbox on soapsuds. It is not going to give you any increment of lift above the audience.

Yes , it is defined in the act but the definition follows guidelines for similar bodies elsewhere.  

Totaram posted:

Waste and fraud are not the same. Skeldon was arguably seen as good strategy for the sugar industry but it went wrong.  Pradoville was clearly fraud.  The Law Reform Commission is a good idea and is neither a"white elephant" nor fraud.  It takes time to get bodies like a Law Reform Commission off the ground. I know the chairman of the law reform commission of a Commonwealth country and I know what the commission has done and continues to do.  The very nature of what they do means that it will take time. 

If Greed and sloth are are deadly sins per catholic dogma. As I said, there is a legal difference but the immorality of it accrues to the same degree of corrupt practice of a government.

Dude, granger give away hundreds of acres of lands  ty to a couple of cronies in his clique that in time will out rank pradoville in value. Even now they are valued at more than a thousand per acre and they exceed 300 acres. Worse, these lands were taken over by the crown from local owners to adequately manage the sea defense. It is not state property and should have been returned to the owners if the government decided to relinquish the task of sea defense. instead they give it to local crooks who possibly never visited the area. You are splitting hairs to cast obscene corruption by these folks as different in kind but they are irruption nevertheless.