Protesters in North Carolina Tear Down Confederate Statue

A group of protesters in Durham, N.C. pulled down a Confederate statue outside a government building on Monday evening.

The statue, called the Confederate Soldiers Monument, was dedicated to the city in 1924 and stands outside a government building that houses offices such as the county manager and the county attorney. It depicts a soldier along with the words “In memory of the boys who wore the gray,” in reference to the color of the Confederate forces during the Civil War. The monument also features a seal engraved with “The Confederate States of America.”

The action took place just two days after violence erupted in Charlottesville, Va. when protesters clashed with white nationalists rallying against the removal of another Confederate statue.

The group in Durham gathered outside the old Durham County courthouse, according to local CBS-affiliate WNCN. A woman used a ladder to climb up the statue around 7 p.m. and tied a rope to it. Others then pulled the rope, toppling the statue to the ground.

Protesters can be seen kicking the statue and celebrating its fall in videos taken at the scene. The crowd was chanting phrases such as “We are the revolution” and “No KKK, no fascist USA.”

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

SYMBOL of Hate and RACISM

Forbes Burnham remembered

I don't know how this is Afro racism when in fact blacks suffered way more from Burnham than anyone else.  Patronage, the party card and lack of meritocracy undermined the sense of independence and drive for excellence that had previously typified Afro Guyanese.  He rewarded mediocrity and his goal was to reduce blacks to being a mendicant group dependent on him.  

Islanders used to bow down and worship Afro Guyanese in the 60s admiring us for being highly educated, highly skilled and very disciplined.  Those who typified this image were damned as having a "colonial mentality" even as he encouraged this among his own daughters.  Crude behavior and lawlessness were covered and the YSM thugs were given full reign as were Hammie's thugs.  They intimidated blacks as much as they did others, undermining any trust that blacks had for each other.

Islanders now see us as skunks.  Burnham chased out that segment of the black middle class who objected to his behavior.  The intimidation of these people at the airport as they were ripped off planes and published with fake tax claims was legendary.

So much damage was done that when PPP racism against blacks began Afro Guyanese weren't able to defend themselves.

Those blacks who now worship Burnham have short memories.  They know how well that many had to flee as refugees in the late 70s and 80s, and how many with scholarships refused to go back.

They now see us as skunks.  Burnham is responsible for this as he victimized those blacks who refused to bow to his crap.  The departure of the black middle class began under him.

Blame the coolie for the Black dilemna.  Hey banna, the Black middle class scoot because they helped destroy the Indian working class on whom they sorely depended.  The productive Indian back scooted from PNC apartheid booths leaving Black to fall "Badapp" pon dem ass.  All run Brooklyn!!

Baseman will never run behind and cuddle your PNC elitist Klansmen in Brooklyn because they are the symbol of the oppression of Indians in Guyana!!

ba$eman posted:

They now see us as skunks.  Burnham is responsible for this as he victimized those blacks who refused to bow to his crap.  The departure of the black middle class began under him.

Blame the coolie for the Black dilemna.  !!

I wrote several paragraphs condemning Burnham, even for the dilemma that blacks faced under the racist PPP, and there you go.  And just to correct you. The black middle class fled because they did NOT like the direction that Burnham was going.

If you think that Guyana under Burnham  collapsed because of Indians fleeing continue to live in that fake world.  Its when Burnham replaced competent people with square pegs that was when the implosion occurred.  Guyana was in fact doing VERY WELL between 1964 and 1973, probably the best period of development, but when Burnham brought in the Declaration of Sophia that was when this ended.

Listen guy the head of the KKK is Donald Trump. This is why it took TWO WHOLE DAYS to condemn them.  This is a man who tweaks at some one seconds after he says something on cable TV.  So be an idiot and think that he is really concerned about people who would drive their car over your Indian ass if they saw you.  Screaming that you are a foreign terrorist as they do so, and then arranging a drinking and opioid session to celebrate.

You bet he called up David Duke and warned him that those bleeding heart liberals (McCain, McConnell and Lindsay Graham) and his disloyal daughter were forcing him to condemn white supremacists but that it will be OK. Only a sad little kid will go to jail to pretend that something is being done but the mayhem of terror that white supremacists promise will continue.

Any way Indians will stay in Guyana or be enslaved to Bajan blacks because they aren't going to be allowed to migrate to the USA by the time that the white supremacists in Trump's cabinet have their way. But you are fine with that.

ba$eman posted:

Blame the coolie for the Black dilemna.  !!

I wrote several paragraphs condemning Burnham, even for the dilemma that blacks faced under the racist PPP, and there you go.  .

And there you go again, always find a pathway to pointing your dutty fingers back to the "coolie" man for the issues of Blacks in Guyana.  This is why your racist PNC brethren always can justify robbing and killing Indians for what they think rightfully "belongs to them"!

You are promoting a "loser" mentality within the Black psyche!  I hope most progressive Blacks reject your line of thinking!!

ba$eman posted:
.  .

So here is what we should then do. You pretend that the PNC wasn't racist towards Indians and I will pretend that the PPP wasn't racist towards blacks.

Each treated the supporters of the other party as the enemy and in turn turned those people into their enemies.

But then why am I surprised. Here you go cheering Trump while he has a mental breakdown because most Americans no longer want to see a bunch of racist traitors who celebrated the abuse of black Americans celebrated in prominent places in our cities.

All of those bigots need to be put in a park based on the theme of American legacy of racism.

ba$eman posted:

You are promoting a "loser" mentality within the Black psyche!  I hope most progressive Blacks reject your line of thinking!!

Day in and day out you wail "black man a kill ahbe". "Black man a starve ahbe".   "Indian Holocaust".  You even blamed blacks for the fact that Hindus accounted for 70% of the suicides even though they are only 25% of this population. This occurring while a Hindu was president.

It has been established that the PNC treats Indians no worse than the PPP treated blacks so if pointing out the fact that the PPP is a racist party angers you that is really your issue.

I suggest that you tell Indians to emancipate themselves from mental slavery and flee the PPP plantation. All they got from that lot was being forced to flee to Barbados to clean toilets and cut grass because they couldn't earn a decent living in Guyana UNDER JAGDEO.  This while the PPP royalty busied themselves with building gated mansions all funded by stolen taxpayer dollars.