The PPP are evil because they are evil...simple tautology but truth. One does not have to compare and contrast them with the PPP to get that effect. Like a sin it is upon the owner of the sin not whether others have sinned. I call them both vile, evil, and irredeemably corrupt because neither of these parties think they need to change. Meanwhile, Guyanese suffer because they exist.   

As for the supp part...drinking from a shared cup with these vipers would surely caused you to get ill. I doubt any contemplative man or women would  want to slake their thirst with water from either of these toxic parties. They exist because Guyanese are conditioned to be loyal  sheep by ethnic distrust.

That is why I don't compare the PPP with the PNC. All I say is that the PNC is wicked and hapless 

Dougla_80 posted:

Complete transparency would be hard to achieve but starting by digitising these processes and then publishing publically the results would be a start, at least you’ll have a electronic audit and financial footprint from start to finish, but I think we are whistling in the wind at this point as the will certainly isn’t there. When you walk into any public office in Guyana it’s like a throw back from the land time forgot there is zero accountability at any stage.

Understood but what will it take to prompt a step in the direction of change, however small the step?

antabanta posted:

Guyana's problems can easily be solved if political leaders from both sides act like mature politicians who are concerned about ALL Guyanese, not just their own supporters.

The problem in Guyana is corruption and maladministration in successive administrations, not immature politicians. They have no concern for their own supporters and only use them to ascend to a position from where they can rape the country.

There is an old saying that good men go to Washington and become evil. I think that if Guyana was to select their most credible citizen as leader of the nation, that person will soon become just as corrupt. That is the unfortunate position that Guyana finds itself in. Nothing wrong with hoping for some improvement but I don't see how it can be accomplished given the level of power/influence that the leader has.

antabanta posted:

The two main parties are embroiled in fight for power for the worst possible reason - for individuals to pocket whatever little money, if any, is thrown towards Guyana from Exxon. The previous administration was corrupt, racist, practiced nepotism, involved with drugs and money laundering, and raped the nation. The current administration is dictatorial, slightly less corrupt, practices slightly less nepotism, very incompetent. Where is the Guyanese public? Where are the brilliant minds and community leaders who can galvanize the public to action against these incompetent and self-serving administrations? The Cuffys and Enmore martyrs and Walter Rodneys of Guyana must be turning over in their graves at mockery of independent governance of Guyana.

Trying to get a visa so they can stay in the USA. Apparently over the past few years as many as 8k might have done so.  During the Jagdeo era the population declined, even as rates of migration to the USA dropped.

They have given up.  Or are guilty of the same ills.

Dougla_80 posted:

Complete transparency would be hard to achieve but starting by digitising these processes and then publishing publically the results would be a start, at least you’ll have a electronic audit and financial footprint from start to finish, but I think we are whistling in the wind at this point as the will certainly isn’t there. When you walk into any public office in Guyana it’s like a throw back from the land time forgot there is zero accountability at any stage.

been like that even when I lived there prior to leaving in 1987. Remember those long lines at the birth certificate office or the tax exit office or the passport office or the gas station or the grocery store (for whatever grocery was still at stores).

antabanta posted:

There is no leadership. Government is too big and has too much power.  

How can the govt gain any power without leadership?

People just go with the flow. I don't think Guyanese will ever militarize like what happens in other countries. I think they see that as a lose lose situation in a short term manner and Guyanese haven't been groomed to worry about long term. It is only after we come to other countries that we start thinking long term. Unfortunate but true.

antabanta posted:

The structure of the government puts power in the hands of a few.  Ministers have power.  There is no accountability.  We have witnessed Presidents sleep walk their way without delivering leadership.

antabanta posted:
Dougla_80 posted:

Understood but what will it take to prompt a step in the direction of change, however small the step?

Most likely, it will demand international pressure. 

Even the intellectuals have become bankanized ethnically and hide behind the reflected glory of their own in office. .

And yet this is less a factor in Trinidad which has a similar ethnic composition.   Their intellectual class is less extremely balkanized and their swing vote (those who aren't reliably tribal) is much larger.  

Trinidadians also recognize "nation above all" more than do Guyanese.  I have seen diverse groups of Trinis singing "Trini to de bone" embracings its diversity as they do.  Guyanese will not do this.

There is an ailment which is uniquely Guyanese which is why both of our political parties can show blatant disrespect even to their bases, and definitely towards the other tribe who they exclude.

As corrupt as the UNC was and as incompetent as the PNM might be they must tread more carefully than either the PNC or the PPP have to because there is a large civic society in that nation that will have less tolerance for this than will similar entities in Guyana.  We Guyanese love to drink soup poured by our favorite politician.

There is an old saying that good men go to Washington and become evil. I think that if Guyana was to select their most credible citizen as leader of the nation, that person will soon become just as corrupt. That is the unfortunate position that Guyana finds itself in. Nothing wrong with hoping for some improvement but I don't see how it can be accomplished given the level of power/influence that the leader has.

That's true all over the world and the only thing that can stem that behavior is a reasonable system of checks and balances. However, a big part of the problem in Guyana is lack of interest IN Guyana by all and sundry. All of us who left are guilty of it and all those who remain behind hoping for the chance to leave are guilty of it. All the politicians to date have proven beyond any doubt their sole interest is in lining their pockets.

antabanta posted:

That's true all over the world and the only thing that can stem that behavior is a reasonable system of checks and balances. However, a big part of the problem in Guyana is lack of interest IN Guyana by all and sundry. All of us who left are guilty of it and all those who remain behind hoping for the chance to leave are guilty of it. All the politicians to date have proven beyond any doubt their sole interest is in lining their pockets.

I agree. Maybe Guyana would need an international effort to demand that the Constitution be blown up and rewritten free from the influences of Guyana's crooked politicians. One which accommodates all Guyanese, all the time.

No Ksaz. Outside interference creates a perpetual dependency and a clear subservient relationship that establishes and exploits the inferiority of Guyana. There are many brilliant minds in Guyana and many people who can make things happen. They just need a step in the right direction. A big part of it is education because an education population is difficult to fool.

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

No Ksaz. Outside interference creates a perpetual dependency and a clear subservient relationship that establishes and exploits the inferiority of Guyana. There are many brilliant minds in Guyana and many people who can make things happen. They just need a step in the right direction. A big part of it is education because an education population is difficult to fool.

No doubt. But I don't see Guyanese especially the politicians willingly allowing any change in the status quo. That is why I think one more really hard push in the right direction from a powerful external influence may be just what the doctor ordered. Sadly the current monstrosity Guyana calls their constitution was written by brilliant men, albeit unfortunately too subscribed to Burnham.

I don't think the regular Guyanese person has other viable options. The system is not conducive to structural change.

The average Guyanese don't but stakeholders do.  This is why T&T, with similar ethnic composition, is less dysfunctional than is GY.  The trade unions will demonstrate against the PNM and the business sector against the UNC, regardless as to what tribe they might belong to.

The private sector sucks Jagdeo's milk and will never tell him that he is wrong.  And ditto for those segments dominated by Africans and the PNC.

I have seen videos of Sophia people being made homeless. Not by the PPP, but by the PNC.  Now did anyone ask the PNC how they could treat their own support base like this? 

And look at the PPP and sugar.  Now they cry crocodile tears because the PNC did the inevitable which was to attempt to reduce the need for subsidies by reducing the scale of Guysuco.  This because they inherited a grossly mismanaged Guysuco. 

GAWU should have been loudly against the PPP, continued their onslaught against the AFC (whose minister is responsible for Guysuco) and also reminded its membership that the PPP was no better when it had power.

Instead its a tool of Jagdeo.

But we will all crawl into our tribal caves so that we can drink soup if our tribe wins.  And if our tribe loses we will pretend as if this other tribal leadership is radically worse, rather than admitting the truth.

There is just a level of mature dialogue that goes on in T&T that is lacking in Guyana.  I went to a T&T equivalent of GNI. Vastly different!  Vastly more mature. Vastly less tolerant of ignorance.  Yes the signs of tribalism was there but much less of this zero sum attitude.

And this is so Guyanese.  No other Caribbean entity aside from Guyana (and Haiti) so insist that the rest of the world must fix our problems.

Listen all they want from us is oil and as we can see with Equatorial Guinea (which makes Guyana look like Sweden) they don't care what happens to the country.

If Guyanese cannot adopt an attitude of "Guyana First" why should anyone else?  We will be carved up by our neighbors and I bet there will be Guyanese aiding in this effort if they see personal gain by doing this.

I don't think the regular Guyanese person has other viable options. The system is not conducive to structural change.

The average Guyanese don't but stakeholders do.  This is why T&T, with similar ethnic composition, is less dysfunctional than is GY.  The trade unions will demonstrate against the PNM and the business sector against the UNC, regardless as to what tribe they might belong to.

The private sector sucks Jagdeo's milk and will never tell him that he is wrong.  And ditto for those segments dominated by Africans and the PNC.

I have seen videos of Sophia people being made homeless. Not by the PPP, but by the PNC.  Now did anyone ask the PNC how they could treat their own support base like this? 

And look at the PPP and sugar.  Now they cry crocodile tears because the PNC did the inevitable which was to attempt to reduce the need for subsidies by reducing the scale of Guysuco.  This because they inherited a grossly mismanaged Guysuco. 

GAWU should have been loudly against the PPP, continued their onslaught against the AFC (whose minister is responsible for Guysuco) and also reminded its membership that the PPP was no better when it had power.

Instead its a tool of Jagdeo.

But we will all crawl into our tribal caves so that we can drink soup if our tribe wins.  And if our tribe loses we will pretend as if this other tribal leadership is radically worse, rather than admitting the truth.

There is just a level of mature dialogue that goes on in T&T that is lacking in Guyana.  I went to a T&T equivalent of GNI. Vastly different!  Vastly more mature. Vastly less tolerant of ignorance.  Yes the signs of tribalism was there but much less of this zero sum attitude. 

Exactly what I am saying. If it seems like I am not offering any solutions, it is because I am not. I don't think that Guyana currently has what it takes to come up with a solution. I don't see Guyanese having the commitment for any kind of real change. Guyanese are more preoccupied with exchange. Unfortunately the stakeholders are basically beholden to one side or the other and all they do is advocate for their respective positions rather than wellbeing of Guyana and all its citizens. Guyana may just need one more international kick in the ass to get them to fix the constitution as well as completely overhaul the political system where all Guyanese are represented equally.

And this is so Guyanese.  No other Caribbean entity aside from Guyana (and Haiti) so insist that the rest of the world must fix our problems.

Listen all they want from us is oil and as we can see with Equatorial Guinea (which makes Guyana look like Sweden) they don't care what happens to the country.

If Guyanese cannot adopt an attitude of "Guyana First" why should anyone else?  We will be carved up by our neighbors and I bet there will be Guyanese aiding in this effort if they see personal gain by doing this.

Whether it is Guyanese or not doesn't really matter now especially when more than half of Guyana's population has already chosen to call somewhere else home. While I can understand ideals, I don't ignore reality and right now home grown Guyanese seem incapable of or unwilling to do the right thing. They are also not in favor of migrated Guyanese helping them either.

No doubt. But I don't see Guyanese especially the politicians willingly allowing any change in the status quo. .

A previous Bajan gov't did something that the population didn't like. 25% of them, from the richest to the poorest, went out on the streets. Black, brown, and white. the business groups, church groups, youth groups, labor groups, etc.

Guyanese don't protest unless a party makes them stooges, gives them $5 and a plate of fry chicken.  And then cuss if they don't get this.

The difference is quite evident as to why "rich" Guyana is so poor and "poor" Barbados fights desperately against efforts by the World Bank and the IMF to classify them as a "very high human development" country under the HDI.  This depriving them of any ability to get concessionary financing or aid.

And yes "rich" Guyana will remain "poor" even if our GDP per capita surges ahead of the rest of the Caribbean.

This is why Mia Motley is working hard to fix that island's problems and apparently making some progress.  Bajans will toss her out of she doesn't. She knows what happens if the stake holder groups become angry with her.

Guyanese will whine "wha we gun do?", flee to Barbados to enjoy what that island (once poorer than Guyana) can offer them.  And then be angrier with the Bajan gov't, which refuses to allow them in, than with the PPP and the PNC which left them no choice but to flee if they were to earn enough to feed their families.

I laugh how xenophobic Guyanese suddenly are with the Venoes pouring in, forgetting of course how many Guyanese live(d) in that country.

So let the PPP stooges scream that I promote Barbados.  Well it turns out that yes "black man can run a cake shop" even with a mere 166 square miles of coral rock and little else.

You don't hear Bajans begging foreigners to intervene, yet every day Guyanese are whimpering to be returned back to a colonial state where foreigners rule 100%.

No doubt. But I don't see Guyanese especially the politicians willingly allowing any change in the status quo. .

A previous Bajan gov't did something that the population didn't like. 25% of them, from the richest to the poorest, went out on the streets. Black, brown, and white. the business groups, church groups, youth groups, labor groups, etc.

Guyanese don't protest unless a party makes them stooges, gives them $5 and a plate of fry chicken.  And then cuss if they don't get this.

The difference is quite evident as to why "rich" Guyana is so poor and "poor" Barbados fights desperately against efforts by the World Bank and the IMF to classify them as a "very high human development" country under the HDI.  This depriving them of any ability to get concessionary financing or aid.

And yes "rich" Guyana will remain "poor" even if our GDP per capita surges ahead of the rest of the Caribbean.

This is why Mia Motley is working hard to fix that island's problems and apparently making some progress.  Bajans will toss her out of she doesn't. She knows what happens if the stake holder groups become angry with her.

Guyanese will whine "wha we gun do?", flee to Barbados to enjoy what that island (once poorer than Guyana) can offer them.  And then be angrier with the Bajan gov't, which refuses to allow them in, than with the PPP and the PNC which left them no choice but to flee if they were to earn enough to feed their families.

I laugh how xenophobic Guyanese suddenly are with the Venoes pouring in, forgetting of course how many Guyanese live(d) in that country.

So let the PPP stooges scream that I promote Barbados.  Well it turns out that yes "black man can run a cake shop" even with a mere 166 square miles of coral rock and little else.

You don't hear Bajans begging foreigners to intervene, yet every day Guyanese are whimpering to be returned back to a colonial state where foreigners rule 100%.

Guyanese are not like those other islands. Guyanese generally stay planted in their respective camps. They will talk but they will not be capable or willing to sacrifice for the best solution. Plus Guyanese don't trust each others enough to form alliances across the board for any general protest against the system. Notice I use the word system as opposed to party as there are no innocent political parties in Guyana. Seeking international intervention does not mean seeking a return to colonial rule.

antabanta posted:

The structure of the government puts power in the hands of a few.  Ministers have power.  There is no accountability.  We have witnessed Presidents sleep walk their way without delivering leadership.

dem like gods in the clouds.

antabanta posted:

The two main parties are embroiled in fight for power for the worst possible reason - for individuals to pocket whatever little money, if any, is thrown towards Guyana from Exxon. The previous administration was corrupt, racist, practiced nepotism, involved with drugs and money laundering, and raped the nation. The current administration is dictatorial, slightly less corrupt, practices slightly less nepotism, very incompetent. Where is the Guyanese public? Where are the brilliant minds and community leaders who can galvanize the public to action against these incompetent and self-serving administrations? The Cuffys and Enmore martyrs and Walter Rodneys of Guyana must be turning over in their graves at mockery of independent governance of Guyana.

These are both subjective claims. 

On the yellow highlight: socu, saru, sara after spending billions of dollars to fatten its staff, not 1 ppp jailed.  A failure of PNC/AFC after convincing the public via trial by newspaper that PPP was worse than dog feces. 

Regarding current administration, nepotism abound with friends and family being rewarded. Not sure how you measured this to come up with the term "slightly", clearly your opinion.  

You are the only person who can contradict himself in the same post. It is subjective and yet you insist "Regarding current administration, nepotism abound with friends and family being rewarded"  is an objective conclusion we should accept.

Were you an honest person, you would conclude the same. Read the newspapers and keep track of the nepotism and corruption in the past 4 years. 

If you were honest you would see me in the front row of the choir singing lustily as to the PNC corrupt practices. But that is irrelevant at the moment.  I am speaking to your pretense to being objective when you contradict yourself in the in the next sentence.  

There are degrees of objectivity. No one can honestly claim to be objective. Even you who parade yourself as some sort of know it all, will let your personal hatred of the ppp cloud your judgement.  

How is it that saru/socu/sara were unable after 4 years to jail 1 single ppp after scrutinizing all available evidence? You would imagine there would be an obvious paper trail. I was waiting with bated breath for them to jail the ppp crooks, but no avail. 

There are degrees of objectivity. No one can honestly claim to be objective. Even you who parade yourself as some sort of know it all, will let your personal hatred of the ppp cloud your judgement.  

How is it that saru/socu/sara were unable after 4 years to jail 1 single ppp after scrutinizing all available evidence? You would imagine there would be an obvious paper trail. I was waiting with bated breath for them to jail the ppp crooks, but no avail. 

Just shut you you charlatan. I hate crooks and the PPP are uber crooks so they fall under that umbrella. 

antabanta posted:

Guyana's problems can easily be solved if political leaders from both sides act like mature politicians who are concerned about ALL Guyanese, not just their own supporters.

The problem in Guyana is corruption and maladministration in successive administrations, not immature politicians. They have no concern for their own supporters and only use them to ascend to a position from where they can rape the country.

Small peripheral countries like Guyana and most Caribbean states are generally corrupt. I am not sure what you mean by maladministration. But while corruption is definitely a serious factor in Guyana, it is the political leaders who will have to move the nation forward. I place political leadership, and a resolution of the racial problem above the issue of corruption. Political leadership in Guyana is weak and visionless. Guyana needs a leader like Lee Kwan Yew who can really set goals and push towards a vision that will move Guyana out of the mire it is in. Look at the leaders Guyana currently have. The brain drain started with the slide into Burnham dictatorship and the nation does not have leaders who are exposed to the complex issues that comes with running a country like Guyana.   

The PPP won because their supporters were in the majority

That is usually how elections are democratically won. 

Yes, but not when there is is an ethnic problem and the results of racial voting threaten to keep one race of people out of office.

Things have obviously changed since the last few elections.

antabanta posted:
Dougla_80 posted:

Many people thought Granger with his disciplinarian background could have been that guiding light. He failed. Irfaan Ali will predictably be a failure if he is elected. 

Many of the Asian newly industrialized countries (NICS), including some of the Middle Eastern countries developed strong economies after WW2. But the development came at s cost to democracy....this would be one route.

The other would possibly take a skillful visionary leader who can take a lead and navigate within the limited democratic framework that now exists...that person would have to be a great deal maker to be able to work out appropriate arrangements with the various interest groups in Guyana...certainly not an easy task. 

antabanta posted:

A fair assessment....and a typical problem for developing countries that do not share a long history of democratic politics. 

antabanta posted:

jes askin

....but...Who are these "brilliant minds" you have in mind?

You can rule out education at this time because that educated core who can act as defenders of democratic values seems non-existent in Guyana right now.

Small peripheral countries like Guyana and most Caribbean states are generally corrupt. I am not sure what you mean by maladministration. But while corruption is definitely a serious factor in Guyana, it is the political leaders who will have to move the nation forward. I place political leadership, and a resolution of the racial problem above the issue of corruption. Political leadership in Guyana is weak and visionless. Guyana needs a leader like Lee Kwan Yew who can really set goals and push towards a vision that will move Guyana out of the mire it is in. Look at the leaders Guyana currently have. The brain drain started with the slide into Burnham dictatorship and the nation does not have leaders who are exposed to the complex issues that comes with running a country like Guyana.   

You've completely missed the point. Leadership cannot appear like manna from the heavens. It comes from within the populace. Leadership to effect change grows as a direct result of the need for change. As we all agree, current leadership in Guyana is self-serving and impotent to the needs of the country and the people. The CAUSE of complacent and impotent leadership is the desire to sustain the current level of corruption as it allows members of successive administrations to line their pockets. Racism is an artificial problem created by specific individuals or groups to establish their own personal base to pursue their own personal, self-serving agenda. The cause of all conflict is economic expansion (at a macro level) or greed, vis-à-vis corruption which is quite visible to the general public. Hence my question, where is the general public. Since corruption is quite visible, why are they not acting against the quite visible instances of corruption.

You can search the Internet for maladministration.

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

No doubt. But I don't see Guyanese especially the politicians willingly allowing any change in the status quo.

I can see that of politicians but why would the man in the street not want to allow any change?

The man in the street when powerless does want change. Unfortunately, if that same man is placed in the position where they can effect the change he was once yearning, he will choose the status quo because he will then be benefiting from that status quo. It will take a very special person who will make the right change for the right reason. 

Many people thought Granger with his disciplinarian background could have been that guiding light. He failed. Irfaan Ali will predictably be a failure if he is elected. 

Many of the Asian newly industrialized countries (NICS), including some of the Middle Eastern countries developed strong economies after WW2. But the development came at s cost to democracy....this would be one route.

The other would possibly take a skillful visionary leader who can take a lead and navigate within the limited democratic framework that now exists...that person would have to be a great deal maker to be able to work out appropriate arrangements with the various interest groups in Guyana...certainly not an easy task. 

David Granger's administration has done the same thing as all other administrations - ignore qualified candidates and allocate positions of power to their friends and relatives. More than enough money has flowed through Guyana over the last thirty years to implement infrastructural developments. Very little has been done because of corruption. Guyana does not need some genius leader. It needs people who want to effect change and pursue betterment for the nation.

antabanta posted:

Hence my question, where is the general public. Since corruption is quite visible, why are they not acting against the quite visible instances of corruption.

Maybe the public has resigned itself to the attitude of ‘what’s the use’ anta.

antabanta posted:

Hence my question, where is the general public. Since corruption is quite visible, why are they not acting against the quite visible instances of corruption.

That's why we need to keep plugging away without all the racial prejudice which is nothing but a distraction. Maybe some comments will start people realizing that everyone benefits if the nation develops and prospers. Maybe something will make people realize while we're indulging in daily racial BS, the country is being raped.

antabanta posted:

That's why we need to keep plugging away without all the racial prejudice which is nothing but a distraction. Maybe some comments will start people realizing that everyone benefits if the nation develops and prospers. Maybe something will make people realize while we're indulging in daily racial BS, the country is being raped.

Maybe. There is still too much animosity and especially distrust amongst the people of Guyana.