PPP members are die-hard supporters and are here all the time. We do not back down in hard times. Did you have any plantain chips and cook-up rice?

There is an assumption that food is to label Afro Guyanese ,now the questions are what food should be used to label Indo Guyanese and other ethnic groups.

@Django posted:

There is an assumption that food is to label Afro Guyanese ,now the questions are what food should be used to label Indo Guyanese and other ethnic groups.

I would not label it to a particular ethnic group. The majority of coolies eat cook-up rice and plantain chips. In Guyana, we always made cook-up rice. My mother always made plantain chips.

Rice and curry.

Some indian foods doesnt only require cooking skills. It require surgical skills as well.

Colounjee. U have to cut open the karila. Clean out the guts. Pack it back with bhunjal shrimps. Then, with needle and thread u have to painstakingly sew it up back up. This is a major operation here.

Then u cook it.

@Sheik101 posted:

Some indian foods doesnt only require cooking skills. It require surgical skills as well.

Colounjee. U have to cut open the karila. Clean out the guts. Pack it back with bhunjal shrimps. Then, with needle and thread u have to painstakingly sew it up back up. This is a major operation here.

Then u cook it.

It looks like the cook has to graduate from medical school. 

Lawd allyuh. That menu real long but is a good reflection of our diversity no matter the political difference. I guess I need to start prep from this weekend. 

Here what's on the menu for CCJ Decision Day:

• Cookup Rice
  • Kitchree
  • Dhalpuri
  • Alloo curry
  • Phulowrie
  • Pepperpot
  • Garlic Pork
  • Colounjee
  • Meetemgee
  • Plaintain Chips

Anyone like fish? I can get some bangamary, hassa, cuffum and "Gilbakka" from a nearby Guyanese store owner who imports both sweet and saltwater fish. 

One Nation. One People. One Destiny. Remember that.

Rochelle
@Rochelle posted:

Lawd allyuh. That menu real long but is a good reflection of our diversity no matter the political difference. I guess I need to start prep from this weekend. 

Here what's on the menu for CCJ Decision Day:

• Cookup Rice
  • Kitchree
  • Dhalpuri
  • Alloo curry
  • Phulowrie
  • Pepperpot
  • Garlic Pork
  • Colounjee
  • Meetemgee
  • Plaintain Chips

Anyone like fish? I can get some bangamary, hassa, cuffum and "Gilbakka" from a nearby Guyanese store owner who imports both sweet and saltwater fish. 

One Nation. One People. One Destiny. Remember that.

just cooked rice and Gilbakka curry with mangoes. best meal i've had in a long time

@Sheik101 posted:

Then u cook it.

all that work for bitter karila, no thank you