When Amerindian leadership is sidelined

Over the past few weeks, the issue of overt discrimination against Amerindians by this Government has been highlighted. Undeniably, the Indigenous Affairs Ministry has been traducing indigenous rights by undermining and ignoring legislation in vigour since the new administration took over.

Perhaps this “eye pass” stems from the inability of the new Ministers to obtain obviously much needed advice from their team of advisors who, initially, were presented to the Ministry staff as the “transition team”.

But very soon, the transition was over and the “jobs for the boys” syndrome took over: APNU, AFC and APA partisans became “ministerial advisors”, but, considering Allicock’s numerous subsequent blunders, advisors of what? While the former Amerindian Affairs Ministry was headed by one Minister, her advisor and a Permanent Secretary, its ostentatiously renamed version was appointed one Minister, one junior Minister, three advisors, one Permanent Secretary and his newly assigned Deputy. At a minimum, the  jejune performance of this newly appointed team isn’t deserving of the sacrificed comfort of the Ministry staff who are crammed claustrophically into the few  offices of the Ministry to accommodate the swollen administration.

As Minister Allicock precipitated the termination of over 1976 staff without any attempt to  engage them in discussions as befits an employer, he didn’t only prove that he could care less about the service they rendered to Amerindians, but showed that he was being strongly ill advised by his “transition team” turned advisors.

Reports suggest that the Minister is subject to external pressure of a political nature, causing the Ministry to succumb to a power struggle between the AFC and APNU, explaining thus why there are Ministers and advisors from both camp. But if it is indeed true that there’s power play within the Ministry, it surely is at the expense of Amerindian leadership.

Take for instance the appointment of the PNC card carrying Permanent Secretary Vibert Welch, who found it necessary to appoint a Deputy Permanent Secretary in the person of Samantha Fedee, the former Principal Assistant Secretary (General) of the Ministry.

It is common knowledge that among the long serving Ministry staff who are eligible for the post of PS was Ms Jude Da Silva, the Ministry’s Programme Coordinator who was tasked with the oversight of all projects with the exception of the GRIF projects. Not only is she competent in the office, but she has solid field experience, and also, she is a born Amerindian woman from Santa Rosa. Additionally, she was the most senior member of staff under the Permanent Secretary, though contracted, with a public service pay grade of 12, figuring just under the PS’ pay grade of 14.

Not only is she superior to Fedee on the public service pay grade system, she also largely surpasses Fedee in terms of responsibilities and experience, and previously managed the Ministry in the absence of the Permanent Secretary. Upon the previous PS’s resignation from Office, Da Silva was even assigned by Cabinet as official signatory pending the installation of a new PS. On the contrary, Samantha Fedee’s experience at the Ministry is limited to mere administrative duties which absolutely exclude any management of indigenous affairs.

Minister Allicock must explain to Amerindians why an experienced senior Amerindian member of staff without any political connections, was sidelined so shamelessly to accommodate someone with barely if any experience, and who cannot even presume to represent them.

He must also indicate to the public, what was the rationale and process behind creating the new position of Deputy Permanent Secretary, since it isn’t provisioned for by the official organisational chart of the Ministry.

Further, the Government of Guyana, in upholding its promise for transparency, must present to the Amerindian peoples and all Guyanese, after having shortened a significant portion of their socioeconomic rights in a short span of time, the reasons necessitating the recruitment of a Deputy PS in an already shamefully bloated administration.

Finally, Minister Allicock should recall that while he was a member of the APNU Opposition, he actively called for previous Permanent Secretary Nigel Dharamlall to be replaced by an Amerindian PS. Presumably because of the principle of “representation by presence”. Now, both the Permanent Secretary and his Deputy are non-Amerindians, under Allicock’s mandate. Is Minister Allicock being ill-advised, is he being pressured or has he simply chosen to betray his people? Time will tell.

quote "Now, both the Permanent Secretary and his Deputy are non-Amerindians, under Allicock’s mandate. Is Minister Allicock being ill-advised, is he being pressured or has he simply chosen to betray his people? Time will tell." unquote

Funny a PPP, which passed over qualified Africans to appoint PPP Indians under the "Friends and Family" plan, no competence necessary, is so bold to speak.

But you know why they can speak so brazenly.  Because MODERATE Indians also engage in the "bad black man" rhetoric by demanding that blacks must apologized to Indians, and implying that Indians haven't engaged in ethnic exclusion.

Let them allow the Guyana Times to continue to attempt to instigate a race war.

Look at Reva Dev and his daily vagina dialogues! We do not have that sell soul Pearson, that   amerindian hater and rapist Dharamlal, or the twit of an amerind Minister. We have the Grand dame of selfless Amerind work Jean La Rose on our side. The Present Amerind Minister is as qualified as any for the task and Ms Lowe is a blessing. Amerind People at least can do better with no bead or bean trading for attention.

Originally Posted by asj:

quote "Now, both the Permanent Secretary and his Deputy are non-Amerindians, under Allicock’s mandate. Is Minister Allicock being ill-advised, is he being pressured or has he simply chosen to betray his people? Time will tell." unquote

PNC has already betrayed the Guyanese public. They are a bunch of scumbags.

Funny a PPP, which passed over qualified Africans to appoint PPP Indians under the "Friends and Family" plan, no competence necessary, is so bold to speak.

But you know why they can speak so brazenly.  Because MODERATE Indians also engage in the "bad black man" rhetoric by demanding that blacks must apologized to Indians, and implying that Indians haven't engaged in ethnic exclusion.

Preach de message bruddah, preach it. Black man baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Look at Reva Dev and his daily vagina dialogues! We do not have that sell soul Pearson, that   amerindian hater and rapist Dharamlal, or the twit of an amerind Minister. We have the Grand dame of selfless Amerind work Jean La Rose on our side. The Present Amerind Minister is as qualified as any for the task and Ms Lowe is a blessing. Amerind People at least can do better with no bead or bean trading for attention.

Vagina dialogue. Like ravi getting to u. 

Preach de message bruddah, preach it. Black man baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad.

He is right. I do not think he can ever get that message over because you have conditioned your mind to see the world with only one lens. I lived in the black, white and Indian world and I know that among the three I feel safe in the black. Whites are not openly prejudice as Indians but they will work their racist slant everytime they can and get away with it. Indians just do not care. They think they are the smartest so they are always right. That degree of self delusion makes for a rather destitute moral state in those quarters. I am so glad the young people are not like their parents.

R u sure about the young ppl. Doan forget how the voting went. U c y there can never be progress in Guyana. Too many grudges-an Amerindian who has an overwhelming knowledge of indo racism. a Portuguese who sides with his euro-centric black brothers that there is indo racism-and just maybe he never encountered indo racism and three blacks whose only claim to indo racism is mere expression of hate.

The saying, sticks and stones could hurt but word can never.

Where is your call for Exceptional People? Guyana is gone. 

Last edited by seignet

He is right. I do not think he can ever get that message over because you have conditioned your mind to see the world with only one lens. I lived in the black, white and Indian world and I know that among the three I feel safe in the black. Whites are not openly prejudice as Indians but they will work their racist slant everytime they can and get away with it. Indians just do not care. They think they are the smartest so they are always right. That degree of self delusion makes for a rather destitute moral state in those quarters. I am so glad the young people are not like their parents.

So all that stuff I experienced as a kid, i.e. being choked and robbed by blacks, (a black guy put a knife to my throat and took away my bike), the many cases where black women were left to raise their children with no father present, the many told stories of kick down the door robberies, the many cases of Indians being passed over for jobs they were better qualified for in favor of a black getting that job even though they were not as qualified for it, etc. are all figments of my imagination? Even today, I wouldn't go wandering around some cities in the US because my sense of safety are not there. When I lived in Los Angeles, I was somewhere in downtown L.A. and wasn't sure where I was. I saw a mailman and asked him directions to some street and he cautioned me that I was in a dangerous area.

Not disagreeing that Indians can be very racial and prejudice but I never felt unsafe in their surroundings nor do I think blacks feel threatened in Indian surroundings. They may feel more unsafe in black neighborhoods. As kids, we used to rush though a stretch between Stone Avenue and Delhi Streets because of that same fear. My sister was robbed on that same stretch as well as on the other side near Pike Street. Therefore, my experiences disagree with you on which community I feel safer in. 

R u sure about the young ppl. Doan forget how the voting went. U c y there can never be progress in Guyana. Too many grudges-an Amerindian who has an overwhelming knowledge of indo racism. a Portuguese who sides with his euro-centric black brothers that there is indo racism-and just maybe he never encountered indo racism and three blacks whose only claim to indo racism is mere expression of hate.

Bro, you are a christian. Jesus is a Nazarene not of the tribal belt or madras or Tamil Nadu or Hindu Kush. He never left Galilee. His teachings make up the basis of western imagery and religion iconography. You got up this morning and did not look for a dhoti or a pagree. You looked for a shirt and a pants.

Good people, exceptional people are not Hindus or Christians or black or white. They stand up and are recognized for their moral constructs that is universalize and recognizable from whatever religious space one may inhabit. It is a plainly human specific thing!

Everyone knows Gandhi and do not care that his Hinduism informs his faith but that his beliefs in social justice is a moral lesson for the world. Note he got it from Thoreau who delivered the thesis  ( the relationship between the state and the individual in the essay Civil Disobedience) in the Concord town square on a dare  by Hawthorne and Emerson.

It was picked up and practiced by Tolstoy and others and later used by people like Gandhi and Dr. King. Ghandi did not invent the principle of non violence whole cloth. He got it from the introvert of Walden pond. Yes, India's most revolutionary change was initiated by the conceptual processes percolated in a western thinker!

You should be ashamed having issued statements concerning inherent natures of black people and their incompetence and now think it is in the imagination given you would have known those beliefs and you personally saw you cling to them some seven decades in this life. You surely is not having your best kind of life if that is your belief. That would close you off from apprehending and appreciating so much outside the narrow spectrum of an Indian world view.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

So all that stuff I experienced as a kid, i.e. being choked and robbed by blacks, (a black guy put a knife to my throat and took away my bike), the many cases where black women were left to raise their children with no father present, the many told stories of kick down the door robberies, the many cases of Indians being passed over for jobs they were better qualified for in favor of a black getting that job even though they were not as qualified for it, etc. are all figments of my imagination? Even today, I wouldn't go wandering around some cities in the US because my sense of safety are not there. When I lived in Los Angeles, I was somewhere in downtown L.A. and wasn't sure where I was. I saw a mailman and asked him directions to some street and he cautioned me that I was in a dangerous area.

Not disagreeing that Indians can be very racial and prejudice but I never felt unsafe in their surroundings nor do I think blacks feel threatened in Indian surroundings. They may feel more unsafe in black neighborhoods. As kids, we used to rush though a stretch between Stone Avenue and Delhi Streets because of that same fear. My sister was robbed on that same stretch as well as on the other side near Pike Street. Therefore, my experiences disagree with you on which community I feel safer in. 

I do not know what you experienced as a kid and care little for your telling of it. I am concerned in the here and now where ones view of other shapes our world and if it is bigoted it is a distorting view.

Okay. Forget my past experiences. Lets take a poll today. Leave out the Middle East since we can all agree that they are a crazy bunch. How many people in Guyana will feel less safe in a non-black concentrated community than a black one? How many people right there in your DC area will feel safer in a black concentrated community than a non-black one? Use that criteria for any other part of the US, Canada or Europe. How do you think those numbers come through today?

Lastly, it is not a bigoted view, it is factual.

Okay. Forget my past experiences. Lets take a poll today. Leave out the Middle East since we can all agree that they are a crazy bunch. How many people in Guyana will feel less safe in a non-black concentrated community than a black one? How many people right there in your DC area will feel safer in a black concentrated community than a non-black one? Use that criteria for any other part of the US, Canada or Europe. How do you think those numbers come through today?

You do not know DC today or Philadelphia as I saw it and know it. There are no places in DC that is unsafe presently. I would have advised against certain places at certain times a few years back. Even Stanton Road and the Mississippi ave area are integrated. U street which used to be Junky heaven when I was a kid is now yuppy and buppy and chuppy and every puppy  heaven. I am safe in DC.

Similarly, I still would not walk in  fish town at night alone. And that is mainly because vestigial remnants of polish immigrants racism can surface any time. I did not use to go there in the day time a while back but now I do. Same with South Taney street and the Brewery area. Now these are all quite safe areas.

People change because people are not intrinsically  predisposed to this or that view genetically. It is culture that causes it. Official Interpretations of the social and religious faiths as presented by leaders in the community. Change those bastards and things change.

You do not know DC today or Philadelphia as I saw it and know it. There are no places in DC that is unsafe presently. I would have advised against certain places at certain times a few years back. Even Stanton Road and the Mississippi ave area are integrated. U street which used to be Junky heaven when I was a kid is now yuppy and buppy and chuppy and every puppy  heaven. I am safe in DC.

Similarly, I still would not walk inf fish town at night alone. And that is mainly because vestigial remnants of polish immigrants racism can surface any time. I did not use to go there in the day time a while back but now I do. Same with South Taney street and the Brewery area. Now these are all quite safe areas.

People change because people are not intrinsically  predisposed to this or that view genetically. It is culture that causes it. Official Interpretations of the social and religious faiths as presented by leaders in the community. Change those bastards and things change.

I certainly don't know DC or Philadelphia as you do since I don't live there. However, here is an article demonstrating my argument. Wish it was more recent but it should still work. https://www.google.com/url?sa=...MOPY4a64gpZ7vgRnyZGQ

ksazma, yuh really "wandering" deh bai . . . what does the stuff i hilited above got to do with your "experience"?

indeed, what the hell does "many stories told" have to do with your "experience"?

suh u wuz once a choke n rob victim back in de day and yuh bicycle get tief . . . welcome to urban ghetto life, and get over it!

your entire post is an uneducated, pathological swipe at Black people as Black people - without context, class or country!

i too got lost 20 years ago driving in and around a dangerous Compton in Greater LA, and smartly took refuge at a 24-hr gas station seeking help . . . wanna know my takeaway?

i would normally caution that yuh slip showing . . . but i ain't even seeing panty here

u smell

ksazma, yuh really "wandering" deh bai . . . what does the stuff i hilited above got to do with your "experience"?

indeed, what the hell does "many stories told" have to do with your "experience"?

suh u wuz once a choke n rob victim back in de day and yuh bicycle get tief . . . welcome to urban ghetto life, and get over it!

your entire post is an uneducated, pathological swipe at Black people as Black people - without context, class or country!

i too got lost 20 years ago driving in and around a dangerous Compton in Greater LA, and smartly took refuge at a 24-hr gas station seeking help . . . wanna know my takeaway?

i would normally caution that yuh slip showing . . . but i ain't even seeing panty here

u smell

Bai, that comment wasn't in response to your highlighted observation of my comment. It was in response to Danyael's comment about feeling safer in a black world.

I don't have any problem hearing your take-away of your experience in Compton.

Similarly, I still would not walk inf fish town at night alone. And that is mainly because vestigial remnants of polish immigrants racism can surface any time. I did not use to go there in the day time a while back but now I do. Same with South Taney street and the Brewery area. Now these are all quite safe areas.

I certainly don't know DC or Philadelphia as you do since I don't live there. However, here is an article demonstrating my argument. Wish it was more recent but it should still work. https://www.google.com/url?sa=...MOPY4a64gpZ7vgRnyZGQ

But you miss the point. Oppression, racism, poverty, neglect etc all create pockets of despair. The point what is there today does not mean it will always be so because it is a consequence of "those" kinds of people. You would not care to go along to los colonias of west Texas but  it is not because of "those" people living there but because of its staggering poverty and neglect. 

Yes People change 

u smell

Bai, that comment wasn't in response to your highlighted observation of my comment. It was in response to Danyael's comment about feeling safer in a black world.

I don't have any problem hearing your take-away of your experience in Compton.

u cite this:

"the many cases where black women were left to raise their children with no father present"

among other curious things as the "stuff" of your "experience" growing up . . . where/how did i misinterpret you?

But you miss the point. Oppression, racism, poverty, neglect etc all create pockets of despair. The point what is there today does not mean it will always be so because it is a consequence of "those" kinds of people. You would not care to go along to los colonias of west Texas but  it is not because of "those" people living there but because of its staggering poverty and neglect. 

Yes People change 

The cause is more complicated than the effect. When I decide not to wander aimlessly through South Central, I am not pondering the causes of that situation. I am thinking of the immediate effect. There is a reason why many were afraid of Albouystown, Tiger Bay, Riumveldt, some parts of La Penitence, etc. And that was under PNC government.

u cite this:

"the many cases where black women were left to raise their children with no father present"

among other curious things as the "stuff" of your "experience" growing up . . . where/how did i misinterpret you?

My bad. I cited that as a problem in the black community because even today, it is attributed to the ills in the black community.

Yes People change 

The cause is more complicated than the effect. When I decide not to wander aimlessly through South Central, I am not pondering the causes of that situation. I am thinking of the immediate effect. There is a reason why many were afraid of Albouystown, Tiger Bay, Riumveldt, some parts of La Penitence, etc. And that was under PNC government.

The hope is if you were a policy wonk you would be crafting policies to address the causes of the crime in the area not discounting the people as being "that" way because they are "that" way

u cite this:

My bad. I cited that as a problem in the black community because even today, it is attributed to the ills in the black community.

so basically . . . you were lying

Yes People change 

The hope is if you were a policy wonk you would be crafting policies to address the causes of the crime in the area not discounting the people as being "that" way because they are "that" way

Exactly. But I am not. The only thing I have at my disposal is the effect.

Yes People change 

no sir . . . that is for cockroaches

u supposedly have a high-functioning brain and some education, rite?

step up your game

u cite this:

No. You are getting caught up n semantics. That situation existed when I was a kid. I lived near Campbellville Housing Scheme and know of single mothers left to raise their children with no father around. I don't know if you have any knowledge of that housing scheme but for someone like myself living in a single family house in Prashad Nagar, it looked problematic to me. That area was one where I silently prayed as a kid as I go by everyday.

u cite this:

my goodness-wah the skont wrang wid yuh ppl. 

step up your game

While you may wish for me to focus on the cause, my comment was never about the cause but about the effect. To return to the beginning of the string of comments, danyael stated that he feel safer in the black world as opposed to the white one and indian one.

step up your game

While you may wish for me to focus on the cause, my comment was never about the cause but about the effect. To return to the beginning of the string of comments, danyael stated that he feel safer in the black world as opposed to the white one and indian one.

i don't "wish for [you] to focus" or any one thing or the other

i expect u to express yourself with basic intelligence, sans bigotry,  on a not very complicated subject . . . without scampman conflating and making things up!

u cite this:

my goodness-wah the skont wrang wid yuh ppl. 

bannuh, stay in yuh carna and wuk pan dem juju dolls

yuh Nigerian pastor calling fuh prayers to the fallen angel . . . g'wan

i expect u to express yourself with basic intelligence, sans bigotry,  on a not very complicated subject . . . without scampman conflating and making things up!

Nothing is made up there. It is factual that the most dangerous areas of Guyana were those with black concentrated communities. The article I posted concluded the same scenario for the US. Don't see where you see the conflation.

again dude, the only life "experience" u brought to the table was some blackman hold u up and tief yuh bike when u were a kid

u conflate this with stuff u read, and stuff people told u or accused Black people of as "experience" you had as a kid to embroider a spurious tale of Indian victimhood at the hands of dem other, uncivilized, dark people . . . . . . which is where i came in

and, Captain Obvious . . . why on earth would i waste time engaging u in some pointless discussion about white towns being safer than black ones, huh?

again dude, the only life "experience" u brought to the table was some blackman hold u up and tief yuh bike when u were a kid

u conflate this with stuff u read, and stuff people told u or accused Black people of as "experience" you had as a kid to embroider a spurious tale of Indian victimhood at the hands of dem other, uncivilized, dark people . . . . . . which is where i came in

and, Captain Obvious . . . why on earth would i waste time engaging u in some pointless discussion about white towns being safer than black ones, huh?

The problem my friend is that you got involved in a comment I made to Danyael regarding a comment he made. My response was perfect for his comment although I admit it wasn't for you since had no interest in parts of his comment. I list one example because I felt that one was enough. How many do you require from me.  It was not my intent to insult you or any other black person. While the sequence of this discussion may have deviated from my original comment, I intended only to post the obvious (since I am captain obvious) which is that those communities are more dangerous. You are, however, free to see it differently. 

Yes People change 

the pathology hence the dysfunctional effects are not the cause. 23 years of cries of marginalization and all the PPP did was let misir write a paper on how they are not marginalization. If your wife says she is unhappy with you pay attention and don't tell her how well you are doing because you are not the aggrieved party.

U speaking of the effect is recycling of the cause. It is reifying the idea that these are bad people everywhere and not the fact that they are discriminated against everywhere. Imagine the Dalits in India complaining that their destitution is unfair and the brahmins saying it is their fate their destiny because that is who they are. Well they did do that to our for eparents. And that continued for thousands of years.

We cannot commit the same crimes on others because we were historically kicked in the groin

the pathology hence the dysfunctional effects are not the cause. 23 years of cries of marginalization and all the PPP did was let misir write a paper on how they are not marginalization. If your wife says she is unhappy with you pay attention and don't tell her how well you are doing because you are not the aggrieved party.

U speaking of the effect is recycling of the cause. It is reifying the idea that these are bad people everywhere and not the fact that they are discriminated against everywhere. Imagine the Dalits in India complaining that their destitution is unfair and the brahmins saying it is their fate their destiny because that is who they are. Well they did do that to our for eparents. And that continued for thousands of years.

We cannot commit the same crimes on others because we were historically kicked in the groin

I don't disagree on the causes. However that is more complicated for a discussion board. The effects are easier to comment on and they are factual.

Likewise, the criminals should not be excused for committing crimes on others because they were historically kicked in the groin. While it may explain why they did it, it doesn't excuse it.

So your central thesis is that no Indo racism exists and only blacks and Portuguese are racist.

This even as you display raw and naked bigotry towards blacks.

The problem my friend is that you got involved in a comment I made to Danyael regarding a comment he made. My response was perfect for his comment although I admit it wasn't for you since had no interest in parts of his comment. I list one example because I felt that one was enough. How many do you require from me. It was not my intent to insult you or any other black person. While the sequence of this discussion may have deviated from my original comment, I intended only to post the obvious (since I am captain obvious) which is that those communities are more dangerous. You are, however, free to see it differently. 

stop your stupidness!

you cited 4 things u "experienced" as a kid conditioning you negatively towards black people . . . 3 of the 4 agenda-pushing received wisdom and irrelevance

the idea that prevarication is a situational tool is assinine and corrupt . . . despite what yugee, cobra and other 'ignorants' here think

further, you do not know me, and cannot possibly fathom what i would find as "insult"

"Captain Obvious" references you and the useless article u lean on whose "facts" no one is disputing

I don't disagree on the causes. However that is more complicated for a discussion board. The effects are easier to comment on and they are factual.

There can only be two source...pathology wrought of psychological injury or genes.