@Mitwah posted:

I used to like to spread it on bread, back in the days. It's too salty.

It was banned in Denmark and now also here.

Really? I just bought one. Anyway, I love dunking Marmite sandwich in my coffee, you should eat it everyday man.

I trying hard to get yall back.

So Wildflower and Amral, yall tell me what you doan like so I tell you how fo cook it.

Hey, I like marmite. I recently bought it at Walmart.
I knew someone who used to make β€˜tea’ with marmite and add milk,  also a fav in soup, on buttered crackers or toast.

I just boiled my cassava n breadfruit, kneaded dough for dumplings……will go to no frills in a bit ( forgot to get plantains)  

…….

cainMan, I don’t care for karaila even though I am growing it. Will eat almost all veg.  Don’t eat beef. Will eat almost all wild animals, I know.. you don’t eat meat or eggs ( most likely those were gander eggs)  Don’t care for red sauce on pizza or sweet peppers due to upset stomach.

I curry anything….green apples, egg, ochro, fiddle headsπŸ˜ƒ

W

I bet none of you ever tried Puffball. I first saw it where I live, it's a huge mushroom almost the size of a soccer ball, if you were to burst it it would emit a puff of white dust. It has a steak like texture.

Mits, Marmite and IrnBru (Scottish drink) were seized and it caused some confusion for those who consume them. Othero foods from a Saskatchewan store were also seized for some strange reason but those foods are not banned here.

I havin oral surgery tomorrow afternoon so no eating much through weekend, so I staying up an eat everything I could find. I opened a pkg of Maple smoked salmon an it jus about done. I had smash potato, steamed beets, corn an peas, vegetable patty an a bit of Jasmine rice, an pepper sauce.

VB if you see the amount of wild turkeys congregating where I am...I once counted forty just hanging around. My daughter saw a pic I took of it and remarked,  "Wow, lotsa sandwiches there"

Yesterday I saw a doe along with her fawn standing approx twenty feet from me, I turned to get my camera but they both bolted.

Hey Cain, good luck with your surgery. You should get some jello, soup and Ensure ready so you can have something to eat after.

Dem wild turkeys got to be hard.....wonder if they are edible?

My 14 yr old and 12 yr old grandsons are spending a week with us.....I forgot how much food growing boys want/need (my son is now 39 yrs old).  Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and 5 snacks in between......and at 10pm every night before they go to bed they want tea and arrowroot biscuits and if I let them they will eat a 'tube' each of the biscuits.  I buy all kinds of food stuff for them in bulk from Costco.

Villagebelle

hiya Deed

Turkey with shredded zuke? That’s definitely on my must do list! I have so much zucchinis that I am constantly asking people to take them.
Made fritters, noodles, cakes, stew, curry etc

wow, still can’t imagine your grandsons are so grown

lol at the amount of food they eat…growing  boys gotto eat

…………..

on the menu today, paratha roti with garden baji, fry aloo n maybe some corn on cob

W

My daughter is getting lots and lots of zucchini also and is passing on most of them to me.

I have made curry zucchini/chicken, zucchini noodles sauteed with garlic in olive oil for exactly 3 minutes (so yummy), shredded and added to turkey burgers and chicken meat balls, and so far 3 sets of zucchini bread/cake.....with chocolate chips as it's the only way the grands will eat it.

Plan to make zucchini Parmesan next.

Villagebelle

Deed, that’s very strange about the zucchinis and cukes…

I also have lots of acorn squashes which my son loves to roast with brown sugar, cinnamon n black pepper

Have a few butternut on vine, 2 pumpkins, some bora, butter bean- white and purple, bigan, peppers, tomatoes, herbs etc

we have grilled zukes with olive oil, black pepper and oregano

made Parmesan zuc n eggplant in same pan

of course, I ain’t Guyanese if I never curry zuc or stew it up😹

W

Cous cous is on my late night snack. VB, those turkeys are hunted around here, deer is also hunted, every now and again we hear shots. They come on the property here because no one goes after them, the hunting boundary stops across the road from us.

Well Wildflower, tomorrow we'll be picking up some fish cakes, cassava pone and the family grabbing some chicken curry and roti from a Guyanese lady who goes to the Lindsay market during summer. It's not bad, takes the edge off when my mouth start feeling like ole time foods.

@cain posted:

[]

Well Wildflower, tomorrow we'll be picking up some fish cakes, cassava pone and the family grabbing some chicken curry and roti from a Guyanese lady who goes to the Lindsay market during summer. It's not bad, takes the edge off when my mouth start feeling like ole time foods.

So tell all a we how all dat back home kinda food taste nuh

planning to make some cassava pone soon

i got this giant tomato in my garden so now going to roast it up and make some roti to with tomato choka

also got some of those round eggplants, may add some eddoes and make a curry

Whats cooking everybody?

W

You know, I have not made kalounji in more than 7 yrs. some things I only cooked because my beloved enjoyed it. I no longer put steamed karaila in fish curry nor curry chunks of it with shrimps.

I got some very big karaila, from my one vine, which I promptly gave to my mom. Since she lives alone, she will cook it and share with me and my cousin. I will keep the vine to make tea.

Today I fried up some tomato with chives, basil n tiny pc Trinidad scorpion pepper then cracked few eggs and stir in …with roti for brunch.

I have some ghost, scorpion,chilli, jalapeΓ±o, one bird pepper and one habanero plants growing. Got lots of chilli, 2 ghost and 1 scorpion so far. The plants have lots and I am hoping they will start to ripen. Not sure when to pick jalapeΓ±o.

will make some veggie fry rice with mushrooms n bora so I have for tomorrow also will make fry bigan with tomatoes n potatoes all from garden 

W