Well about the calaloo, my mom wants some and while out with my granddaughter strolling the neighbourhood I met someone from Vergenoegen and they want some....thankfully I don’t have to compost.

Stop by anytime u come to civilization before end of summer

W
@Wildflower posted:

That blasted Evelyn and she ice rice😂😂

in 1983 I met a very handsome young man who became my one true love...that man said he not eating “fridge food” 🙄 I was ok with that, caz I come from a very poor family who did not even have a fridge.
eh eh, near 5 yrs later we got our first child and when she was 16mths old I got my first real job in this beautiful country ( let’s not talk about them other factory jobs) Well not long after I started to work I see that same young man cooking and putting food in fridge😙 and he was a darn good cook. Almost 10yrs after we met, we got our second child....by then my not so young man was eating food that was 3-4 days in fridge. Just a bit over 15 yrs after we met we had our third child ( wow, I only just realized this) and by then my not so young man was eating anything from the fridge as long as it smell good. Thirty years later, he would say let’s cook  one day so that we have enough for almost all week🙁 He was the best ever .... not that he was perfect just that I am thankful for all that he was 💔

Veronica keep waiting for me to make good on my threats of cooking meh own food. I goan surprise her, she thinks I can't cook. Maybe, we will cook together, that is a nice thing to do.

@seignet posted:

Veronica keep waiting for me to make good on my threats of cooking meh own food. I goan surprise her, she thinks I can't cook. Maybe, we will cook together, that is a nice thing to do.

I used to know 2 Veronicas....one iin Archie comics and one from blind making place in Toronto

Mr Seigz I hope u surprise her and cook some nice food

W
@Amral posted:

I made dha on Sunday  for the first time in my life.

Turned out ok, I give myself a B-

On the other hand my cooking skills have improved

I assume you mean "Dhaal". Were you able to chonkay wid the jeerah?

Amral probably used Cainsta method. Chop up the onion, added garlic,curry powder, geera, chonkay it all then throw in a can of split pea soup...dhall tarasss.

@cain posted:

Amral probably used Cainsta method. Chop up the onion, added garlic,curry powder, geera, chonkay it all then throw in a can of split pea soup...dhall tarasss.

Hmmmm, that’s genius. I would do that if it was only for me. My kids rarely eat dhal but my son-in-law and my son’s gf loves my dhal and so does my mother.

on the menu today is bigan choka with sada roti and some left over baji.  

W
@Wildflower posted:

More calaloo and some zucchini plus fry ripe plantain mmmm

I grow poi in the ground and containers and let them climb. I harvest only the leaves. I tried growing calaloo but it brought too many aphids.

@Mitwah posted:

I grow poi in the ground and containers and let them climb. I harvest only the leaves. I tried growing calaloo but it brought too many aphids.

I was growing poi in ground for many yrs but from last yr I noticed that either slugs or earwigs are making sieves out of the leaves of poi, mustard and pak choy. Poi is now in an old laundry sink that we put some holes in😀

calaloo grows wild for May and June, in July the white flies comes so by then I usually haul out most or cut short. This yr was the best…maybe 40 lbs or more. I was cutting by the 5 gal bucket for friends and fam. I think the rain was what made it so abundant

W
@Wildflower posted:

I was growing poi in ground for many yrs but from last yr I noticed that either slugs or earwigs are making sieves out of the leaves of poi, mustard and pak choy. Poi is now in an old laundry sink that we put some holes in😀

calaloo grows wild for May and June, in July the white flies comes so by then I usually haul out most or cut short. This yr was the best…maybe 40 lbs or more. I was cutting by the 5 gal bucket for friends and fam. I think the rain was what made it so abundant

I would mix some Dawn detergent in my water can and water the plants to control the earwigs and other insects. I use beer traps to kill the slugs. There are lots of videos on YouTube about how to control the slugs and other insects. I noticed some Japanese Beetles on my cucumber plants. I added some cooking oil to the Dawn mix and it seems to have done the job.

@Wildflower posted:

That blasted Evelyn and she ice rice😂😂

in 1983 I met a very handsome young man who became my one true love...that man said he not eating “fridge food” 🙄 I was ok with that, caz I come from a very poor family who did not even have a fridge.
eh eh, near 5 yrs later we got our first child and when she was 16mths old I got my first real job in this beautiful country ( let’s not talk about them other factory jobs) Well not long after I started to work I see that same young man cooking and putting food in fridge😙 and he was a darn good cook. Almost 10yrs after we met, we got our second child....by then my not so young man was eating food that was 3-4 days in fridge. Just a bit over 15 yrs after we met we had our third child ( wow, I only just realized this) and by then my not so young man was eating anything from the fridge as long as it smell good. Thirty years later, he would say let’s cook  one day so that we have enough for almost all week🙁 He was the best ever .... not that he was perfect just that I am thankful for all that he was 💔

Nice story about my bro. We used to bring our lunch to school and eat together.

Sunil

Today I read on gni that Amral making cookup 😋so guess what I cooked😃😋

I made a big pot cookup with some venison ( compliments of my in home hunter) and I also Bounjal  some venison. I shared with my mom, my daughter and my neighbour.

W

I had me some Marmite on toast with a cup of Red Rose tea. Just before that it was Chinese. I had 🍤 chow mein, mushroom fried rice, egglessroll an a fortune 🍪. My fortune had something fo do with memory but ten seconds after reading it I forgot what it was about. I must be getting worse because back in the ole days Iman use fo read something and remember it way longer than that, it was bout half a minute.

@cain posted:

I'm trying to find a good recipe for jackfruit. I tried it before but it was quite salted because of the BBQ sauce used.

Jackfruit?where did u get that??
I’ve only had it curried…katahar, some folks call it old cloth😳

W

Sister in law got it here, apparently a woman has a stall in town and she also just opened a vegan spot in Lindsay. It can be found canned in some stores.

Yeh right, dis is a white oman we talkin bout here,  she like trying various foods so she bought this all cooked up at a weekend Market this neck of the woods. It looks a bit like that ..ugh! Pulled pork..double ugh! Is how they come up with a name like this eh?

Cainstah, wha ‘appen dude, u never pulled poke? 😳😂

my son has a smoker and cooks a lot of stuff on it…when he makes pulled pork it’s at least 15lbs or so…it takes all day so he does lots to vacuum seal and freeze, share with neighbours etc

katahar is delish…I’ve only had it curried with coconut milk. I love the nuts curried mmmmm.  I have not cooked it in more than 7 yrs…same with Karaila curry ( kalounjee) those were foods I cooked for my lover.

………

Today on the menu, left over dhal, rice and fry perch n walleye. I also dry bounjal some Chkn gizzard, heart and liver as special request, zucchini with salt fish n tomatoes to share with neighbours.

no  cooking tomorrow!

W
Last edited by Wildflower

In a few weeks I making salfish stew to take to an all weekend get together. Ohhh me muuma, I dunno bout chicken gizzard..an heart..owww man..an liver..yikes! .You does bounjal up the pope's nose too?

@cain posted:

In a few weeks I making salfish stew to take to an all weekend get together. Ohhh me muuma, I dunno bout chicken gizzard..an heart..owww man..an liver..yikes! .You does bounjal up the pope's nose too?

Goat or sheep liver and heart are better for the pachownie.

@Mitwah posted:

Agreed…yummmmmm  

Wish I could find some of that in my neighbourhood. Problem is my ppl dem don’t eat dis and dat…one don’t eat sheep at all but I would make it for me and my son

W
@cain posted:

No pope’s nose but I’ve heard that a delicacy is  bull’s ….aaah never mind 😂

I bought a breadfruit yesterday, will boil n fry that tomorrow with some half ripe plantains, dumplings and have with stew salt fish

W
@Wildflower posted:

No pope’s nose but I’ve heard that a delicacy is  bull’s ….aaah never mind 😂

I bought a breadfruit yesterday, will boil n fry that tomorrow with some half ripe plantains, dumplings and have with stew salt fish

Should try making metemjee with Duff....shrimp and fried Banga on the side.

@Wildflower posted:

Agreed…yummmmmm  

Wish I could find some of that in my neighbourhood. Problem is my ppl dem don’t eat dis and dat…one don’t eat sheep at all but I would make it for me and my son

I get it from a Sri Lankan store near to me. They Bring it on Fridays.

@Mitwah posted:

You and Wildone deh trying fo get me all irated up nuh with all that organs talk (and so on). Now BangaMary is more my speed, I don't think I ever had Pachownie...probably something fo do with chicken lips (an so on).

I tried the new Indian restaurant in town here, I had vegetable pakoras, a rice pilaf with curry, and got some chicken curry for the rest. Their curry got nuff nuff oil and it red, wasn't a bad scoff. I woulda much preferred Wildflower salfish stew (without the hegg) though.

@cain posted:

You and Wildone deh trying fo get me all irated up nuh with all that organs talk [] I don't think I ever had Pachownie...probably something fo do with chicken lips (an so on).

[] I woulda much preferred Wildflower salfish stew (without the hegg) though.

2 things dude…pachownie is made with lots of masala, tons of pepper and

…sheep guts, heart, liver, lite😋

U don’t eat eggs? I don’t put egg in salt fish n tomatoes just thyme, lots of onion, chives and pepper

W
@Mitwah posted:

Should try making metemjee with Duff....shrimp and fried Banga on the side.

I’ve never made metem! My hubby used to make or my mom. My son loves it with any seafood or no fish/ meat

i do enjoy fry Bangamary with West Indian loaf n pepper sauce

cainstah next time u come this way I will make some fish

W

When my wife was alive she use to cook either sheep brain or cow brain for me. Cannot remember which one it was. But the damn thing use to taste great with hot pepper and a roti.

On another note. Cain try shishkaboob bull balls with peppers and onions. That is great after a few beers. You will never think is bull balls you munching on.

Stopped over by Lin Garden today to get some food. Learnt that they will be moving in a year time. The plaza will be converted to condos.

Amral

I starting to not like y'all backsides, I gettin ganged up on, with talk of  cow butt, sheep brain now, Ohhh me Mumma.

No Cham, I don't eat egg. I used to love it but I once boiled a couple and had em in a sandwich, next day I went to fry a couple, the had brown spots in the yolks looked like pebbles, it didn't seem to be blood, I cracked a few more, same thing, I got grossed out and never ate egg since. This happened about ten years ago.