What is the contradiction in being both? And why does an assertion of a Guyanese identity come with a denial of one's Indian identity.

I almost never ever see or hear Blacks do this nonsense. It is my conclusion that this is done by some who have some inferiority complex and feel a need to be liked and who wish to distance themselves from Indians.

It is quite sad and pathetic for a people to deny their identity. Especially one hallowed by thousands of years of history.

If there is ever a sentence which explains why I don't trust Moses Nagamootoo the politician is his statement "I am not an Indian."

He comes from this vein of Indian self-hatred born in the 1960s and 1970s when some of our uneducated and unsophisticated coolies could not meet our Afro-Saxons on a level of perceived equality and as well wanted to be honorary members of the Black Power Movement.

What is the contradiction in being both? And why does an assertion of a Guyanese identity come with a denial of one's Indian identity.

I almost never ever see or hear Blacks do this nonsense. It is my conclusion that this is done by some who have some inferiority complex and feel a need to be liked and who wish to distance themselves from Indians.

It is quite sad and pathetic for a people to deny their identity. Especially one hallowed by thousands of years of history.

If there is ever a sentence which explains why I don't trust Moses Nagamootoo the politician is his statement "I am not an Indian."

He comes from this vein of Indian self-hatred born in the 1960s and 1970s when some of our uneducated and unsophisticated coolies could not meet our Afro-Saxons on a level of perceived equality and as well wanted to be honorary members of the Black Power Movement.

give it a ress man.

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

give it a ress man.

Are you another one of dem "I'm not Indian, I'm Guyanese" coolies?

Yes!!!! I am more black than you..more white than D2 and more interesting than Cain! 

Watch the opposition crew come after you...but no worries Neru is on your side! LOL

Dude, my grand mother was a madrasse and of the nice hue of smooth soot. I am a little bit to the milk than chocolate of Farouk....and that dude almost got my grand mother beat! 

Yes!!!! I am more black than you..more white than D2 and more interesting than Cain! 

Watch the opposition crew come after you...but no worries Neru is on your side! LOL

Dude, my grand mother was a madrasse and of the nice hue of smooth soot. I am a little bit to the milk than chocolate of Farouk....and that dude almost got my grand mother beat! 

I am incredibly black of hue because my mother is black of hue. What of it?

alright..while you guys are discussing..I am going out for a bike ride since it is a great day in nth Toronto.... not sure why I am sharing but it is one of those kinds of days...

over and out!

You asking the wrong person.

alright..while you guys are discussing..I am going out for a bike ride since it is a great day in nth Toronto.... not sure why I am sharing but it is one of those kinds of days...

over and out!

I just came back. The rain chased me out of the woods.

I will assume then you just mentioned me as the point of reference for the simple reason that my mug is plastered all over GNI.

As I should since one locates the familiar to plant a comparison ( the unknown) firmly.

I am not Indian. I am a Guyana-born coolie.

Spoken like a true child of Jagan and ayuh white goddess. This is precisely why ya'll are viewed with such suspicion among Indos.

No one in Guyana thinks they are an Indian citizen or national or wants to become one. However, we have a unique "Indian" identity that shares the word of description "Indian." By popular acclamation we say "Indian" and we all know what we mean.

Spoken like a true child of Jagan and ayuh white goddess. This is precisely why ya'll are viewed with such suspicion among Indos.

No one in Guyana thinks they are an Indian citizen or national or wants to become one. However, we have a unique "Indian" identity that shares the word of description "Indian." By popular acclamation we say "Indian" and we all know what we mean.

I really thought I was on safe ground.

Lemme mek another try: I am not Indian. I am Indo-Guyanese.

Howzat?

Shaitan....Do you know how Real & Original Indians from India think about anyone who left India and live Overseas????

Our identity is in no way tied to the opinions of others. That you think their opinion counts is part of the problem.

And yes I am acquainted with "real and original Indians from India." The low classes who form the bulk are in the business of thinking that Guyanese Indians are some form of inferior. They didn't count in India and they still don't count.

The educated elite type NRIs (the ones whose company I prefer) marvel at how a population of Indians from 19th century India managed to maintain and adapt some much of their Indian heritage to still be recognizably Indian almost two centuries later.

I really thought I was on safe ground.

Lemme mek another try: I am not Indian. I am Indo-Guyanese.

Howzat?

LOL

Lemme be lil mo specific. One should de-link the affirmation of one identity with the denial of another.

So one should just be able to say "I'm Guyanese" or "I'm Indo-Guyanese" or "I'm Indian." The latter is used principally for brevity among Indians because we're all Guyanese.

I'm unaware that a Guyanese Black person thinks he's denying his Guyanese identity when he or she says "I'm Black." They making a specific remark in a specific context.

Have you ever ever heard Guyanese Blacks say: "I'm not Black. I'm Guyanese"

Guyanese Indians and Blacks do not need to "prove" their loyalties. I don't know why Moses et al needs to "prove" himself. It harkens back to a colonial and immediately post-colonial era where the majority of Indians existed outside of the official hierarchy and some of the non-Indo-Saxon Indians had an inferiority complex in a Georgetown culture which associated all things "Indian" with backwardness.

Fortunately, I come from a Berbician family that actually looked down on life in Georgetown as some giant open-air orgy to be avoided except for brief visits.

Shaitan you served in Afganistan....

All those Millions of People

Originally from India Living in Afganistan ....

will tell you they are Afganistani.

And they are Correct

Originally from Indian Living in Pakistan ....

will tell you they are Pakistani.

And they are Correct

Originally from India Living in Punjab ....

will tell you they are Punjabi.

And they are Correct

Originally from India..... Living in Bangaladesh ....

will tell you they are Bangladeshi.

And they are Correct

Originally from India, Pakistan, Punjab, Bangladesh...

Who now Living in South Africa ....

will tell you they are South Africans.

And they are Correct

Originally from India, Pakistan, Punjab, Bangladesh...

Who Now Living England ....

will tell you they are English.

And they are Correct

Originally from India, Pakistan, Punjab, Bangladesh...

Who now Living in Canada ....

will tell you they are Canadians.

And they are Correct

Who now Living in America ....

will tell you they are Americans.

And they are Correct....

All those thousands of People

Who now Living in Guyana, Trinidad & West Indies ....

will tell you they are Guyanese, Trinidadian & West Indian.

And they are Correct....

People of Indian Origin ....and....

People of India (Indians)

are not the same.

Shaitan.......when you went to Afganistan

were you an Indian fighting your Crazy Brothers...

Or were you a Proud American fighting the Crazy Afgani-Taliban.

Or were they Indian Taliban????

I'm an American by nationality and citizenship.

I'm Guyanese by birth and descent. (soil and blood)

I'm ethnically Indian. ("Indian" being shorthand for a Guyanese subgroup known as Indian")

I'm racially Indian. (Despite a few drops of non-Indian blood in my veins, I am 100% Indian in appearance and further conform to the Indian gene pool)

It is not usual to assert one identity by denying another. No one thinks an "Indian" in or from Guyana is some citizen or national of India. We know what we mean by the word "Indian" and so do other people.

I only feel the need to clarify that "I'm not Indian" as in directly from India when I speak to Americans or other foreigners.

The connotation here is when used among Guyanese and among Indian nationals who clearly know that they're talking to a Guyanese Indian, it is an odd thing to say "I'm not Indian. I'm Guyanese."

"I'm not white. I'm American." is never uttered.

"I'm not Black. I'm American" is never uttered.

The fact is that the word "Indian" speaks to a race, an ethnicity with myriad subgroups, and a national citizenship.

Even if all Guyanese Indians all of a sudden adopted British names, Anglicanisn, and British manners, and British foods and customs exclusively, we would still be raciallly "Indian" and the word would still apply.

Chinese people constituting a race will always be "Chinese" no matter how long they are out of China. Similarly Indians. We will be 'Indian" for as long as we have some predominant Indian blood in our veins.

To the contrary.  Many upper middle class blacks living in the Caribbean are uncomfortable with too much discussion around "blackness".  Just raise that topic with people like Granger or Trotman and you can see that their stomachs twist.  Granger can talk about what APNU AFC plans to do about Amerindians.  Linden (black people) he cannot talk.

I really do think that Nagamootoo is a victim of PPP race hysteria.  The man received an honor in INDIA, from the GOPIO.  He said that he is a Guyanese, and not Indian.  He meant to convey that his primary allegiances are to the country of Guyana.  He does acknowledge himself to be a Guyanese of Indian ancestry.  Nagamootoo is quite clear that his NATIONALITY (Guyanese) trumps his ETHNICITY (Indian).

Nagamootoo has a challenge and that is if he purports to be a national leader, and yet has as his primary identity his Indian ethnicity, understandably the 60% of the population (including those too young to vote) understandably will not trust him to be objective.  So he asserts a Guyanese role.

I really don't know what is wrong with that, and it is probably for the same reason that Trotman claims to be mixed, and Granger doesn't speak to specific Afro Guyanese issues. 

Look at how Nigel Hughes, who does speak to Afro Guyanese issues, often in terms of the pathologies which exist within segments of this community, is maligned in some quarters as being a racist. 

I see many Indians crawling up to whites.  Don't see that many ingratiating themselves to blacks.  Given that blacks in Guyana and in Trinidad have seen a sharp decline in their relative socio economic position, as the private sector has become the main engine in those societies, it is more often possible to see blacks ingratiating themselves to non blacks. 

LOL

Lemme be lil mo specific. One should de-link the affirmation of one identity with the denial of another.

So one should just be able to say "I'm Guyanese" or "I'm Indo-Guyanese" or "I'm Indian." The latter is used principally for brevity among Indians because we're all Guyanese.

I'm unaware that a Guyanese Black person thinks he's denying his Guyanese identity when he or she says "I'm Black." They making a specific remark in a specific context.

Guyanese Indians and Blacks do not need to "prove" their loyalties. I don't know why Moses et al needs to "prove" himself. It harkens back to a colonial and immediately post-colonial era where the majority of Indians existed outside of the official hierarchy and some of the non-Indo-Saxon Indians had an inferiority complex in a Georgetown culture which associated all things "Indian" with backwardness.

Fortunately, I come from a Berbician family that actually looked down on life in Georgetown as some giant open-air orgy to be avoided except for brief visits.

You will note that most Afro Guyanese use the term "black" rather than "African" as a descriptor.  So clearly there is no confusion between their ethnicity (black), and their nationality (Guyanese).

We had a lengthy just discussion about the fact that many Indo Guyanese see themselves as a separate nation existing within the boundaries of Guyana, so to them being "Guyanese" just connotes citizenship and place of birth. And that being "Guyanese" doesn't imply membership within a multi cultural society where very strong ties bind all groups, even as they assert their cultural identities.  To many that appears too much like the "creolization" which they claimed that Eric Williams and Forbes Burnham used to attempt to "control" their Indian populations.

Nagamootoo knows that in a nation where Indians are a MINORITY, albeit the largest minority group, it is not viable for any politician, or civic leader to assert an Indianness which doesn't operate within and is subsumed by a multicultural identity. 

There are very few Afro Guyanese who view Africa as anything other than their ancestral lands, and indeed a good many of them distance themselves from any connection to contemporary Africa, asserting a Caribbean cultural identity.

So don't compare black and Indian self identity. Its like chalk and cheese.

Now to me Suriname, Guyana, and Trinidad are far more interesting societies than is an island like Barbados.  This because there are many cultures existing.  Because the populations tend to operate within the contexts of these multiple cultures, even if the xenophobes like Ravi Dev and Sat Maharaj of Trinidad deny this.  And that out of these interactions very interesting polyglot cultures emerge. 

But some prefer a nation with bantustans, where each group remains walled off, so they can pretend "purity".

Shaitaan is fullah (no pun intended) shit

he is making the Hindutva argument which is a nationalist one rooted in INDIA (the modern nation) and Hinduism

"Indian" was never a 'race' in the nomenclature commonly used to classify broad phenotypical categories subdividing humanity

it is a vernacular term used loosely to describe the Indo-Aryan peoples of the great British "Indian" empire of the 19th Century

there is a very good reason the term "South Asian" has emerged today to describe the peoples of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka

i don't know any Afghan, Pakistani or Sri Lankan "coolies" who describe themselves as "Indian"

i'm sure we all understand why

Shaitan....without carrying me on a Tour of India (not today....but one day I would like to Visit)......

If Ameer Khan lef Pakistan....and go take up Residence and become a Citizen in Guyana.....are his 4 Children..... Bibi Khan, Sharuk Khan, Rosemary Khan & Errol Khan..... Guyanese, Indian or Pakistani?

Citizenship/Nationality: Guyanese

Race: Indian Subcontinent (shorthand "Indian")

Shaitan....without carrying me on a Tour of India (not today....but one day I would like to Visit)......

If Ameer Khan lef Pakistan....and go take up Residence and become a Citizen in Guyana.....are his 4 Children..... Bibi Khan, Sharuk Khan, Rosemary Khan & Errol Khan..... Guyanese, Indian or Pakistani?

what nonsense

LOL

You will note that most Afro Guyanese use the term "black" rather than "African" as a descriptor.  So clearly there is no confusion between their ethnicity (black), and their nationality (Guyanese).

We had a lengthy just discussion about the fact that many Indo Guyanese see themselves as a separate nation existing within the boundaries of Guyana, so to them being "Guyanese" just connotes citizenship and place of birth. And that being "Guyanese" doesn't imply membership within a multi cultural society where very strong ties bind all groups, even as they assert their cultural identities.  To many that appears too much like the "creolization" which they claimed that Eric Williams and Forbes Burnham used to attempt to "control" their Indian populations.

Nagamootoo knows that in a nation where Indians are a MINORITY, albeit the largest minority group, it is not viable for any politician, or civic leader to assert an Indianness which doesn't operate within in and is subsumed by a multicultural identity. 

There are very few Afro Guyanese who view Africa as anything other than their ancestral lands, and indeed a good many of them distance themselves from any connection to contemporary Africa, asserting a Caribbean cultural identity.

So don't compare black and Indian self identity. Its like chalk and cheese.

Now to me Suriname, Guyana, and Trinidad are far more interesting societies than is an island like Barbados.  This because there are many cultures existing.  Because the populations tend to operate within the contexts of these multiple cultures, even if the xenophobes like Ravi Dev and Sat Maharaj of Trinidad deny this.  And that out of these interactions very interesting polyglot cultures emerge. 

But some prefer a nation with bantustans, where each group remains walled off, so they can pretend "purity".

"J" is de man...

tel dem meh Brother.....

you are a Guyanese....

not a Black-man....

Leh abee Bury da Coolie & Blackman talk

and Vote for De AFC- APNU GUYANESE Alliance

If CaribJ thinking like da

we gon Clean up.....

New Govt.... 45 Seats minimum

Them is south American fo sure

ball

nothing wrong with using "Indian" as shorthand for those of us with ancestral links to the sub-continent, but let's not get carried away with foolishness because someone like Moses Nagamootoo chooses to educate and not don the garb of abee nouveau nationalist "hard Indian" . . . shaitaan style

Thank God Indians have people like you to explain to us who and what we are and who and what we ain't. Where would coolie people be without the wisdom of non-coolies to determine and further interpret our identity for us?

nothing wrong with using "Indian" as shorthand for those of us with ancestral links to the sub-continent, but let's not get carried away with foolishness because someone like Moses Nagamootoo chooses to educate and not don the garb of abee nouveau nationalist "hard Indian" . . . shaitaan style

Thank God Indians have people like you to explain to us who and what we are and who and what we ain't. Where would coolie people be without the wisdom of non-coolies to determine and further interpret our identity for us?

u have no idea who i am or who my ancestors are, punk

one half of my family traces back to British India . . . who da f**k died and made a klown like u spokesperson for Indo-Guyanese?

what nonsense

Amer Khan Brother wife Hazra..... Na want She husband Mohamed Khan go Guyana and Live.....She want wear Dem Shine Shalwar and nuff Bangle right in Karachi.

Who is Hazra & Mohamed....

Pakistani or Indian

Who is Pakistani?

https://search.yahoo.com/yhs/s...la&hsimp=yhs-003

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pakistani_people

Pakistani people (Urdu: ŲūاŲƒŲØģ؊اŲ†Ų‰ Ų‚ŲˆŲ…‎; Pakistani Qaum) are the people who are citizens of the modern State of Pakistan
and their descendants.

Pakistan is a multi-ethnic and multilingual
state, and its people are predominantly Indo-Iranian both ethnically and
linguistically, varying between predominantly Indo-Aryan and of Iranian subgroups.[3][4] As of 2011, the estimated population of Pakistan was over 187 million[5][6] making it the world's sixth most-populous country.

Are Pakistani Girls the same as Indian Girls, or Arab Girls......NO

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

"To appease the blacks, Moses had to deny that he is an Indian.  

in order to fit in with the blacks Moses has to cuss down the Indian people."

Moses has done no such thing. Moses wants every done to make progress.  A hole in the boat is a hole in the whole boat.

While I'm willing to give Moses the benefit of the doubt here to a significant degree.

The statement "I'm not Indian. I'm Guyanese" is not taken well. He makes himself look foolish. It's only heroic to those who think that "Indian" and "Guyanese" are somehow incompatible and that Indians bear some burden to disassociate ourselves from the word "Indian" in order to be Guyanese.

Well chap. That ain't gonna happen. We is Indian and we is Guyanese. And who doan like it can take some Buckleys...good fuh cold and fuh caff.

u have no idea who i am or who my ancestors are, punk

one half of my family traces back to British India . . . who da f**k died and made a klown like u spokesperson for Indo-Guyanese?

Well Bhai Redux,

You obviously do not self-identify as "Indian" so it's not your problem. Leave dem "Indians" in Guyana to sort out their identity.

Sincerely,

Shri/Herr/Mr. Shaitaan

Indian

Guyanese

American