...who claimed they love Guyana and want to spend their golden age in Guyana paradise? They dream to have a big house with a big yard. They have dreams to relive them young days to ride donkey, peddle bicycle and chew cane. I dream to be DG neighbor to kack meh foot on top meh viranda and gyaff about birds, sakawinki and sweetman life. Owe Gaad, abee dreams shattered like a broken guglet. Granger and Jagdeo give abee bucket with holes and basket to fetch water.   

God bless Trump to rescue me and Nehru. I heard NYC will replace the Statue of Liberty with Trump holding two punanis in his hands to welcome the Pope.      God bless America and long live the miserable, old bag in England.  

Met an older guy yesterday in NY,came to the US in 1983.He is back in Guyana,i asked him how is to be back,he mentioned is what you want in life.He is from Canje.

In a few years from now,i am thinking of spending some time there.

Let me know when you plan on going. I will meet you at the airport and take you straight to Canje madhouse. Maybe because of overcrowding someone can escape and you can take his/her place.

Met an older guy yesterday in NY,came to the US in 1983.He is back in Guyana,i asked him how is to be back,he mentioned is what you want in life.He is from Canje.

Let me know when you plan on going. I will meet you at the airport and take you straight to Canje madhouse. Maybe because of overcrowding someone can escape and you can take his/her place.

Every year my brother and his wife spends the Winter there.

Older Guyanese no longer feel safe to return to Guyana given the crime situation. There has also been a grinding halt of foreign based Guyanese building properties in Guyana since the PNC took over in fear of what they experienced in the past. Most of them see that fear as a reality now that the PNC has shown that they will never change.

😁😁😁😁😁😁😁No offense Django.. this one made me Laff.

alena06 posted:

😁😁😁😁😁😁😁No offense Django.. this one made me Laff.

Skelly have wan little edge,i doan bother with him.

U is a real klown bai. Lol.

Sheik, doan be so harsh with Skelly, he recommending de place, because he knows the great accommodation from personal experience.

I just returned from GY. Skelly, 63 beach is nice and clean, but people still throw dem garbage and MT bottles on the ground.

The place is tense and caution is still required, but I know of three families returning to live. One building a house at Diamond and another moved to Meten-Meer-Zorg. Even at Albion people returned to build big houses, or buy existing ones.

Who eva used to live at Hague and CI, dat is the cleanest part of Guyana.  

Tola posted:

Sheik, doan be so harsh with Skelly, he recommending de place, because he knows the great accommodation from personal experience.

I just returned from GY. Skelly, 63 beach is nice and clean, but people still throw dem garbage and MT bottles on the ground.

The place is tense and caution is still required, but I know of three families returning to live. One building a house at Diamond and another moved to Meten-Meer-Zorg. Even at Albion people returned to build big houses, or buy existing ones.

I laugh at myself first before I laugh at or with other people. I am not all bothered by labels.
As for cleanliness, most of the rural areas in Guyana are clean. The dirtiest place in Corriverton is the market area and trenches.DSC_0148

• DSC_0148

Skelly, I was shocked to see how dirty the trench by the Skeldon Market was during my last visit.  The town council office is nearby but still they seem not to care.

Down the coast where I am from is still clean. That too might change over time. 

Guyanese need to stop littering. 

Tola posted:

I laugh at myself first before I laugh at or with other people. I am not all bothered by labels.
As for cleanliness, most of the rural areas in Guyana are clean. The dirtiest place in Corriverton is the market area and trenches.DSC_0148

That's a relatively clean trench, pass by Stabroek Market after a rain fall, the filth and horrible smell will kill you.

Skelly, I was shocked to see how dirty the trench by the Skeldon Market was during my last visit.  The town council office is nearby but still they seem not to care.

Down the coast where I am from is still clean. That too might change over time. 

Guyanaes need to stop littering. 

It was definitely an eyesore.

Chronic & persistent littering has become part of Guyanese culture. It is far easier to change the Constitution than to change that culture. But it seems that people change their attitude to littering when they emigrate to cleaner countries. And when they revisit Guyana the eyesore & stench immediately stun them.

In all seriousness, what alternatives do they have. Are there scheduled garbage pickups by the various municipalities? Are there designated areas for garbage? Regarding the above, do you think their attitudes would have changed if they were in a similar situation like Guyana?

Tola posted:

No man. Not harsh at all. Is how Skelly said it. Had to laugh bai. Ah wonder if Django change e mind.

Agreed. Remember during the campaign the whole place got cleaned up. All the trenches, garbage dump etc. Now its back to square one. Oftentimes the Govt. gets the blame. But its the people. They just Dont care. I had said  this one time before, give a fine when people are caught littering. But who will enforce this?.

Provide alternatives. Garbage cans, regular pick-ups etc. and have the local constabulary enforce littering laws.

This looks good on paper, GT. No doubt about it. But here's the story. Who's doing this regular pick up? The people u may assign this task to, will do so when they damn well please. Enforcement of littering laws by the constabulary. U and I and everybody else know that no policing entity in Guyana enforces anything unless its beneficial to them. And about these garbage cans. Quick sale. This problem rests with the people. They need to learn how to clean up after themselves. Not throw a styrofoam container with left over food out of a moving minibus.

I know it's easier said than done. Not a problem that can be solved overnight.

No man. Not harsh at all. Is how Skelly said it. Had to laugh bai. Ah wonder if Django change e mind.

Bhai Sheik,i haven't changed my mind,house there just need little spruce up.I man can blend with people all walks of life,been like that since growing up.

Tola mentioned the cleanliness of our area,the residents have been doing that for ages,now they have garbage collections.

In all seriousness, what alternatives do they have. Are there scheduled garbage pickups by the various municipalities? Are there designated areas for garbage? Regarding the above, do you think their attitudes would have changed if they were in a similar situation like Guyana?

Uitvlugt didn't have garbage collection, so we burned our garbage in our backyard. Whenever I commuted to work I placed crumpled sweetie and chewing gum wrappers in my cigarette packet and disposed of the packet at home, workplace or public garbage bin. Yes, during Burnham time there were garbage bins along Water Street. During the two decades I lived in GT-Kitty I didn't litter the streets. I learned that habit from cultured coworkers & acquaintances. It was easy for me to adjust in Canada, always keeping my litter in my shoulder bag until I spot a garbage bin. In Guyana I never threw refuse out of car, bus, boat & train windows.

But you put out your cigarette by mashing it and leaving it on the ground.

No Mars. I smoked indoors at home, work, restaurants etc where there were ashtrays. Never smoked on the street. I chewed gum and sucked sweets on the street.

Bhai Sheik,i haven't changed my mind,house there just need little spruce up.I man can blend with people all walks of life,been like that since growing up.

Tola mentioned the cleanliness of our area,the residents have been doing that for ages,now they have garbage collections.

I hear yuh. Nice place. Im there twice yearly. Love that country. Dont mind my asking, are u in the country area or GT?

Country,WCD.

Ok. Kool