WHAT ETHNIC CLEANSING?

Aug 28, 2016 AFC Column, Features / Columnists 0 Comments

We believe that Guyanese people in general are tired of the cesspool of racism that the PPP continues to stir no matter how distasteful people find it. This is just one more thing that distracts the government from focusing 100 percent of our time on nation building.
The PPP just keeps on doing what they do best – play the role of the agent provocateur, throw up road blocks, distract people’s attention from their opportunities for personal growth, lie, report on situations with that special Machiavellian twist, propagandise to save face, and accuse this government of practicing ethnic cleansing.

People’s memories are not that short, and 1992 was not so long ago!
The very necessary process of examining public servants to test their suitability for the posts they hold is still in progress and the public service is not yet cleansed of the untrained and the corrupt. We know now the reasons why many citizens complain that there’s not been sufficient change in the delivery of service, or no change in some instances. It turns out to be a slow process that is being retarded by the carping opposition.

Any honest government worth its salt would ensure that the public service is cleared of corrupt, inept persons who were not serving in the interest of the people, irrespective of their political affiliations. Race has no place in this equation. New governments all over the world are compelled to measure every system for its efficacy when they go into office, and restructure according to the regulations enshrined in the laws.
Guyana was never an exception, not in 1964, 1985, 1992 and certainly not 2015. This is not ethnic cleansing.

The AFC made commitments to the people of Guyana to make their lives easier, to remove red tape and systemic bureaucracy, to give every person a fair chance to benefit from the nation’s resources, whether it is a piece of land to farm or construct homes, or assistance to start or expand an enterprise. These commitments were made with the understanding that the public service had to be re-aligned to make it hospitable and efficient.
Our focus has not changed…these remain our objectives, the government’s objectives, and they WILL be accomplished.

The PPP’s claims that the government is practicing ethnic cleansing are stupid and ludicrous. Ethnic cleansing, properly defined, is very seriously destructive. Ethnic cleansing wreaks havoc. The official United Nations definition of ethnic cleansing is “rendering an area ethnically homogeneous by using force or intimidation to remove from a given area persons of another ethnic or religious group”. These events are perpetrated under conditions resembling civil war and states of emergency. Constitutions are suspended and martial law takes its place.

Global scholars have defined ethnic cleansing as the “systematic forced removal of ethnic or religious groups from a given territory by a more powerful ethnic group. It has been carried out with murder, torture, arbitrary arrests and detention, extra-judicial executions, sexual assaults, confinement of civilian populations in ghetto areas, forcible removal, displacement and deportation of civilians, deliberate military attacks or threats of attacks on civilian areas, and wanton destruction of property. All of these acts are crimes against humanity”.

No one (at least in the previous generation) would forget the horrible events that occurred in the African nation of Rwanda from April to July 1994. That was ethnic cleansing at its worst. Members of the Hutu ethnic majority (in government) murdered as many as 800,000 people mostly of the Tutsi minority (Rwandan Patriotic Front) in four months! Hutus and Tutsis were differentiated only by association, not by any physical differences.
The genocide spread throughout the country with staggering speed and brutality. Ordinary citizens were incited by local officials and the government of Hutu Power to take up arms against their neighbours, those whom they believed to be Tutsi, and from this a horrendous killing spree ensued that saw such brutality of man against his compatriots that the world prayed that we would never again witness anything akin to it in this lifetime or the next.
By the time the Tutsi-led Rwandese Patriotic Front (RPF) party gained control of the country through a military offensive, hundreds of thousands of Rwandans of all persuasions were dead and thousands more displaced. There were over 2 million refugees exacerbating a full-blown humanitarian crisis. Rwanda’s international image has since been tarnished by this massacre.
That was ethnic cleansing!

We still wonder how the PPP determined that the government’s decisions to terminate several employment and civil construction contracts qualify for this harsh terminology, especially considering that some workers/contractors were not of Indian extraction. Their comments throw a harsh spotlight on their mindset that has always been rooted in racial division.
We recall the comments made by Dr. Roger Luncheon while under cross examination during the Jagdeo/Kissoon libel trial. He had stated that his government could find no ‘black person’ sufficiently qualified for appointment to ambassadorship.

Guyanese are fed up of being placed into brackets. We are no longer tolerant of people disposed to act with racial discrimination as their motivation. Irrespective of where our foreparents came from, we are all Guyanese and unless we relinquish our citizenship in another land, we’ll always be Guyanese.

We note that former president Jagdeo has done an about-face. Overnight he has become clairvoyant and is promoting himself as having all the answers to the woes that he himself created during his 12 to 15-year reign. Notice how we avoided the dramatic terminology “reign of terror”. These are dramatic words not even befitting the years of deprivation that Guyanese people suffered between 1999 and 2015.
His new 20/20 vision, this cloak of righteousness that he donned, is hardly enough to make people forget his rule as a foul-mouthed, attention-seeking, disrespectful despot who took what he wanted no matter how the nation felt about it, while he distributed our land, our benefits and our wealth to his confederates who genuflected to him.
This is a peaceful nation and the AFC will continue to do everything in our power to maintain that equilibrium.

Aug 28, 2016 AFC Column

"We note that former president Jagdeo has done an about-face. Overnight he has become clairvoyant and is promoting himself as having all the answers to the woes that he himself created during his 12 to 15-year reign. Notice how we avoided the dramatic terminology “reign of terror”. These are dramatic words not even befitting the years of deprivation that Guyanese people suffered between 1999 and 2015.

His new 20/20 vision, this cloak of righteousness that he donned, is hardly enough to make people forget his rule as a foul-mouthed, attention-seeking, disrespectful despot who took what he wanted no matter how the nation felt about it, while he distributed our land, our benefits and our wealth to his confederates who genuflected to him."

This is the Indian savior,clearly some of the traits are portrayed by some of his followers on GNI.  

musbe we guy carib who wrote this part.

"We still wonder how the PPP determined that the government’s decisions to terminate several employment and civil construction contracts qualify for this harsh terminology, especially considering that some workers/contractors were not of Indian extraction. Their comments throw a harsh spotlight on their mindset that has always been rooted in racial division.
We recall the comments made by Dr. Roger Luncheon while under cross examination during the Jagdeo/Kissoon libel trial. He had stated that his government could find no ‘black person’ sufficiently qualified for appointment to ambassadorship."

Looks like Caribj.

Guyana is experiencing ethnic cleansing.  There are more then one ways to accomplish this, not only the Rwandan model.  The ethnic cleaning is being facilitated by the US as the US seem to want Guyana become a majority Afro state also.  They believe the US will get an easier hand in dealing with oil with a Black dominated Govt.

As the pressure mounts, the US embassy is issuing visas to any Indian who walks through the embassy door.  True, they are being issues 10 year multiple, but then given a list of US employers who will give them work and sponsor their work permits.  The hope is, many will find jobs here are not return and in 2020, the PPP constituency will be relegated to an undisputed minority component of the population.

Today, Indians are being made to suffer and deprive of their livelihood, targeted in crime, harassed on the streets, etc.  This is a throw back to the old days under the PNC.  The aim now is to make a push to tilt the racial mix undisputed in favor of pro-PNC.

Who exactly wrote this article and if it is a Coalition insider, why is the Coalition allowing the PPP to distract them? Are they lacking the requisite focus? Obama doesn't let distracting elements affect his focus.

East Indians and the douglas of Guyana must always have the option of forming an independent sovereign nation on the table. It saveguards our human rights for future generations. That state must always be in cooperation with the interests of the United States of America.

Aug 28, 2016 AFC Column

"We note that former president Jagdeo has done an about-face. Overnight he has become clairvoyant and is promoting himself as having all the answers to the woes that he himself created during his 12 to 15-year reign. Notice how we avoided the dramatic terminology “reign of terror”. These are dramatic words not even befitting the years of deprivation that Guyanese people suffered between 1999 and 2015.

His new 20/20 vision, this cloak of righteousness that he donned, is hardly enough to make people forget his rule as a foul-mouthed, attention-seeking, disrespectful despot who took what he wanted no matter how the nation felt about it, while he distributed our land, our benefits and our wealth to his confederates who genuflected to him."

This is the Indian savior,clearly some of the traits are portrayed by some of his followers on GNI.  

Careful coolay. Yuh gon get a brick pon yuh head.

ba$eman posted:

Guyana is experiencing ethnic cleansing.  There are more then one ways to accomplish this, not only the Rwandan model ... As the pressure mounts, the US embassy is issuing visas to any Indian who walks through the embassy door.  True, they are being issues 10 year multiple, but then given a list of US employers who will give them work and sponsor their work permits.  The hope is, many will find jobs here are not return and in 2020, the PPP constituency will be relegated to an undisputed minority component of the population.

TRANSLATION: There are many ways to skin a cat.

ba$eman posted:

Looks like Caribj.

Today, Indians are being made to suffer and deprive of their livelihood, targeted in crime, harassed on the streets, etc. 

How exactly?  BK is laughing his way to the bank and then there is the whole Larry Singh fiasco.  It seems to me as if the Indo oligarchs have taken full control over this gov't and run it as they please, knowing that these ageing and poor PNC men need cash to survive for after 2020. 

The only ones who seem hurt are those who were part of Jagdeo's Friends and Family plan.  Well maybe if they were more competent and less greedy they might still be there.

Then they were those who became contractors rather than civil servants.  Well a contract is what it is. When new management take over they have no obligation to you. 

We are still waiting for evidence that there is wholesale ethnic cleansing.  No evidence has been provided, I suspect because if these were named we will see that these are folks who deserve to be removed.

ba$eman posted:

Guyana is experiencing ethnic cleansing.  There are more then one ways to accomplish this, not only the Rwandan model ... As the pressure mounts, the US embassy is issuing visas to any Indian who walks through the embassy door.  True, they are being issues 10 year multiple, but then given a list of US employers who will give them work and sponsor their work permits.  The hope is, many will find jobs here are not return and in 2020, the PPP constituency will be relegated to an undisputed minority component of the population.

I bet that this is a mere PPP excuse.   If true doesn't this suggest that the PPP ought to broaden its base and to cease being a "coolie people party"?  The US will in fact be doing the PPP a favor by in fact forcing them to move beyond being an ethnic party, which they cannot be if indeed they plan to win in 2020.

So I suggest that you urge that the PPP now begin to find solid Africans with integrity to put into its leadership and to send Jagdeo and Rohee HOME!   The PPP needs to know that the best way to get the mixed vote I to get attempt to woo blacks.  If the PPP shows that its no longer hostile to blacks then it is implied that its hostility to mixed people will also have ended.

But no.  You want to scream "ahbe pan tap" and this traps your thinking even as such behavior is way past its expiry date.

ba$eman posted:

I bet that this is a mere PPP excuse.   If true doesn't this suggest that the PPP ought to broaden its base and to cease being a "coolie people party"?  The US will in fact be doing the PPP a favor by in fact forcing them to move beyond being an ethnic party, which they cannot be if indeed they plan to win in 2020.

So I suggest that you urge that the PPP now begin to find solid Africans with integrity to put into its leadership and to send Jagdeo and Rohee HOME!   The PPP needs to know that the best way to get the mixed vote I to get attempt to woo blacks.  If the PPP shows that its no longer hostile to blacks then it is implied that its hostility to mixed people will also have ended.

But no.  You want to scream "ahbe pan tap" and this traps your thinking even as such behavior is way past its expiry date.

Gilbakka is not PPP. He will not urge or advise the PPP to do anything. He was just giving a tongue-in-cheek interpretation of Base's post. We have to humor ourselves, bro.

Who exactly wrote this article and if it is a Coalition insider, why is the Coalition allowing the PPP to distract them? Are they lacking the requisite focus? Obama doesn't let distracting elements affect his focus.

I would think that the PPP be respected as a major party and therefore their actions commented upon.

Would you rather that they be ignored?  

The Obama in his first 2 years was obsessed with getting the GOP to like him.  You picked the wrong man to make your point.

I don't think that Granger talks too much about Jagdeo.

FACT.  Ethnic tensions are an issue in Guyana.  Now I don't suggest that any discussion on race be made taboo, as the AFC seem to suggest, because I certainly didn't think that it should have been made taboo, as the PPP did when in power.

But there is a more intelligent way for Jagdeo to bring forth the issue of race.  If indeed there is ethnic exclusion, Jagdeo needs to offer proof of it, as in fact Nigel Hughes, Freddie K and others furnished evidence of PPP racism during his era. 

He isn't offering evidence which then allows APNU AFC to project him as a racist.

In addition there is a more inclusive way of discussing race.  He can for instance indicate that he is aware that Africans felt excluded under his regime.  Instead he dismisses African perceptions of the PPP.  

The PPP needs to address African perceptions if indeed it wants to break into the mixed vote.  In fact many mixed people are part black.  Some are even people who are "black" but just chose not to adopt an ethnic identity, Trotman being an example.

Why Jagdeo is setting out to alienate non Indians is baffling as he will need to break into the non Indian vote if he plans to win in 2020.  There aren't enough Indians to vote PPP into power, and his past alliances with Amerindians have become quite frayed.

ba$eman posted:

It is true.  I met people who came for the Summer on Multiple visas and they also had list of possible employers who will sponsor them should they decide  give it a try here.  by far, the majority are indians.  Clearly the USA is part oft he ethnic cleansing plan as they want Guyana for strategic purposes under Black control.  They have their eyes on oil and Venezuela!  Indians and the PPP will not allow themselves part of that plan!

ba$eman posted:

It is true.  I met people who came for the Summer on Multiple visas and they also had list of possible employers who will sponsor them should they decide  give it a try here.  by far, the majority are indians.  Clearly the USA is part oft he ethnic cleansing plan as they want Guyana for strategic purposes under Black control.  They have their eyes on oil and Venezuela!  Indians and the PPP will not allow themselves part of that plan!

I gettin confused now. So you doan want Indian people fo get outta that place you think gone fo channa? You should be happy for them as ou are for yourself.

Also, how come you want the Indians stay in Guyana while we boy Prashad busting his arse looking for a island for you an dem peeps.

ba$eman posted:

What a crock of baloney!

ba$eman posted:

Clearly the USA is part oft he ethnic cleansing plan as they want Guyana for strategic purposes under Black control.  They have their eyes on oil and Venezuela!  Indians and the PPP will not allow themselves part of that plan!

With Granger now anointing Burnham as his hero you think that the PNC will automatically be compliant?  Well the USA thought so in 1964 and by 1973 Burnham was allowing Cuban planes to land to refuel as part of the Cold War battles in southern Africa.  The USA then realized that BOTH Cheddi and Burnham were hard core communists.

This is more your paranoia, and maybe yet another "visas for pay" scheme that some one in the US Embassy has concocted, knowing that Guyanese are a corrupt bunch of creatures. 

Or maybe your sources are simply lying to you.

Blacks operate more out of a notion of what their rights are, whereas Indians are more willing to pay bribes to get what they want.  A simple cultural difference, which explains why Guyana is so much more corrupt at low levels than Barbados is. 

Corruption on that island will be Butch Stewart bribing to get concessions to build a 200 room hotel.  Not to get a 10 year non immigrant visa.  This is why the Canadians no longer issue non immigrant visas in Guyana.

Also, how come you want the Indians stay in Guyana while we boy Prashad busting his arse looking for a island for you an dem peeps.

You got to be crazy!  Islands are small place usually filled with black people.  Its bad enough that Guyanese are almost 10% of Tortola's population, the largest immigrant group.  And that maybe half of these are PPP supporters.

Prashad's huge inferiority complex is that he fears that Indians are too willing to succumb to that Creole culture.  Seeing young Indo girls bent over and wining with some boy (often not Indo) grinding them from behind.  The poor man is in a state over this.  So no island is going to work.

He wants the Corentyne, and will issue eviction notices to non Indians, unless they pass a litmus test of adherence to Indo purity. I  suspect because the red woman who he married has the poor guy living in total terror.  He already disclosed that she has a temper and that she has no interest in living in his "coolie nation".  So he wants to live in this  Nirvana called Indesh.