Originally Posted by Chameli:

i used to hang 'masswa' at the trench every morning b4 i leave for sch and then when i gt home i would run to the trench and pull up me catch...most times is few patwa, selebay, sunfish or nothing...

one day masswa so heavy me halla fo allbady fo come see me catch...long ass camoudie kile up and belly swell with the duck wha abee bin think de naybah teef

thank god i think nehru thief the duck

Originally Posted by Tola:
Originally Posted by raymond:

driving the fish into the saine [sp]

Good answer about the seine. Officially its called dragnet seine.

Stingaa this bring back a lot of memories. Most of the trenches are now polluted with garbage.

the good old days,you ever see a alligator in a net

No alligata, but wata snake when jukking hole wid a stick and girgirra.

I used to drop it and run out. It was rass to get back the net with log bamboo pole. No way I was going back in the trench for the net.

Sometime the snake would still be trapped in it.

You eva catch spika birds with a long wire or pyramid trap. It takes a lot of patience.

The trenches we used to swim in, now we see alligators sunning on the banks.        

Stingaa this bring back a lot of memories. Most of the trenches are now polluted with garbage.

I used to drop it and run out. It was rass to get back the net with log bamboo pole. No way I was going back in the trench for the net.

You eva catch spika birds with a long wire or pyramid trap. It takes a lot of patience.

i use to set for birds,mostly firered  

Originally Posted by Chameli:

i used to hang 'masswa' at the trench every morning b4 i leave for sch and then when i gt home i would run to the trench and pull up me catch...most times is few patwa, selebay, sunfish or nothing...

one day masswa so heavy me halla fo allbady fo come see me catch...long ass camoudie kile up and belly swell with the duck wha abee bin think de naybah teef

* That's why the Rev likes country girls. They always have nice and interesting stories to share.

* Town girls too boring for my taste.

The pyramid trap takes a lot of patience [on the sugar cane  plantation].

It was made from pieces of sticks stacked like a pyramid, held together with a piece of bamboo. No string was used. 

One side of the trap will be held up with  a short stick, tied to a long string.  Corn or rice will be placed under the trap.

Hiding behind some bushes we would wait for birds to eat the corn. When they are under the trap we would pull the string and trap the bird.

We would later let them go.

Patience and being quiet was the key.  

It was made from pieces of sticks stacked like a pyramid, held together with a piece of bamboo. No string was used. 

One side of the trap will be held up with  a short stick, tied to a long string.  Corn or rice will be placed under the trap.

Hiding behind some bushes we would wait for birds to eat the corn. When they are under the trap we would pull the string and trap the bird.

it almost like the trap they use to catch cage birds,this is how you catch love birds

Yea same thing..

Catching spika by the seashore  swamp area also took a lot of patience.

Having  a long wire anchored at one end and a stick tied to the other.

The wire would sit in the water and hiding behind the crab grass, we would wait for the birds to fly by. When the flock approached the wire, we would pull hard hitting the birds and pick up those left behind.

I now feel sorry about injuring the birds. Including seeing some hanging on bicycles for sale  at the market, also iguanas.     

Yea same thing..

The wire would sit in the water and hiding behind the crab grass, we would wait for the birds to fly by. When the flock approached the wire, we would pull hard hitting the birds and pick up those left behind.

I now feel sorry about injuring the birds. Including seeing some hanging on bicycles for sale  at the market, also iguanas.     

you talking about chucking bird with wire,hey this was one of my past time,when the tide coming in the birds fly more,when you clap or shout they dash into the wire and you pull.those bird is sweet

Yea same thing..

you talking about chucking bird with wire,hey this was one of my past time,when the tide coming in the birds fly more,when you clap or shout they dash into the wire and you pull.those bird is sweet

'Chucking' me feget da word. So true...they always fly fast in flocks and you have to be quick wid de wire.

The last time me had curry spike was  at Oudit [Cheddi] Jagan's house at PM. Shortly before Oudit passes on.     

Last edited by Tola

Yea same thing..

'Chucking' me feget da word. So true...they always fly fast in flocks and you have to be quick wid de wire.

The last time me had curry spike was  at Oudit [Cheddi] Jagan's house at PM. Shortly before Oudit passes on.     

people still do this 

TOla

I remember the pyramid traps...we also used to put gum on a piece ah stick and rest it on the picket fence. When the bird land on the stick, they foot get stuck and you grab them

Ray, me been away too long..me now remember the gum on the stick.

I believe the gum comes from a tree.  

You have to be quick to get the bird or they might shake themselves loose. 

Digging out the inside of awarra marble with a flat nail [that you make with  a brick] and fill it with lead[that we get from old cast net] to bus dem bai marble.

How did we ever flatten a nail with  a brick and the brick don't burst.

You gotta hit it jus right, I guess.

Gilette two sided razor blade on a kite tail.

Was it gamma-cherry they used to paste broom kite.

Oh man  I miss those days.

Sailing 'punts' when the rain water runs in the drains, with empty Brunswick sardine tins. Some guys would even put a sail on their punt.

Okay...what is sakal-gatta ?

It caused a lot of people to lose the outside wall singles on their house.  

Early one  Sunday morning, I was taken to Mon Repos market to video record bird singing. I believe they were towa towa birds. Do they catch these bird with the pyramid trap.  The have to catch them uninjured.

The friend put the video on NCN and talked about he cultural gathering of men.         

I say the guys a 'shai' (sp) for fish......you know, the same as 'shai' paddy in the ricefields.

I recall seeing boys in the trench....they would grab handfull of mud from the bottom of the trench and throw it on the surface of the water (as if skipping stones).....and the next thing you know, they grab a fish!

I was always fascinated by this method of catching fish.

anyone remember this?

Villagebelle
Last edited by Villagebelle
Originally Posted by Villagebelle:

I say the guys a 'shai' (sp) for fish......you know, the same as 'shai' paddy in the ricefields.

I recall seeing boys in the trench....they would grab handfull of mud from the bottom of the trench and throw it on the surface of the water (as if skipping stones).....and the next thing you know, they grab a fish!

I was always fascinated by this method of catching fish.

anyone remember this?

when you shai the mud,and if a fish is there water will bubble up and you have to feel there and hold the fish