Mob attacks police at Windsor Forest
April 26, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News
* four civilians shot, three cops injured

* vehicles damaged, 17 detained

By Michael Jordan
At least four civilians, including a US-based Guyanese were shot last night and three police ranks injured after a mob of over 100 clashed with ranks at Windsor Forest, West Coast Demerara.
Divisional Commander Balram Persaud told Kaieteur News today that at least three vehicles were damaged and that some 17 people were taken into custody.
The US-based man, said to be about 50, was reportedly struck by shotgun pellets in the neck, shoulder and abdomen. He has been admitted for surgery at the Balwant Singh Hospital.
Another man, who identified himself as Ramnarine Jagrup, 29, sustained pellet injuries in the left upper thigh and in the nose. Kaieteur News understands that a third man, who is a mechanic, was also shot, but did not seek medical treatment.
Residents claimed that the police fired indiscriminately into a crowd, which included children, after ordering them to disperse, following a dispute over the playing of music at the sea walls. Jagrup, who visited Kaieteur News today after seeking treatment at the West Bank Demerara Regional Hospital, identified by name a senior police officer who he claimed shot him. A relative alleged that Jagrup and others who were injured were merely revelers, and had not attacked the ranks.
But Commander Persaud said that he and his ranks from the Leonora Police Station were forced to open fire on the civilians, after the mob attacked them with bottles and stones, and had tried to relieve two of his men of their firearms.
“”I discharged one round…the lives of my ranks were in danger…I had no alternative,” Persaud said.
The clash occurred just after 19:00 hrs on the public road near the Windsor Forest ‘big bridge’, after police ordered several Easter Monday revelers to shut down their music sets.
According to the Commander, most of the Easter revelers, including those at the Joe Vieira Park, “were cooperative.”
However, he said that the civilians who were playing music sets at the Windsor Forest sea walls ignored the order. According to Persaud, they had not received a permit to play music.
“I am the only on who can issue a permit,” the Commander said.
He said that after receiving complaints of noise nuisance from some residents, the ranks returned to the area. The Commander said that it was at that point some of the revelers became unruly and the ranks took persons into custody.
Persaud alleged that the mob began to burn tyres in the street and throw bottles and other missiles at the forcing him and his men to open fire.
“When I came again, I had no alternative but to open fire. A few (of my men) were injured but we managed to get it under control.”
A relative of the injured US-based man told Kaieteur News that he and others were at the Windsor Forest seawalls when the police ranks arrived and ordered them to stop the music.
He said that the ranks returned some time later and demanded that the revelers show them their permit to play music. He said that the permit was shown to the ranks, who tore up the document and took some of the revelers into custody after they became unruly.
According to the relative, after the persons were detained, several residents left the seawall and converged on the public road near the ‘big bridge.’
He said that police ranks returned and ordered the crowd to disperse. He said that the ranks also warned that they would open fire if the order was not obeyed.
The relative said that the ranks left, but then returned, and there was a confrontation between them and the police, during with the US-based citizen and others were shot.
The man said that it was he who took his relative to the Balwant Singh Hospital.

But there's nothing wrong in telling them to turn down their music if it's late.

I'm pretty sure there is a permit or noise code that they can enforce.

Ahem...my dad use to do that all the time back when Big Grin and no bribe Red Face
Originally posted by chameli:
Red Face Mad Roll Eyes Confused Confused

somebody ought to fix dat police commander...frikkin show off

i bet if the folks from den amstel was playing loud music he would not go show off his ass there but he see some 'coolies' and he want to show off....
I did not know that GY folks need to get a permit to play music on de seawall on easter monday ...how much for dat permit? a bribe i betflag

Your type of response is the cause for breakdown of law an order in Guyana.

Must try playing loud music in Canada.

I have been to Trinidad upteen times and they love to fete...loud music and liqour is their thing....and everything turns into a party. However, when the cops move in to stop the party, trust me, and I have witness this on more that one occasion, people stop right away. Music shut down and drinks put away or the police start carting off people and drinks. Trinidad cops are well respected by Trinis.

Right here in NY at the end of the West Indian Day Parade, where there a million revellers, the NYPD will move in slowly and ensure that the music is hut down and the crowds disperse, within one hour most of Eastern Parkway is open back to traffic.

For too long Guyanes feel that it is thier right to party and inconveinece others who are not partying, both back home and overseas. Right here in Richmondhill, Guyanese Indians will play music like every citizen is into Indian and chutney music.

The Commander of Police had every right to open fire on those drunken idiots.
Originally posted by Riya:
I have heard stories of him using his baton to break up crowds, never pellet guns

let me call him right now...he like hear stories like this Big GrinBig Grin

According to the report these people were pelting the officers, setting fire on the public road and even tried to disare two policemen.
This was mob at its best!!
Okay, he said he never had the reason to fire his gun in a crowd but if there is imminent danger from an unruly crowd a police can use his weapon. Also according to him, pellet gun is a “less lethal” weapon to use to disperse a crowd. If he was in that situation he would’ve done the same. To quote “them jackass does play them bad” end of quote. Big Grin

If the residents complained of the loud music, the police have the right to ask them to shut it off or turn it down…depending on the time of the night.

Cham, he heard this story from a few others and for the most part, the crowd was out of control.

At the first sign of unrest, parents should have taken their children and scram!

btw, thanks...I had to hear some more stories of him in his "days" which I have heard upteen times Big Grin wavey
For too long Guyanes feel that it is thier right to party and inconveinece others who are not partying, both back home and overseas. Right here in Richmondhill, Guyanese Indians will play music like every citizen is into Indian and chutney music

There is a house adjacent to SYbils...I swear you could hear the music in Brooklyn...and is only a few fellas drinking...not even a party...stuuuppps
Originally posted by Chief:

I agree with most of what you said except his...life doesn't grow on trees and those "drunken idiots" life isn't less important than yours. They are someone's sisters/brothers husbands/wives child etc. He didn't had to fire at the crowd he could fire up or use a fire truck and blast them with water.
Originally posted by raymond:
Loud music is a huge problem in Guyana...my aunt who lives in a residential area has to put up with this every weekend..it's about time to put a stop to it!

When I was Guyana two months ago every night I can hear loud music comming from a bar, real disturbing. So one night there was blackout, so hear me, now we will get some quiet. Lo and behold within 3 minutes music back in full force the man had his own generator.
Originally posted by Cher:

I agree with most of what you said except his...life doesn't grow on trees and those "drunken idiots" life isn't less important than yours. They are someone's sisters/brothers husbands/wives child etc. He didn't had to fire at the crowd he could fire up or use a fire truck and blast them with water.

Fire truck???
The police lives were in danger and they had to use what was available at their disposal..in this case pellet gun.

Thank God no was killed or seriously injured from this melee.
Originally posted by Cher:

If his life is in danger...then what?
Originally posted by bird:
use a fire truck and blast them with water.

Well if he get a fire truck then he would need water that is another story right dey.

Cher is overdue for a Guayna vacation.
This is part response I recieve from one of the senior member of the Windsor Forrest support group of NY.

"These holigans in Windsor Forest don't have nothing to do they walk the streets like bare foot politicians and talk bull shit all day
if they had a job to go to the follwing day the music would have been turned off anf they would have hasten to their beds to get some rest in order to go to work
They only depend on overseas barrels and US dollars Last year when I visited I see no fowl pen, no kitchen garden nothing of the sort a bunch of lazy people"
Since`when people in Guyana does be bothered by music? Music is enjoyed by the vast majority of Guyanese and sine this is by the seawall, I hardly see how anyone could have complained about it. Still looks like the police exacerbated the situation. Let the damn people enjoy themselves. There is not too much that they can feel good about.
He said that the ranks returned some time later and demanded that the revelers show them their permit to play music. He said that the permit was shown to the ranks, who tore up the document and took some of the revelers into custody after they became unruly.

It seems as though there was a permit.

Dem boys shoulda played "I shot de sheriff"
Originally posted by ksazma:
Since`when people in Guyana does be bothered by music? Music is enjoyed by the vast majority of Guyanese and sine this is by the seawall, I hardly see how anyone could have complained about it. Still looks like the police exacerbated the situation. Let the damn people enjoy themselves. There is not too much that they can feel good about.

ow bai...yuh enjoy the quiet where you live and don't care about residents of Guyana who can't say the same...

You have hard working people who want to sleep so that they can go to work the following day vs loud loud music...and you ( in your peace and quiet) pick the noise...

amazing!
Originally posted by ksazma:

ow bai...yuh enjoy the quiet where you live and don't care about residents of Guyana who can't say the same...

You have hard working people who want to sleep so that they can go to work the following day vs loud loud music...and you ( in your peace and quiet) pick the noise...

amazing!

Bai, I chose where I live for its safety, not the quiet. But like I said, since when Guyanese are bothered by music?
btw...people live across from the seawall in that area...and knowing Guyanese who like play loud ass music, I am sure this could be heard further away than that

Maybe. But I doubt that is what triggered the melee. Do police in Guyana have a police academy?
This report does not surprise me one bit. Windsor Forest is no stranger to hooliganism. I had observed the unruly behaviour of Windsor Forest young men since the 1970s while commuting to work on the train and then the TATA buses. Everything would be fine until the trains and buses stopped at Windsor Forest to pick up passengers. You felt as if wild animals had invaded. Even the UG students from that village used to behave like ignaars. Some nights there used to be drunken fights on that same big bridge. There was a rum shop near the bridge.
What this newspaper report tells me is that the children of those hooligans of the 1970s in Windsor Forest have also become hooligans.
B
Chameli
thank you dear heart for being the only one in this discussion with a sense of clear thinking.
I am surprise at Chief at his comments, I am sure he deal with lots of those Hooligans at the masjid
at 212 street after all they ar mostly from Windsor Forest.
Mr Bookman in Guyana where ever there is Rum shop there is Chance there could be trouble.
Windsor Forest is no exception.
Loud music never bother Guyanese,they welcome loud music especially wedding house,and other party
Those never see some fo see with their loud fire truck, ambulances,subway noise can't stand some music...will I understand But you don't shoot at will into a crowd, with children
I am afraid that most of you have lost you seance of reality .
YOU GUEST IT I AM FROM WINDSOR FOREST,AND EVEN THOU I LEFT THERE OVER 40PLUS YEARS AGO.
I WILL ALWAYS BE PROUD OF MY VILLAGE.
I AM HOPING TO BE ABLE TO SAY THAT SOME DAY OF THE PEOPLE ON GNI, BUT NOT TODAY.
Originally posted by cain:

It seems as though there was a permit.

Dem boys shoulda played "I shot de sheriff"

Big Grin or 'what de police can do'
Originally posted by amral:
Chief pls stick to the point Big Grin

Cops, civilians blame each other
April 27, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News

US-based Guyanese Hansraj Ori
Civilians and police ranks yesterday continued to blame each other for the Easter Monday mini-riot at Windsor Forest, which left several civilians wounded and three ranks injured.
Police officials yesterday released a statement in which they alleged that the ranks were forced to open fire after they were attacked by a violent mob.
But eyewitnesses accused the ranks of beating and firing indiscriminately at peaceful participants who were on the seawall.
The injured civilians included Hansraj Ori, 60, who resides at Richmond Hill, New York, USA. Ori, who is originally from Windsor Forest, West Coast Demerara, sustained pellet injuries to the abdomen and neck.
He underwent surgery at the Dr. Balwant Singh Hospital. Relatives said that two pellets were removed from his abdomen.
However, he was transferred yesterday to the Woodlands Hospital. Relatives said that they have already spent some $338,000 for his treatment at the first institution.
A sister-in-law of the injured man alleged that he was shot while returning from a Windsor Forest residence, to which he had retreated after police had opened fire. She said that Ori was returning to the seawall, where he had left his relatives, when he was wounded.
Ramnarine Jagrup, 29, sustained pellet injuries in the left upper thigh and to the nose.
Kaieteur News understands that a third man, who is a mechanic, was also shot, but did not seek medical treatment.
According to the police statement, at about 19: 00hrs on Monday, ranks from “D” Division (West Demerara/East Bank Essequibo) commenced closing down music sets that were playing at Easter activities in the Division. These areas included the Joe Vieira Park at Schoon Ord, WBD, the Windsor Forest Seawall, WCD, and Kastev Housing Scheme, Meten-Meer-Zorg, WCD. It added that during the day, the police at the Leonora and Den Amstel Police Stations had received several reports of noise nuisance from citizens.
“Initially the operators of the music systems at all the locations complied and the sets were turned off. However, at about 19:45hrs, a stereo system at the Windsor Forest Seawall, for which no permission was granted to play, started to play loud music again,” police said.
“Further reports of noise nuisance were received…and police ranks Corporal 18372 Sherwin Smith, Constable 20724 Oswin Fordyce and Constable 20483 Kevin Fileen, went and requested the operators to turn off the music system.”
According to the statement, persons on the seawall began to throw stones, bottles and other missiles at the ranks and rushed them and attempted to take away their firearms.

Wounded: Ramnarine Jagrup
“As a result a scuffle ensued between the police ranks and the group of men during which the ranks received injuries to their bodies but managed to hold on to their firearms and arrest five of the men who were taken to the Leonora Police Station.
“Later, at about 20:15hrs, information was received by the police that persons were blocking the public roadway at Windsor Forest and were burning tyres and other materials on the roadway and obstructing the free flow of traffic.
“The police went to the scene and came under attack with bottles, stones and other missiles being thrown at them and the police responded by discharging a round from a shotgun at the crowd which caused them to disperse.
“The police also arrested eight more persons who were also taken to the Leonora Police Station.
“It was subsequently found that two motor cars and a mini-bus that were parked on the Windsor Forest public road were damaged and this is suspected to have been done by persons among the crowd.
“The three injured police ranks were treated at the Leonora Cottage Hospital and sent away.
Members of the Police Office of Professional Responsibilities were called in and have launched an investigation into the matter.”
‘D’ Division Commander, Assistant Commissioner Balram Persaud had told Kaieteur News that his ranks had no alternative but to open fire, since their lives were in danger.
Giving a different version of the incident, Ori’s sister-in-law said that her US-based relative and several other residents were at the seawalls, where a bar had been set up and a music set was being played.
She alleged that at around 18:00 hrs, some police ranks came to the area and ordered the owner of the music set to switch it off.
“We complied, and about an hour later they came again, looked around and left. When they left the owner of the set said let we play the music moderate. Everybody said ‘okay, (play) moderate’.”
The woman alleged that some 30 minutes later, the ranks returned again. “When they came they began to pull out the wires from the set. So the guy (music set owner) stand in front of the music set and said ‘you can’t do this, it is wrong’.
She alleged that at that point, the ranks began to assault the music set owner. They then arrested him and other revelers.
(Continued on page 21)