Attorney-at-law Ryan Crawford who has been at the centre of attention lately for his expletive-laced tirade against a traffic rank, turned himself in at the Whim Police Station yesterday afternoon sometime around 15:00hrs.
The traffic rank stopped Crawford during a routine traffic operation along the Mahaicony Public Road, East Coast Demerara last week.
According to a police source, Crawford was served a summons which his secretary accepted on his behalf. He later reported at the Whim Station. It was while there that his vehicle documents were perused by a traffic rank.
The police said that Crawford’s vehicle road service licence was renewed a couple days after his “cuss out”. His insurance was also reportedly expired. He was questioned, released on his own recognizance and referred back to East Coast where the incident took place. The police source stated that “he was very co-operative with the police and was calm”.
Commander of C’ Division, Calvin Brutus, told this publication that they are currently awaiting advice to determine the way forward in the matter.
On September 16, last, Crawford issued an apology via Facebook for his behaviour towards a traffic cop during a routine traffic stop on September 13, last, but expressed that he was not sorry for questioning the policeman’s ‘arbitrary authority’.
“I am not trying to justify my behaviour. My language was not proper as an officer of the courts or as a member of the Bar of Guyana. I apologize for my language, but I’m not sorry for questioning arbitrary authority.”
In his apology, Mr. Crawford stated that it was his frustration that led to the excessive use of expletives to get his point across to the officer for what he alleges is an illegal stop, and that there were things said prior to the filming of the video.
The video was uploaded online by the rank who stopped Crawford.
The lawyer, who had a male passenger seated next to him, demanded to know why he was stopped. The rank said he could not see the driver properly and therefore stopped the car.
This angered the lawyer who insisted that he was behind two trucks and was not buying that explanation.
The lawyer said he did nothing wrong and refused to produce his driver’s licence. The lawyer loudly said that there must be reasonable suspicion and probable cause to stop him.

The Guyana Bar Association in a statement issued in the wake of the incident, said that while the Association refrained from commenting on the matter, it informed Guyanese of the procedure for being pulled over by the police.
“A motorist can only be stopped by a uniformed police officer for due cause if he has formed the reasonable suspicion in his mind that an offence has been committed. That is, the police officer must have formed a reasonable suspicion in his mind of an offence prior to stopping the motorist. The officer is under a duty to identify himself and inform the motorist of the alleged offence.

• mceclip0

Well he is a lawyer and can defend himself.

How does he justified his outburst with expire insurance and road service licence. 

The police is having the last laught. 

The cop seems to be young and immature. Crawford has many lawyer friends. They will have a field day with the young police. The case will be thrown out on technicality that the stop was illegal for starters. Crawford should sue for invasion of privacy since he mentioned his name and it was uploaded to FB without his consent.

How does he justified his outburst with expire insurance and road service licence. 

That was not the reason for the illegal stop. He will have the last laugh for malicious prosecution. 

Last edited by Mitwah

The cop seems to be young and immature. Crawford has many lawyer friends. They will have a field day with the young police. The case will be thrown out on technicality that the stop was illegal for starters. Crawford should sue for invasion of privacy since he mentioned his name and it was uploaded to FB without his consent.

Crawford is the one who identified himself by name in the video. Violation of privacy.. hum dont think so.

That should have been muted. Can you show where he gave his consent?

Why do you think it was removed quickly?

That was not the reason for the illegal stop. He will have the last laugh for malicious prosecution. 

Driving behind the two trucks... Crawford must have taken evasive action to hide behind the trucks knowing his licence were expire after seeing the cop, this must have cause the cop to stop him, however, the cop was inexperience to say why he stop Crawford.( i saw you weaving behind the trucks and was concern for your safety, are you OK sir, can I have a look at your documents) 

Sometimes we can forget the renewal dates.Anyway he dug a hole for himself.

Random stop and search exercises by the police  can be deemed illegal without sufficient suspicion.

Ok we got it about the random stop and search thing. In a state where crime is rampant, drugs, wanted criminals, and guns are found in vehicle, especially dark tint vehicle been use to commit crimes... where is the justification for illegal stopping a vehicle.

majority of times, the cops in each jurisdiction knows the owners of these car. i am sure all the traffic cops on the Corentyne know Crawford car. 

I am not justifying what the police are  doing  in Guyana, I had my experience as a driver, but each case is different.

It's good the police pick upon a Black lawyer, let's see how it plays out in the courts. As Caribj would say,"Abie deh pun tap now"This Police State behaviour would not change, stopping vehicles for a "raise" was an acceptable practice, I once was stopped and told the cop to see me at Samlall's Bar later in the afternoon because I had no change,yes he showed up and I bought him a drink, after that we became friends. Society always had a common fear/ respect for the man in uniform, so getting to be on their side was an advantage.

Crawford has many friends in the right places.  And yes, he did identity himself as Ryan F#%king Crawford.  Nice middle name.

Charrandas Persaud is good friend of Crawford, but many of the so called friends are distant themselves from him due to politics.

If nothing else comes of this, the people will understand their right and you may see more activism via camera, etc against police corruption and bribe culture.

BTW, is offense with a "c" or "s"!

"The Guyana Bar Association in a statement issued in the wake of the incident, said that while the Association refrained from commenting on the matter, it informed Guyanese of the procedure for being pulled over by the police.

“A motorist can only be stopped by a uniformed police officer for due cause if he has formed the reasonable suspicion in his mind that an offence has been committed. That is, the police officer must have formed a reasonable suspicion in his mind of an offence prior to stopping the motorist. The officer is under a duty to identify himself and inform the motorist of the alleged offence."

You seem to have some sort of infatuation with that middle name!  Are you feeling something funny, forgotten?

It certainly goes good with Bibi ------- Haniffa. 

After getting most of the facts now, this banna is lucky that the police did not lock him up overnight.  Experience Insurance and Road Service ?

Deos he think that he is above the law ?

Jail his rass.