Education Ministry honours Guyana’s top students

Aadilah Ali with the awards she received for her outstanding performances. (Department of Public Information photo)

Guyana’s top performing students at the primary, secondary and tertiary levels were honoured on Friday, when the Ministry of Education held its 22nd National Awards Ceremony.

According to a Department of Public Information (DPI) report, Minister of Education Nicolette Henry gave the feature address at the event, which was hosted at the National Cultural Centre. 

“Notwithstanding the tireless contributions from those who would have supported you through this journey such as teachers, mentors, lecturers and your paramount cheerleaders, your parents, you have triumphed,” Henry was quoted as saying.

Henry, the report said, noted that the awards were started in October, 1990 as a way of acknowledging students that have done exceptionally well academically and those who achieved certain scores thresholds in the different examinations.

She said that the exercise also serves the purpose of encouraging students to strive for excellence.

“When the ceremony first began in 1990, only students with outstanding performance at the GCE Examination and the CXC Examinations received awards. Today I am proud to announce that thirteen awards have since been added which range from the National Grade Six Assessment (NGSA) to the Cyril Potter College of Education Examinations.  Honours are awarded from primary all the way to tertiary, and who knows maybe one day, even our nursery babies may be awarded,” Henry said.

She noted too that special awards were also presented to outstanding Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) students with disabilities.

Presidential Scholarships were also awarded to the top Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE) students Aadilah Ali and Rajiv Muneshwar, both of Queen’s College, as well as top CSEC students Christian Pile, of Queen’s College, and Shakira Bholo of Anna Regina Secondary.

Shania Khan, of Three Miles Secondary, was awarded the Desrey Fox Scholarship.

Ali also won awards for being the Best CAPE Performer, Most Outstanding Overall CAPE student in the Caribbean, and Most Outstanding in Natural Science in the Caribbean, while Muneshwar was awarded for being the Most Outstanding in Mathematics in the region.

Pile was awarded for being CSEC’s Best Performer. Awards were also bestowed upon the Thomas Moore Primary, Sand Creek Secondary School and New Amsterdam Secondary for being the most improved primary, junior secondary and senior secondary schools.

This year’s awardees at the primary and the secondary levels were: NGSA Best Performers Naila Rahaman (Westfield Prep), Marks Arthur Roberts (New Guyana School) and Kaydee Ali (Success Elementary); CSEC Best Junior Secondary School Performers Shakira Bholo (Anna Regina Secondary), Salma Majeed (ISA Islamic School), Camecia De La Cruz (Anna Regina Secondary), Begum Baksh (Anna Regina Secondary), and Darshanie Jadubir (J.C Chandisingh Secondary); CSEC Best Senior Secondary Performers Christian Pile (Queen’s College), Areeb Ali (Queen’s College), Haema Dasrath (Queen’s College), Aarti Hooblall (Queen’s College), Leshanna Bindah (Queen’s College), Reseda Hack (Queen’s College) and Yashoda Samaroo (Queen’s College).

It always surprise me how much Guyana governments lack professionalism.

Here is this girl who put so much effort and sacrificed so much  into being the best, while  given so many awards.

Yet the picture taken of her and all her trophies seems don-k-dam, with the bottom cut off,  that she might one day like to show her future family. 

It would have been  so nice to get rid of others in the photo and place all the trophies on table and take a real nice picture, with her standing behind the trophies.   

There could have been other pictures taken of everyone.

Yet they are proud to say its a Department  of Public Information photo. Maybe it was some caca- rass ministry personnel cell phone.   

It seems a common occurrence in Guyana where  others will stick themselves in a picture, including group pictures of new government ministers. 

Tola posted:

Yet the picture taken of her and all her trophies seems don-k-dam, with the bottom cut off,  that she might one day like to show her future family. 

Guyana is a don-k-dam society.  Why you think the little baby's needs were neglected and left to die!  Don-k-dam!!

Education Ministry honours Guyana’s top students

Aadilah Ali with the awards she received for her outstanding performances. (Department of Public Information photo)

Guyana’s top performing students at the primary, secondary and tertiary levels were honoured on Friday, when the Ministry of Education held its 22nd National Awards Ceremony.

Presidential Scholarships were also awarded to the top Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE) students Aadilah Ali and Rajiv Muneshwar, both of Queen’s College, as well as top CSEC students Christian Pile, of Queen’s College, and Shakira Bholo of Anna Regina Secondary.

Shania Khan, of Three Miles Secondary, was awarded the Desrey Fox Scholarship.

Ali also won awards for being the Best CAPE Performer, Most Outstanding Overall CAPE student in the Caribbean, and Most Outstanding in Natural Science in the Caribbean, while Muneshwar was awarded for being the Most Outstanding in Mathematics in the region.

Pile was awarded for being CSEC’s Best Performer. Awards were also bestowed upon the Thomas Moore Primary, Sand Creek Secondary School and New Amsterdam Secondary for being the most improved primary, junior secondary and senior secondary schools.

This year’s awardees at the primary and the secondary levels were: NGSA Best Performers Naila Rahaman (Westfield Prep), Marks Arthur Roberts (New Guyana School) and Kaydee Ali (Success Elementary); CSEC Best Junior Secondary School Performers Shakira Bholo (Anna Regina Secondary), Salma Majeed (ISA Islamic School), Camecia De La Cruz (Anna Regina Secondary), Begum Baksh (Anna Regina Secondary), and Darshanie Jadubir (J.C Chandisingh Secondary); CSEC Best Senior Secondary Performers Christian Pile (Queen’s College), Areeb Ali (Queen’s College), Haema Dasrath (Queen’s College), Aarti Hooblall (Queen’s College), Leshanna Bindah (Queen’s College), Reseda Hack (Queen’s College) and Yashoda Samaroo (Queen’s College).

All the best to the students.   

alena06 posted:

Excellent! Congrats to all the students and parents. QC flag continues to fly high!!

Don’t fly the QC flag too high.  Y’all are now QC skullars, as declared by the Republic of Belladrum Secondary School.

ball posted:

You is have to fly high, if not you will hit the clouds, so fly high soar as the eagles will over the yonder far and wide beyond your wildest dreams

I know of someone who was flying high on Gabapentin (Neurontin); she gave birth to a son who lived only for 3 days. In a few months she committed suicide.  I think that since Marijuana is now legal here, we might see a lot more of this "Flying High" and "happy" peeps.

Prescription drug abuse is very high especially among women in high stressed office positions.

alena06 posted:

Excellent! Congrats to all the students and parents. QC flag continues to fly high!!

Don’t fly the QC flag too high.  Y’all are now QC skullars, as declared by the Republic of Belladrum Secondary School.

Who been there?

My comment is ONLY about the photograph and has nothing to do with her highly  academic achievement.  CONGRATULATIONS TO HER. 

So quit all the bull shit about the girl and get you daughters and sons to do the same. Instead of ......

Prashad you are an embarrassment to your race.  Everyone has right to dress what they like. You must be the guy wearing only a bukta at Wall Mart. 

Drugb go drink some more Demerara river shit water, because that is what you are.  

That is Guyana not the sands of Arabia nor is it Keffer's 750000 dollars house backyard in keffer circle. Why is that Guyana school girl dressed like that.

Prashad, I already warned you...

Same thought came to mind, back in the day, the muslims never covered their heads like that. Now it looks like they are more arab than the arabs. 

Why yall don't leave the young people alone...pick on someone your own size

No one is safe from some of you on here...not even the young people who strive to do well

That is Guyana not the sands of Arabia nor is it Keffer's 750000 dollars house backyard in keffer circle. Why is that Guyana school girl dressed like that.

Ray this is not an attack on Keffer. I am just using Keffer as an example because he is around lots of Arabs all the time. The thing is as a school boy in Guyana I had muslim girlfriends and not one of them dress like this. I only found out that Muslim girls only should marry muslim men when I came to North America. How do you think I feel knowing. that half of my family is muslim and half of them is not. 

Same thought came to mind, back in the day, the muslims never covered their heads like that. Now it looks like they are more arab than the arabs. 

No one is safe from some of you on here...not even the young people who strive to do well

This has nothing to do about young people but rather the archaic values of the Arabs being rammed down their throats. Never did Muslims cover up their heads like this when I was growing up. It is a recent adaptation based on influence from the extremists. 

Does their mode of dress affect your lifestyle?

Ray this is not an attack on Keffer. I am just using Keffer as an example because he is around lots of Arabs all the time. The thing is as a school boy in Guyana I had muslim girlfriends and not one of them dress like this. I only found out that Muslim girls only should marry muslim men when I came to North America. How do you think I feel knowing. that half of my family is muslim and half of them is not. 

Did he give you permission to use his nick as an example? Anyway, this is the last warning on this....

Go tell that the French who ban Hijab. The fact is that many folks are influenced by the wicked extremists, introducing elements of culture that were never there before in Guyana. You really believe that a young girl will willingly wear that atrocity that is intent on degrading women and shutting them in the closet?

The French barred it from Public Schools.  The Swiss, Germans, Belgium, etc were contemplating banning the full-face Burka.  The style that girl wore was still be acceptable in public!

Did he give you permission to use his nick as an example? Anyway, this is the last warning on this....

Ray, you have to start using your executive order and start draining the swamp here.

Ray, stop being a spoiler.  We should be free to use Nicks. 

So what you want abie seh..... dah wan...dah wan deh....dah wan deh deh....wah wan deh deh deh!

Ray, you have to start using your executive order and start draining the swamp here.

Some ayuh should staan easy cazz if Ray or Amral or Ball pull that big flush, e' guh fling some ayuh raant strait to Madhia confused and mesmerizing ova Conga Man paradisio! 

So me seh, staan easy!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DSVMDmzCcA

After watching Caribj's video Prashad now fully supports the girl wearing the Hijab.  It is an act of decency in an environment of lawless behaviour.

Yes, and it would be nice & noble if westernized Hindu females borrow a page from their Muslim counterparts and wear sari everyday.

After watching Caribj's video Prashad now fully supports the girl wearing the Hijab.  It is an act of decency in an environment of lawless behaviour.

Yes, and it would be nice & noble if westernized Hindu females borrow a page from their Muslim counterparts and wear sari everyday.

And Hindu males wear dhoti everyday.

ball posted:

You is have to fly high, if not you will hit the clouds, so fly high soar as the eagles will over the yonder far and wide beyond your wildest dreams

Be mindful of the sin of Icarus? But I think the guys are taking offence to the Nikab thingie. It is the influence of the wahabs and symbolic of the subordination of women. It is not Guyanese. 

Bai, why you picking on the man? Give druggie a butt whipping if you want to be fair...and save a few lashes for Ugli if you are really about sanitizing this place. 

I grew up in Guyana like you and never met a muslim dressed as that. And our old people were a proud people and into their head dresses. This is whabism influence and a creeping form of subordination of our women. I know the saying is this is "our cultire" but bull crap. This is Saudi money spending to create their saudistan in GY and that is not for the better. I even see occasionally the full burka in Guyana!