Several arrested for anti-Jagdeo road markings on 'Appreciation Day'
Written by Kwesi Isles Friday, 16 September 2011 13:13

At least three persons have been arrested for a rash of anti-Jagdeo signs which have appeared in the city and its environs as the ‘Friends of Jagdeo’ on Friday prepared to honour the president who is set to demit office by year end. Elections are constitutionally by December 28 but it is anticipated that Guyanese will go to the polls in November with the Guyana Elections Commission saying it will be ready by November 15.

The signs have been painted on the roads at the UG and Railway Embankment Roads junction, in the vicinity of the National Gymnasium on Mandela Avenue and near Banks DIH at Thirst Park. “For heaven’s sake go Jagdeo,” the one at Turkeyen read. Members of the Guyana Police Force turned up at the scene shortly after Demerara Waves Online News (www.demwaves.com) and painted over the president’s name.

A private group, including representatives of the trade union movement, religious community and private sector has come together to show its regard for President Bharrat Jagdeo with a tribute scheduled to begin at 3 PM at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence. The invitation titled 'A World of Thanks President Jagdeo!' states that the event is "In tribute to the contribution of His Excellency President Bharrat Jagdeo to the economic, social and political transformation of Guyana."

But not everyone is sending love Jagdeo’s way. The Alliance For Change has dubbed Friday “Day of Shame and Disgrace” and in newspaper ads it has urged people to wear black or hang black banners from their homes, businesses and vehicles to show solidarity against Jagdeo’s rule.

The Guyana Trades Union Congress (GTUC) for its part has said that Guyanese have nothing to thank Jagdeo for. “To give him a “World of Thanks [for] the economic, social and political transformation of Guyana” is to look destiny in her face and slap her. For it is clear should we continue along this path the country will implode and the law-abiding face increasing danger,” the body said in a statement Friday. According to the GTUC, it is saying no thanks to Jagdeo for “transforming this society into one where the stench of drugs, corruption, deprivation, violence, hopelessness, crimes, poverty and discrimination are every where.”

The trade union body also drew from Guyana’s late poet laureate Martin Carter to register its displeasure. “This is indeed “the dark time, when all round the land brown beetles crawl about. The shining sun is hidden in the skyâ€ĶRed flowers bend their heads in awful sorrowâ€ĶIt is the season of oppression, dark metal, and tears. It is the festival of guns, the carnival of misery. Everywhere the faces of men are strained and anxious,” the GTUC quoted.

Some 15,000 persons are expected to descend on Providence where there is expected to be a paratrooping display by members of the Guyana Defence, a Gymkhana by the Guyana Police Force and a large number of cultural acts, all local, and video and personal messages. Several motorcades from different parts of the country will culminate at the stadium while free ferry service for persons travelling from the Essequibo Coast have been organised.

Originally posted by albert:
Gerhard...Gerhard....Gerhard.....face the facts.....the A.F.C is dead....

Gerhard your pathetic responses suggests to me that the implosion of the AFC has come even BEFORE I said it would. I have been warning you all since last year. You all called me a PNCite racist.

Clearly you seem unable to respond because you have no basis to do so.

Listen go and build your flower works business and get ready for 2016. Make sure that you all build a solid grass roots support base and stop thinking that remaining aloof from the public, preaching to them, calling a segment of them "homeless drug addicts" when you are considered a bougie red and potagee party will win you support.

The real middle class is limited in GY and the intellectual elites even moreso. The demise of the WPA and of the UF should have told you this.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Gerhard continues to fight the truth....which is the A.F.C is dead....
lol albert continues to tell lies...which he is paid to do...

So why dont you tell the truth. Clearly a sign of being rejected by the Gtown voters and infighting within the AFC has put you all in a bind. We asked about Trotman and we got the answer. Ramjattan is the "Corbin" of the AFC. He cant get votes and your intelligentsia dont want to serve under him.

The ROARisation of the AFC has led to its demise. Thanks to them you all neglecting Gtwn and now its too late to regain support in this largest voting bloc, and the one most hostile to the PPP.
Originally posted by caribj:

Gerhard your pathetic responses suggests to me that the implosion of the AFC has come even BEFORE I said it would. I have been warning you all since last year. You all called me a PNCite racist.

Listen go and build your flower works business and get ready for 2016. Make sure that you all build a solid grass roots support base and stop thinking that remaining aloof from the public, preaching to them, calling a segment of them "homeless drug addicts" when you are considered a bougie red and potagee party will win you support.

The real middle class is limited in GY and the intellectual elites even moreso. The demise of the WPA and of the UF should have told you this.

No need to respond to every comment. The AFC is in the process of electing a new #2 so let the process run. The answer will come in due course. The PPP boys exploiting this quiet period making it looks as though there in dis-array. Not the case, the PPP and PNC have yet to announce their #2.
Originally posted by baseman:

No need to respond to every comment. The AFC is in the process of electing a new #2 so let the process run. The answer will come in due course. The PPP boys exploiting this quiet period making it looks as though there in dis-array. Not the case, the PPP and PNC have yet to announce their #2.

Exactly Baseman! Neither the AFC nor its supporters must react knee-jerk fashion to these fishing(!) remarks which when answered set the agenda and control the discourse as those opposed to the party will attempt. This is why Caribj and Albert (among others) are being ignored.
No need to respond to every comment. .

You know the AFC will regert this arriogance.

1. It was reported ,ong ago, and beleived by many that there is bad blood between Ramjattan and Trotman. The Trotmanite delivered virtually all the votes last time and remain unconvinced that the ramjattanits and his ROARite buddies can deliver this time. Many who support Trotman last time, in a vote against Corbin, have gone back to Granger, who is middle class in ways that Corbin wasnt.

2. In a densely populated part of Gtwn the AFC wa signored by potential voters. The AFC has been unable to explain why.

3. Holder was weak from the beginning and the AFC was worned about this by a key former supporters of theirs Freddie Kissoon.

Its typical bourgeois of the AFC to over estimate their importance and to ignore teh concerns that many in Gy have over whher they are a viable party. Guyanese cannot afford top waste votes on a weak party which is bound to lose and the onus is on the AFC to respond to their concerns.

Telling people to wear black armbands today is setting the AFC up to be told by the PPP that few Guyanese bothered with you, this while crowds go out to party. It just goes to show that you all arent ready for prime time and have no understanding of how the average apolitical Guyanese behaves. Hits and Jams pounding out music...you cant compete against that...so why try.
Originally posted by squingy:
[Exactly Baseman! Neither the AFC nor its supporters .

OK squingy we will see whther the AFC will even last until elections.

50 supporters in a dense Gtwn neighborhood....hmmmmm. And you think you dont owe Guyanese an explanation?

You will get fewer votes than the WPA.

Who do you think the Guyanese voting public are and why do you think that you dont owe them an explanation?
No need to respond to every comment. .

You know the AFC will regert this arriogance.

1. It was reported ,ong ago, and beleived by many that there is bad blood between Ramjattan and Trotman. The Trotmanite delivered virtually all the votes last time and remain unconvinced that the ramjattanits and his ROARite buddies can deliver this time. Many who support Trotman last time, in a vote against Corbin, have gone back to Granger, who is middle class in ways that Corbin wasnt.

2. In a densely populated part of Gtwn the AFC wa signored by potential voters. The AFC has been unable to explain why.

3. Holder was weak from the beginning and the AFC was worned about this by a key former supporters of theirs Freddie Kissoon.

Its typical bourgeois of the AFC to over estimate their importance and to ignore teh concerns that many in Gy have over whher they are a viable party. Guyanese cannot afford top waste votes on a weak party which is bound to lose and the onus is on the AFC to respond to their concerns.

Telling people to wear black armbands today is setting the AFC up to be told by the PPP that few Guyanese bothered with you, this while crowds go out to party. It just goes to show that you all arent ready for prime time and have no understanding of how the average apolitical Guyanese behaves. Hits and Jams pounding out music...you cant compete against that...so why try.

It's not a matter of arrogance Caribj, the EC is going thru the process of replacing Ms Holder, so why respond to every comment or theory being put out there by hostile forces. Very shortly the AFC's #2 will be in place and the game continues. Rather than asking the AFC all these questions, why don't you ask you PNC and your lateral image, the PPP, when will Guyana see their #2. Seems they have their own in-fighting.

It is arrogance. Long ago people have been query why the low profile of Trotman and why he wasnt in the PM position instead of Holder whose health has been suspect and who was always considwered quite weak.

The AFC ignored this, leaving others to speculate. Now who will people believe. The AFC offers no response when an appropriate one would have bene a very visible response from Trotman. Of cours ethere is still the matter of the fact that Georgetown folks have abandone dthe AFC as indicated by its pathetic showing in Albouystown. This further under scores the notion that the AFC has support from the upper middle class (some of whom have gone back to APNU who they fele has a better chance of attracting votes than the AFC).

The problem with the AFC is it is comprised of very intelligent, but aloof individuals who look down on the masses who they consider to be ignorant and lacking knowledge. Because of this they preach TO them. Do NOT LISTEN to them and do not think that they should build a organization which includes them as equal partners.

The perception in Gtwn is that the AFC is a "redman and potagee" party. Now I would think that a good showing in a depressed community like Albouystwon would have been key to offset that notion, but the AFC doesnt seem to think they owe an explanation for this.

Its is arrogance. Long ago people ahve been query why the low profile of Trotman and why he wasnt in the PM position instead of Holder whose health has been suspect and who was always considwered quite weak.

The AFC ignored this, leaving others to speculate. Now who will people believe. The AFC offers no response when an appropriate one would have bene a very visible response from Trotman. Of cours ethere is still the matter of the fact that Georgetown folks have abandone dthe AFC as indicated by its pathetic showing in Albouystown. This further under scores the notion that the AFC has support from the upper middle class (some of whom have gone back to APNU who they fele has a better chance of attracting votes than the AFC).

Keep on speculating. Why don't you focus on getting your (PNC) # 2 in-place.

Its amazing teh arrogance of its OVERSEAS supporters. A pathetic showing in Gtwn, the largest bloc of votes in Guyana, and probably where more than 50% of the anti PPP votes will come from.

Given the evidence on the ground why are you so arrogant to think that the AFC is entitled to any votes? It is increasingly obvious that Gtwn voters feel they have more important things to do than bother with the AFC.

Region 6 will not win an election....especially as they will vote CUP as they have for 54 years. Even as they fear going out to fish!!!!

BTW race ensures the PPP and the PNC will get some votes. Who are your core supporters? Clearly not Gtwn. In 2006 how many votes did you all pickup in PPP strongholds?

Its teh AFC which has to prove itself. Not the other two.

Its amazing teh arrogance of its OVERSEAS supporters. A pathetic showing in Gtwn, the largest bloc of votes in Guyana, and probably where more than 50% of the anti PPP votes will come from.

Given the evidence on the ground why are you so arrogant to think that the AFC is entitled to any votes? It is increasingly obvious that Gtwn voters feel they have more important things to do than bother with the AFC.

Region 6 will not win an election....especially as they will vote CUP as they have for 54 years. Even as they fear going out to fish!!!!

Caribj, you getting high on your own supply bai. As I said, the AFC will not be guided by you or the PPP timline. There is an internal constitutional process which is being followed as dictated by the Charter. There is no need to rush, as I said neither the PPP nor PNC have yet named their # 2. As for now, mind your Ps and Qs.

There is an internal constitutional process which is being followed as dictated by the Charter.

There is no need to rush, as I said neither the PPP nor PNC have yet named their # 2.

1. Indeed, one needs to wait for the AFC to conduct this business according to its Charter.

2. The Prime Minister position for other parties is immaterial to the specific item.
Caribj, you getting high on your own supply bai. .

I know that you all proved to every one that Gtwn cant be bothered with you. Confirmed what I was told that the AFC is seen as irrelevant.

Now this ought to worry you. If you cant generate excitement in Gtwn, the way that Hits and Jams will for the PPP what hope have you? The PPP might beat you in Albouystwon and other G/T strongholds.

BTW the point isnt the #2. The point was that leading lights of the AFC were quoted as refusing to be a PM candidate alongside Ramjattan. I am surprised that intelligent people in the AFC didnt immediately host a press conferences with Trotman, Cathy Hughes and others openly supporting Ramjattan and to prove to the "mischief makers" and the skeptics that the AFc is strong and united and there isnt a a faction of Gtwn (black/mixed) against Corentyne (Indian).

But you all are arrogant enough to believe that what you think that you are is what most Guyanese think of you.

Or maybe you all are teh amateurs that many think you all to be. Nice people with nice hearts, but not ready for prime time against the monsters in the PPP.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

There is an internal constitutional process which is being followed as dictated by the Charter.

There is no need to rush, as I said neither the PPP nor PNC have yet named their # 2.

1. Indeed, one needs to wait for the AFC to conduct this business according to its Charter.

2. The Prime Minister position for other parties is immaterial to the specific item.

For the AFC, it's not immaterial. The AFC is advocating a dilution of presidential powers so the # 2 and other institutions become very relevant.
Caribj, you getting high on your own supply bai. .

I know that you all proved to every one that Gtwn cant be bothered with you. Confirmed what I was told that the AFC is seen as irrelevant.

Now this ought to worry you. If you cant generate excitement in Gtwn, the way that Hits and Jams will for the PPP what hope have you? The PPP might beat you in Albouystwon and other G/T strongholds.

BTW the point isnt the #2. The point was that leading lights of the AFC were quoted as refusing to be a PM candidate alongside Ramjattan. I am surprised that intelligent people in the AFC didnt immediately host a press conferences with Trotman, Cathy Hughes and others openly supporting Ramjattan and to prove to the "mischief makers" and the skeptics that the AFc is strong and united and there isnt a a faction of Gtwn (black/mixed) against Corentyne (Indian).

But you all are arrogant enough to believe that what you think that you are is what most Guyanese think of you.

Or maybe you all are teh amateurs that many think you all to be. Nice people with nice hearts, but not ready for prime time against the monsters in the PPP.

I say to you Caribj, dont get overly excited. Ok, have to go now, be back later.
[I say to you Caribj, dont get overly excited. Ok, have to go now, be back later.

So while we speak thousands of black people are probably partying to Hits and jams. Tomorrow the PPP will use this to show strong cross ethnic appeal. You will have a few score with black armbands.

And even MORE people will become convinced that teh AFC had a good run of it but its days are close at hand.

Jagdeo outwits you all the time.
Originally posted by cain:
RE: The crowd pics. Guyanese people dem would do anything for drinks,music and food..and I do mean anything,even put on a proud face while deep down they resent the person they are supposed to be partying with.

Co-cain your eyes pass Guyanese people. You mussi talking bout ya hungry belly relatives. So how come Guyanese don't turn up in large number when the AFC sharing food and drinks? Wam ya'll can't cook? How allyuh expect fa run di country and can't cook ?