We see Guyanese politics through the lens of race

November 27, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, We tend to see our politics through the lens of race and that all or most political acts are done either to uplift or suppress a racial group. But is this entirely true? Are we being misled in this regard? This is not to say however, that attempts along the lines of racial integration do not exist. On the contrary the issue of racism is still the most unresolved issue in the world and there is no country that can say there is complete racial unity in their borders. If you pull from the teachings of Dr. Walter Rodney you will find that race in Guyana’s politics was by design to achieve a specific outcome that is not to benefit the average Guyanese. Racism was injected into Guyana’s politics by the colonial masters, in our case, the British, who understood that for them to remain in control of our resources it was necessary to divide and rule the country and the easiest way, was to do so along racial lines. In other colonies where there was a single race, the British divided them along political parties of the same race. And in others, it was divided along social status or class. As these countries gained independence and evolved into being in control of their resources, the British and their allies uses a hybrid of the aforementioned division tactics, where you find a combination of rich vs poor, party vs party, debt creation, intellectual property rights and of course, violence. Our recently held election is no different; we must not fool ourselves that the Government of the day has full control of Guyana’s destiny. We must continuously remind ourselves that our destiny is in our hands. So when we begin to praise politicians like they are “cult leaders”, remember that they are puppets too, they just can’t tell you that. The racism the PPP/C is accused of perpetrating is not necessarily an act rooted in race, but it is more of an act rooted in economic and political security for their constituency that happens to be racially identifiable. But in any democracy in the world today, you will see that most standing Government will aim to strengthen its base along economic lines for the interest of their political survival. However, because a lot of those countries do not have an identifiable racial political border, their politics are defined as party colors, names and ideas. The most notable case would be the American Democrats and Republicans. When it comes to racism in the parties, we must also understand that every institution has racial elements that raise their ugly heads from time to time. But the PPP/C will outlast those evil doers to continue its mission of a progressive Guyana. And I would hope that APNU/AFC will be able to keep their racial ugly elements from rising as well. The people are responsible for what happens in their country, if they are truly participating in their politics. Malcolm Watkins

Guyana's politics is defined through the lens of the PPP and PNC with the PPP attracting a larger segment of the Indian population while the PNC attracts a larger segment of the Black population. However, the parties themselves were fairly integrated even going back to the days when the early PPP two top guys were one Indian and one Black. The AFC was sold as a transcendent party by seeking to attract equally as many Indian as Blacks but that did not materialize. The Trotman Presidential race showed Black support but Indian indifference while the Ramjattan Presidential race showed Indian support and Black indifference. The Coalition promises to preserve this divide because once again predominant PNC APNU government ensured that the Indian minister have Black bosses even in the case of Nagamootoo as Prime Minister having to report to the Super Minister, Harmon. The AFC squandered the opportunity to bring true integration to the political landscape of Guyana. The two original parties will never accomplish that goal. And APNU is the original PNC regardless of what you call it.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Guyana's politics is defined through the lens of the PPP and PNC with the PPP attracting a larger segment of the Indian population while the PNC attracts a larger segment of the Black population. However, the parties themselves were fairly integrated even going back to the days when the early PPP two top guys were one Indian and one Black. The AFC was sold as a transcendent party by seeking to attract equally as many Indian as Blacks but that did not materialize. The Trotman Presidential race showed Black support but Indian indifference while the Ramjattan Presidential race showed Indian support and Black indifference. The Coalition promises to preserve this divide because once again predominant PNC APNU government ensured that the Indian minister have Black bosses even in the case of Nagamootoo as Prime Minister having to report to the Super Minister, Harmon. The AFC squandered the opportunity to bring true integration to the political landscape of Guyana. The two original parties will never accomplish that goal. And APNU is the original PNC regardless of what you call it.

The AFC have great ideals on paper, but behind that was a lot of self-promoter, egos and political grasshoppers all driven by a common hatred of the PPP.  The merger with the PNC was more to do with revenge as much as change so they hid their heads in the sand at the risks the PNC posed.  Nagamootoo came in promising to give them a much needed boost however, driven by motivations.   Today, we deal with the aftermath, few got half a loaf and the grasshopper class left with white mouth while the old PNC rein supreme!

The AFC have great ideals on paper, but behind that was a lot of self-promoter, egos and political grasshoppers all driven by a common hatred of the PPP.  The merger with the PNC was more to do with revenge as much as change so they hid their heads in the sand at the risks the PNC posed.  Nagamootoo came in promising to give them a much needed boost however, driven by motivations.   Today, we deal with the aftermath, few got half a loaf and the grasshopper class left with white mouth while the old PNC rein supre

Baseman, You are indeed a Scholar. You hit the nail exactly on the middle.  Spot on Bro. And that is why I can easily substantiate my claim of the HOUSE SLAVES.  Those two are RAGS, nothing but stinking RAGS!!!!

The AFC have great ideals on paper, but behind that was a lot of self-promoter, egos and political grasshoppers all driven by a common hatred of the PPP.  The merger with the PNC was more to do with revenge as much as change so they hid their heads in the sand at the risks the PNC posed.  Nagamootoo came in promising to give them a much needed boost however, driven by motivations.   Today, we deal with the aftermath, few got half a loaf and the grasshopper class left with white mouth while the old PNC rein supre

Baseman, You are indeed a Scholar. You hit the nail exactly on the middle.  Spot on Bro. And that is why I can easily substantiate my claim of the HOUSE SLAVES.  Those two are RAGS, nothing but stinking RAGS!!!!

baseman sound more like a carpenter 

We see Guyanese politics through the lens of race

November 27, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, We tend to see our politics through the lens of race and that all or most political acts are done either to uplift or suppress a racial group. But is this entirely true? Are we being misled in this regard? This is not to say however, that attempts along the lines of racial integration do not exist. On the contrary the issue of racism is still the most unresolved issue in the world and there is no country that can say there is complete racial unity in their borders. If you pull from the teachings of Dr. Walter Rodney you will find that race in Guyana’s politics was by design to achieve a specific outcome that is not to benefit the average Guyanese. Racism was injected into Guyana’s politics by the colonial masters, in our case, the British, who understood that for them to remain in control of our resources it was necessary to divide and rule the country and the easiest way, was to do so along racial lines. In other colonies where there was a single race, the British divided them along political parties of the same race. And in others, it was divided along social status or class. As these countries gained independence and evolved into being in control of their resources, the British and their allies uses a hybrid of the aforementioned division tactics, where you find a combination of rich vs poor, party vs party, debt creation, intellectual property rights and of course, violence. Our recently held election is no different; we must not fool ourselves that the Government of the day has full control of Guyana’s destiny. We must continuously remind ourselves that our destiny is in our hands. So when we begin to praise politicians like they are “cult leaders”, remember that they are puppets too, they just can’t tell you that. The racism the PPP/C is accused of perpetrating is not necessarily an act rooted in race, but it is more of an act rooted in economic and political security for their constituency that happens to be racially identifiable. But in any democracy in the world today, you will see that most standing Government will aim to strengthen its base along economic lines for the interest of their political survival. However, because a lot of those countries do not have an identifiable racial political border, their politics are defined as party colors, names and ideas. The most notable case would be the American Democrats and Republicans. When it comes to racism in the parties, we must also understand that every institution has racial elements that raise their ugly heads from time to time. But the PPP/C will outlast those evil doers to continue its mission of a progressive Guyana. And I would hope that APNU/AFC will be able to keep their racial ugly elements from rising as well. The people are responsible for what happens in their country, if they are truly participating in their politics. Malcolm Watkins

Is this why solja bai recruited the 2 coolie blackman?

Warrior, Lil pickney like you who brain not fully developed as yet should just skip certain Topics for now.

De man brain like cottage cheese. Gyam wan break today.

Warrior, Lil pickney like you who brain not fully developed as yet should just skip certain Topics for now.

I did go easy on him .  I know he slow.

u describing the man like a carpenter hitting the nail on the head baseman should curse your ass

did u flush that head lately 

I did go easy on him .  I know he slow.

not drunk as yet give it time

u describing the man like a carpenter hitting the nail on the head baseman should curse your ass

HEHEHE  I rest my case. Someone said Cottage cheese Brain??

The racism the PPP/C is accused of perpetrating is not necessarily an act rooted in race, but it is more of an act rooted in economic and political security for their constituency that happens to be racially identifiable. But in any democracy in the world today, you will see that most standing Government will aim to strengthen its base along economic lines for the interest of their political survival.

OK Einstein/Pandit,

You came up with this all on your own?

So let me ask you this:

How come when there talk about balance in the army and civil service, people on the other side oppose it?

The economic wealth does not translate into real political power. The PPP and their supporters may have had significant influence over the economy (most rural Indians are still poor), but they control no real power...the PPP was still brought to its knees...remember the protests surrounding Janet Jagan govt, whose life was cut short??

The natives may be happy with a booming economy, but real power lies in the institutions of power...but then again...this might be over your head.

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:
How come when there talk about balance in the army and civil service, people on the other side oppose it?

after 23 years of PPP rule, please show how Indo-Guyanese are disadvantaged in the army and civil service

and, in 2015, what is "balance" . . . what exactly is your recommendation?

OK Einstein/Pandit,

So let me ask you this:

The economic wealth does not translate into real political power. The PPP and their supporters may have had significant influence over the economy (most rural Indians are still poor), but they control no real power...the PPP was still brought to its knees...remember the protests surrounding Janet Jagan govt, whose life was cut short??

The natives may be happy with a booming economy, but real power lies in the institutions of power...but then again...this might be over your head.

Mitwah's failure to encase the text above in quotes caused you to think it originated from him. He presume you will read and grasp it is not his.

He is pointing out a confused notion, if not obsequious pandering of t he writer to the PPP.  He posits virtue where villainy and racism should be the necessary conclusion.

The rest of your post is not worth answering since the notion that our system as it exists cannot produce non racist political expressions misses you completely.

after 23 years of PPP rule, please show how Indo-Guyanese are disadvantaged in the army and civil service

The institutions of power should reflect the population, its not about being disadvantaged. Where did I use this word? Every group should carry their fair share of the burden. These are paid by the taxpayers. 

OK Einstein/Pandit,

So let me ask you this:

Mitwah's failure to encase the text above in quotes caused you to think it originated from him. He presume you will read and grasp it is not his.

He is pointing out a confused notion, if not obsequious pandering of t he writer to the PPP.  He posits virtue where villainy and racism should be the necessary conclusion.

The rest of your post is not worth answering since the notion that our system as it exists cannot produce non racist political expressions misses you completely.

I gather that much, Knucklehead. I read the article. You, on the other hand, are obviously reading too much into what he said. How do you draw that conclusion above if he made no commentary to the excerpt. Obviously, that quote must have meant something to HIM, thus his post....or you just grasping for an opportunity to expound on your big words to make us look stoopidy, eh?    

OK Einstein/Pandit,

So let me ask you this:

I gather that much, Knucklehead. I read the article. You, on the other hand, are obviously reading too much into what he said. How do you draw that conclusion above if he made no commentary to the excerpt. Obviously, that quote must have meant something to HIM, thus his post....or you just grasping for an opportunity to expound on your big words to make us look stoopidy, eh?    

My language is straight forward and precise and not stilted and confused as you have been?

Why ask the questions re the army as you did if you did not read the usual into it...ie we need more coolies there to make it "fair" rather than ask as redux suggested what made even the PPP fail to balance it?

And why the need to suggest the PPP  has no power in the system w hen indeed whey they were in office they operated completely in GOD mode?

As I suggested earlier, you missed completely the trajectory of your own analysis....inability of the system as it exists to remedy our ethnic  discord and allot power in satisfactory ways.

Why don't you read the passage slowly to see its inconsistencies.

OK Einstein/Pandit,

So let me ask you this:

My language is straight forward and precise and not stilted and confused as you have been?

Why ask the questions re the army as you did if you did not read the usual into it...ie we need more coolies there to make it "fair" rather than ask as redux suggested what made even the PPP fail to balance it?

And why the need to suggest the PPP  has no power in the system w hen indeed whey they were in office they operated completely in GOD mode?

As I suggested earlier, you missed completely the trajectory of your own analysis....inability of the system as it exists to remedy our ethnic  discord and allot power in satisfactory ways.

Why don't you read the passage slowly to see its inconsistencies.

If the PPP did not balance it after 23 years, that does not still make it right. Why dont you and REDUx explain why the army, police and civil service should remain unbalanced?

Being in office is not necessarily the same as wielding power. The PPP operated "completely in GOD mode"? Is that statement based on your convoluted and warped bias against the PPP or is that your sense of analysis?    

I don't think Indians are drawn to army and police work. They prefer being cane-cutters.

There were historical institutional biases in these institutions that prevented them from joining the ranks. They serve well in the armies of other countries. 

What happens when the sugar industries close down?

OK Einstein/Pandit,

So let me ask you this:

1.  Why didn't Indians join the police force and army when Cheddi begged them just after he won in 1992.  He even set up the Presidential Guard, almost all of which were Indians.

2.  If the fact that blacks formed the majority of the army meant that blacks dominated Guyana, why didn't they get rid of the PPP?

3. How  did the fact that the army and police consisted mainly of people living on starvation wages suggest that blacks had real power.

The PPP empowered an Indian elite which controlled all aspects of Guyana between 1992 and 2015, and even now isn't powerless.

Its is pure stupidity and dishonesty which leads any to conclude that the fact that massive poverty exists among rural Indians means that blacks dominate Guyana.

Which group owns most of the assets in Guyana?  NOT blacks. So when blacks lack control over the decision making in government, which they did NOT have between 1992-2015, not only do they lack any power, but don't even have the psychic notion that the elite would drop at least a few crumbs for its masses, as the Indo elite surely did under PPP rule.

You do not that the mass majority of Africans are NOT civil servants.

I don't think Indians are drawn to army and police work. They prefer being cane-cutters.

There were historical institutional biases in these institutions that prevented them from joining the ranks. They serve well in the armies of other countries. 

What happens when the sugar industries close down?

1.  The PPP ruled Guyana for 23 years and was able to remove these biases if they were really interested in doing so. Please furnish proof that Indians wanted those jobs.  I do recall much laughter about blacks being engaged as under paid civil servants, and policemen/soldiers.

You wailing about the under representation of Indians in the police force is as dishonest as if I were to wail about blacks being under represented in the rice industry.  You cannot force people to do what they don't want to do.

2.  If sugar shuts down then those who work in it will have to do what they screamed that the former bauxite workers should do. WHy do you all demand sympathy for sugar workers when you showed NONE for bauxite workers, even grudging them the little electricity subsidy that they get?  This when sugar workers only have jobs because tof the VASTLY greater subsidies paid out to Guysuco.

OK Einstein/Pandit,

So let me ask you this:

1.  Why didn't Indians join the police force and army when Cheddi begged them just after he won in 1992.  He even set up the Presidential Guard, almost all of which were Indians.

2.  If the fact that blacks formed the majority of the army meant that blacks dominated Guyana, why didn't they get rid of the PPP?

3. How  did the fact that the army and police consisted mainly of people living on starvation wages suggest that blacks had real power.

The PPP empowered an Indian elite which controlled all aspects of Guyana between 1992 and 2015, and even now isn't powerless.

Its is pure stupidity and dishonesty which leads any to conclude that the fact that massive poverty exists among rural Indians means that blacks dominate Guyana.

Which group owns most of the assets in Guyana?  NOT blacks. So when blacks lack control over the decision making in government, which they did NOT have between 1992-2015, not only do they lack any power, but don't even have the psychic notion that the elite would drop at least a few crumbs for its masses, as the Indo elite surely did under PPP rule.

You do not that the mass majority of Africans are NOT civil servants.

I thought you said LFSB's PNC empowered Indians and left Blacks out in the cold, now you say PPP did.  According to you, Whites empowered Indians, Blacks empowered Indians, Indians empowered Indians, Chinee empowered Indians, Putagee empowered Indians.  Maybe you need to also admit, the sun, rain and air probably empowered Indians.

He has none as the only way that Indians will join is if the GDF went to them with a gun to their heads and forced them.

You know the massive demonstrations in front of the UN and screams of ethnocide which will result if that ever were to happen.

Where did I use this word? Every group should carry their fair share of the burden. These are paid by the taxpayers. 

So do you think that Indian males under 30 should be arrested at gun point and sent to the nearest GDF center, as they have shown no interest in this, EVEN DURING THE PPP ERA!

A small nation like Guyana threatened by a larger nation should use the opportunity to implement some type of draft and compulsory military service for all able-bodied males 18 to 40.  It is an existential imperative.

I thought you said LFSB's PNC empowered Indians and left Blacks out in the cold, now you say PPP did.  According to you, Whites empowered Indians, Blacks empowered Indians, Indians empowered Indians, Chinee empowered Indians, Putagee empowered Indians.  Maybe you need to also admit, the sun, rain and air probably empowered Indians.

According to you, you are a LIAR.

I said that Burnham destroyed blacks. I have also said that prior to the 70s Indians were WORSE off than were blacks.  I have said that the colonials divided the Indians and blacks, privileging each in different ways, to encourage each to feel superior to the other.

Now get with your fellow Portuguese and Chinese racists, recruit them into your Indo KKK, where you all can scream "we hate blackman".

FACT.  During 1961-64 and again 1992-2015 the PPP engaged in the SAME racism against blacks that the PNC engaged in against Indians between 1968-1992.

A small nation like Guyana threatened by a larger nation should use the opportunity to implement some type of draft and compulsory military service for all able-bodied males 18 to 40.  It is an existential imperative.

And when Indians are arrested, because they refuse to join, because "dat is blackman wuk" you will scream how Guyana is a dictatorship and Granger is forcing Indians to join so that they can die.

Quit your hypocrisy.  You all don't want to join.  Be honest that its because you all don't want any black person to give you orders.

According to you, you are a LIAR.

I said that Burnham destroyed blacks. I have also said that prior to the 70s Indians were WORSE off than were blacks.  I have said that the colonials divided the Indians and blacks, privileging each in different ways, to encourage each to feel superior to the other.

Now get with your fellow Portuguese and Chinese racists, recruit them into your Indo KKK, where you all can scream "we hate blackman".

FACT.  During 1961-64 and again 1992-2015 the PPP engaged in the SAME racism against blacks that the PNC engaged in against Indians between 1968-1992.

Lies, you blamed LFSB for the plight of Blacks vis-a-vis Indians.  I always told you, you have someone to point your fingers at when the PPP ruled however, the Afro situation was no different under the PNC.  Many Afros did well under the PPP!

Lies, you blamed LFSB for the plight of Blacks vis-a-vis Indians. 

1. Which blacks did well under the PPP other than the phantoms.

2. Go scream "me hate blackman" and tell further lies.  I said Burnham destroyed blacks, and was racist towards Indians. Interpret this as you will.

And when Indians are arrested, because they refuse to join, because "dat is blackman wuk" you will scream how Guyana is a dictatorship and Granger is forcing Indians to join so that they can die.

Quit your hypocrisy.  You all don't want to join.  Be honest that its because you all don't want any black person to give you orders.

Nah, Indians went to the GNS,  The main issue back then, PNC forced the females which Indians found hard to accept.  If they don't join and serve, then you have a case so don't speak out of turn!  There are actions you can take without arresting.

Half of my uncles were in the police force and part of Jagan security apparatus.  The were very military-minded, so shut you beak.

You are threatened by Indians joining so you will ensure it remains unattractive so you have an excuse, face it!

Nah, Indians went to the GNS, 

Why should females not have the same obligations as males.

The Indians who did GNS only went because they were forced. No GNS, no UG.  So they invented lies about mass rapes of Indo females in broad daylight.

Let Granger have a draft and arrest Indians if they refuse, you and the rest of the Indo KKK will be screaming in hysteria.  Callng Guyana "Rawanda" and wailing that Indians are being sent to their deaths.

The Indians who did GNS only went because they were forced. No GNS, no UG.  So they invented lies about mass rapes of Indo females in broad daylight.

Let Granger have a draft and arrest Indians if they refuse, you and the rest of the Indo KKK will be screaming in hysteria.  Callng Guyana "Rawanda" and wailing that Indians are being sent to their deaths.

Clown, you harp the same old shyte.  This is why your PNC could never do well with Indians.  This is where you fail then and will again.  You are a real clown!

I see you cannot find arguments to refute.

Now go in the corner and scream "me hate blackman, black man a kill ahbe".  That is the only thing that you are capable of doing.

Is true what the man said, yall would cry blue murder, racism, ethnic cleansing, if Indians are called upon or slightly coerced into serving their country, you know that.

I see you cannot find arguments to refute.

Now go in the corner and scream "me hate blackman, black man a kill ahbe".  That is the only thing that you are capable of doing.

We litigated this 100 times since 2002.  I don't see the sense in going over it again!