Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo is insisting on elections in three months, saying President David Granger is obligated to respect the ruling of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) which last Tuesday ruled that the December 21 No Confidence motion was validly passed.

“We’ve been patient throughout it all, there is a ceiling to this patience,” Jagdeo told the News Room in an interview Monday afternoon.

He was referring specifically to the legal process which was dragged out for six months after the Government joined in a challenge to contest the passage of the No Confidence motion.

“We’re done with bending over backwards,” he emphasised, saying that the PPP would be uncompromising on its position that elections be held in three months.

That position is expected to be communicated to the CCJ by July 1, which is the deadline given by the Court for all parties to submit their case on what should happen now.

The CCJ had ruled that with the motion properly passed, Article 106 (6) and & (7) were triggered, namely that there has to be elections in three months unless the date is extended by a Parliamentary vote.

That deadline lapsed on March 21 and the Court is now left to decide on the way forward.

President of the CCJ, Justice Adrian Saunders, expressed disappointment that the President and the Opposition leader have not yet met since the ruling of the Court.

“The matters before the court are of the highest constitutional importance.

“It beats me that the Leader of the Opposition and the President and their respective counsel have not met to discuss the issues that confront us,” he stated.

He added: “Everybody says these are important issues, but it seems the same degree or urgency and delivery…expected of the courts, we do not see the same reflected in the bahaviour of the political directorate, and I think that is unfortunate.

“This puts the court in an awkward position. We do not want to make political decisions. At the same time, we feel it is our remit to see the rule of law observed in Guyana.”

https://newsroom.gy/2019/06/24...ons-in-three-months/

Bharat!!  Bharat!!!  Bharat!! The greatest Guyanese HERO after the Father Of the Nation; the late, GREAT DR Cheddi Beret Jagan (Thanks DG for enlightening me)

Ow bhai Nehru; remember, it is ....

Berret ... Berret ... B-E-R-R-E-T

Dr. Cheddi Berret Jagan 

Bharat!!  Bharat!!!  Bharat!! The greatest Guyanese HERO after the Father Of the Nation; the late, GREAT DR Cheddi Beret Jagan(Thanks DG for enlightening me)

U need to make up your mind. One minute Charandass is your greatest hero,  next minute is Jagdeo. U are a very confused fella.

And just for argument sake, if elections aren't held in three months time what he gonna do?

Cry!  He will demand that St Vincent invades Guyana to install him in office.

Does Jagdeo stop bending over? That's news to me. Lol

Jaggy

Is that Jagdeo or Druggie?  They have the same appetites.

That is Harmon trying to shake loose the $5 mil tied to his goady. The phone attached to the bag must be ringing non-stop.

Guyana has its own comedy central that make fun of Jagdeo and his alleged lifestyle for years. Free expression is better practiced under Granger govt. There is nothing to get uptight about, folks.

And NuffaL yUH DOES hALL LAKA LIL pICKNEY WHEN PEOPLE TALK BOUT sLOPPY, nEE nEE nEE NEEMACK, NEEMACKARAM, fILTH dEAD AND THING. kER AL yUH SKONT SUH!!!

Does Jagdeo stop bending over? That's news to me. Lol

Jaggy

Is that Jagdeo or Druggie?  They have the same appetites.

That is Harmon trying to shake loose the $5 mil tied to his goady. The phone attached to the bag must be ringing non-stop.

Lol. Bottom line Jagdeo in for a long haul.

And NuffaL yUH DOES hALL LAKA LIL pICKNEY WHEN PEOPLE TALK BOUT sLOPPY, nEE nEE nEE NEEMACK, NEEMACKARAM, fILTH dEAD AND THING. kER AL yUH SKONT SUH!!!

Pagglytootoo crying as he lost to dee Jhaaaaat

https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2014/04/02/10/36/man-303962_960_720.png