“We have no authority on our own land” – Tasserene Toshao

Tasserene Toshao John Spencer

… as miners continue to pollute waterway

An influx in the reckless and environmentally unfriendly mining activities in the Akawaio Village of Tasserene, Upper Mazaruni in Region Seven (Cuyuni-Mazaruni) is generating aggravated hardships for the indigenous inhabitants who are now forced to consume heavily polluted waters, simply because they are yet to receive legal authority over their land to take matters into their own hands, given that Government appears to be lagging behind in addressing the situation.

Tasserene Toshao John Spencer is imploring the relevant authorities to urgently intervene to dissuade the negative impacts of mining in the community in order to bring relief to some 300 frustrated residents who are finding it challenging to conduct everyday activities, such as cooking, washing laundry and bathing.

Tasserene villagers have been waiting for over 10 years to acquire their land title in order to gain the requisite authority to deal with the excessive mining in the area, which is now causing pollution to the community’s primary potable water source.

In 2007, the community applied for an Amerindian Land Title. In August 2012, then President Donald Ramotar handed over the “land title certificate” to then Toshao of the village Alvin Joseph; however, the titles were almost immediately withdrawn subsequent to an objection filed by the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) based on certain hindrances which needed to be addressed.

Guyana Times understands that the situation was dealt with accordingly. Though the issues were resolved, Tasserene village was never granted its title.

As a result of having no authority over their land, more and more mining blocks, permits and concessions are being issued for mining to take place in the indigenous community.

In September 2015, an addition of 60 new mining blocks covered the lands claimed by the village and according to the Toshao; this number appears to be steadily increasing.

“We don’t have authority on our own land and with the mining influx, more excavators going inside and we can’t do anything,” he lamented.

The Amerindian leader explained that the situation was initially bearable since the mining took place at a great distance away from the village and the creek; however, only recently, the mining activities escalated and miners are now conducting operations a stone’s throw away from the community.

Spencer related that he made several attempts to engage the miners on the issue but they reportedly refused to cooperate. He also made contact with the Indigenous Peoples’ Affairs Minister Sydney Allicock who promised to dispatch a team to the area sometime next month to deal with the situation. However, Spencer believes the Ministry could be more rigorous in their approach and perhaps do more to assistance the Amerindian residents.

On the matter of the land title, the Toshao said the Minister gave little details on the progress. “So far, all the Government said is that they are working on it,” Spencer related.

Moreover, he expressed concerns over the fact that GGMC officers visit the community without consulting the Village Council.

“When GGMC officers come to our village, they do not consult with the Village Council. They go and do their own thing in the fields and then they go back to Georgetown and we are left without answers,” he exasperatedly stated, noting that the rights of the people are being violated.

“We need Government’s intervention as early as possible. Our land is being destroyed by the miners in the area. Tasserene residents are aching,” expressed a concerned Toshao.

He noted too that the residents are ready and willing to work with the Government in addressing the situation.

“When GGMC officers come to our village, they do not consult with the Village Council. They go and do their own thing in the fields and then they go back to Georgetown and we are left without answers,” he exasperatedly stated, noting that the rights of the people are being violated.

“We need Government’s intervention as early as possible. Our land is being destroyed by the miners in the area. Tasserene residents are aching,” expressed a concerned Toshao.

Before 1992 they were close to starvation and living in FILTH , THEN came the PPP and they were transformed!!!!!!!!!!

when did you become an expert on Amerindian way of life...or yuh talkin out yuh arse as usual

Before 1992 they were close to starvation and living in FILTH , THEN came the PPP and they were transformed!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah Nehru, Since when u became an expert on Amerindian Affairs?

Stormy is meh Techa.

Bai, why ayuh doan  leave that scientist alone, eh?  Even though he think a sakiwinki  is a bird and he bound to geh lost should he find himself in de guyana bush, one thing is certain; he won't starve. nuff cassava root deh bout..
Watch lil laff hay.

Stormy is meh Techa.

Bai, why ayuh doan  leave that scientist alone, eh?  Even though he think a sakiwinki  is a bird and he bound to geh lost should he find himself in de guyana bush, one thing is certain; he won't starve. nuff cassava root deh bout..
Watch lil laff hay.

You wait until Storm reads this. He will pepper you with an ocean of hogwash. We might have to consult the Oxford dictionary to find out what he is really saying. Who knows, he might have discovered another species of sakawinki parrot.

Going by insp. Rags on Saturday. He just call me.

Like deh Banna gat sport on Saturday. He Rass nah invite me.

Yuh head good?  he said u have to be there, he gon call yuh. it's the only reason I'm going. So u better show up.

Going by insp. Rags on Saturday. He just call me.

Like deh Banna gat sport on Saturday. He Rass nah invite me.

Yuh head good?  he said u have to be there, he gon call yuh. it's the only reason I'm going. So u better show up.

Free Food and Likka, yuh dont have to tell me twice

Stormy is meh Techa.

Watch lil laff hay.

You wait until Storm reads this. He will pepper you with an ocean of hogwash. We might have to consult the Oxford dictionary to find out what he is really saying. Who knows, he might have discovered another species of sakawinki parrot.

Ah know. I did it deliberately too. Knowing how he quick fuh tek a crank.

Stormy criticized the PPP for less than this. Where is he?

The PPP tied their hands with the Amerindian act of 2006 which weakened the authority over tribal lands. Hopefully the present administration will seek to strengthen those eggshell titles. Trotman already prohibited mining in tribal lands or land claimed by tribal peoples and I think he will intervene here as well.

The PPP on the other hand   refused to re evaluate the status of one miner claiming a legal right to mine native lands because she was given the permission by the government. They had almost 2 and a half decades to demarcate Native lands. They managed to allocate the entire forest areas to foreign lumber companies but many native people are still waiting for their lands.

There was never an instant that I know of where native peoples complained of abuses that the PPP intervened on their behalf. At least there is one instance of the current administration instituting a cease and desist order for miners who were polluting the waters of natives down stream.

Stormy is meh Techa.

Watch lil laff hay.

Bro, repeat what you know to be true not what you think to be true because some idiots say so.   There is nothing to laugh at because you are just acting an ass for no reason. I just will know how to handle you in the future.

The PPP tied their hands with the Amerindian act of 2006 which weakened the authority over tribal lands. Hopefully the present administration will seek to strengthen those eggshell titles. Trotman already prohibited mining in tribal lands or land claimed by tribal peoples and I think he will intervene here as well.

The PPP on the other hand   refused to re evaluate the status of one miner claiming a legal right to mine native lands because she was given the permission by the government. They had almost 2 and a half decades to demarcate Native lands. They managed to allocate the entire forest areas to foreign lumber companies but many native people are still waiting for their lands.

There was never an instant that I know of where native peoples complained of abuses that the PPP intervened on their behalf. At least there is one instance of the current administration instituting a cease and desist order for miners who were polluting the waters of natives down stream.

It is now 9 months into this new administration, what have they done for the Amerindians?  Did they empower them? Did they deliver on campaign promises of sharing out tribal lands? Did they pass out contracts to the Amerindians to even out the playing fields? I don't think so. You are a hypocrite, you have yet to speak out against the PNC's policies towards the Amerindians. It looks like once your party got into power you forgot about your alleged people. 

They did what the PPP never did, placed demarcation on a high priority list. Secured  areas held by the wai wai as national protective environment ( shutting out those seeking to exploit that area for rare earths). begun an animal protection strategy and for the first time stopped miners in their tracks when amerindians complained. For the first time there was acknowledgement of trafficking and stepping up of inspection of mining camps etc.

There is lots more to be done ie revamping jagdeo malicious amerindian empowering act of 2006. They have been there a year and they have done more for native peoples. Of course they also grasp the political reality that native peoples are the group that can keep the PPP in purgatory.