September 25 ,2020

The People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) administration has plans to spend $95M to procure new vehicles for top government officials. It was Governance and Parliamentary Affairs Minister, Gail Teixeira, who made this revelation in the National Assembly this week.

She told the House that the vehicles handed over by the former A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC) regime were in a deplorable state. Defects, she listed, include cracked windshields; stained, ripped seats; damaged radios; and incorrect tyre placements.

But Leader of the Opposition, Joseph Harmon, has spurned these statements.
“That is a totally erroneous statement. In fact, when we demitted office, all of the vehicles that were used by ministers were parked in the Office of the President – that it is now called – and the new ministers were there lining up and adjusting as if it was a vehicle market. They were so impressed by the condition of these vehicles…Those vehicles were in tiptop condition. In fact, they’re still being used now, so I would want to know what Ms. Teixeira is talking about,” Harmon said this morning during a virtual press conference.

He added that when the Coalition came into office back in 2015, the vehicles that were being used by former PPP Ministers were in an atrocious state. A dead rat was discovered in a vehicle that former Public Infrastructure Minister, David Patterson took over, he said.

“A dead rat! So, you can imagine what concern they had for government vehicles. I can say to you that all those vehicles that they (current ministers) took over are in tiptop condition,” Harmon reiterated.

The vehicles that the PPP intend to purchase, will be used by the President, Dr Irfaan Ali; the Prime Minister, Mark Phillips; and the Vice President, Bharrat Jagdeo.

Why are government officials getting vehicles? What’s wrong with the minibuses?

Where were you when the PNC  cabals were ordering several new vehicles  5 years and 5 months ago. Now the PPP deh pan OIL.

Why are government officials getting vehicles?

What’s wrong with the minibuses?

@kp posted:

Where were you when the PNC  cabals were ordering several new vehicles  5 years and 5 months ago. Now the PPP deh pan OIL.

Bhai KP ...

It seems that Bibi Haniffa wants the current government ministers to be travelling in push-carts -- similar to what Labba uses when he is selling cane juice in the US_of_A.     

Man pulling two-wheel cart roams the country for no particular cause | Park Rapids Enterprise

She told the House that the vehicles handed over by the former A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC) regime were in a deplorable state. Defects, she listed, include cracked windshields; stained, ripped seats; damaged radios; and incorrect tire placements.

The PNC is good at destroying properties. They never spent money on maintaining anything.  During the last five years, they were ruthless in going after the PPP members of Parliament. They neglected to govern the country.

@VishMahabir posted:

Man pulling two-wheel cart roams the country for no particular cause | Park Rapids EnterpriseIs this Mits??

Vish, my grandfather had a push cart like that. We used it everyday to fetch water from the well about a mile away before we got water mains to supply water to the villages. We also took it to the farm to fetch stuff. This push cart brings back lots of memories of child hood days. Enjoy yours now.

@seignet posted:

In 1992, the PPP claim the PNC stole the vehicles. An excuse just to buy new ones. Now, in 2020 still excuses for abuse of power. 

It was a fact.  However, the vehicles were no good.  The PNC government imported cars and buses without spare parts. That was why they had nothing to hand over to the PPP.

@Ramakant-P posted:

It was a fact.  However, the vehicles were no good.  The PNC government imported cars and buses without spare parts. That was why they had nothing to hand over to the PPP.

So you agree the PPP claims are outrageous.

@Ramakant-P posted:

The government should put those Cubans in Guyana to work. Those people got experience to make car parts from garbage.

@Ace posted:

To describe the vehicles as being in tip top shape of subjective. Didn’t Nagga receive a new vehicle in 2015. What about the other governmental officials?

I would not doubt the ONC trashed the vehicles. Could be also that the PNc and PPP have different standards of describing tip-top conditions. Dem black people can always find a piece of junk and call it tiptop. Didn't one of the PNC ministers sell a $25 mil SUV to himself for $2.5 mil? Maybe he realized the vehicle was trashed already.

@VishMahabir posted:

Man pulling two-wheel cart roams the country for no particular cause | Park Rapids EnterpriseIs this Mits??

I met a man in Cuba with the same thing.  He told me that it was a Cuban eco-car and that it was very good for the environment. I told him that at least Guyana got a donkey cart economy.

@Prashad posted:

I met a man in Cuba with the same thing.  He told me that it was a Cuban eco-car and that it was very good for the environment. I told him that at least Guyana got a donkey cart economy.

The man should have taken your advice and strapped you to the cart for the donkey. You would have felt right at home.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Too much time is being wasted on arguing about the old vehicles.  The Government should auction off the old ones and buy new ones.

How much would you pay for Granger's or Moses' vehicles?

How often do you change your vehicles?