Amanza Walton-Desir

May 4 ,2021

APNU+AFC Parliamentarian Amanza Walton-Desir has accused the governing PPP/C, their supporters and various “surrogates” of deliberating misinterpreting comments she made in an attempt to malign her character.

“The interpretation that the PPP/C and their sycophant surrogates placed on my words confirms that they are content to continue the ruinous racist rhetoric that has plagued Guyana since her independence and one which continues to arrest her development. Their propaganda machinery has been put into over drive to paint me as a racist,” Walton-Desir declared in a video statement on Saturday.

The issue centres around an analysis provided by the politician during an appearance on the talk show ‘Politics 101’ with Dr David Hinds.

During the show which is aired on KAMSTV, Walton-Desir described supporters of the PPP/C as “mentally lazy.”

“Unfortunately that side of the political divide, the PPP/C have a base who prefer if they say this is going to happen – that these men are going to come and rape your daughters and kill your children they believe that because the burden of sorting things out for themselves is too great so they remain trapped all the while believing they are free and have the right to self-determine. They don’t have the right of self-determination because freedom requires the responsibility. True freedom requires work, it requires investment…the minute you take the role of self-determination it requires work so we have a bunch of mentally lazy people. The PPP/C understands this very, very well and they capitalize on it,” she argued while positing that the supporters of the PNCR are far more inquisitive and inquiring with a greater appreciation of the democratic process.

The parliamentarian’s comments were pounced on by the PPP/C with the party’s official Facebook page reposting a clip from the show with the caption “APNU+AFC Member of Parliament Amanza Walton-Desir says Indo-Guyanese are mentally lazy people.”

Additionally the Indian Action Com-mittee (IAC) says it has lodged a complaint with the Ethnic Relations Commis-sion (ERC) over the remarks.

In a statement on Saturday, the IAC said having listened to the comments it is of the firm view that, in the context of the country’s politics, there is no ambiguity that they were directed at Indo-Guyanese.

Walton-Desir addressed this assumption in her response noting that “in their crazed frenzy to deliberately twist my words they have forced every Guyanese to ponder [whether] the PPP/C is suggesting that they consider only Indo-Guyanese to be their supporters.”

She maintained that there exists a section of the Guyanese population which does not wish to do the work required to truly exercise self-determination and therefore they are mentally lazy.

“The PPP/C knows this and capitalizes on it…the PPP/C takes advantage of the fact that by and large we allow propaganda to take root in our minds and neglect to enquire and investigate for ourselves and so doing we allow lies because they are so oft repeated to become our truth,” the politician reiterated adding that at no time did she say that Indo-Guyanese are mentally lazy.

Walton-Desir explained that the one and half minute exchange being bandied about is part of a one hour discussion which addressed a myriad of issues and included leader of the AFC Khemraj Ramjattam. She noted that during the discussion Ramjattan commended her for “the anti-racist theme in her politics”.

Her remark was on the mark, she is saying the people are like sheep, they don't think for themselves. This can also be said about some segments of the PNC.

And PPP supporters believes the PPP. So, the lady is correct, they have closed minds. So does the PNC.

That is Guyana fuh yuh. We are lost forever-all the 83000 square miles and yet people have to resort to squatting and stealing land titles. As for the aile monies, it probably never get spent. Indians love to horde up money. It looks good in the bank account.

Indians basically are cultish, Caribj would say dey cliquish. Eighty percent of dem will never allow the country to move forward and maybe 99.999999999999999% of blacks the same way.

I stand by Amanza Walton-Desir and her words

Dear Editor

The PPP and its acolytes have found a new target in their relentless attacks on leaders of African Guyanese origins. There has been a chorus of condemnations of statements made by Amanza Walton-Desir on my online program, Politics 101. They have taken two words ‘mentally lazy” and attach extreme meaning to them. The accusation is that Ms. Walton-Desir comments are racist because she meant that Indian Guyanese are mentally lazy. It is a case of much ado about nothing. Or put another way, it is a case of the PPP and their acolytes seeking to use the public media to poison their supporters’ minds against African Guyanese and simultaneously politically and psychologically lynching another African Guyanese public person.
I just read reports of a statement by the Indian Action Committee calling on the Ethnic Relations Commission to take action against Ms. Walton-Desir. The statement also reported that I was shaking my head as Ms. Walton-Desir was speaking—a clear impression that I agreed with her. Let me say this, whether I agreed with her is immaterial. What is of importance is that I stand in solidarity with her as she navigates this latest onslaught by individuals and organisations bent on psychological and political warfare against those they deem to be their enemies.
I say emphatically that the offending statement is neither offensive nor racist. Let me explain. There is a whole school of thought in Ethnic Studies—the Instrumentalist School of Thought – which holds that ethnicity, is not real that it is politicians who instill this “false consciousness” in their supporters. Ms. Walton Desir was simply applying that thesis to Guyana. It is a thesis that is embraced by many Guyanese commentators, including Freddie Kissoon who started the attacks on Ms. Walton-Desir.
Here is what Kissoon wrote in his column of Sunday May 2, 2021: “I could go on but from 2015, African Guyanese were betrayed by their party. But unwisely in 2020, they voted for the race of their politicians. Let’s hope they learn in 2025.” By Kissoon’s logic, we should conclude that he thinks African Guyanese are an “unwise people,” and ask the ERC to investigate him. The fact that he, Kissoon, can write the very thing that he finds as racist coming from Walton-Desir, says it all. He either feels that only one set of people can speak on that phenomenon or he simply saw an opportunity to politically and racially lynch another.
I have been on programs with top PPP leaders who say Indian Guyanese vote for the PPP because of the party’s working-class orientation while African Guyanese are being fooled by the PPP. How many times has the great Dr. Cheddi Jagan expressed that thesis during his lifetime? Doesn’t that imply that Indian Guyanese are rational while African Guyanese are irrational? Where were Kissoon, the IAC and the others when these statements are being made? If the ERC investigates Walton-Desir, they will have to investigate whole parties and numerous public people, include Freddie Kissoon who every day berates Kwayana, Hinds and others for being “mentally lazy” because they didn’t support his narrative of “rigged election” next year. According to Freddie, we chose race over democracy. He describes me as a PNC surrogate.
They have clearly taken two words by a woman and substituted them for the larger point she made. Yes, words matter, but in this instance where words are being used to lynch a human being, I stand with that human being. These people are being hypocritical. I cannot be part of the political and psychological lynching of an innocent woman.

Yours truly,
David Hinds

Hinds, the WOMAN is a Guyanese woman. Why yuh always get stuck up ur azz.

For decades now you say the same shit, black this and black that.

Man, get a life. Mek moh indian friends-You and David Granger should.

@cain posted:

Her remark was on the mark, she is saying the people are like sheep, they don't think for themselves. This can also be said about some segments of the PNC.

Perhaps Cain ...

She is saying that she is a sheep who does not think for herself.

Trying to analyze Indian psychology: Guyana Opposition MP Amanza Walton-Desir chose the wrong path!

Dr.-Tara-Singh

Dr.Tara Singh

May 4 ,2021

Trying to analyze Indian psychology: Guyana Opposition MP Amanza Walton-Desir chose the wrong path!

After days of ongoing controversy, the Guyana Oppostion PNCR (People’s National Congress Reform Party) has worked out a strategy to respond to their embattled MP (Member of Parliament), Ms. Amanza Walton-Desir (AWD), who brazenly stated that Indians are “mentally lazy,” and that they allow the PPPC (People’s Progressive Party) to think for them.

AWD, therefore, views Indians as robots. After sustained attacks for this racist remark, she (AWD) has produced a damage control video (DCV) which further complicates, rather than resolves the issue.

What AWD is saying in the video (DCV) is classic revisionism. She contends that the PPPC and Indians did not understand her comments on the race issue. Well, isn’t this consistent with her stated position that Indians are “mentally lazy?”

Amanza-Walton-Desir

Ms. Amanza Walton-Desir

Even in her DCV response, she continues to insult our (Indians) intelligence by indicating that Indians are not smart enough to understand what she said and meant.

AWD has accused the PPPC and Indians of having put others in “bondage” and of raping the country’s treasury. Really! This is where (“projection”) the PNCR and their operatives excel.

That is, they blame others for their mistakes and misfortunes. The world knows, for example, that they were the ones to defy constitutional rule and tenaciously held onto power for over 19 months after the successful passage of the No-Confidence-Motion in December 2018, inclusive of the 5 months after the March 2, 2020 polls, when they failed in a transparent attempt to stage an electoral coup d’état.  

In a desperate attempt to cover her racist rants with semantics and metaphors, she quickly assumes the role of a high priest and began to pontificate on the need for democracy, good governance, and race tolerance.

Where was she when (2015-2016) the PNCR government closed sugar estates and fired 6,000 Indian sugar workers? Where was she during the 19 months (12/1918-3/2020) of unconstitutional rule by her party? Why did she and her party vigorously argue that 33 was not the majority of a 65 seat Parliament?

In her damage control video response (DCV), AWD has complicated rather than clarify the burning issue of labeling Indians as “mentally lazy,” and for asserting that Africans are more “inquiring.”

Guyana Opposition’s racial code language

Some researchers into eugenics had sought to link race inferiority to “feeble mindedness.” If one is feeble minded, then he is considered racially inferior. I believe that mental laziness is a code word for feeble mindedness. The PNCR and their operatives are noted for creating code words to cover glaring abuses.

Reading a prepared speech (DCV), which suggests the inputs of her colleagues, in an effort to exonerate herself from the racist-linked firestorm that she has evoked, AWD has failed to show any remorse for her vulgar comments, but instead choose to rationalize them, with faulty logic and often condescending rhetoric.

To seek reinforcement for her (AWD) stated position on racism from Khemraj Ramjattan (leader of the dying AFC party) who extolls her “race bait” speech, is not only an act of desperation but one of poor judgment.

The Indian community has completely alienated itself from Ramjattan, who betrayed it and who rightfully view him as the driving force behind the closure of sugar estates that threw over 6,000 Indian sugar workers out of work.

Ramjattan cannot, therefore, speak for the Indian community on any matter. He has never stood up for Indians in the last decade. This was the same man who also justified and defended Ms. Volda Lawrence when she said that she would give jobs only to people of her PNCR party.

To say that Indians are “mentally lazy,” and that Africans are more “inquiring” and democratically inclined, is really a question that revolves around notions of superiority and inferiority. How else could any reasonable person view this?

MP Amanza Walton-Desir should apologise

In AWD’s damage control video (DCV), she sought and got the support of her PNCR supporters, who lauded her for reading what they term as a fine speech. I never heard them praising PNCR’s Joe Harmon, or PNCR’s David Granger or PNCR’s Volda Lawrence for presenting a fine speech!

The damage control video is also a crass attempt to make Indians the perpetrator of racism, while Africans are viewed as the victims, although Indians are perceived by her (AWD) as inferior.

AWD tried to rationalize her comments and tempered these with flowery rhetoric; but in so doing she, once again, got trapped in her racist maneuvers. She blasted the PPPC for promoting racism when everyone, including herself, knows that the only issue the PNCR has to run on, is racism.

AWD’s Herculean effort to blame the victims, though unproductive, is not surprising. AWD and her PNCR supporters have exalted her status and even identify her as a Presidential candidate. If a PNCR operative can make racist remarks and adopt racism as a political strategy, and then accuses the other side of practicing racism, it seems according to PNCR supporters that this is enough to make a PNCR member qualify for leadership!

One thing is clear: AWD and her advisors have succeeded in convincing their supporters that her insensitive comments were not pernicious, but innocuous; were taken out of context and were totally misrepresented by the PPPC and Indians. The implication is that the PPPC and Indians do not have the mental agility to understand her (AWD) “smart” remarks.

Finally, AWD is not a psychologist or a sociologist and is, therefore, not qualified professionally to pronounce on people’s behavior and personality. She is a lawyer and should stick to that profession. Judging an ethnic group based on speculation, emotions, and hearsay is dangerous. Using legalisms will not absolve her from guilt. It would be wise if AWD and others stay away from making racially-insensitive remarks and work, not talk, towards national healing.

Let me be pellucid: all Guyanese should promote race tolerance and harmony. Racism (whether subtle or overt) must be condemned by every decent Guyanese. Rather than trying to make a fancy speech, exhibit combativeness, and engage in rationalizations, Amanza Walton-Desir should make an unqualified apology. Guyanese society deserves no less.

Read More Articles From Dr. Tara Singh

APNU+AFC’s Walton-Desir goes to CID headquarters about Roshan Khan’s call for Indians to target her

in News, Politics Tuesday, 4 May 2021, 11:53 0 Comments, Last Updated on Tuesday, 4 May 2021, 11:56 by Denis Chabrol, Source - https://demerarawaves.com/2021...dians-to-target-her/

Opposition APNU+AFC parliamentarian Amanza Walton-Desir at exactly 11:30 Tuesday morning walked into the police Criminal Investigations Department as part of a probe into utterances on Facebook against her.

She Monday night complained to police about an utterance by Roshan Khan.

He reportedly reacted to a comment she had made about race and political relations in Guyana .

Mr. Khan said on Facebook that Indo-Guyanese need to picket parliament and her home and everywhere she goes.

He also said she must be targeted with sleepless nights.

The APNU+AFC says police invited her to CID headquarters.

https://demerarawaves.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Amanza-walton-300x200.jpg

Amanza Walton-Desir (centre), accompanied by Tabitha Sarabo-Halley and Coretta Mc Donald into CID Headquarters.

THE MENTALITY OF RACISM IN GUYANA ARE NO LONGER JUST BEING PORTRAYED BUT IS NOW BEING ADVANCED AND ADVERTISED.
Three (3) months ago an attack was launched on my Indigenous People's of Guyana via social media quoted " Buck People have no values in Society ". Upon seeing this which aches my heart at the moment, a number of flashes crossed my mind as a typical human being with feelings of mixed emotions but at that said moment I realized that hate is a sin and also a crime constitutionally and to addressed a specific person of a specific ethnicity will only define me publicly.
Nevertheless I took the opportunity to reconsider my thoughts and do the Honourable thing by approaching this situation in a peaceful and respectful manner as a law abiding and dedicated citizen of Guyana in reporting such action in writing to the Commissioner of the ERC Mr. Roshan Khan addressing the issue at hand and my concerns and by extension a resolution. I also took the opportunity reporting this to the Minister of Amerindian Affairs but to date not one single response from either parties.
Seeing the attack on the Hon. Amanda Walton Desir by Mr. Khan have confirmed my instincts to believe that The Mentality Racism in Guyana are no longer just being Portrayed but is now being advanced and advertised by the face of the Ethnic Relations Commissioner Mr. Roshan Khan. A situation of this nature in such a tense political environment is only doing our beautiful country more harm that healing and must be addressed from an International level.
I take this opportunity to call on all Guyanese to stand against any actions of such despite our race, religion or political affiliation and to realize that we are One People, One Nation with One Destiny.
I also would like to use take this opportunity on calling on the resignation of Mr. Roshan Khan as Commissioner of the Ethnic Relations Commission with immediate effect.
Kevon Lorrimer
General Secretary
Guyana Action Party.
@Django posted:

THE MENTALITY OF RACISM IN GUYANA ARE NO LONGER JUST BEING PORTRAYED BUT IS NOW BEING ADVANCED AND ADVERTISED.

Kevon Lorrimer
General Secretary
Guyana Action Party.

Django ... personal question.

Is Kevon Lorimer from MacKenzie, Demerara River area?

A Lorimer and I were friends during our school days at MacKenzie.

Dem_Guy

Django ... personal question.

Is Kevon Lorimer from MacKenzie, Demerara River area?

A Lorimer and I were friends during our school days at MacKenzie.

Dem_Guy

Yep ,probably one his family.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:
North America Region (NAR)
Peoples National Congress Reform
Brooklyn, NY 11226
northamericaregion11@gmail.com
Brooklyn, New York – May 4, 2021.
‘Any attack on one of us is an attack on all of us.’
The North America Region of the PNCR finds it deeply troubling that a surrogate of the Fraudulent Installed PPP/C Cabal in Guyana can issue threats on the life of a Member of Parliament publicly, and he is not reined in.NAR condemns this alarming threat on APNU+AFC black female MP Amanza Walton-Desir by PPP/C surrogate Roshan Khan. Some people just cannot handle the truth.
Why are these fraudulent installed Government surrogates threatening our black female Members of Parliament? Not so long ago, MP Tabitha Sabitha-Halley was assaulted and no police action was taken.NAR is putting the PPP/C and all of its surrogates on notice, ‘you’ll reap what you sow.’
The North America Region calls on all women in Guyana and the Diaspora to stand against the fraudulently installed cabal and its attempt to silence our female Members of Parliament and women in general.

Leave Amanza Walton-Desir ALONE!

Amanza Walton-Desir is being targeted for telling the brutal truth.  I applaud her.  I and many others have said the same thing about the PPP base. Leave the woman alone!  She may be the leader the opposition needs.   

For those Indians who would change their votes at the opportune time, they probably are not offended by her comment. Those voters are aware of the PPP base.

The lady made the comment, now it depends on what the Oppostion does with it. The PNC must know they need 3 seats which is possible for them to have anytime.

All they have to do is make a deal. Not like Granger.

The PPP was once a party of the working class.  Cheddi was a socialist and Burnham was a communist.  Maybe they were both communists.  Call them what you wish but they saw the evils of capitalism and opposed them.  Colonialism was one such evil.  Both the PPP and PNC fought against colonialism.  Burnham made a deal with the imperialist powers to secure independence and rigged several elections but became progressively committed to socialism.  What we now have is a PNC that has not changed much ideologically and a PPP that is now in the arms of big business.  Jagdeo and Ali are committed to selling out the birthright of the Guyanese people and the working class is suffering and will continue to suffer because that is the nature of capitalism--the rich become richer and the poor is left behind.  Now, in Guyana, the bulk of the electorate is working class and they are from all the races.  There was a time when this group supported the PPP and PNC but the parties were socialist so this was an act of self interest.  But, what is happening now?  The AfroGuyanese are still supporting the PNC but it a working class party and that is in their self interest.  Thre IndoGuyanese working class is supporting the big business oriented PPP and that is not in their self interest.   So when someone says they are mentally lazy that person is right.  I think that is a polite way of saying that dem chupid, prapa chupid.

Last edited by Totaram

The Governor's White Paper branded them as Moderates and Extremists. You call them Communist and Socialist.

In 1953, one group tried to negotiate, the other group rebel with burning of cane field and sabatoge. Subversions.

A Chapter in the "Activist", Subduing the Communist, stated the reasons for British actions.

@seignet posted:

Indians basically are cultish, Caribj would say dey cliquish. Eighty percent of dem will never allow the country to move forward and maybe 99.999999999999999% of blacks the same way.

This is harsh!

@Prashad posted:

This Totaram boils my blood early in the morning. Totaram needs a good bust ass from A MAN za.

Why would she want to harm me? She is a bright, articulate and beautiful woman.  Is me mattie coolie people who want to harm me but dey don know wha dey playin wid.

Why was Hinds nodding when she spoke? Encouraging her? Hiding behind the woman's skirt, Hinds? What a country!

Reminded me of the old Fogarty's Santa robot, forever nodding!

Mental laziness includes avoidance of deep thinking, usually because it's simply too much effort. Mentally lazy people tend to take what they're told at face value and don't apply only of their own ideas or debates. This is a major cause of the spread of fake news.Feb. 16, 2020
Why does this apply only to Indians?
Students attend schools and copy their teacher's notes, then memorize them. There is no leeway for thinking. This is a direct result of the education system left by Britain.
@Ramakant-P posted:
Mental laziness includes avoidance of deep thinking, usually because it's simply too much effort. Mentally lazy people tend to take what they're told at face value and don't apply only of their own ideas or debates. This is a major cause of the spread of fake news.Feb. 16, 2020
Why does this apply only to Indians?
Students attend schools and copy their teacher's notes, then memorize them. There is no leeway for thinking. This is a direct result of the education system left by Britain.

So you are explaining your indolence and slothfulness. You take the shit at face value fed to you by Freedumb House and apply it as your own idea or debate.

This is a great a testimonial of your introspection. Jai Hind!