I doan know why Rodney is so worshipped. I get it. He fought against a dictatorship and made some good speeches. But he was still never a national figure. He was at heart a Black nationalist and a Marxist. That's not really the makings of the kind of man Guyana needed. What was he gonna do in office? Be truer to marxism/communism than Burnham?

I disagree. I am not Marxist at all...although I am aware of Marxist academic methodologies. If you read the man's work - especially History of Guyanese Working People - you will get a feel for his sincerity through scholarship. The man's politics were rooted in profound scholarship, even if you disagreed with his Marxist methodology. If you read his work you will find nowhere inside the notion of zero-sum distribution. This cannot be said for the African/Indian intellectuals associated with contemporary political parties. These people of today cannot figure out that the destiny of bauxite is intertwined with that of sugar, and so on. If one industry fails all will be worse off. They cannot figure out that we have to grow the sada roti to make everyone better off.

You might be able to critique Rodney on the policy proposals his Marxism would bring and the possible errors emanating, but it is not right to question his intentions as a genuine leader for unity and economic justice. An old dougla man (77 years old) told me yesterday that one of the first things Burnham did was to remove a fuel subsidy for rice farmers. He argues it was to spite Indian rice producers. I doubt Rodney would have ever gone for this kind of zero sum political economy.

VVP said:

"By the way, my brother was Vic Puran.  He left with Kawall Totaram and my brother-in-law Ramesh Deonarine.  Totaram never joined the PNC."

I know Vic at UG. Before he became a PNC soupie, he was UGPYO.  When we were served letters compelling us to do National Service, Vic came to me and said don't go.

Then Vic became a soupie.  I had gone to him for help at OP where he was special assistant to Burnham, but Soupie Vic could not help me.

Your info. is incorrect.  My relative Totaram was a PNC.  However, he went back to PPP.  His photo is up at Freedom House with some other higher ups in the group picture.

I was in England for most of the Rodney hey days - 1977 - 1980, and I'm not that intimate with his struggles. All I know was that when Mugabe was greeting foreign dignitaries following Zimbabwe's independence after a violent struggle, Burnham was chagrined that Walter Rodney was the "Leader" in Mugabe's office while he was kept waiting outside Mugabe's office. Further, Burnham wondered how Rodney was able to make the trip via a clandestine exit to Suriname.

Originally Posted by VVP:
Originally Posted by Sheik101:

People's power, no dictator.

Yuh Rass was hiding under yuh bed when Uncle Nehru was chanting dat from Buxton to GT. Dat DAAG Bunham sent out notice that any Civil Servant that March with Rodney will be fired.  I called in sick and marched and chanted those same words from Buxton to GT while you were under your bloody bed!!!!

That was a massive crowd that day.  I was at the head of the UG contingent even though I was not a UG student at the time.  Eusi marched with us for most of the way.

DID YOU SEE THE CIA cAMERAS AND bURNHAM KILLERS IN THE CROWD???

Yes, they filmed the funeral.  Mostly from WPA headquarters to the burial ground.  I wonder where that footage is.  Funny that all the big wigs in the PNC knew that I was a WPA supporter.  Burnham had his spies all over.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

VVP said:

"By the way, my brother was Vic Puran.  He left with Kawall Totaram and my brother-in-law Ramesh Deonarine.  Totaram never joined the PNC."

I know Vic at UG. Before he became a PNC soupie, he was UGPYO.  When we were served letters compelling us to do National Service, Vic came to me and said don't go.

Then Vic became a soupie.  I had gone to him for help at OP where he was special assistant to Burnham, but Soupie Vic could not help me.

Your info. is incorrect.  My relative Totaram was a PNC.  However, he went back to PPP.  His photo is up at Freedom House with some other higher ups in the group picture.

Are you sure Totaram went to the PNC?  I know Burnham refused to have Guyana support him at UWI.  Vic used to help him out a bit financially.  I think you are wrong.  I used to talked to Totaram afterwards and he used to chastise Vic for going to the PNC.  Recheck and let me know. 

VVP:

I was in that funeral march from UG Road to Tiger Bay.

PNC filmed everyone.  They had people filming all along the way.

Later they replayed tapes and tried to identify people to put on a list.

A relative with the GDF told me I was on some PNC list.

A few years later my wife and I were retrenched at the same time. WE both had graduate degrees.

VVP:

I was in that funeral march from UG Road to Tiger Bay.

PNC filmed everyone.  They had people filming all along the way.

Later they replayed tapes and tried to identify people to put on a list.

A relative with the GDF told me I was on some PNC list.

A few years later my wife and I were retrenched at the same time. WE both had graduate degrees.

SO NOW YOU WANT OTHERS TO SUFFER THE SAME FAITH???  I guess you mean if you got screwed why not others!!!!

VVP:

I can't believe Vic is gone.  He was such a good lawyer.  Only recently I found out he had married a girl from Whim that I know.

Where the hell have you been chap? He was murdered by the PPP some time ago.

Nah bai I don't think so.  If he was murdered it was a family thing.

Originally Posted by VVP:

VVP:

I can't believe Vic is gone.  He was such a good lawyer.  Only recently I found out he had married a girl from Whim that I know.

Where the hell have you been chap? He was murdered by the PPP some time ago.

Nah bai I don't think so.  If he was murdered it was a family thing.

YOu had to answer ignorance???  Come on Bhai, it is better to leave ignorance alone!!!