Updated: Volda Lawrence is PNCRโ€™s Chairwoman; Granger hails โ€œcleanโ€ internal elections, party unity

August 20 2018

Volda Lawrence clinched victory to become Chair of the Peopleโ€™s National Congress Reform (PNCR), and at the end of the keenly contested race party leader David Granger  assured that the elections were free and fair.

โ€œThe process might have been slow and difficult but it was clean and complete,โ€ Granger, who is Guyanaโ€™s President, said in his charge to the newly-elected Chairwoman and two Vice Chairmen.

Lawrence, in brief remarks after Granger, thanked God -especially Christians. She said she does not bring gold or silver but a โ€œheart for the people of Guyanaโ€. Pledging to work hard to ensure her party remains in government for decades to come, she committed to supporting Granger and rallying the womenfolk for him. โ€œI also pledge to work with our leader and leaders to ensure that we address the needs of our people and that we all work together in unity and as we leave here, let us remember that we all are members of the greatest party in this country- the Peopleโ€™s National Congress Reform,โ€ she said in her victory speech. โ€œTo our leader, I say that I will walk side by side with you and I will bring the women with me and we will carry you and we will carry this party onward,โ€ she said.

Against the historical background that the PNCRโ€™s has been allegedly involved in electoral irregularities nationally and at its internal elections, Granger said Sundayโ€™s voting for office bearers for the next two years signaled that his party is committed to democracy.

โ€œWe have a mission and what occurred over the last few days is a vindication of our commitment to the people of this country. The people have seen transparency, they have seen democracy, they have seen clean elections,โ€ he said.

Official results released by Returning Officer, Attorney-at-Law, Hewley Griffith early Monday morning show that Lawrence clinched the second top elected spot by 346 votes compared to Joe Harmonโ€™s 287. The Vice Chairpersons are Annette Ferguson with 260 votes and Dr. George Norton with 242 votes. David Granger was re-elected as Leader unopposed as was Treasurer, Ronald Bulkan.

Griffith said counting for the other posts on the PNCRโ€™s Central Executive would continue later Monday. Sources said 829 votes were cast for the various positions. For the first time in recent memory, delegates did not vote for each candidate, but cast their votes for all of the candidates listed  on one ballot. At least one person was heard insisting that the long established approach be used.

Before the official announcement and when it was clear that Lawrence won, many of the remaining delegates and observers erupted into chants of โ€œUnity, Unity, Volda, Voldaโ€ even as she and Harmon stood side by side and held hands in a show of unity.

For party leader, President Granger, he highlighted that the party was united, despite weeks of a bruising campaign especially between Lawrence and Harmon across Guyana and overseas. Outgoing Chairman, Basil Williams who mustered 183 votes did not campaign as intensely as the two other contenders.

โ€œThey might have been rivals in the campaign but they are colleagues and theyโ€™ll all be at Cabinet on Tuesday morning,โ€ Granger said, noting that the internal party contest was over and the campaign for the November 12, 2018 general elections campaign has now started. โ€œThere are no victors, there are no victims. We are all working to a common destination and we are all working for the common good,โ€ he added.

Granger said โ€œat the end of the day we are one partyโ€ which is important to its members and country. โ€œI mention these two things: your holding of high office in our party and the holding of high office in government because in the final analysis itโ€™s Guyana that counts. They serve the party but they serve the country first and tonight has been a demonstration of that dual responsibility,โ€ he said.

The PNCR Leader used the opportunity to state that his party was leading Guyana into an era of greater social equality among all geographic regions, ethnic groups and social classes while at the same time being ready to meet with its political opponents. โ€œWe are leading Guyana forward into an era of inclusionary democracy in which we are prepared to meet and speak with our political opposition and members of civil society,โ€ he said.

Appealing to party members to โ€œkeep faith with usโ€ over the next few years where there is safety and social cohesion in contrast to the period under the Peopleโ€™s Progressive Party-government that has been characterised by heavily armed gangs and death squads that had resulted in the deaths of hundreds of civilians and law enforcement personnel.

Harmon was nowhere to be seen after the speeches were delivered, but outgoing Chairman, Williams said he did not lose although he polled the third lowest in his bid to be returned to the post of de facto deputy leader. โ€œThe party has decided itโ€™s time for a woman and Iโ€™m happy for Volda,โ€ said Williams who has served three terms as Vice Chairman and two terms as Chairman. โ€œI donโ€™t think I lost. I could have stepped aside โ€ฆI didnโ€™t campaign but I had a purpose for staying in,โ€ he said. When pressed on why he thought he did not lose even though he came in third, Williams suggested that he stayed in the race to ensure Harmon was defeated. โ€œLook at the effect of those votes. Anyone could have dealt with them; the second place man could have utilised my votes. It was a great decision for our party. I am happy to have been part of it,โ€ he said.

A well-known Stabroek Market vendor, on leaving Congress Place- the PNCRโ€™s headquarters- remarked openly that, โ€œWe ainโ€™t want no PPP crew in here. BK got to pack up and leaveโ€ in apparent reference to Brian Tiwarie who was at one time closely associated with the PPP.  Harmon and Tiwarie are also believed to be longtime friends.

A delegate from Region Nine (Upper-Takatu/Upper Essequibo also praised Lawrence for being supportive of the Amerindian communities in that southern Guyanese region. โ€œMs. Volda is the only person does go to Region Nine and visit the Amerindian communities. Harmon and Basil donโ€™t go anywhere,โ€ the woman said

Volda trounces competition

Victory! Newly elected chairman of the Peopleโ€™s National Congress Reform, Volda Lawrence (seated at centre) flanked by her supporting team minutes after she was declared the winner of the chairmanship of the party. Lawrence campaigned along with party stalwarts Joseph Harmon and Basil Williams for the post. Her win will go down as an achievement in party history as she is the first female chairman to be elected.

August 20 2018

Volda Lawrence was just after midnight today declared the Peopleโ€™s National Congress Reform (PNCR) Chairman beating out Joseph Harmon by  59 votes in a  win that President David Granger believes is one for women everywhere.

When the results were officially announced sometime after 12:30 am, Returning Officer Hewley Griffith declared Lawrence, who is the Minister of Public Health, the winner and informed that she had secured 346 votes against Minister of State Harmonโ€™s 287.  Minister of Legal Affairs Basil Williams received 183 votes Griffith said.  Williamsโ€™ result would represent a major defeat for him and the hope of being considered as a likely successor to President Granger.

Lawrence had also secured one of the two vice-chairman positions with 244 votes along with Annette Ferguson who got 260. However, given that she was the winner in the Chairmanship race, the 2nd position went to Dr George Norton who got 242 votes.

Women power ! PNCR's new Chairman Volda Lawrence (right) and vice Chairman Anette Ferguson

President Granger was returned unopposed as  leader while Ronald Bulkan was also returned as the Treasurer unopposed.

Following the declaration, the President gave the charge to the new executive. Granger stressed the importance of gender equality and said that he feels that a female Chair and Vice Chair is a signal of the direction the party is going where women are taking up more leadership roles.

โ€œI believe in gender equality. I am the first President to introduce senior counsel for femalesโ€ฆfor the first time this year 2018, there have been more national awardees who are women. I canโ€™t overrule democracy but I try very hard to ensure that women are well represented at all levels of the party. That is my general philosophy,โ€ a beaming Granger stressed. 

โ€œI canโ€™t say โ€˜Donโ€™t put this person because he is a maleโ€™ but the people understand what I want, what the party wants and what the party is calling for. So I am very satisfied that I have a female Chairman and a female Vice Chairman,โ€ he added.

For her part, Lawrence told the President that she understands his vision for women and will make right by him as she executes  her duties championing the rights of the underprivileged.

โ€œI do not bring gold or silver, but what I bring you is a heart for the people of Guyana. I promise to walk the walk and talk the talk. I pledge to walk the walk and to talk the talk to ensure that we remain in government for the next 5, the next five, the next fiveโ€ฆ I also pledge to work with our leader to ensure that we address the needs of our people and that we all work together in unity and as we leaveโ€”- all are members of the greatest party in this country. Let us walk with purpose and dignity and show the Guyanese people that this is the party to be a member of,โ€ an emotional Lawrence said to screaming supporters who stayed to celebrate with her.

Turning to President Granger she vowed, โ€œI will walk side by side with you and I will bring the women with me and we will carry you and this party onwards.โ€

Granger said that he believes that the elections were demonstrative of democracy and while the process might have been slow and difficult, it was โ€œclean and complete.โ€

Voting started sometime after 11 am and this newspaper was told that it was because there was a power outage. Later in the afternoon there were periodic announcements on the Public Address system for persons to behave orderly.

Voting ended sometime after 6pm and the counting of the ballots began immediately after.

Emotions ran high for Lawrenceโ€™s supporters who could not contain themselves with joy and continuously screamed her first name as they formed the letter for it with their index and middle fingers.

โ€œThis is what I am talking about and I have waited for years to see. Here we have a woman as Chairman and should be taken as a signal that we can have a women as our presidential candidate and President of this country,โ€ Cullen Moore said.

Worth every minute

โ€œThe process was long but it was worth every minute of it,โ€ he added

Granger added:  โ€œPolitical office is not a glamorous affair โ€ฆAt the end of the day we are one party and our party is very important not only to us but to the country. The persons who have been elected understand this duty. They have been long-standing members. And each elected member is a member of my cabinet. Rivals in the campaign but they are colleagues and they will all be at cabinet on Tuesday morning.  We in the PNC know who we are and we know what we have to do and we know where we are going. We have a team and under my guidance will work together. These are not strangers. I have worked with them as shadow ministers, in cabinet. We have a mission and what occurred over the last few days is an indication of our commitment. The people have seen democracy transparency โ€ฆWe are going to the future with eyes wide openโ€.

โ€œ โ€ฆI ask you the members of the public to keep faith with us. Just as you kept faith, the same with us over the next two years and beyond and we will lead you to that promised land. There are no victors and victims. We are all working for a common destination,โ€ he added.

For Williams and Harmon there is no animosity and it is now time to join forces with Lawrence as the party strategizes and plans for the November Local Government Elections.

โ€œThe party has won! I think that this is a historic moment in our party when we have an opportunity to work together to build our party. I donโ€™t see a defeat here I see that we have all won out of this.โ€

โ€œIt has mobilized our base so you can feel the energy in here. I want to congratulate Ms. Volda Lawrence on her victory and I want to congratulate all the other members; the Vice-Chairmenโ€ฆtwo of the persons who scored very high were on my campaign team,โ€ Harmon added.

Williams said that โ€œIt is the time for women, the party has spoken, the woman has won and I will support the woman. It is a great win and we will move forward together.โ€

Griffith also gave the results of all the other persons who had contended for position of Vice Chairman. Aubrey Norton secured 236 votes, while Christopher Jones received 226, Cosbert Roberts, 16, Jermaine Figueira, 22, and Thandi McAllister, 84.

Updated: Volda Lawrence is PNCRโ€™s Chairwoman; Granger hails โ€œcleanโ€ internal elections, party unity

August 20 2018,  Source

Volda Lawrence clinched victory to become Chair of the Peopleโ€™s National Congress Reform (PNCR), and at the end of the keenly contested race party leader David Granger assured that the elections were free and fair.

Perhaps, free and fair according to the PNCR's thinking.

Looks like the opportunistic Brian Tiwarie's presence at Congress cost Harmon some voters.

Possibly,

Granger need to boot him,he is also close to OL and sometimes take his advice.

Sexy Simona is Harmon's chief whip. Granger should boot her too. Who is OL? My noodles not sizzling this morning.

BRat

Yuh slandering BJ bhai? How could he take advice from Harmon and not want advice from Ramson?

Looks like the opportunistic Brian Tiwarie's presence at Congress cost Harmon some voters.

Possibly,

Sexy Simona is Harmon's chief whip. Granger should boot her too. Who is OL? My noodles not sizzling this morning.

BRat

Yuh slandering BJ bhai? How could he take advice from Harmon and not want advice from Ramson?

Whole thing mix up,it's the other way.

Possibly,

BRat

Whole thing mix up,it's the other way.

OK. In that case Harmon should cross the floor and become the PPP's next prime ministerial candidate.

"Farm workers" is that wan coded term ?

How about Farm Hands?

Billy thinks he is a smart @ss.

Don't take it so seriously when defending the members of the PNC, unless some of them in pics are your family members.

You got to be careful how you say things about the PNC.  Django is their lawyer. The man might file a lawsuit for defamation of character

How about Farm Hands?

Don't take it so seriously when defending the members of the PNC, unless some of them in pics are your family members.

You got to be careful how you say things about the PNC.  Django is their lawyer. The man might file a lawsuit for defamation of character

Billy goat, I think you will make one of those "Farm Hands" a great pet.

How about Farm Hands?

Naah not the sue type,just watching how you stitch in some words.