July 29 ,2021

Gladys Benedict

The events that preceded her being shot by an intoxicated Karl Singh, the Regional Executive Officer (REO) of Region Nine, have left 25-year-old Gladys Benedict unsure if Singh had fired the gun intentionally.

The police in a statement said that around 11 pm on July 20th at the Commercial Zone, Lethem, Singh and Benedict were in a motor vehicle belonging to Singh, when he shot her in the abdomen. Benedict was taken to the Lethem Regional Hospital by Singh where she immediately underwent surgery. According to the police, Singh was subsequently arrested and escorted to the Lethem Police Station where his licensed firearm was seized and lodged.

A few days later the police said that their investigation had revealed that the shooting was allegedly accidental.  Singh who was in police custody since his arrest, was on Thursday placed on bail. The case file on the investigation was sent to the Chambers of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) for legal advice. Up to Tuesday, Commander Raphael Rose said that the file had not yet been returned.

Karl Singh

Benedict has since been discharged from the hospital and is now at home recovering. She told Stabroek News yesterday that based on her recollection she is uncertain whether the shooting was accidental.

According to Benedict, on the date mentioned, she along with her sister went to hang out at the Kanuku Lodge Restaurant, where they ordered some drinks. Shortly after their arrival, Singh and a group of people entered the restaurant and sat at a table close to their group and began drinking whisky.

Later, she said that Singh began sending over some alcoholic beverages to her sister and then invited them to join their table. Benedict stated that her sister accepted the invitation but she stayed. She noted that she went over and after having a brief conversation, she asked Singh why he was pursuing her sister while pointing out that he was married.

That conversation ended when the Police showed up at curfew to shut down the place. However, they, too, started drinking so they closed the gates and allowed persons to continue imbibing in the restaurant. Nevertheless, Benedict said that they decided to leave and called a taxi. As they waited for the car, Singh and his group also decided to leave and everyone gathered outside the restaurant.

When the taxi arrived, she said, she went to get her sister who said that she was not ready. Overhearing their conversation, Singh interrupted and told her that he could take the sister home. He then called her saying that he wanted to talk and while hesitating at first, Benedict said she complied.

The car that was supposed to take her and her sister home ended up taking off and she was forced to accept Singh’s offer to take them home. At that time, her sister was behind the vehicle talking with her friends so she sat in the front seat with Singh and waited.

While they waited, they restarted their previous conversation about why he was pursuing her sister.

After she further questioned him, Gladys said that she laughed at his response and stated, “Well. Not me,” to which he said, “Oh really, you want to see?”

She said, he subsequently reached for the glove compartment of the vehicle and took out the gun.

“I [didn’t] know what his intention was but when I saw him crank the gun I left shocked and didn’t move and say anything else. He brace back to the door and faced me. A few seconds after, I heard the gun fired out and I felt the pain in my stomach and I screamed,” she recounted.

Singh then asked if he had shot her and she said that she had been shot. He then drove her to the hospital where she underwent emergency surgery.

Benedict’s father, Dennis says that he will pursue the matter and wants Singh to lose his firearm licence for irresponsibly handling the gun.

@Prashad posted:

Impressing a girl can sometimes backfire.

An unfortunate incident. Threat all guns and bullets with absolute respect because each bullet can land you in bad trouble.

Eh-eh Prashad ...

Looks like those activities always backfire on you.

On a serious note ... one must always exercise extreme caution when handling firearms and similar weapons.

He should be charged without further delay.  It doesn't matter what the victim says--it is not up to her to decide whether Singh intentionally pulled the trigger .  Moreover, Singh had a motive for shooting her--she was questioning his pursuit of her married sister. 

@Prashad posted:

Totaram I almost lost my life five times from people guns discharging next to me. Always handle loaded guns with care and respect.

you almost lost your life five times? you're such a drama queen

here's a man that holds public office out late at night in breach of curfew hours, consumes god knows how much alcohol, picks up a young indigenous girl, takes out his gun, cranks it and she ends up in hospital with a bullet in her abdomen

yet all we hear from the ppp lackeys is be careful with your gun. what a despicable lot you are. what if it was your daughter, would you say to him be careful with your gun in future?

Did any of you guys read the victim’s statement? Did y’all read where the police where there to enforce the curfew @9:30 but instead close the gate and joined the party inside which continued until 1:30 in the morning? Now y’all expect these hungry belly fried rice police after sucking the REO whisky all night to change their accidental shooting story and charged him..hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

@sachin_05 posted:

Did any of you guys read the victim’s statement? Did y’all read where the police where there to enforce the curfew @9:30 but instead close the gate and joined the party inside which continued until 1:30 in the morning? Now y’all expect these hungry belly fried rice police after sucking the REO whisky all night to change their accidental shooting story and charged him..hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

Hey Maniac, since he is a PPPite, he is an untouchable.

@sachin_05 posted:

nowhere in the report did it say the ("hungry belly") police were there to enforce the curfew at 9:30 [pm]. and nowhere did it say they drank the reo's whisky

as usual, yuh haul that out yuh BT

@sachin_05 posted:

Did you read the REO was driving drunk, pulled out a gun and the young lady was shot? You see nothing wrong with that?

@Spugum posted:

nowhere in the report did it say the ("hungry belly") police were there to enforce the curfew at 9:30 [pm]. and nowhere did it say they drank the reo's whisky

as usual, yuh haul that out yuh BT

So where this came from? out yuh kakahole....

I didn’t say drank, them hungry belly suk the man wisky ...hahahahaha

• mceclip1
Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

So where this came from? out yuh kakahole....

I didn’t say drank, them hungry belly suk the man wisky ...hahahahaha

i'm trying very hard to be patient with you. where in the report did it say the police arrived at 9:30[pm]? curfew refers to a period of time. they could have arrived at anytime during that period to enforce the curfew. comprehension bai!

@cain posted:

Did you read the REO was driving drunk, pulled out a gun and the young lady was shot? You see nothing wrong with that?

I see everything wrong with that, but you don’t see anything wrong with the police to- failed to enforce the curfew time, failed to enforce drunk driving law, join the drinking until 1:30 in the morning. Now you expect them to suk the man whiskey all night and suddenly wiped them mouth and charged him...

@Spugum posted:

i'm trying very hard to be patient with you. where in the report did it say the police arrived at 9:30[pm]? curfew refers to a period of time. they could have arrived at anytime during that period to enforce the curfew. comprehension bai!

I am here in Guyana right now[django can confirm from the IP] and every bar i went into for the  past few months, I can tell you them hungry belly are attracted to those business places like flies on fresh shit, always there 9:30 like clockwork. One time we were walking out @ 9:35 the shop owner was about to close the gate, they demanded to see his license. We left but the next day he told us he had to give them one carton of beer...

@sachin_05 posted:

I am here in Guyana right now[django can confirm from the IP] and every bar i went into for the  past few months, I can tell you them hungry belly are attracted to those business places like flies on fresh shit, always there 9:30 like clockwork. One time we were walking out @ 9:35 the shop owner was about to close the gate, they demanded to see his license. We left but the next day he told us he had to give them one carton of beer...

i don't care where you are. you should try to be accurate about what the report says

he shot the young lady so stop trying to distract with lies

if i say i arrived home at dark it doesn't mean i got there at 6:30pm. stop making shit up

Last edited by Spugum
@Spugum posted:

i don't care where you are. you should try to be accurate about what the report says

if i say i arrived home at dark it doesn't mean i got there at 6:30pm. stop making shit up

give me bais a break. dey have to cover up PPP crimes

Police force is BIG part of the troubles...it attracts vagabonds, hustlers and pushers. They are either covering for rigged elections or disappearing documents for PPP/PNC politicians and smugglers.

@Spugum posted:

So why he is not charged? Stop your shake batty distraction and answer that......

@Spugum posted:

yuh think that would have anything to do with him being a ppp?

Yuh think them hungry belly suk the man free rum all night might be the reason they concluded the shooting was accidental?

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

Yuh think them hungry belly suk the man free rum all night might be the reason they concluded the shooting was accidental?

that's the thing yuh pull out yuh BT

that he's not charged yet is no surprise to those familiar with the ways of the ppp

a couple of months ago a woman associated with the ppp bit a policeman in public on video and she was not charged. the policeman was transferred. the two at guyoil, no charges. henry boys will get no justice and so will singh

the police take direction from the ppp, why is this so difficult to get into your thick skull?

@Spugum posted:

that's the thing yuh pull out yuh BT

that he's not charged yet is no surprise to those familiar with the ways of the ppp

a couple of months ago a woman associated with the ppp bit a policeman in public on video and she was not charged. the policeman was transferred. the two at guyoil, no charges. henry boys will get no justice and so will singh

the police take direction from the ppp, why is this so difficult to get into your thick skull?

Yeah, neglect their duties  and join the party, filled them hungry belly with free rum all night cause the PPP told them to...hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

@sachin_05 posted:

Yeah, neglect their duties  and join the party, filled them hungry belly with free rum all night cause the PPP told them to...hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

they either dance to the ppp's tune or they're off to some place remote. evil, isn't it?

not to worry, is them same "hungry belly" you calling when them bai tek away yuh ting. i could tell from our exchanges you're a weakling