The government of Venezuela on June 18 declared that it would not participate in the judicial process requested by Guyana of the International Court of Justice (ICJ) to rule as to whether or not the 1899 arbitration territorial award is "null and void," an allegation the Spanish-speaking republic has promoted since 1962. As a result of this allegation, it reopened a pre-1899 claim to an extensive area of Guyanese territory in Essequibo, a claim which has progressively extended to even include Guyanese territorial waters.

In a communique, the Venezuelan government claims that the court lacks jurisdiction and requests Guyana to resume bilateral negotiations on the border issue. While Venezuela never acceded to the general jurisdiction or recognition of the ICJ, Guyana has said that that court's ruling will be binding on both the participant and non-participant.

The decision to stay away came after Vice President Delcy Rodriguez and Foreign Minister Jorge Arreza Montserrat met with the ICJ president, Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf who explained procedural matters relating to the upcoming case.

In response to the Venezuelan refusal, Guyana stated on the following day that it would request the court to apply a decision binding on both parties, based on Article 53 of the Court's statutes, which states that if one of the parties fails to appear before the court, or refrains from defending its case, the other party may ask the court to decide in its favor. A statement from the Guyanese foreign ministry hopes that, in due time, Venezuela will reconsider its position and decide to appear before the court and defend its case. Guyana says that it has requested the ICJ to decide that the arbitration award of 1899 is legal.

If the ICJ upholds the legality of the award it will give Guyana unquestionable recognition to the ownership of its territorial space in the eyes of the international community.

The refusal by Venezuela to present its case to the ICJ has prompted opinions on the legal ramifications. In Guyana, the online news site, Demerarawaves, on June 19 reported the views of a "legal and security expert," who requested anonymity, as saying that "Venezuela cannot accept and reject the jurisdiction of the ICJ in settling the border controversy. . . There is an interesting and powerful nuance - because the Geneva Agreement named the ICJ as a means of resolution of the controversy; Venezuela has, for all intents and purposes, recognized and accepted the jurisdiction of the Court for this narrow issue and cannot seek to approbate and reprobate at the same time."

The expert added: "It should be noted that the court is itself already operating as if it has jurisdiction-primarily because of the source or origin of the matter, which is the Secretary General, and not a state party. The UN itself has . . . invoked the jurisdiction of the court and not Guyana and the ICJ is duty bound to respond."

According to the Demerarawaves report, Venezuela's rejection of the ICJ marks that country's move to set the stage to reject the court's decision, thus seeking to reserve its right not to respect the decision of the court, especially if the ruling is not to its liking.

In Caracas, the conservative daily El Universal reported that the diplomat and international analyst, Julio CΓ©sar Pineda, said the initial premise of the Guyanese Government to Venezuela in relation to the Essequibo is false as "the Article 53 to which they appeal, is not valid in this case because it only applies when both parties accept the jurisdiction of the Court and agree to appear."

Pineda explained that Venezuela is not obliged to appear before the ICJ since the country has preferred to stick to the involvement of the UN Good Office. On the other hand, the university professor also urged President Nicolas Maduro and other competent bodies to gather all specialists in the area of diplomacy, in order to build a solid strategy that "does not let us lose such an important part for Venezuela." He suggested continuing to appeal to Article 33 of the Charter of the United Nations, proposing bilateral agreements and leaving the judicial part as a last and remote instance.

Apparently, Pineda fails to understand that the UN Secretary General himself said that the Good Office has been fruitless and has chosen the judicial method as a means of settlement.

El Universal also reported that the former director of International Treaties of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Milagros Betancourt, said that if the decision of the Venezuelan government was not to appear "what is proper is to monitor the process" and "have a strategy to achieve the start of talks with Guyana aimed at resolving the dispute in this way."

The paper added that the former UN ambassador of Venezuela Milos Alcalay felt that in international law "the absence of one of the delegations can be an obstacle to the claims." This is similar to the position taken by the non-governmental organization (NGO), Citizen Control, which in February suggested that Venezuela should gather a team of legal experts to prepare its case to present to the ICJ. As such, opinions regarding participation in the ICJ process are divided in Venezuela. Despite this, one prevailing view is that Venezuela will eventually field a legal team to at least observe the proceedings when they occur.

Ironically, while its allegation of nullity of the arbitration award of 1899 is of a juridical nature, Venezuela, from the time of the Geneva Agreement in 1966, has adamantly rejected the idea of a legal solution to the controversy and has consistently refused to present a legal case to support its position. That opportunity now exists within the ICJ, but a juridical solution certainly does not seem to be in the interest of the Venezuelan government.

http://www.guyana.org/commentary/commentary.html

Thank you Dr. Odeen Ishmael.

Odeen Ishmael

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigationJump to search

Odeen Ishmael (born 1948) is a veteran retired Guyanese diplomat. He retired from the diplomatic service in June 2014. He last served as Guyana's ambassador to Kuwait, having been appointed to that post in January 2011. In 2012, he was appointed as non-resident ambassador to Qatar. Previously, he also served as ambassador to Venezuela (November 2003-January 2011) and to the United States (June 1993–October 2003) and as Permanent Representative to the Organization of American States (OAS) (June 1993–October 2003). At the OAS he served for two periods as Chairman of the Permanent Council. In 2009, he was elected to a one-year term as Chairman of the Latin American Council, the political governing body of the Latin American and Caribbean Economic System (SELA), headquartered in Caracas, Venezuela.

In 1997, Ishmael received the Cacique's Crown of Honour, Guyana's third highest national honor, for his outstanding work in diplomacy. Back in 1974, he was awarded the Gandhi Centenary Gold Medal for academic achievement at the University of Guyana. In January 2002, in Washington DC, he was honored in the United States of America with the Martin Luther King Legacy Award for International Service. The US Congress, in a joint resolution, also paid a special tribute to him in October 2003 just before he completed his service in the United States.

Ishmael's commentaries on international affairs, in particular his analyses of South American integration issues, have been published worldwide. As an author, he has published books dealing with Guyanese history, culture and education; and political developments in Latin America and the Caribbean.[1]

He is now (since his retirement) a private individual and is not connected in any way to the government of Guyana.

Of note:

"In response to the Venezuelan refusal, Guyana stated on the following day that it would request the court to apply a decision binding on both parties, based on Article 53 of the Court's statutes, which states that if one of the parties fails to appear before the court, or refrains from defending its case, the other party may ask the court to decide in its favor. A statement from the Guyanese foreign ministry hopes that, in due time, Venezuela will reconsider its position and decide to appear before the court and defend its case. Guyana says that it has requested the ICJ to decide that the arbitration award of 1899 is legal.

If the ICJ upholds the legality of the award it will give Guyana unquestionable recognition to the ownership of its territorial space in the eyes of the international community."

Yuji, that's not always the case with territorial dispute. The ICJ ruling will not say that Venezuela cannot continue its claim on Guyana either. Venezuela's absent can only ease Guyana from Venezuela's hostility. Maduro intention is to hold the ongoing claim and use diplomacy as bargaining chip. Only a war can end Venezuela's claim. 

Bai, keep stupidness to yourself. Are you questioning Dr. Odeen's assessment and observations ?

You are a completed idiot.

I am not questioning Dr. Odeen's assessment. I am speaking on international law. Even if I question Dr. Odeen's assessment, why am  I not allowed? You must read before you jump in someone's defense. Do feel stupid now?

Bai, keep stupidness to yourself. Are you questioning Dr. Odeen's assessment and observations ?

I am not questioning Dr. Odeen's assessment. I am speaking on international law. Even if I question Dr. Odeen's assessment, why am  I not allowed? You must read before you jump in someone's defense. Do feel stupid now?

What makes a clown like you an expert on international law ?

What makes an clown like you an expert on international law ?

I am taking note of your behavior towards me, but I will be gentle and wait for the ICJ ruling. I hope there will be a full transcript of the ruling on GNi. Until then, peace out. 

What makes a clown like you an expert on international law ?

His half brain.

Yuji demonstrated his low down dutty behavior on Dr. Odeen's commentary on the border issues that is now before the ICJ. I have to make it known that Yuji chose to stoop low as a gutter rat to show off him self by calling me names because of my friendly comment to him. I studied international law for a year and I was giving my opinion on the matter, but yuji felt only he can comment on Dr. Odeen's commentary and no one else. I am shocked at his comments to me, but I chose to be calm. For yuji to behave in such nasty manner just because I commented on the subject, he should drowned in shame and never show himself on GNI again. He made it a habit to call members antimen and he addressed me as princess. How can anyone have respect for him? Is that how intelligent people behave?