Prostitution ring busted at US 'temple'
Tue Sep 13, 2011

US police has busted a prostitution ring operating at a temple under the guise of a center for religious services in the southwestern state of Arizona in the United States.

The center, called the Phoenix Goddess Temple, had been providing sexual services in exchange for money under the cover of religious healing, the state-run BBC reported Monday.

The police also arrested more than 30 people in connection with the case.

"The women were not called prostitutes, they were called goddesses," and they described the place not a prostitution house, but a “temple,” said Phoenix Police Sergeant Steve Martos.

The raid leading to the dismantling of the ring occurred in the northern city of Sedona, Arizona, after a six-month-long investigation into the suspicious activities of the “practitioners” who were conducting sexual acts in exchange for “donations.”

The founder of the Goddess Temple, Tracy Elise, who is among the detainees, has denied the charges leveled against her.

Elise was the target of a similar probe involving another prostitution ring in Seattle, Washington, in 2009.

Prostitution in the United States is illegal except in some small rural communities in Nevada. In the United States, each state has the power to regulate prostitution in that state. Only in parts of Nevada is prostitution legal. In all other states prostitution is usually classified as a misdemeanor.

Nevada allows licensed brothels only in some rural counties. Only 8 counties have active brothels. All forms of prostitution are illegal in Clark County (which contains Las Vegas and its metropolitan area), Washoe County (which contains Reno), Carson City, Douglas County, and Lincoln County. The other counties allow brothels, but some of these counties currently have no active brothels.

Prostitution is considered by some US governments to be a public order crime, a crime that disrupts the order of a community. It was at one time considered to be a vagrancy crime.

As with other countries, prostitution in the United States can be divided into three broad categories: street prostitution, brothel prostitution, and escort prostitution.

Originally posted by Chief:
USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

Misleading headline!!

It is debatalbe, as I only got started, might very well become a number one post for the month. In a country where man can marry man and woman can marry woman and people like you tolerating that, just like living in Sodam and Gomorrah.

Originally posted by asj:
USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

Misleading headline!!

It is debatalbe, as I only got started, might very well become a number one post for the month. In a country where man can marry man and woman can marry woman and people like you tolerating that, just like living in Sodam and Gomorrah.

I think you need some serious p u s s y...yuh too wound up
USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

18th century

Some of the women in the American Revolution who followed the Continental Army served the soldiers and officers as sexual partners. Prostitutes were a worrisome presence to army leadership, particularly because of the possible spread of venereal diseases. Some, however, encouraged the presence of prostitutes to keep troop morale high.

Originally posted by raymond:
USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

Misleading headline!!

I think you need some serious p u s s y...yuh too wound up

I like when peoples expressed their views, democracy at work.

USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

19th century

In the 19th century, parlor house brothels catered to upper class clientele, while bawdy houses catered to the lower class. At concert saloons, men could eat, listen to music, watch a fight, or pay women for sex. Over 200 brothels existed in lower Manhattan. Prostitution was illegal under the vagrancy laws, but was not well-enforced by police and city officials, who were bribed by brothel owners and madams. Attempts to regulate prostitution were struck down on grounds that it is against the public good. Seventy-five percent of New York men had some type of sexually transmitted disease.

The raid leading to the dismantling of the ring occurred in the northern city of Sedona, Arizona, after a six-month-long investigation into the suspicious activities of the “practitioners” who were conducting sexual acts in exchange for “donations.”

Did the outfit have a "not for profit" registration?
Originally posted by Mitwah:

Did the outfit have a "not for profit" registration?

Bai Mits, your guess is as good as mine.

USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

Misleading headline!!

HOLD YOUR HORSES BUDDY!!!!

Where and how have you arrived at the conclusion that I am supporting gay marriage?

FOR THE RECORD AND FOR YOUR INFORMATION I AM TOTALLY AGAINST ANY SUCH THING,PERIOD!!

And pleaSE IN THE FUTURE BE CAREFUL BEFORE YOU START YOUR STUPID AND IDIOTIC LABELLING!!
USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

19th century continues.....

The gold rush profits of the 1840s to 1900 attracted gambling, crime, saloons, and prostitution to the mining towns of the wild west. Widespread media coverage of prostitution occurred in 1836, when famous courtesan Helen Jewett was murdered, allegedly by one of her customers. The Lorette ordinance of 1857 prohibited prostitution on the first floor of buildings in New Orleans. Nevertheless, prostitution continued to grow rapidly in the US, becoming a 6.3 million-dollar business in 1858, more than the shipping and brewing industries combined.

USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

By the US Civil War, Pennsylvania Avenue had become a disreputable slum known as Murder Bay, home to an extensive criminal underclass and numerous brothels. So many prostitutes took up residence there to serve the needs of General Joseph Hooker's Army of the Potomac that the area became known as "Hooker's Division." Two blocks between Pennsylvania and Missouri Avenues became home to such expensive brothels that it was known as "Marble Alley."

In 1873, Anthony Comstock created the New York Society for the Suppression of Vice, an institution dedicated to supervising the morality of the public. Comstock successfully influenced the United States Congress to pass the Comstock Law, which made illegal the delivery or transport of "obscene, lewd, or lascivious" material and birth control information. *In 1875, Congress passed the Page Act of 1875 that made it illegal to transport women into the nation to be used as prostitutes.

*Sad to say that unto this day women are being transported to the USA under the guise of Couriers and other such occupations and so prostitutions continues unabated.

USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

Misleading headline!!

HOLD YOUR HORSES BUDDY!!!!

Where and how have you arrived at the conclusion that I am supporting gay marriage?

FOR THE RECORD AND FOR YOUR INFORMATION I AM TOTALLY AGAINST ANY SUCH THING,PERIOD!!

And pleaSE IN THE FUTURE BE CAREFUL BEFORE YOU START YOUR STUPID AND IDIOTIC LABELLING!!

I have never seen you or the Religious Organisations you support speaking out agains't it, so shuddup and stay quiet, you guys appears like pu$$y and allows it to pass. Are you aware that this came up in Canada and the threw it out?

might very well become a number one post for the month

lemme see...you make 99% of the posts on the thread...talkin to yuhself for numerous pages...then yuh brag about #1 topic...yuh really delusional

If you went to school you would have noticed that out of sixteen posts seven were by persons other than me........and that represents a little under 50 percent of posts but just like I figure, you are a duce in maths, why dont you get some kids to teach you?

USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

In 1881, the Bird Cage Theatre opened in Tombstone, Arizona. It included a brothel in the basement and 14 cribs suspended from the ceiling, called cages. Famous men such as Doc Holliday, Bat Masterson, Diamond Jim Brady, and George Hearst frequented the establishment.

In the late 19th century, newspapers reported that 65,000 white slaves existed. Around 1890, the term "red-light district" was first recorded in the United States. From 1890 to 1982, the Dumas Brothel in Montana was America’s longest-running house of prostitution.

New Orleans city alderman Sidney Story wrote an ordinance in 1897 to regulate and limit prostitution to one small area of the city, "The District", where all prostitutes in New Orleans must live and work. The District, or Storyville, became the most famous area for prostitution in the nation. Storyville at its peak had some 1500 prostitutes and 200 brothels.

I have never seen you or the Religious Organisations you support speaking out agains't it, so shuddup and stay quiet, you guys appears like pu$$y and allows it to pass. Are you aware that this came up in Canada and the threw it out?

Slow down or else your pressure will cause you get blood clot.

Did any religious organisation have a vote in the NYS Assembly?

If you went to school you would have noticed that out of sixteen posts seven were by persons other than me........and that represents a little under 50 percent of posts but just like I figure, you are a duce in maths, why dont you get some kids to teach you?

nash tek worries...the topic just started....let's see the numbers after you fill up a few pages

Since when you have become my advisor? Big Grin you have to work for that position to get it.

By merely become mute and dumb to the issue it was passed without any noises. Just like I suggest you guys lacked balls to make it an issue.

Answer me if you want to... Why didn't that follaman Katahar Organisations make their voices heard againt it?

It would have been better than to remain quiet. No?

Since when you have become my advisor? Big Grin you have to work for that position to get it.

By merely become mute and dumb to the issue it was passed without any noises. Just like I suggest you guys lacked balls to make it an issue.

Answer me if you want to... Why didn't that follaman Katahar Organisations make their voices heard againt it?

I am as dissapointed as you that no natiinal organization has not made thier voices heard on this issue.

You and I have similar core belifs however your style of confrontation is unlike mines . I feel that instead of constant fighting we can all meet at the lunch table.

I am as dissapointed as you that no natiinal organization has not made thier voices heard on this issue.

You and I have similar core belifs however your style of confrontation is unlike mines . I feel that instead of constant fighting we can all meet at the lunch table.

Chief I remmenber long ago, you would have smiled off things like this, but you rass get so scratchety now that it bothers you. Please be assured, there is no fighting or no love lost between the brothers, it is just a mere topic that I want to extend on, and maybe gets some flaks from other posters, as it is all the the game.

Me getting scrachety? WinkOr is it the other way around? wavey

Nah it is not the other way around, did you browse my topic on Miss Universe 2011 Big Grin Great win for Miss Angola....No one guess beforehand that she would have copped the crown.

Me getting scrachety? WinkOr is it the other way around? wavey

Nah it is not the other way around, did you browse my topic on Miss Universe 2011 Big Grin Great win for Miss Angola....No one guess beforehand that she would have copped the crown.

No I did not for I rarely go on the Bollywood forum.

Guys like asj are closset Johns, just like Jimmy Swaggert, Imam Mohammead Masoor,

You are crossing the line.....retaliation will stop you in your tracks. I would not like to tell you who to bring to prove your theory.

USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

20th century

Legal measures

In 1908, The Bureau of Investigation (BOI) was founded by the government to investigate "white slavery" by interviewing brothel employees to find out if they had been kidnapped. Out of 1106 prostitutes interviewed in one city, six said they were victims of white slavery. (In 1935, the BOI became the FBI.) The White-Slave Traffic Act (Mann Act) of 1910 prohibited so-called white slavery. It also banned the interstate transport of females for “immoral purposes”. Its primary stated intent was to address prostitution and immorality. The Supreme Court later included consensual debauchery, adultery, and polygamy under “immoral purposes”.

You are crossing the line.....retaliation will stop you in your tracks. I would not like to tell you who to bring to prove your theory.

Like the cap fit, why you mekking yourself holier than thou, show yourself for what you really are. As they say, those who point their fingers have the most to hide.

The US may be a "prostitution" country from 1700-->1800-->1900-->2000, but through all this it rise to be the greatest nation ever to have existed in human civilization. Go to thialand and see weh yuh fullah buddies practicing their prostitution.
USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

baseman
Like the cap fit, why you mekking yourself holier than thou, show yourself for what you really are. As they say, those who point their fingers have the most to hide.

The US may be a "prostitution" country from 1700-->1800-->1900-->2000, but through all this it rise to be the greatest nation ever to have existed in human civilization. Go to thialand and see weh yuh fullah buddies practicing their prostitution.

When an ineffable dunce like you has nothing to say and says it with a liberal embellishment of bad delivery, embroidering it with reasonless vulgarities of attitude, gesture and attire. Then there can no other way of describing you as blockhead so stupid, a crank so variously and offensively daft. Just seems like one to ignore

USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

baseman

When an ineffable dunce like you has nothing to say and says it with a liberal embellishment of bad delivery, embroidering it with reasonless vulgarities of attitude, gesture and attire. Then there can no other way of describing you as blockhead so stupid, a crank so variously and offensively daft. Just seems like one to ignore

Hey resident jihadist, like you prapa vex up deh, wah happen, covva blown. dunno
Originally posted by baseman:
USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

baseman

Hey resident jihadist, like you prapa vex up deh, wah happen, covva blown. dunno

Is that all you can shot back with? Big Grin What other problems do you have besides being unemployed, on welfare a moron and a junkie?

Originally posted by baseman:
USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

baseman

Is that all you can shot back with? Big Grin What other problems do you have besides being unemployed, on welfare a moron and a junkie?.

to your lil faggish post. Now tell me if the "prostisute" nation aint the greatest nation ever existed. And ansa why yuh fullah bruddas export dem prositiution to Thailand? I bet you a closset Johnny just hiding yuhself. You fit the profile man.
USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

20th century continues....

In 1918, the Chamberlain-Kahn Act[citation needed] gave the government the power to quarantine any woman suspected of having a Sexually transmitted disease (STD). A medical examination was required, and if it revealed an STD, this discovery could constitute proof of prostitution. The purpose of this law was to prevent the spread of venereal diseases among U.S. soldiers. During World War I, Storyville was shut down to prevent VD transmission to soldiers in nearby army and navy camps.

Mortensen vs. United States, in 1944, ruled that prostitutes could travel across state lines, if the purpose of travel was not for prostitution.

In 1967, New York City eliminated license requirements for massage parlors. Many massage parlors became brothels. In 1970, Nevada began regulation of houses of prostitution. In 1971, The Mustang Ranch became Nevada's first licensed brothel, eventually leading to the legalization of brothel prostitution in ten of seventeen counties of the state. In time, Mustang Ranch became Nevada's largest brothel, with more revenue than all other legal Nevada brothels combined.

USA PROSTITUTION COUNTRY

20th century continues....

In 1918, the Chamberlain-Kahn Act[citation needed] gave the government the power to quarantine any woman suspected of having a Sexually transmitted disease (STD). A medical examination was required, and if it revealed an STD, this discovery could constitute proof of prostitution. The purpose of this law was to prevent the spread of venereal diseases among U.S. soldiers. During World War I, Storyville was shut down to prevent VD transmission to soldiers in nearby army and navy camps.

Mortensen vs. United States, in 1944, ruled that prostitutes could travel across state lines, if the purpose of travel was not for prostitution.

In 1967, New York City eliminated license requirements for massage parlors. Many massage parlors became brothels. In 1970, Nevada began regulation of houses of prostitution. In 1971, The Mustang Ranch became Nevada's first licensed brothel, eventually leading to the legalization of brothel prostitution in ten of seventeen counties of the state. In time, Mustang Ranch became Nevada's largest brothel, with more revenue than all other legal Nevada brothels combined..

Good point, watch out for that STD deh asg, it could do tings to your lil brain bro.