Five persons, four of whom arrived from the United States of America on Friday, were held at gunpoint and robbed of close to $500,000, along with their passports and valuable items.

The victims are of Coomacka Mines, Linden, and the United States and are members of the Coomacka Church of Christ.

Reports are that 64-year-old Darlene Gaines, 60-year-old Joe Hughes, 19-year-old Daisy Gaines-Sluss, 40-year-old Christina Gaines-Sluss and 40-year-old Robin Collins were proceeding east along Leopold Street in a minibus which transported them from the airport to do shopping in Georgetown.

At around 13:00hrs, it is alleged that the minibus, driven by Wayne’s Collins of Coomacka Mines, Linden, slowed down at Leopold and Breeda Streets, Werk En Rust, Georgetown to allow other vehicles to pass.

Upon coming to a stop, an armed man walked to the driver and held him at gunpoint. The suspect also pulled out the minibus keys while three of his accomplices rushed to relieve the occupants of their valuables.

Gaines was robbed of one Samsung Galaxy S8 cell phone valued $140,000 and a quantity of medications valued $80,000. Hughes was robbed of US$800, while Christina Gaines-Sluss was relieved of US$1,300, her passport and other documents.

The 19-year-old victim was relieved of one MP3 Player valued G$5,000 and her passport, while Collins, a housewife of Coomacka Mines, Linden, was robbed of one Samsung Galaxy S4 valued G$40,000, one LG cell phone valued $40,000 and $9000 cash.

The suspects then all made good their escape on foot.

Investigations are ongoing.

I dont know what to tell yuh. Banna. That place is just dangerous.

Guyana will never become a tourist destination. These bastards need a good 2x4 across their backs so they are permanently disabled.

"The victims are of Coomacka Mines, Linden, and the United States and are members of the Coomacka Church of Christ."

They are Church folks.

Guyana is safe you got to know where not to go.

Guyana will never become a tourist destination. These bastards need a good 2x4 across their backs so they are permanently disabled.

"The victims are of Coomacka Mines, Linden, and the United States and are members of the Coomacka Church of Christ."

They are Church folks.

Why? How come Guyana is safe if you cannot go everywhere and anywhere?

They are Church folks.

Bhai every nation have bad spots and good spots,is that true ?

They are Church folks.

Crime is rampant in Guyana. PNC promised to put an end to this lawlessness. Remember how you and your PNC backers almost killed Rohee? Why are you giving Ramjattan and your PNC boys a pass?

Who drives thru that street ? the bus driver should have known better.

In the late 60's to early 70's used to live on Durban and Smythe St,Breda St was bad then,never changed,going thru that street you looking for trouble.

I walk tru there all the time. Very dangerous spot. U didnt live far from me. Im at norton and bishop.

In the late 60's to early 70's used to live on Durban and Smythe St,Breda St was bad then,never changed,going thru that street you looking for trouble.

I walk tru there all the time. Very dangerous spot. U didnt live far from me. Im at norton and bishop.

Them bad boys had to know you,any way they can pick out strangers.

I used to live next to Besto Feed Factory,they owned the property,work a few weeks there too.

If my memory serves me right Guyana was high in crime during the PPP time. Bandits were being fed inside information of passengers details and they were tracked and welcome at their gates. When coolie asks a question about crime, they put coolie sentiments into it as though crime never happens under a coolie man watch. Allyou pricks need some serious bramble lash on allyou ass. 

They are Church folks.

You sound like the Jagans, "crime is in America too." Trivializing solutions to the problem.

They are Church folks.

EVERY country in the world has a place where people are told to avoid. The Mini bus driver should have taken precautions like lock the doors and windows.  

Pointblank

Guyana is a unsafe country. 

1. Your vehicle windows have to be up especially if you are stopping at a stop sign ( and no one stop at theses sign anymore ) the big bike bandits ride up next to you and snatch your belongs or point the guns at you.

2. Indians villages - the men folks comes out at the end of the street that joint the main rd with a cricket bat / iron bar or wood to accompany their family home after work 

3. Businessmen send a arm guard with delivery trucks from coast to coast.

4. Guyana is a goast town after 7 PM week a days and 9 PM Saturday except where black folks live.

5. Most village shop closes at 5 PM.

Folks, Indian businesses thought the new government will control crime because Granger was a Army man and mostly PNC/ Congress place runs the police force , but the criminal gangs they built during PPP government  back fire on them. 

Dave,

Your account of Guyana was never like that when i lived there,damn how the country turned like that.Serious actions need to be taken.

U aint kidding. Back in the day u only had to watch out for the choke n rob bannas with a rachet in the back pocket. Ask Redux. But nowadays, is a new breed. They will kill u.

The latter actions of the criminals are part of a concerted effort by the PNC to ethnically cleanse the nation.  It gained popularity after the PNC realized Indians will leave in large numbers via back-track and other illicit means!

reflecting on dem ethnic cleanse target 'East Indian' people named Darlene Gaines, Daisy Gaines, Christina Gaines-Sluss, Joe Hughes and Robin Collins from Coomacka who get robbed hay . . .

comedy-a-go-go

where is drugb when you need him

reflecting on dem ethnic cleanse target 'East Indian' people named Darlene Gaines, Daisy Gaines, Christina Gaines-Sluss, Joe Hughes and Robin Collins from Coomacka who get robbed hay . . .

comedy-a-go-go

Don’t let names mislead you with  races identity. 

Prospective visitor of all  races will take note of the robbery. 

Indians will view the robbery as black people are not safe with their own who are we??? .. a reason for ethnic cleansing 

comedy-a-go-go

Indians will view the robbery as black people are not safe with their own who are we??? .. a reason for ethnic cleansing 

you're making no bloody sense!

comedy-a-go-go

You felt that way because you turn out to be the comedian of this tread...ehehe 

comedy-a-go-go

a lil advice

next time you feeling brave and wan mek attempt to 'insult' me . . . learn to spell first

comedy-a-go-go

a lil advice

next time you feeling brave and wan mek attempt to 'insult' me . . . learn to spell first

Keep the teaching for yourself, saw you makes the same mistakes sometimes . 

Lets focus on the topic don’t get personal MR SCHOLAR 

a lil advice

Keep the teaching for yourself, saw you makes the same mistakes sometimes . 

Lets focus on the topic don’t get personal MR SCHOLAR 

well, everybody knows i can spell . . . not so sure about you

now, how exactly do you define (the verboten) "personal" sir?

nb. I suggest you pull that "don't get" sh!t with people who care . . . arite

Look how you blame the victims instead of your pnc bandits in true slop can carrying stylee. 

Dave,

Your account of Guyana was never like that when i lived there,damn how the country turned like that.Serious actions need to be taken.

U aint kidding. Back in the day u only had to watch out for the choke n rob bannas with a rachet in the back pocket. Ask Redux. But nowadays, is a new breed. They will kill u.

I remember the days when our doors never had bars behind them...just a small bolt to hold them shut. Now you need iron bars on every window and 3-4 locks on each door. The culture of the people has changed dramatically.