Troy Thomas extradited to United States – US embassy

Fugitive Troy Thomas is en route to the United States to face justice for criminal acts he allegedly committed in New York in 2011.

A statement from the US Embassy today said that this evening he will be in the custody of the New York Police Department, and tomorrow morning he will appear before an American judge in court, to face charges.

The statement said that Thomas’s extradition reflects over one year of close coordination between the Government here and the US Embassy.

In 2011, Thomas allegedly committed murder and other crimes in New York and then fled to Guyana. The statement noted that in 2018, the US Attorney General and Secretary of State sent an extradition request to the Government of Guyana, which the Embassy served to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The Guyana Police Force officers detained Thomas in 2018, and he had remained in the Lusignan prison since then. Thomas exhausted any further right to appeal under the Guyanese constitution at midnight last night, the statement said.

“The Embassy especially thanks the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, the Guyana Police Force, the Guyana Prison Service, the Minister of Public Security, and the staff at Cheddi Jagan International Airport, for their close cooperation and commitment to justice.

“Corruption and criminal activity rob the Government and citizens of Guyana of money that could have been spent on education, health care, and important infrastructure work. Extraditions are an important law enforcement tool in fighting transnational criminal organizations. Today, a fugitive from justice is being extradited to the United States to stand trial, creating a new precedent”, the statement added.

The US Embassy noted this positive step forward and commended the Guyana Government.

US Ambassador Sarah-Ann Lynch said, “The Government of Guyana’s actions over the past year clearly indicate its dedication to law and order and established norms of international criminal justice – Guyana is moving in the right direction. Establishing a roadmap for future extraditions, bringing a fugitive to justice, making Guyana a safer place for Guyanese citizens – this is the best example of rule of law existing in Guyana.”

On April 4 this year,  Thomas lost yet another bid in a series of challenges mounted to fight his extradition to the US.

Throwing out his challenge, Justice Navindra Singh found that there was sufficient evidence to have warranted Thomas’ committal for extradition.

Troy Thomas

During the hearing dismissing Thomas’ challenge, Justice Singh ruled that Principal Magistrate Sherdel Isaacs-Marcus was within her jurisdiction to conduct committal proceedings and to have issued a warrant of committal for extradition against Thomas.

Thomas’ primary challenge to his committal for extradition had been that Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan had no legal authority to authorise the magistrate to proceed with the committal and, further, that the magistrate had no legal authority to continue on with those proceedings since they purported to act in accordance with sections of the Fugitive Offenders Act that are unconstitutional and in furtherance of the 1931 treaty between the United Kingdom and the United States, which is not incorporated into Guyana’s laws.

Following the conclusion of extradition proceedings against him on November 30th last, Magistrate Isaacs-Marcus, who presided over the case, overruled a no-case submission which attorney Nigel Hughes had made on behalf of Thomas, thereby ordering that he be extradited.

Counsel’s argument had been that a magistrate, being a creature of statute, was not empowered to interpret and or apply the provisions of a treaty which had not been incorporated into the provisions of the domestic laws of Guyana.

“The Government of Guyana’s actions over the past year clearly indicate its dedication to law and order and established norms of international criminal justice – Guyana is moving in the right direction. Establishing a roadmap for future extraditions, bringing a fugitive to justice, making Guyana a safer place for Guyanese citizens – this is the best example of rule of law existing in Guyana.”

hmmm . . .

Those police officers are not new, some were employed in the police force with 20 plus years of experience... these same officers took the same oath on the first day of employment, why did they fail to execute the same duty during PPP government. ( we all know, 99 % are Afro who is align to PNC) 

Guyanese are not dummies, they knew the police force was control by PNC

Congress Place used to tap into the police radio frequency during PPP government and was redirecting police officers allowing the criminals to escape. 

Capturing of fugitive and drugs lord came with the help of the DEA which opens it office in 2016. The idea of a local base DEA office was done under PPP government led by Bharrat Jagdeo in 2009 who called for such a office in Guyana. 

Jagdeo also  asked the US to expand its Mérida Initiative for Mexico and Central America to the Caribbean, during a Caricom meeting with US officials and his argument then was that the crackdown in Mexico could push drug traffickers into the Caribbean, which lies directly between the South American source of many illegal drugs and the US, the world’s top consumer,”. 

You know if it wasn't so dam late an Iman wasn't tired I woulda say you fulla shit deh. Jagdeo told dem guys stay away he doan want no help he gon manage, next ting we hear is Coke in Poke an so on.

Wake up Sar, I think you was dreaming when yo write this. 

A point to note:

The same fugitive was hiding out in Guyana since 2011. the current commissioner of police was the head of criminal investigation department in 2014. 

Magistrates and judges refuse to hear a stay of extradition by the fugitive.. maybe they  fear their visa get cancel.

Those police officers are not new, some were employed in the police force with 20 plus years of experience... these same officers took the same oath on the first day of employment, why did they fail to execute the same duty during PPP government. ( we all know, 99 % are Afro who is align to PNC) 

Congress Place used to tap into the police radio frequency during PPP government and was redirecting police officers allowing the criminals to escape. 

Capturing of fugitive and drugs lord came with the help of the DEA which opens it office in 2016.

The idea of a local base DEA office was done under PPP government led by Bharrat Jagdeo in 2009 who called for such a office in Guyana. 

Jagdeo also  asked the US to expand its Mérida Initiative for Mexico and Central America to the Caribbean, during a Caricom meeting with US officials and his argument then was that the crackdown in Mexico could push drug traffickers into the Caribbean, which lies directly between the South American source of many illegal drugs and the US, the world’s top consumer,”. 

Piece of tripe defending the Rat's  and PPP tenure, who helped you to put the pieces together ?

A point to note:

The same fugitive was hiding out in Guyana since 2011. the current commissioner of police was the head of criminal investigation department in 2014. 

Magistrates and judges refuse to hear a stay of extradition by the fugitive.. maybe they  fear their visa get cancel.

Useless !!!

“The Government of Guyana’s actions over the past year clearly indicate its dedication to law and order and established norms of international criminal justice – Guyana is moving in the right direction. Establishing a roadmap for future extraditions, bringing a fugitive to justice, making Guyana a safer place for Guyanese citizens – this is the best example of rule of law existing in Guyana.”

hmmm . . .

Dem US ambassadors prappa like a puppet. Dem want wan govt dem can smack around to do their bidding. 

A point to note:

Who gunned down Waddel? Who killed Sawh and his family? If the PPP should get back in power, will they investigate these killings? Has Roger Khan's properties been confiscated? You seem to know a lot about Roger Khan.

Capturing of fugitive and drugs lord came with the help of the DEA which opens it office in 2016.

The idea of a local base DEA office was done under PPP government led by Bharrat Jagdeo in 2009 who called for such a office in Guyana. 

Piece of tripe defending the Rat's  and PPP tenure, who helped you to put the pieces together ?

I provide the facts which you don’t like. 

I am capable of providing information without favour and seeking monetary compensation for what I post,  Unlike YOU who gets paid to spread APNU propaganda. 

Skewed facts !!!

Common for folks of your ilk, when confronted, pulls the line posters are being paid... weak ... very.. weak.

Join the crew and go play with little children, that's the category that fits.

Hey hey hey...dem PPP bais deh pon FB cussin Merika and biggin up Putin and Iran and den Jagdoe and he bisness peopkle pay de corrupt Maniford lobby company USD 34 million. Hey hey hey...

Hey hey hey...if dem freedom house bais want get in Yankee good book ayoo stop cuss de peopkle and big up Putin...hey hey hey. No corrupt Maniford lobby firm can help ayoo...hey hey hey. 

Skewed facts !!!

Common for folks of your ilk, when confronted, pulls the line posters are being paid... weak ... very.. weak.

Your intellect is very poor with such a response. 

Skewed facts !!!

Your intellect is very poor with such a response. 

Wow...worthless from the propagator of skewed facts !!!

sooo, whose "facts" should we believe Dave bai . . .

those of US Ambassador Sarah Ann-Lynch or the scared witless existential shittings fed directly to you from the bt of Kwame McCoy?

hmmm . . . hmmm?

sooo, whose "facts" are more credible Dave bai . . .

those of US Ambassador Sarah Ann-Lynch or the scared witless existential shittings fed directly to you from the bt of Kwame McCoy?

hmmm . . . hmmm?

Not Ronan or administrations that overthrew democratically elected governments. You scorn the 9000 plus liar Donald Trump, yet you believe his ambassador.

hmmm . . . hmmm?

Not Ronan or administrations that overthrew democratically elected governments. You scorn the 9000 plus liar Donald Trump, yet you believe his ambassador.

not sure what your point is sir

and please do not speak for me regarding American politics . . . i make it a point NOT to have those kinds of discussions with ignorant calcified racist refugees from Guyana

but feel free to continue worship at the bt of Kwame

i'm quite comfortable with Ambassador Lynch re-stating what reason and common sense have long made clear about Bharat Jagdeo and his PPP

hmmm . . . hmmm?

and please do not speak for me regarding American politics . . . i make it a point NOT to have those kinds of discussions with ignorant calcified racist refugees from Guyana

i'm quite comfortable with Ambassador Lynch re-stating what reason and common sense have long made clear about Bharat Jagdeo and his PPP

Must be talking about yourself. I am not the one looking for reparations in America.

hmmm . . . hmmm?

I am not the one looking for reparations in America.

?????

what's that got to do with me?

Skewed facts !!!

Dave got you going crazy, ask PNC for some new replies. Obviously you couldn't write such nonsense on your own..

Why is it when a poster speaks against another poster's belief somehow it stands the first poster receives monetary compensation? Isn't it enough we are all here to voice our concerns on matters without having to be paid?

Paid posters show up just prior to elections and they are usually picked out.

Why is it when a poster speaks against another poster's belief somehow it stands the first poster receives monetary compensation? Isn't it enough we are all here to voice our concerns on matters without having to be paid?

You are in the wrong profession, some of these guys are on the overseas diplomatic payroll, by now you should know who they are.

They are called "Political Grinders" they are trained to kill the messengers  and their comments are one sided. In America they are called Deplorables.

Then how can you account for Mits ?

,  Unlike YOU who gets paid to spread APNU propaganda. 

When do you jabber about anything which isn't favorable to the PPP?

Roger Khan was an embarrassment to Guyana.  Its a pity that it took the involvement of Suriname and T&T to bring him to justice.

I see someadem even sayin is BJ who gave the guy up but I wonder if they will say the same thing after he gets out of the pen and back in Guyana....more than likely seeking revenge on who gave him up.

When RK gets back I wouldn't doubt the govt will grab him and entice him to sing a few tunes.

Who pays him, same as the one paying you?

Dave got you going crazy, ask PNC for some new replies. Obviously you couldn't write such nonsense on your own..

Nonsense, i am my own man,what ever rebuttal posted are my own, if it's an article the source are posted.

You usually post  articles without the SOURCE, which are trash from GUYANA TIMES, when facts are presented, you run. Can't fathom what sort of folks will believe and peddle lies.

You are in the wrong profession, some of these guys are on the overseas diplomatic payroll, by now you should know who they are.

They are called "Political Grinders" they are trained to kill the messengers  and their comments are one sided. In America they are called Deplorables.

You got to be DUMBO to believe, the regular posters here are paid.

Who pays him, same as the one paying you?

Bai, me just stirring things up. He and I like and support parties and it ends right there.

But he rass was willing to give he life to Moses. 

hmmm . . .

I take umbrage to the highlighted section. We would show the best example of being compliant with law and order if our people in general are protected by the law and that is not happening. We are living with an infestation of criminals and the Police are haplessly incompetent and the government does not seem to care to address it because they can.

This exchange of prisoner is a good thing for international law and control of cross border criminal enterprise. However, it could be seen as a political act to gain a measure of political currency as in the statement above since the PPP were completely uncooperative in this area. It however does not a measure of our  internal security standards which is obscenely lacking.

Trump will decide who rules Guyana. They did not kick out the PPP in 2015 to have them return just as oil start flowing.  

Django might be the only one who sees it.

The PPP kicked themselves our by being horribly crooked and disinterested in truly developing the state.

Interesting how Exxon finally got their communication fixed to announce billions of barrels oil discovery two days after the PPP lost.  Only stupidly people don’t see the connection.  

People bla bla too much.