US$100M Radisson Blu Hotel coming to Giftland Mall
A Radisson Hotel [Photo courtesy of Radisson Hotels official site)
A Radisson Hotel (Photo courtesy of Radisson Hotels official site)

– Roy Beepat lauds ‘phenomenal’ business climate

By Tamica Garnett

OWNER of the Giftland Mall Roy Beepat on Friday announced that plans are afoot to build a 12-story, 400-room, multibillion-dollar Radisson Blu Hotel next to the Giftland Mall.

The Radisson Blu is one of seven distinctive hotel brands under the US-headquartered Radisson Hotel Group, one of the largest and most dynamic hotel groups in the world, with over 1,100 hotels in destinations globally.

The investment, Beepat said, is expected to be somewhere in the vicinity of US$80 – 100 million, and the building is set to be situated on a section of the Giftland Mall’s current parking lot.

“We have three acres on the car park; that’s about 130,000 square feet. We’re only going to use 90,000 square feet of that, but we’re going up 12 floors, which would give us over one million square feet in space,” Beepat explained of the grand plans for the Hotel.

He added: “Four floors will be hotels with 100 rooms each. We’ll also have 200 apartments and rooms for things such as banqueting, conferencing, and business floors with business services. We’re hoping to bring five fast-casual restaurants, such as Red Lobster, Olive Garden, Banana Breeze.”

PHENOMENAL

Owner of Giftland Mall, Mr. Roy Beepat

Describing the business environment as “phenomenal”, Beepat said there is no time like the present to get involved in major investments in Guyana.

“There’s nobody in business who I’ve spoken to who isn’t overjoyed with the direction the country is going,” Beepat said, adding:
“The Giftland Group will continue to expand on different areas and avenues, which were previously looked at but weren’t feasible at the time, but now is, due to the upcoming demand, and the change in the economic climate. We’re so optimistic, and we understand that there is going to be a need for more hotel rooms, so we had our application for a 400-room Radisson Blu five-star hotel that will be going up in the next few years.”

Beepat also commended the Government for playing its part in fostering an encouraging business environment, especially for local investors, as they, too, try to get in on the pie.

“We have a Government that understands business, and they’re doing everything within their power to make sure it flows. The fact, that they’ve put an ease on so much taxes makes it easier for consumers to spend. So the environment is filled with optimism,” Beepat said.

All forecasts have been predicting massive growth in Guyana’s economy over the next few years, due to the country’s recent but abundant oil and gas industry, for which production began last year. Guyana, with its new-found oil wealth, is on the cusp of economic transformation, and has already received the title of “investment capital of the region and possibly the world”.
Several investors have particularly been focused on the hotel industry.

The Government had recently put out Expressions of Interest (EOIs)and requests for proposals for investors to build hotels in Guyana. The aim, as outlined by the President, Dr. Irfaan Ali, is to provide at least 2,000 first-class rooms, making Guyana “a conventional destination”.
Aside from the Radisson brand, some of the key players in the hotel industry, like the Hyatt Hotels Corporation, and the Hilton Hotels and Resorts, are said to have already submitted EoIs to the Government of Guyana.

MAJOR OVERHAUL
Beepat noted that aside from this newest project by the Giftland Group, plans are also in the works for a major overhaul of the Giftland Department Stores, and the expansion of Giftland’s FoodMaxx Supermarket brand.

“The Foodmaxx Supermarket, we plan to make that the Number One supermarket in the Caribbean by next year. Right now, we have been gaining tremendous market share; most of our customers say it’s a phenomenal experience,” Beepat said.
This year, amidst closed doors and a severe decline in business, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Giftland Mall celebrated its fifth anniversary since opening at its Liliendaal, East Coast Demerara location.

Though there was not much of a celebration due to that situation, Beepat noted that the year does mark a turning point for the business, and has paved a clearer path for expansion and development.

“For the first five years, we suffered because the cost of building the Mall had its effects on our goods and services. But we’re now past that, so we’re looking to be the old Giftland, like we were on Water Street, where anything you can imagine you can get here,” Beepat said.
“In terms of Giftland Stores, we want a complete re-do. The stores have been there five years, so we’re going to completely refurbish it, and bring it into a more modern unit, and increase our product line,” he added.

As pertains to challenges during the COVID-19 pandemic, Beepat said the hardest for him was having to put staff on the breadline, as the business navigated the pandemic. However, things are now turning towards a brighter future.

“I think we all faced challenges and having our staff on the breadline. We tried as much as we could to keep as many as possible employed, and we have been able to bring all of our staff back on. That was our biggest challenge,” Beepat said.

https://guyanachronicle.com/20...dgsSWxwDpVaOC8sEzvxs

This is what I call investors confidence. This confidence to spend, invest, and build should be able to continue through all administration. Be it PNC or PPP, etc. Guyana should not see the day of light under the PPP alone. The Mariott Hotel and the Providence Stadium are two landmarks that prove the government is right to build for the foreseeable future. You don't wait until the ready day to buy an umbrella or make a toilet when you want to shit.

Viper

There is alot of excitement about Guyana. Its all depending on the price of oil, the need for it and what happens to the world economies. From pandemics, ancient or contemporary times, atleast 50 million ppl dies. The rate the covid-19 is ramping up, it could be even more than the natural trend.

Investment flows like an uninterrupted stream of water when the climate is good. Puzzling, there are number of things the governmet should be doing and I do not see that happening.

Lots of visitors with intentions. Guyana has to put in place a whole lot of stuff to guarantee investors confidence. These are not ppl who were going to build the Hydro dam, these are some very serious ppl about investing.

@Ramakant-P posted:

What kind of entertainment will they provide for non-Guyanese visitors?

Burlesque...with nuff stripping down but not completely naked,  leaving on their shoes.

@cain posted:

Burlesque...with nuff stripping down but not completely naked,  leaving on their shoes.

Malaysia doan have none of dat. With all the Mid-East investment coming to Guyana, we are not going to be Singapore in South America. Instead we are going to be the Malaysia of South America. All the stripping wimen will be hidden, like back in the days of the Mugals in India and the hindu courtesans.

@seignet posted:

You ever see the movies, "Taken." Dem arabies do tings in private.

Nope, haven't seen it.

I just remembered something on CTV tonight at 7 on Lyme. I know people affected by Lyme, I have been a part of the group picketing City hall asking for it to be recognized yet after all these years it seems not much has been done.

I was told in the Niagara area it is so bad there, when tax assessments are sent out it includes a pick (for removal of the tick)

I don't recall having seen these assessments too often.

@Ramakant-P posted:

What kind of entertainment will they provide for non-Guyanese visitors?

Non-Guyanese are foreign nationals and you are a Guyanese by birth. So, no punani for you, buddy. Your specialty is brown rum and wipes your butt with newspaper. That's what you get you don't know what hotel service offers.

Viper
@Prashad posted:

I hope that he has back up plans to turn the hotel into a free seniors lodge. Guyana has too many hotels and too few visitors.

Is he going to use his own money to build the hotel or is he going to beg for a loan from the government?  Remember the Marriot venture.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Is he going to use his own money to build the hotel or is he going to beg for a loan from the government?  Remember the Marriot venture.

Either way, another hotel in Georgetown don't make financial sense.

@Prashad posted:

Either way, another hotel in Georgetown don't make financial sense.

Sure it makes sense. Even though the other hotels are never full to capacity, building another one will provide kickbacks for more mansions.

@Ramakant-P posted:

How stupid!

How could it be someone else, when you already have the hallmark of stupidest person on this forum.  You already earn the trophy of Chuipdness na gat cure. Only the PPP can train a stupid person like you, by the champion of the turd term.   

Last edited by Tola
@Tola posted:

How could it be someone else, when you already have the hallmark of stupidest person on this forum.  You already earn the trophy of Chuipdness na gat cure. Only the PPP can train a stupid person like you, by the champion of the turd term.   

I think you confuse me with your mama.

@Tola posted:

You have just demonstrated how nasty a person you are.

@Viper posted:

Non-Guyanese are foreign nationals and you are a Guyanese by birth. So, no punani for you, buddy. Your specialty is brown rum and wipes your butt with newspaper. That's what you get you don't know what hotel service offers.

You are getting to be a nasty person.

The pace of modernization started under Bharat Jagdeo is expected to pick up with the influx of oil revenues. 

Good luck Guyana. Your progress was stymied for a while by men like Mit, Tol, and D, but you overcame it. 

The pace of modernization started under Bharat Jagdeo is expected to pick up with the influx of oil revenues.

Good luck Guyana. Your progress was stymied for a while by men like Mit, Tol, and D, but you overcame it. 

Suh is why you behaving like dried goat shit in your Basement Apartment in RH? Stop hiding and face the breeze nuh.

There is an opening for you at the UWCD.

@Mitwah posted:

Suh is why you behaving like dried goat shit in your Basement Apartment in RH? Stop hiding and face the breeze nuh.

There is an opening for you at the UWCD.

A Baseless Basement cockroach in RH, eating saltfish and bake ?