Update: Former AG’s Bodyguard arrested for Crum-Ewing’s murder

July 23, 2015 10:56 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

[www.inewsguyana.com] – iNews has been able to confirm that the government employee who was arrested on Wednesday afternoon in connection with the murder of political activist, Courtney Crum-Ewing, has been identified as Rajput Narine.

Courtney Crum – Ewing during one of his many protests.

Narine is the former bodyguard of Guyana’s former Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister, Anil Nandlall. Following the May 11 general and regional elections, Narine took up employment at the Guyana Revenue Authority.

His arrest follows that of another suspect who was arrested by the police on Friday, July 17. iNews has been reliably informed that Narine allegedly approached the first suspect shortly before Crum – Ewing was gunned down and offered him several million dollars to execute another political activist but that offer was turned down.

Police sources are maintaining that the first suspect is in fact the man who pulled the trigger on Crum – Ewing, who was gunned down on March 10, 2015 at Third Avenue, Diamond Housing Scheme, East Bank Demerara while using a bull horn to encourage residents to vote for the APNU+AFC.

It should be noted that Police Commissioner, Seelall Persaud recently noted that the Guyana Police Force is investigating a possible political linkage to Crum-Ewing’s death, who was shot five times, including three times to the head at point blank range.

The former GDF Solider had staged a protest for several weeks outside the office of the Attorney General between November and December 2014 calling for his resignation following allegations of corruption and threats to journalists

It should be noted that Police Commissioner, Seelall Persaud recently noted that the Guyana Police Force is investigating a possible political linkage to Crum-Ewing’s death, who was shot five times, including three times to the head at point blank range.

iNews has been reliably informed that Narine allegedly approached the first suspect shortly before Crum – Ewing was gunned down and offered him several million dollars to execute another political activist but that offer was turned down.

Police sources are maintaining that the first suspect is in fact the man who pulled the trigger on Crum – Ewing, who was gunned down on March 10, 2015 at Third Avenue, Diamond Housing Scheme, East Bank Demerara while using a bull horn to encourage residents to vote for the APNU+AFC.

Could it be that Rajput Narine, former body guard of AG (Dharpoke) paid millions to someone who pulled the trigger.......and that someone might be the number one suspect?

The important question is "Was Rajput Narine working on the instruction of

the former AG?

DPP to decide on whether to  charge Regan Rodrigues

Crum-Ewing’s murder

The Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Shalimar Ali-Hack is today expected to deliver her advice on whether to charge a man accused of killing activist Courtney Crum-Ewing earlier this year.

Nandlall says he hired ‘unknown’ bodyguard after Crum-Ewing’s murder

July 23, 2015 1:31 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

Former Attorney General, Anil Nandlall during the press conference on Thursday, July 23.

[www.inewsguyana.com]

Mere hours after reports surfaced that his former bodyguard, Rajput Narine was arrested in connection with the gunning down of political activist, Courtney Crum-Ewing, former Attorney General Anil Nandlall has sought to clear his name, telling reporters that he hired Rajput after the March 10 murder.

At a press conference held at the Sleepin Hotel on Brickdam, Georgetown on Thursday, July 23, Nandlall detailed that he met an old acquaintance while in New York on March 12, 2015 where the murder of Crum-Ewing was discussed and where he revealed that he needed to hire a personal bodyguard.

He further noted that the acquaintance referred him to his brother, Narine, whom he said is a former CANU Officer, a licensed firearm holder and someone he [Nandlall] can trust.

Prior to his death, Crum-Ewing protested for several weeks outside the office of the Attorney General between November and December 2014 calling for his resignation following allegations of corruption and threats to journalists.

“I was advised to get security both at my home and body-guards. I contacted the Guyana Police Force and armed security from the Force was provided at my house and I was offered the opportunity to retain a person of my choice as my body-guard. However, on the 12th of March, 2015 I left Guyana to accompany President Donald Ramotar to New York, without doing so,” the former AG noted.

But according to Nandlall, he fired Narine after four days on the job because he was dissatisfied with his service and due to the fact that Narine was giving out his [Nandlall] location to other persons.

Nandlall claims that he met Narine for the first time on March 15, in the presence of his driver who knew him from before.

“I explained to him the task at hand and he was willing to work as my body guard. He informed me that at the time, he was in the employ of the Guyana Revenue Authority and I need to write the Commissioner General and request his secondment. The following day, I did so and he commenced working with me.

“However, after about 4 days, I was dissatisfied with his performance, generally. More importantly, my drivers reported that he was disclosing our whereabouts to persons on his telephone. As a result, I told him that I will no longer require his services and sent him away. I took back a vehicle which was assigned to him as a backup to my vehicle,” Nandlall explained.

He further noted that he then requested from the Commissioner of Police, two members of the Force as his security detail.

“Two officers of the Force were assigned to me. They were recalled when I demitted office. After, I sent away Rajput, I wrote to the Commissioner General so informing him.”

Nandlall made it clear that while Crum-Ewing protested for several months in front of the Ministry of Legal Affairs while I was the sitting Attorney General, he never once interacted or spoke to him.

“Courtney Crum Ewing was shot on the evening of March, 10th 2015, nearly 2 months after he had stopped protesting at the Ministry. At that time, I was speaking at a political public meeting in front of the Kali Mandir at Timehri. Approximately 100 persons were in attendance.”

He denied ever threatening the political activist, who was a former member of the Guyana Defence Force.

“I take this opportunity to deny any involvement whatsoever in that incident and to say that there is obviously an attempt to implicate me and the PPP in this horrendous act as part of a political design. I hope that the perpetrators will be brought to justice.”

The former AG claims that he does not have any knowledge on the personal life of Narine.

Narine is the second suspect to be arrested by the police as investigations continue into Crum-Ewing’s murder. Police believe that Narine is the one who approached the gunman and paid him to execute Crum-Ewing.

“However, after about 4 days, I was dissatisfied with his performance, generally. More importantly, my drivers reported that he was disclosing our whereabouts to persons on his telephone. As a result, I told him that I will no longer require his services and sent him away. I took back a vehicle which was assigned to him as a backup to my vehicle,” Nandlall explained.

Narine is the second suspect to be arrested by the police as investigations continue into Crum-Ewing’s murder. Police believe that Narine is the one who approached the gunman and paid him to execute Crum-Ewing.

Originally Posted by Brodaman:

The number 1 is the big fish. guess who???????

The same guy Nehru used to hang out with in NY.

Nehru used to boast about how he and de man used to lick up the Government credit card.

Nehru is a loyal friend though, look how he never let down Ed . 

What would the motive be for the former AG wanting to harm Mr. Crum-Ewing?

As I said I am waiting for FACTS BUT for argument sake if Nandalall has anything to do with this then he would be the BIGGEST ASS on the Planet. He was a FOOL with the Reporter issue but this will be 1000 times worst.

When the facts are known, the victim's family deserve justice.  However, this makes no sense as Crum-Ewing was a light weight with absolutely no threat to the PPP hold.  Why would he, of all people, be taken out in a PPP strong hold?  This sounds like another "Sun-Chapman" scenario in the making.

The real threats were the former PPPites who were being effective in converting PPP loyalist to the AFC and not one was ever harmed in anyway.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

I think somebody got too big for their boots and went over the head of Ramotar.

This look like taken from the PNC playbook of the 60's, like the roti crumbs next to the murdered Afro couple and the Sun-Chapman incident.

Why would he, of all people, be taken out in a PPP strong hold?  This sounds like another "Sun-Chapman" scenario in the making.

Execute a black activist. PNC calls protests which turn violent. PPP and Indians scream genocide, rape, by "evil" black man. International bodies troubled. Who yuh tink gon win de election then, eh? But Granger outsmart alyuh. De man gat class.

Originally Posted by Itaname:
Why would he, of all people, be taken out in a PPP strong hold?  This sounds like another "Sun-Chapman" scenario in the making.

Execute a black activist. PNC calls protests which turn violent. PPP and Indians scream genocide, rape, by "evil" black man. International bodies troubled. Who yuh tink gon win de election then, eh? But Granger outsmart alyuh. De man gat class.

Are you saying the PNC got him killed to bring out the base?????

gad, you are one dumb mofo.

An AHOLE who dont understand anything, cannot communicate clearly, always making incoherent statements calling others dumb. Well, talk about being delusional. DUMB ASS!!!!!!!!!!

Nobody ask you for a resume of yourself. Did you get things mixed up with the job posting from Chief?

This one just had Dinner eating with his ass, now trying to shit with his mouth!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Walla Walla, dat line getting old man. Come up wid a new line nuh man?

When the facts are known, the victim's family deserve justice.  However, this makes no sense as Crum-Ewing was a light weight with absolutely no threat to the PPP hold.  Why would he, of all people, be taken out in a PPP strong hold?  This sounds like another "Sun-Chapman" scenario in the making.

The real threats were the former PPPites who were being effective in converting PPP loyalist to the AFC and not one was ever harmed in anyway.

Wasn't the fella on Facebook cusssing out cooolie people?

Walla Walla, dat line getting old man. Come up wid a new line nuh man?

It is so good I had to rewind and come again.  It feels good, so good, dat is James Brown.

Banna, baseman was one of the few who sensed the trick, this is why i left the AFC after 2011.  However, selfishness, greed and power-hugnry crabs kept up the drum beat and convinced some of the [justifiably] disenchanted that it will be better.  Baseman always said it will be old PNC again.  Anyway, it's water under the bridge, Guyana means little to me except for the few relatives I have there, but they have options.  Beyond that, it's just a bitter/sweet memory.

I just got a txt from Guyana, deep fear and uncertainty among the Indians in Guyana, dark days ahead.  Fat bai Hunt need to reinstate his Indo-centric visa program, 200k is not big issue for the US.  Then alyuh can return with your few Indo house pets and enjoy the spoils, well before them "Conquestadors" makes their move.

Guyana IS indeed heading to DISASTER.  THe PNC(Dogs sucking eggs) cannot and will NOT change.  The Two House Slaves who were hollering and Bawling daily are now quiet as a lamb enjoying their Titles.  The 2 are indeed SHAMELESS!!!

Banna, baseman was one of the few who sensed the trick, this is why i left the AFC after 2011.  However, selfishness, greed and power-hugnry crabs kept up the drum beat and convinced some of the [justifiably] disenchanted that it will be better.  Baseman always said it will be old PNC again.  Anyway, it's water under the bridge, Guyana means little to me except for the few relatives I have there, but they have options.  Beyond that, it's just a bitter/sweet memory.

I just got a txt from Guyana, deep fear and uncertainty among the Indians in Guyana, dark days ahead.  Fat bai Hunt need to reinstate his Indo-centric visa program, 200k is not big issue for the US.  Then alyuh can return with your few Indo house pets and enjoy the spoils, well before them "Conquestadors" makes their move.

My goodness, it looks like the country is coming apart. I thought it is going to get better.

I wonder what Granger prayers were about? Maybe, he got off on the wrong track by honoring Hamilton Green. And the spirits of wickedness has taken over the country.

Baseman, what the hell does this rambling nonsense have to do with my post, eh? Answer the damn question - who stood to gain if black folks took to the streets in violent protests in retribution for Ewing's murder? Was the plan to provoke such an incident and drive the AFC Indians "back home", just like the battlecry at babu john?

The coalition govt will solve the crime problem in two years. However a lot is riding on Granger living for 10 years. I saw Jagdeo has his band of merry men and women going for the ride...

Nehru bhai, nothing's complicated about the English in that post. It states clearly that the APNU did not take the bait and thus did not bring out their supporters in protest that could possibly get out of hand and consequently sully the otherwise good behavior of the campaign. It has nothing to do with appealing to its base for anything. Jeez......so difficult to comprehend you native tongue? I see....the tongue is laced with El Dorado

Baseman, what the hell does this rambling nonsense have to do with my post, eh? Answer the damn question - who stood to gain if black folks took to the streets in violent protests in retribution for Ewing's murder? Was the plan to provoke such an incident and drive the AFC Indians "back home", just like the battlecry at babu john?

Listen banna, I know you have more sense than how you chose to come across.  Why would anyone think the silencing of a political light-weight would provoke mass mayhem prior to the election.  This was a likely stage-setting event.  Why do you think HE Granger himself said he will not be able to hold off his people if they lost. Swatting the Buxton terrorists was stale news so a hit like this on an innocent Afro activist would provide fresh impetus and excuse for mass-mayhem, 1960's playbook dusted off.  This was the plan and Indians sensed it but they were fed up of the PPP anyway.

I do have to agree with you, HE Granger is a smart guy. Now his true test is dealing with the old PNC guard and with his military-minded match West of the border.

This look like taken from the PNC playbook of the 60's, like the roti crumbs next to the murdered Afro couple and the Sun-Chapman incident.

what exactly about the "Sun-Chapman incident" u terror-excusing antiman?

.  However, this makes no sense as Crum-Ewing was a light weight with absolutely no threat to the PPP hold.  Why would he, of all people, be taken out in a PPP strong hold?  This sounds like another "Sun-Chapman" scenario in the making.

Yes it is another Sun Chapman.  Innocent black people killed by the PPP.