April 15, 2021

Had the People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) been daunted by the rants of popular naysayers, it would not have followed through with the Marriott Hotel, Hope Canal, or even the Berbice Bridge. These projects stand as a testimony to the party’s vision for development. It is because of this proven track record that the PPP/C will move ahead with the gas-to-shore project to ensure the people of Guyana have cheaper electricity. Outlining the foregoing during a recent interview was Vice President, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo.
During that virtual discourse, Jagdeo explained the importance of the project saying that power is inextricably linked to the wellbeing of a nation. In Guyana’s case, the VP noted that it has been too long since the nation’s social and economic development has been stymied by high electricity costs. He said that PPP/C intends to change this while noting that it has mapped out what the demand for energy will be in the next five years.

The Vice President noted that the PPP/C has designed an energy mix that involves solar, hydro, and gas-fired power plants to fulfill most of those demands. The official said, “There are gonna be other things too, like one or two power wind projects, etc. that will meet the bulk of the demand (and) 250 megawatts will come from the gas-to-shore project.”

Following this, Jagdeo turned his attention to local critics such as Chartered Accountant, Christopher Ram, and Kaieteur News Publisher, Glenn Lall who have challenged him to prove that the project is a “no-brainer.” The Vice President was quick to note that if one were to examine the numbers, they would find his conclusion to be sound.

The former President said, “…If we are selling power at 30 US cents per kilowatt-hour, one of the highest in the world, we’re generating power now at 14 cents per kilowatt-hour. That is what GPL (Guyana Power and Light) is generating now. If we can, from the gas project, get power at 6 cents per kilowatt-hour and then that drops to about 3-4 cents per kilowatt-hour, imagine what we can do.”

Jagdeo continued, “If you cut the cost of energy by half to your population, and to industries, and still make a huge profit then, immediately, the economy will respond and people’s lives would improve. It’s a no-brainer.”

The Vice President also responded to the popular letter writer, GHK Lall, who recently chided the PPP/C for not being thorough as he said it is yet to examine the costs of solar projects versus the gas-to-power so as to ascertain which would be more feasible for the nation. But this line of reasoning, Jagdeo pointed out, is terribly flawed. Jagdeo said, “Solar can’t be compared with gas to power…Solar, you put up (panels to get) electricity…if you tie it into the grid, it’s fine. (But if) a cloud comes over the area, you then have to switch back to fossil fuel. If you have battery storage, it pushes up the cost enormously.”
Jagdeo noted that even the batteries can lose power after a few days which would force the need for a backup system in the form of fossil fuel generating plants. The official said, “So a lot of these guys are talking off the top of their heads, anecdotally.”

The Vice President said that while he is open to those who are posing serious questions and raising genuine matters of concern, he insisted that the PPP/C will not let “these gripers” impede the plans and vision of the party to take Guyana into 21st Century development.

Had the People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) been daunted by the rants of popular naysayers, it would not have followed through with the Marriott Hotel, Hope Canal, or even the Berbice Bridge.

Wow !!! quite an achievement for 23 yrs ,two are graft schemes .

The former President said, “…If we are selling power at 30 US cents per kilowatt-hour, one of the highest in the world, we’re generating power now at 14 cents per kilowatt-hour. That is what GPL (Guyana Power and Light) is generating now. If we can, from the gas project, get power at 6 cents per kilowatt-hour and then that drops to about 3-4 cents per kilowatt-hour, imagine what we can do.”

What's up with all the "if" does this fella really knows ?

Currently blackout everyday ,serious problems with the distribution system.

Ehehe...Jaggy busing up the naysayers who stood with him during the election debacle. Has he dumped the Americans, too? By the way, no one in their right mind opposed the hope canal. They need more of those drainage systems given that they are concreting over a lot of old secondary canals. 

Is Jagdeo nuts? He seems to be saying that they are currently producing power at 14 cents per kilowatt hour and selling at at 30 cents. Does this mean that the mark up is more than 100%? If this is the case shouldn't consumers be irritated?  In the interview, when talking about solar energy he wondered what would happen on a cloudy day.  This is very simplistic thinking.  Maybe he should ask governments in countries that have large solar operations how they deal with cloudy days. 

@Django posted:

April 15, 2021

Following this, Jagdeo turned his attention to local critics such as Chartered Accountant, Christopher Ram, and Kaieteur News Publisher, Glenn Lall who have challenged him to prove that the project is a “no-brainer.” The Vice President was quick to note that if one were to examine the numbers, they would find his conclusion to be sound.

Embarassing shit. Why doesn't he lay out the basis of his assumptions? They are clearly assumptions given his multiple uses of "if". How does he know for sure that it will be 6 cents per kilowatt hour? How did he arrive at that other than sticking his finger up his rear?

Is the cost of building out the infrastructure included in his assumption power will be 6 cents per KW/h?????

No one knows what the fk he's talking about. Including him.

@Django posted:

What's up with all the "if" does this fella really knows ?

Currently blackout everyday ,serious problems with the distribution system.

Strannge chap, he meking sugar more expensive than he sells it for.

He is hoping for manufacturing jobs and he has no plans to mek metals, stop crimes, stop the government tiefing and kick backs. Other than the Chinese nobody else going to follow him. Stupid man.

The Vice President noted that the PPP/C has designed an energy mix that involves solar, hydro, and gas-fired power plants to fulfill most of those demands. The official said, “There are gonna be other things too, like one or two power wind projects, etc. that will meet the bulk of the demand (and) 250 megawatts will come from the gas-to-shore project.”

The Vice President said that while he is open to those who are posing serious questions and raising genuine matters of concern, he insisted that the PPP/C will not let “these gripers” impede the plans and vision of the party to take Guyana into 21st Century development.

Positively speaking, the Vice President knows exactly what he is talking about and if you all GNIers. the gripers, don't like it, too bad because it will happen.

@Ramakant-P posted:

This fella Jagdeo is beyond arrogant. And incompetent to the max. No wonder Skeldon was a disaster. What Janki laid out in her letter weren't "serious questions"???????

Why doesn't he show us how he arrived at 6 cents per KWh and what it will cost to build out the infrastructure to do this along with his assumptions, the environmental reports etc?

Folks - this is how it works in the corporate world and in government. Apparently he doesn't know this or he operates on sheer hubris only. Guyanese are allowing this man to spend billions of dollars on an "if" and "I tink suh". SMFH

@Django posted:

The former President said, “…If we are selling power at 30 US cents per kilowatt-hour, one of the highest in the world, we’re generating power now at 14 cents per kilowatt-hour. That is what GPL (Guyana Power and Light) is generating now. If we can, from the gas project, get power at 6 cents per kilowatt-hour and then that drops to about 3-4 cents per kilowatt-hour, imagine what we can do.”Modi

p agains

What's up with all the "if" does this fella really knows ?part of the deal?

Currently blackout everyd ,seriousl problems with the distribution sys

The VP is an honorable man! He has to repay Exxon for its calling US gov. enforcers against the would-be riggers, by buying their gas which.would otherwise be wasted! Was the money Exxon gave him to get Channarass to vote against his party a part of the deal to buy the gas? Maybe now Charranrass can get Modirass to send some war-seasoned Indian soldiers to pretend to be Guyanese Indos to settle the PNC GPF and GDF rass! "Lemme hare yuh speek!" "Speek gun fuh e rass!" Hahahahahaha.

Django: "Dis yare int no laffin.matta, shally, yuh.rass!" "Ah kno bai! Datz wy muh rass.seh hit!"

See the cretin's insertions, etc in your copied post! I never do that, jango!

@Ramakant-P posted:

When Jagdeo says he will do something, you can bet on it, that he will do it. Because it is well researched and feasibility studies show that it will be beneficial.

Yeh, IF you an he think so it must be so nah bai?

@Ramakant-P posted:

When Jagdeo says he will do something, you can bet on it, that he will do it. Because it is well researched and feasibility studies show that it will be beneficial.

Feasibility studies? What feasibility studies? Like Jagdeo and Ali's supposed credentials? Taken for granted.by servile and mindless cretins like you?

Embarassing shit. Why doesn't he lay out the basis of his assumptions? They are clearly assumptions given his multiple uses of "if". How does he know for sure that it will be 6 cents per kilowatt hour? How did he arrive at that other than sticking his finger up his rear?

Is the cost of building out the infrastructure included in his assumption power will be 6 cents per KW/h?????

No one knows what the fk he's talking about. Including him.

This iguana like he got a gripe because he is fully cork up with shit. Anything better than importing oil with US and burning it off. Exxon is playing for time because the oil market recovery prices are on the rebound.

@Prashad posted:

This iguana like he got a gripe because he is fully cork up with shit. Anything better than importing oil with US and burning it off. Exxon is playing for time because the oil market recovery prices are on the rebound.

You have a point on the possible reason for the delay, Prash!

Feasibility studies? What feasibility studies? Like Jagdeo and Ali's supposed credentials? Taken for granted.by servile and mindless cretins like you?

Are you on drugs Or the topic is too advanced for you?

@Ramakant-P posted:

You have always been a griper.  Like you have always been a monkey.

Like Hanuman? Come worship my lingam! You can even slide your yoni on it.while worshipping, dearie! After all, kant, you're just a brainless kunt! Like your hero, Jagdeo, the no-brain wonder!

You sound like a glorified *******, monkey-boy.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You sound like a glorified *******, monkey-boy.

I expect your calling me a monkey, monkey-boy.etc. because I'm 1/8  Afro but I've experienced that before, not in words but in their actions, from what can only be.the descendants of dalits, looking to drag me down to beneath their level to alleviate their feelings of hopeless inferiority! Strange, many of those of high caste descendancy accept me as one of their own! I've never forgotten how confused a racist like you became when a high caste who was a Minister in Bunupham's government paid exclusive attention to me when he visited the Ministry where I was working at the time! I was embarrassed for.the fool racist! My father, a Rajput, lived with a black woman at one time on the railway embankment, village fool! Like he, I judge people according to their actions towards me, not by 'race'! I have no need to feel.superior to anyone! If even I did, that wouldn't alleviate any.feelings of inferiority.in.myself, if I had any! I fear neither God, a Spirit, nor.man! Why should I feel either superior or inferior to anyone?

I admit to pre-judging a person according to past experiences with those of similar physical characteristics but wait to see how he behaves toward me first! He might have had bad, or good, experiences with.those who share my own characteristics!

I expect your calling me a monkey, monkey-boy.etc. because I'm 1/8  Afro but I've experienced that before, not in words but in their actions, from what can only be.the descendants of dalits, looking to drag me down to beneath their level to alleviate their feelings of hopeless inferiority! Strange, many of those of high caste descendancy accept me as one of their own! I've never forgotten how confused a racist like you became when a high caste who was a Minister in Bunupham's government paid exclusive attention to me when he visited the Ministry where I was working at the time! I was embarrassed for.the fool racist! My father, a Rajput, lived with a black woman at one time on the railway embankment, village fool! Like he, I judge people according to their actions towards me, not by 'race'! I have no need to feel.superior to anyone! If even I did, that wouldn't alleviate any.feelings of inferiority.in.myself, if I had any! I fear neither God, a Spirit, nor.man! Why should I feel either superior or inferior to anyone?

I admit to pre-judging a person according to past experiences with those of similar physical characteristics but wait to see how he behaves toward me first! He might have had bad, or good, experiences with.those who share my own characteristics!

Stop crying and Bytching. You were Burnham's batty-boy! You call me dalit and you call me stupid. Now you are crying like a pus.sy. Get real man. This is only cyber. You can dish it out but you can't take it. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

Stop crying and Bytching. You were Burnham's batty-boy! You call me dalit and you call me stupid. Now you are crying like a pus.sy. Get real man. This is only cyber. You can dish it out but you can't take it.

You just proved you are a stupid dalit and nothing butt! I've posted.many times on my dislike for.Bunupham! Maybe YOU were his catamite but you moved your mouth over to PPP first time.they.were back in power! Can't ever trust a.catamite dalit!

You are wrong again.  Even a stopped clock is right twice a day. You are wrong all the time. You were Burnham's batty boy. You have been a griper and nothing you say will deter me from supporting the party of my choice.

You look like a monkey, you act like a monkey, the chances are you are a monkey.